Reviewer: Her My Own EE
Date: 06/26/07 14:23
Chapter: Chapter 12 - Not Quite What We Were Before

I expected akwardness, but, not as much as there actually was. They were supposed to at least kiss!!! (In my head anyway)

Author's Response: Sorry! I think Hermione was expecting something more of the sort as well...

Reviewer: MrsHorse
Date: 06/25/07 21:58
Chapter: The Art Of Making War

your story+brownie=heaven

does the difference in muggle born and pure blood have to do with anything?

Author's Response: OOO - now I'm having a brownie craving...

*looks shifty* Just keep that question in mind....

Reviewer: jeunefille
Date: 06/25/07 19:46
Chapter: Chapter 12 - Not Quite What We Were Before

i was so happy to see that this story didn't finish at the wedding.. i guess i should have seen it coming when Hermione got involved in the mystery! totally love it, and am in absolute agony as to when they do it. did i just say that? am anxiously awaiting the next installment.

Author's Response: *lol* Yes, it did occur to me that some might find it a natural ending, but we have a few more chapters to get through yet.

Thank you so much!

Reviewer: meryal
Date: 06/24/07 23:43
Chapter: Chapter 12 - Not Quite What We Were Before

Yay! Another chapter! I was so excited to see it! Well anyway, I really liked how awkward you made the situation on their wedding night! It was well done! Keep up the good work!
~Sophie

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I promise, the next one is on it's way shortly :-)

Reviewer: mock_turtle
Date: 06/24/07 23:18
Chapter: Chapter 12 - Not Quite What We Were Before

I was almost too embarrassed to read about the wedding night. I am such a prude. I know all these characters are fictional, but I still can't help pitiying them for intruding on their most personal private lives. I really love your characterization; it makes the people so real. hermione is a braver version of me; she asks the question I would be too mortified to open my mouth for.

Author's Response: *lol* Yes, we are all a bit of voyeurs, aren't we? Poor Hermione and Oliver...Hopefully, when the story eventually does go there, it will feel so natural as not to feel awkward for the readers.

Frankly, I think Hermione might be braver than me, too. :-)

Reviewer: Buckbeak rules
Date: 06/24/07 14:16
Chapter: Chapter 12 - Not Quite What We Were Before

This whole fic is wonderful! it took me roughfully 3 days of off an' on reading to finsh it, but i love the whole thing, being a Wood and a Hermione fan it is just the perfect combo and your writing is great, making me feel tiny and incomplete in my own writing! (which is a good thing!!!) I can't wait for more, and gosh i want a Wood don't have to be Oliver just any of them!!!

Author's Response: Wow - thank you very much! I think we all have favourite fan-fiction authors who we feel can write a bit better then we ourselves might - but to hear that I'm that person for someone else is extremely humbling.

I'm glad you liked the Wood boys so well - I think if I couldn't have Oliver, I would take Ian, myself... but Michael is devilish and fun... decisions, decisions!
*Who me? Silly? I don't know what you're talking about...*

Reviewer: mock_turtle
Date: 06/24/07 13:24
Chapter: Chapter 12 - Not Quite What We Were Before

"most definitely not a den of ill repute, unless ladies of the night had taken to dollies. " I love that!

Author's Response: *laughs* Why thank you! I rather liked that line, myself.

Reviewer: MrsHorse
Date: 06/24/07 13:03
Chapter: The Importance of Being Oliver

Wait, so the Goyle family contracted for Hermione, not Oliver? or did they make Oliver sign the paper?

Author's Response: *lol* If I ever go back and re-write this, I may have to spend some time near the begining and try to clarify things, just a little.

The Goyle family contracted her at the same time Oliver did - but Goyle's owl reached the Ministry first, therefore they were registered as the contract-holder, and Oliver was a challenger. They (the Goyle family) were given the option of defending their case in court, or by winning a duel against Oliver. Does that help a bit?

Reviewer: slytherins_queen2
Date: 06/24/07 1:26
Chapter: Chapter 12 - Not Quite What We Were Before

Yay, you updated! =) I'm so glad. It was a fantastic chapter, I could practically feel the tension. Lol. You have a gift of being able to convey emotions in a graceful way. It's really astounding. I hope you will update soon I can't wait to find out what happens next!

Author's Response: Thank you so much - that's just such an increibly nice thing to hear about my writing, it really is. *hugs*

Reviewer: MrsHorse
Date: 06/23/07 23:38
Chapter: Prologue

This story is so much like a series called Outlander. it is about this 1920s woman who goes mack to 18th century scotland and is forced to marry an outlawed highlander king. the way you wrote the accents for Oliver reminded me of it. and the friction between the two is in this book series too.

Author's Response: Hopefully the comparison is a good thing! *giggles*

I actually went and searched it out on Amazon after you menioned it, and the writeup sounded so intriguing, I ordered it *is not guilty of being a bibliophile, honest*

Thank you so much!

Reviewer: mock_turtle
Date: 06/23/07 22:40
Chapter: Prologue

an update! I'm in love! better read it...

Author's Response: *giggles* Yes, I finally got this one out there... the next shall be sooner, I promise!

Reviewer: MrsHorse
Date: 06/23/07 19:39
Chapter: Chapter Nine ~ An Uncomfortable Affair

WOW! This sounds like something an author who gets paid would write. Bravo! I wish I was as good as you. You should become an author.

Author's Response: *is stunned* Why, thank you! I would love nothing more than to actually do this for a living, and can only wish to be as good as you've painted me, but I love you for saying it nontheless *huggles*

Reviewer: GinnysGal
Date: 06/23/07 14:16
Chapter: Chapter 12 - Not Quite What We Were Before

Oh, i love this story, but cant they start getting along soon? I read this whole chapter waiting for nothing :(

Author's Response: Well, hopefully not for nothing...

They are two incredibly stubborn people, aren't they? *laughs*

Reviewer: relichunter18
Date: 06/23/07 12:25
Chapter: Chapter 12 - Not Quite What We Were Before

Please tell me they resolve something in the next chapter! Who's Mycroft Pafft? I feel like I missed something in an earlier chapter, or maybe I just need to re-read.

Author's Response: *looks shifty* I'm not telling...

Sorry - Mycroft Pafft is the dead researcher. I beleive his name was mentioned in chapter 10 - where Oliver and Hermione are discussing the museum break-in, after his discussion with Ron. :-)

Reviewer: Ginny_Weasley32294
Date: 06/19/07 6:53
Chapter: Chapter Eleven ~ A Bride For All Seasons

very good! this is one of my fave chaps.!

Author's Response: Really? Thank you hon! :-)

Reviewer: MerelyAPlayer23
Date: 06/18/07 15:06
Chapter: Chapter Eleven ~ A Bride For All Seasons

More! I love it!

Author's Response: *lol* Thank you!

Reviewer: hogwartsduchess
Date: 06/13/07 11:52
Chapter: Chapter Eight - Further Back Than In

My love! Iím horribly behind in my reviews for your wonderful story. *sigh* But now, I have thirty minutes of uninterrupted review time, and Iím going to sit down and write something about this chapter.

I love the way the action starts out with Hermioneís question. Finding scattered belongings when it comes time to leave is something that the series often mentions, and I think itís very clever how youíve worked it into this chapter. Also, I nearly died laughing about the socks, for Tom and I are always ready to debate with one another the true meaning of socks in the Harry Potter series. I know I always try to add something about them into my stories, and itís wonderful to see someone else do the same. Besides, I can just picture Oliver lounging about, sniffing his feet, wrinkling his nose, and then pulling off his socks and tossing them across the room to land where they may. Too funny.

I like how you show Oliverís bag Ė perhaps to some people it might not seem like much, but to me, it truly shows how rootless his life has been up until this point, and how different his life will have to be once he is married to Hermione and they are settled down. And *giggle* at the thoughts that run through his head as she starts biting her lip. For someone who never really read romance novels until very recently, I think itís amusing how youíve managed to capture the atmosphere of one so thoroughly in this scene.

I think itís very Ė well - Oliver of him to shift his discomfort at deceiving her into a slightly accusatory tone by bringing up her earlier remark to him. Her reaction is utterly perfect. It smacks of Hermione in every way. The brief conversation that follows this is priceless. Those two just send me into stitches every time they talk.

And, GAH, Oliver and Charlie together! You sure know how to keep a girl drooling! Oliver and Percyís odd friendship has caused me more than one giggle since starting this story, and I canít deny that Oliver wanting to strangle him in this chapter was one of them. I couldnít help it!

OOPS! We forgot to capitalize ĎFlooí: Getting here had been a relatively easy matter of floo-ing into a quietly-Ministry-maintained residence just outside of Rotterdam! Bad beta! Charlieís frustration is so evident when he flags down the child, I couldnít help but giggle, and you know what Iím commenting on next: She had explained with some authority that the large metal coaches were actually imprisoned dragons being forced to serve, and that they actually ate the strange metal coins used to board them, but the evil wizards who controlled them rationed what they were allowed from each passenger.

*Dies and dies again* Itís just too perfect! And Charlie, adding the extra coins, always makes me giggle! I really have to laugh at Oliver, letting his frustration out on the poor manís nametag!

And now, such a serious shift in mood. Almost without warning, we are steeped back into the mystery of what is happening in Denmark (or, rather, The Potterverse as written by Nyruserra), and are forced to think in serious terms again, perhaps only occasionally giggling at Charlie chucking those extra coins at the Ďdragoní.

The description of poor Lummi was really very heart-wrenching. I canít even begin to describe how close to tears I was reading it. Itís very moving.

And then, to lighten the mood, a switch to Fred and George. You know, people always want to know where I got the idea to do so many character POV switches in FTL, and I honestly used to think it had just written itself that way, but reading this, Iím beginning to believe I may have been emulating my favorite fanfiction writer in more ways than one.

They had jokingly discussed the problem on and off for years, finally deciding that one of them would have to marry her in order to hope to have any sort of bad influence over her at all. That was such an incredibly humorous, well-thought and well-characterised line that I couldnít help but give a bit of a sigh.

Not that they had ever doubted she had it in her, mind. Those kinds of under-estimations could get a bloke on the wrong end of a rather prissy wand in a real hurry, as Ron had discovered during his sixth year. *snort* Nothing else to say to that.

And after a great bit of good humor, we find ourselves back with Oliver, and remembering Poor Lummi Ė great job in keeping the readerís mind away from the horror of the childís corpse. And then the revelation. Excellent tension building up to it, the descriptions of everything were so clear and brilliant that I really felt a small chill upon reading them.

I love the Luna Lovegood scene, utterly brilliant!

They took particular delight in the prospect of being able to warn Oliver what he had to look forward too if he ever managed to get on her wrong side. I love that Ė itís just too funny Ė for we know sheís more than capable!

But Malfoy Ė oh, itís a creepy kind of shiver I got from reading that Ė very creepy!

What is he up to? I know this was more of a surprise for you than any other part of the chapter, so Iíll hold my thoughts for a while. But itís suddenly occurred to me that I donít know exactly what is going to happen in this story. I beta it, and I have a general idea, yes, but nothing too concrete. Hmmm. I think we need a chat very soon!


Author's Response: This are the kind of reviews that keep me going when I absolutely cannont find the words, and Oliver's comming out on paper more like his brother, Michael, than the character JKR created, and Hermione's voice is just nowhere to be found.

This was the one chapter that I was probably most concerned about. It's a plot chapter, with very little interaction between the two main characters, and absolutly no romance, which is a bit scary to put out there when you know you're writing in the Romance catagory ;-p

I just can't tell you how fabulous it is to hear when someone picks all the parts out of your story you are most proud of, and tells you they liked them, or they got them. It's just so vindicating to know that at the very least, there is one person out there who noticed. I think it may be the best feeling in writing - really

*looks shifty* I'm suposed to tell you where this is going? Really?

Reviewer: kumydabookworm
Date: 06/03/07 22:20
Chapter: Chapter Eleven ~ A Bride For All Seasons

Ack. I just read the whole story in one sitting. And I have two final exams tomorrow. *headdesk* You're good, incredibly good, to make a nerd like me forego my grades for a story. *pokes* Get to that wedding night soon, my dear!

*evil smirk*

Author's Response: As a fellow nerd, I truly take that as an amazing compliment :-)

Thank you so much for reading - I always get excited to know that new people are finding my story, and instead of being daunted by the length, and the fact that it's now at chapter twelve, dive right in instead.

*hugs*

Reviewer: goGinny_84
Date: 05/19/07 19:42
Chapter: Chapter Eleven ~ A Bride For All Seasons

I am in love with this story. Please, please finish it!

Author's Response: I will! I made that promise to my readers when I started this story two years ago - oh wow, that feels horrible to say -

I will finish this story. It may take a bit of time sometimes, but I absolutely promise, I will not abandon it :-)

Reviewer: mugglegurl
Date: 05/15/07 17:46
Chapter: Chapter Eleven ~ A Bride For All Seasons

You like writing Irish and Scottish accents, don't you?

I feel a bit hypocritical, because I always say that if a story is in your favorites you should at least review it once. Your story has been in my favorites list for a while, yet this is the first time (I think...) I've reviewed it. So let me apologize ahead for what is going to be a long review, since I'm reviewing all the chapters.

First off, the plot. I've seen several marriage contract stories before (surprisingly a lot, actually) but so far yours is my favorite. You gave it a little twist, what with the Goyle contracting for Hermione too thing (that I was NOT expecting). Plus, I love how Hermione and Oliver don't get along swimmingly. I think their arguing is cute, in a somewhat weird way o.O

I really like Oliver in this story. (Although I don't remember him having an accent in the books.) Instead of making him Hermione's knight-in-shining-armor, you gave him flaws (and, yes, I've seen people turn canon characters in Mary-/Gary-Sues). He's an enjoyable character to read about, and I've never seen a drunk person mess things up so badly before. :D Then there's his family, which I find hilarious, even though I'm having trouble understanding some of what they say.

There's also Hermione, who you've managed to keep in character and yet make her so much more grown up. Your Hermione handled the contract in such a Hermione-like way, it was wonderful.

All in all, you're a master, and I bow down to you. I've read all of your fics and enjoyed them very much, what with your way of capturing characters so well and weaving your own dry, sort of tongue-in-the-cheek humor. And the chapters are long, so who can complain? For once I actually don't have anything to tell you to imrpove upon, except for a few minor errors here and there. I tip my hat to thee.

-Jordan

Author's Response: No! Don't appologize for a long review, ever! Reviews like this are the greatest reward for all of the frustration and late nights when trying to turn out a multi-chaptered story like this. *huggles*

No, you're right. in teh books, JKR didn't give him an accent, though from the fact that Harry knew right away when McGonagall introduced them that Wood was Scottish shows that he has one! *lol*

Somehow, I like their arguing too. It makes them, well, them. I agree with you, sometimes even cannon characters can be turned into author insertions, and I'm so glad to hear when people find my interpritations of JKR's characters satisfying and believable.

You know, the humor is always the part I worry about most. I don't consider myself a naturally funny person - I probably tell lousy jokes, and all my humour is very dry. I'm so glad it comes across here :-)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES