Reviewer: AdrianaGodric
Date: 09/04/07 21:01
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Temperance and Forgiveness

This story is increcible!! I am shaking with anticipation for the next chapter. What a cliffhanger! I can't wait for the next post!

Author's Response: *laughs* I'm ecstatic that you are in so much suspense ;-) Thank you!

Reviewer: Buckbeak rules
Date: 09/04/07 13:30
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Temperance and Forgiveness

I did not cry at the end. nope i would not...
yeah i was balling. That was so cute!!! i loved it and the kiss(es) between Oliver and Hermione were so cute, and the Quidditch scene when she grabs his hand and how he caught her trunk! that was adorable! and not to mention the end with those two left alone while Harry and Ron go off and all of it was wonderful!
i did read right, that we will have 6 more chapters, right? *crosses fingers hopeful*
Can't wait for more!

*BR*

Author's Response: Yay! That is exactly the reaction I was hoping for. Thank you very much!

Yes, most likely there will be six more chapters, but it will be at least five in any case.

Reviewer: chrissy_coo_coo
Date: 09/04/07 0:59
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Temperance and Forgiveness

Wonderful work! Great chappy and can't wait for the next. keepup the good, GREAT work!
-chrissy

Author's Response: Thank you, hon!

Reviewer: artgirl21
Date: 09/03/07 22:52
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Temperance and Forgiveness

I am SOOOO glad to hear that you will be finishing this story!! Keep it going, I love it!

Author's Response: Thank you! *hugs*

Reviewer: tomfelton lover xo
Date: 09/03/07 20:38
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Temperance and Forgiveness

AHHHHH! I soooo excited for the next one!!! XD

Author's Response: Why thank you! I shall try not to keep you waiting too long.

Reviewer: the other mirror
Date: 09/02/07 1:19
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Temperance and Forgiveness

Wow... it's taking a long time to validate this chapter.

I can't wait!

Author's Response: *grins* Hopefully, it's enjoyable anticipation!

I loved this chapter, so I'm on pins and needles, waiting to see the response ;-p

Reviewer: hogwartsduchess
Date: 08/22/07 11:18
Chapter: The Twilight of an English Mind

I love Thammassy. And the toads.

More importantly, I love this story and where youíve taken it thus far. The entire thing is a mix of different tensions. There is the sexual and emotional tension between Oliver and Hermione, which makes it one of the best romances Iíve ever read, but there is also the tension of the events that are occurring around them, which makes it one of the best mysteries out there.

I simply love it. Iíve said it before, and it is clearly illustrated more in this chapter than ever, that this story is one of the few romances Iíve read that are clearly a romance, but where the romance actually takes a backseat to the plot, instead of the other way around. It takes a rare gift to make that possible.

The build-up in this chapter to the discovery of the silvery substance on Hermioneís hand and Oliverís subsequent reaction is wonderful, and though it gives the reader a sense of false pause, that all she found was that, you quickly shake that notion off and plunge them further into the story.

Or, if he squinted at it sideways, maybe a bat. *dies* OMG Ė did I not tell you how much I loved the repetition of this bit of humor? That is something else about this story that is so wonderful Ė it literally grabs you with the mystery, enchants you with the romance, but the humor is so well-done that it canít be far behind on anyoneís list of favorites!

The best part about this story, honestly, though, is the way that you take the reader from one sort of tension to the other Ė it takes the reader away from the macabre beauty and shoves them into a completely different kind of story, which is what makes this such a great read.

And the cliffhanger! I swear, Iím rubbing off on you!

I adore this story, as you know, and I just wanted to drop a review for this most recent chapter.


Author's Response: I love you, you do know that, right?

You are rubbing off on my, I'm certain of it - now the only question is, am I corrupting you faster than you're corrupting me?

More than anyone, you know how hard I work at each chapter, and I adore you for 'getting' all the right parts - and always seeming to know what I really need to hear feedback on *loves upon*

Reviewer: hogwartsduchess
Date: 08/22/07 11:18
Chapter: The Twilight of an English Mind

I love Thammassy. And the toads.

More importantly, I love this story and where youíve taken it thus far. The entire thing is a mix of different tensions. There is the sexual and emotional tension between Oliver and Hermione, which makes it one of the best romances Iíve ever read, but there is also the tension of the events that are occurring around them, which makes it one of the best mysteries out there.

I simply love it. Iíve said it before, and it is clearly illustrated more in this chapter than ever, that this story is one of the few romances Iíve read that are clearly a romance, but where the romance actually takes a backseat to the plot, instead of the other way around. It takes a rare gift to make that possible.

The build-up in this chapter to the discovery of the silvery substance on Hermioneís hand and Oliverís subsequent reaction is wonderful, and though it gives the reader a sense of false pause, that all she found was that, you quickly shake that notion off and plunge them further into the story.

Or, if he squinted at it sideways, maybe a bat. *dies* OMG Ė did I not tell you how much I loved the repetition of this bit of humor? That is something else about this story that is so wonderful Ė it literally grabs you with the mystery, enchants you with the romance, but the humor is so well-done that it canít be far behind on anyoneís list of favorites!

The best part about this story, honestly, though, is the way that you take the reader from one sort of tension to the other Ė it takes the reader away from the macabre beauty and shoves them into a completely different kind of story, which is what makes this such a great read.

And the cliffhanger! I swear, Iím rubbing off on you!

I adore this story, as you know, and I just wanted to drop a review for this most recent chapter.

Reviewer: flyingarrow
Date: 08/21/07 12:34
Chapter: The Twilight of an English Mind

please please please update soon! i just love this story it is one of the best harry potter spin-offs i have read!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

Well, the next update is awaiting validation, so hopefully you don't have too much longer to wait *lol*

Reviewer: MrsHorse
Date: 08/13/07 20:05
Chapter: The Twilight of an English Mind

PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT JUNK THIS STORY. Love is not even the word to desrcibe the feeling i have to this story. It has changed the whole world of Harry Potter Spin offs. Your's is so much more mature than everyone else's. You have a real winner here! GREAT characters and plots. Oliver was one of the part of JK's books that i was dissapointed about, she made me fall in love with him, and then rarely wrote about him anymore. Your story makes Oliver alive again, and makes me love him even more. You've got a great talent that i would wait months for! PLEASE DON"T STOP!

Author's Response: I promise, I will never junk this story! I'm so sorry I scared you *facepalm*

Thank you so much for all your encouragement - I've enjoyed writing this story, and I get so positively geeky-excited every time I get a review, especially ones as thought-out and specific as yours. *hugs*

Reviewer: AdrianaGodric
Date: 08/10/07 12:18
Chapter: The Twilight of an English Mind

I can't wait for the next chapter! I love how all their fights are pointless. They both want the same thing but can't communicate it. The mystery part is really cool. Does the fact the muggkes have an extra gene have anything to do with this vampire attacks? Please keep writing! You're doing amazing! I can't wait untill the next chapter!

Author's Response: *looks shifty* my lips are sealed...But I love hearing people's ideas!

They do seem to fight a fair bit, for two people who really do share a lot in common, don't they? *lol* I'm really glad you're enjoying this so far!

Reviewer: Starmaiden
Date: 08/09/07 10:25
Chapter: The Twilight of an English Mind

AAAHHH!! Oh. Sorry. That was really not very professional. GAH, cliffhangers!

Okay, I'll back up. First, the mystery you're developing is pretty cool. I like how you invent things -- like Dark objects that let Muggles through spells -- and slide them in without it looking contrived.

The body-in-the-bookshelf was fairly startling, but again, a cool idea. Pretty creepy, but I suppose that was the point. What I am attempting to say is that the mystery is really well done, but I keep getting distracted by the other storyline!

I found one grammar thing:
"When Oliver pointed out her probably error, she glared crossly at him."
I think this should be "probable".

I found Hermione's reflections on bodies and death to be a little random, but a very real bit of introspection. It also slips in a little backstory, a bit of reference to the War and what part Hermione played in it. And then you pulled an amazing segue by having Hermione comment on Oliver's accent! And from there, of course, we go straight from gruesome mystery to breath-holding anticipation -- and a cliffhanger.

I laughed at Hermione's final approach to the problem of "sleeping arrangements." I am really, really looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: *lol* I love the non-professional response - it makes me feel better when I do the same thing on occasion :-)

Thank you so much for noticing my little insertions - it's scary, adding new elements to the tried and true 'canon', and I,at least, always worry that I come off sounding corny or fake when I do, so that little observation meant a lot *hugs*

*facepalm* No matter how many times you read something over, or how many beta's go over it for you, you always seem to miss at least one... I appreciate you catching them for me, though.

Thank you so much for the reveiw, sweetie *hugs*

Reviewer: simulacrum
Date: 08/07/07 2:21
Chapter: The Importance of Being Oliver

Oliver remembers in this chapter seeing Hermione at the World Cup, but in a later chapter thinks that he has never seen her in anything but her school uniform. Perhaps I misunderstand, but it's worth looking at.

Very much enjoying the story!

Author's Response: *facepalm* Do you know, you're the first person to ever point that out? When , someday, I go back and re-write this, I will have to fix that... Thank you!

Reviewer: slipstick
Date: 08/05/07 19:52
Chapter: The Twilight of an English Mind

Very moving the way they found the corps. Glad theyíre getting the marriage back on track. I say donít let canon spoil your fics but I are you sure you want to write a DM/HG story? They seem to be all over the place these days.

Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you Slipstick. You have been one of my longest-time readers, and I always look for what you have to say at each installment, and am greatful that you always give me an honest opinion, not necessarily what I might want to hear *hugs*

*lol* yes, the DM/HG stories are becoming a bit of a plague in their own right, aren't they? I have to say, it's not even a category I follow, but was born out of a discussion with my beta. We were talking about how rare it is to find a story in this category where Draco is actually written true to character, and is not either a) brain washed by his parents or b) really a nice guy under it all. I wanted to try one where he remains still remains basically Draco, with all his arrogance intact *g* It's more of a personal challenge, then anything, but as a result, I'm finding it hard to muster the proper motivation when I have so many ideas pilling up for other, less overdone characters... *laughs* I'm just hopeless, aren't I?

Reviewer: num
Date: 08/05/07 9:41
Chapter: Chapter Eight - Further Back Than In

Wow you have the longest chapters in the world... it's taking me days to read this!!! Loved Hermione's prank! (...Guess she did learn something from Lockheart after all!!!)

Author's Response: *lol* Yes, it was one of my favourite scenes in book 2, so I couldn't resist playing with it here.

Reviewer: num
Date: 08/05/07 9:09
Chapter: The Art Of Making War

Ooooo now the last chapter makes sense! It was a bit beyond me why the present was in italics. Another very sweet ending!

Author's Response: Thank you hon! *hugs*

Reviewer: snowlessinfl91
Date: 08/05/07 9:06
Chapter: The Twilight of an English Mind

I'm really enjoying this story, its so different. I cant wait for the next part...I seriously want to know what happens x.x

Author's Response: Thank you! :-)

Reviewer: num
Date: 08/05/07 4:03
Chapter: All's Fair In Love And Cabbages

Oooooo this is really going to make things interesting!!! I love the fact he lost (now he has to work even harder to win her...)

Author's Response: Reading your comments, sort of chapter by chapter, has been so much fun, and a lot of help towards bettering my writing. *hugs* Thank you so much!

Reviewer: sweetandfierce
Date: 08/04/07 17:59
Chapter: The Twilight of an English Mind

I've just finished reading your story and decided to leave my review to the end.

Your story is amazing! You have the same rhythm in your writing as Jo and I feel like I could easily being reading something she wrote.

I love your take on Oliver Wood. It's how I imagined him to be beyond the books. Hermione is written entirely in character and you gave her something extra, too. I want to say 'vulnerability', but I'm not sure that's what I'm looking for.

All the characters we know and love are portrayed beautifully (I prefer your Percy to canon Percy. He seems a lot more balanced) and your original characters seem like canon.

All in all, great job! I can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's aways so cool to hear that new people are finding this story, and instead of being daunted by it already being thirteen chapters long, try it anyway.

Thank you for the comments on my original characters (and Percy - I like him much better this way too, and after the events of DH, he may not be too far from canon!Percy anymore either *g*) Writing OC's is intimidating - at least to me, so I really appreciated this support :-)

Reviewer: fightingokra4life
Date: 08/03/07 20:47
Chapter: The Twilight of an English Mind

i'm so glad that they are getting along better now!

Author's Response: So am I, actually... *grins*

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Skeletons' Tale by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet," wrote Shakespeare. This story...
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES