Reviews For There they were
Reviewer: Nagini Riddle
Date: 06/22/12 4:16
Chapter: Chapter one

How interesting! I would never think to put this pair together, but here it is.
First off, great job! I can imagine this was difficult, but you made it work. I loved your characterization of Hermione- bookish, but bold, and stubborn. I think Snape was slightly out of character, but considering that this was written before the Harry Potter series was completed, it's quite understandable, and it's still believable that Snape has a kind heart. :) I loved every minute of this fiction, though.

Reviewer: Harry_Potter4life
Date: 04/03/09 23:00
Chapter: Chapter one

Awwwwww...that was so sweet!!! I LOVED it!

Reviewer: Gersknightlady
Date: 05/09/08 12:14
Chapter: Chapter one

I Like that one very good

Reviewer: KneazleWeazl
Date: 02/18/08 0:50
Chapter: Chapter one

AW! CUTE!

Reviewer: Celestina
Date: 11/12/07 6:34
Chapter: Chapter one

Love that bit when they're describing each other.

Author's Response: Thanks. I was trying to describe how I perceive they would be several years down the road, with their current personalities.

Reviewer: soccergirl
Date: 08/16/06 19:41
Chapter: Chapter one

cute! i like the ending a lot.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: master_p0494
Date: 05/30/06 13:59
Chapter: Chapter one

AWWWWWW! SO SWEET!! you give everyone the impression that Snape is actually NICE!!!! Reading your fanfics makes it seem like there is actually a chance for Hermione and Snape!!

Author's Response: LOL, well he's got to be nice if he's going to fall in love. I know it will never happen, but I think they are both very much alike. The age difference doesn't mean much once the younger person is older, but its my own little chunk of fantasy.

Reviewer: RedheadedWeasley
Date: 05/20/06 16:45
Chapter: Chapter one

This was a good job! I really like this story. I love how it was an arranged marriage and on their wedding night they realize that in fact they do have the capacity to love each other. The know that there is something to the other that they had never seen before. I do wish you had explained the Marriage Act passed by the Ministry though. Why did Snape and Hermoine have to get married? I don't understand why their marriage protected her from men like Lucius. Other than that, great job! I am going to read the other part to this right now!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed the story. I wrote this based on a challenge from the yahoo site WIKTT. Basically, the Ministry of Magic puts forth a law called the "Marriage Law." This law means that all Muggle born witches and wizards must marry a Pureblood wizard. This was all before HPB came out and we all though Severus was a Pureblood. Anyway, the challenge rules were to have Severus and Hermione marry. She would have to marry Severus because if she were chosen by any wizard that was a true Death Eater she would undoubtedly be harmed, so it would be up to Severus to marry her in order to keep her safe. I wanted to do my story a bit differently. Most stories like this have them either having had feelings for one another secretly or they wind up falling in love right away. I wanted them to just decide to get along and just let things happen.

Reviewer: MagicAlly
Date: 09/14/05 9:30
Chapter: Chapter one

Wonderful and truly believable.

Reviewer: MollysSister
Date: 08/09/05 14:40
Chapter: Chapter one

This is a wonderful short story. I especially enjoyed that you kept both H&S in character. I am enamored of your idea of them growing to love each other. Thank you. I'll be looking for your other works!

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed this. I tried to keep them as in character as I thought they might be in a situation such as that. I hope you enjoy the sequel and my other stories.

Reviewer: SilenceSSlytherin
Date: 06/16/05 22:04
Chapter: Chapter one

It was nice to have them realize that they would learn and grow to be in love with each other. Most Hermione/Snape fics have one or both of them deeply, passionatly in love with the other, but never lead up to it. It's nice to know there's some character growth there. 10!

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you liked it. I wanted to do something different and a little more believable. I've read a lot of stories in which one or both of them either despise each other or are as you said, madly in love. I thought it would be nice to have two people who liked each other well enough as people but were thrown into a strange situation. If you liked this I hope you read the sequeal. That's where I have them realize they have fallen in love.

Reviewer: Fabula_propono
Date: 06/05/05 7:03
Chapter: Chapter one

Yay! Really good one-shot, but what's teh marriage law? I didn't really catch that. *10*

Author's Response: This story was based on a challenge made by a yahoo community called "When I Kiss the Teacher" (WIKTT). The marriage law is passed by the Mininstry of Magic in which all pureblood wizards or witches have to marry muggle born or half muggle students. Its usually made into a longer story, but it has been done so many times I just decided to do a one-shot. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: hpfannaticalltheway
Date: 05/31/05 20:21
Chapter: Chapter one

thanks for that!

Reviewer: hpfannaticalltheway
Date: 05/31/05 3:46
Chapter: Chapter one

HI i don't know what the marrage law challenges are so maybe you could plz fill me in?

Author's Response: There is a yahoo group called "When I Kiss The Teacher (WIKTT)" they issued a writing challenged called the Marraige Law. In this challenge the Ministry of Magic issues a law that all Muggle born witches or wizards must marry a Pure-blood wizard to keep the Wizarding population from getting too inbred. This was my contribution. The stories are usually longer but I really felt no need to make it longer than this one chapter and then a one-shot sequel.

Reviewer: Masked One
Date: 04/24/05 16:39
Chapter: Chapter one

I like it. Your writing is very nice- descriptive and flowing. You highlight just the right things to illustrate your story nicely.

I loved the awkwardness of this. So many MLC fics throw them in bed together without any hesitancy, or make them forget their hesitancy with clichéd smut. That obviously isn’t the case here, and I have to give you many bonus points for that.

The idea that they aren’t in love “yet” is very nice. Hermione and Snape are both logical, controlled people. They wouldn’t be the sort to think of love as being completely outside their control. You showed that very well with the ending of this fic- they are prepared to put in the effort to make this work.

Hermione’s laughing to keep from crying was another point I liked. It’s in character for her- always make the best of everything.

The downside to this fic, then. There were several clichéd plots, mainly their listing of each other’s faults and the bit about Grimmauld Place and their realizations about each other. It’s probably possible to use different plot devices to get those points across without repeating what all Snape/Hermione fans have seen before.

Author's Response: Thank you. I appreciate your comments. I tried to make this something a bit different from most of the ML challenges out there so I'm happy it worked. And I do realized I used a few cliches when it came to their descriptions of each other, but honestly, at the time I was writing this story I just could not think of any other things to put down. Had I taken more time I probably could have come up with something better, but in the end I think it all worked well together.

Reviewer: Ms Meriadoc Brandybuck
Date: 04/22/05 8:16
Chapter: Chapter one

This was very good - you kept Snape in character, which is one of my biggest pet peeves in most stories. Going to read the sequel.... P.S. Perhaps you could review my stories? Thanks! 9/10!

Author's Response: Thank you. I try to keep him as canon as I can in my stories, at least to a certain degree. I'll have a look at your stuff as well. Thanks again for taking the time to read this.

Reviewer: redvelvetcanopy
Date: 04/07/05 13:06
Chapter: Chapter one

I have a recent fascination with Snape and was snooping around for something and found this. You have kept both of them in character very well. This is very carefully and thoughtfully written. I am going to read the continuation too!

Author's Response: Thank you. I tried to make it as believable as I could, given the situation and subject matter. I'm glad you liked it.

Reviewer: jplver4lfe
Date: 03/31/05 18:25
Chapter: Chapter one

good story i liked it alot but i wish you would have continued writing so i could see how there realtionship progressed i give u a 10 great job as usual

Author's Response: Hi. Thank you, this was my first foray into Severus/Hermione fanfic and I'm glad you liked it. I actually have a second part to this in which you get glimpses of how their relationship developed. It's called "There they were - In love". If you read it, let me know what you think.

Reviewer: rosedagger
Date: 02/21/05 19:38
Chapter: Chapter one

Great, excellent story. Wonderfull portrail of the characters:-)

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm very happy you liked this. It was my first SS/HG story.

Reviewer: mspadfoot89
Date: 01/30/05 15:08
Chapter: Chapter one

As usual great work. To tell you the truth I expected it to be the wedding of The Long Wait, so I was a little bit confused at first. But it was beautiful, no doubt about it.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it. This was actually my very first story. It was after I wrote this one and its sequel that I began The Long Wait. Thank you for taking time out to read it.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
MIT: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
Through the Mines by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Tom Riddle remarks on the power he held while at the orphanage and at school.Written...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES