Reviews For Friends in Need...
Reviewer: eowyngirl
Date: 10/27/06 16:18
Chapter: ...Are Friends in Deed.

Nice, wish it was longer though.

Author's Response: <.<

Reviewer: hallie_p
Date: 10/24/06 21:37
Chapter: ...Are Friends in Deed.

Beautifully written. It flows really well and the detail is amazing. Great job.

Author's Response: Thank you very much.

Reviewer: SimplyCharmed
Date: 10/24/06 19:01
Chapter: ...Are Friends in Deed.

10/10! Poor Neville must've been really depressed.

Author's Response: Thanks! And yes.

Reviewer: arwenevensatr
Date: 10/24/06 15:22
Chapter: ...Are Friends in Deed.

'Cause in our weakness He's a friend indeed." By Bebe and Cece Winans. Bittersweet with a touch of nostalgia. Sweet story.

Author's Response: Uhm, thanks.

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 10/23/06 22:04
Chapter: ...Are Friends in Deed.

Poor Neville. I like how both of them are characterized, though, and how the effects of war are shown so clearly through "small" things like the girl in the Great Hall or Luna being afraid for her father.
I like how Ginny's passion is coupled with Neville's lack thereof.
Plus, I'm a hopeless GW/NL shipper... :D
Good story!

Author's Response: Thank you very much.

Reviewer: electronicquillster
Date: 10/23/06 1:02
Chapter: ...Are Friends in Deed.

Christina dear, I decided I simply couldn't resist reading this when I saw your name on the featured authors list. Your writing was engaging from the first paragraph, which I appreciate more than anything. I can't read a story that doesn't hold onto my attention (I'd rather move along to something else), so I love it when something tugs at me.

She rubbed her arms for warmth and looked up from the book that hadnít caught her interest...

I love the way that was worded. I actually would split that into two sentences instead of using the semicolon after the word 'interest' because those two thoughts aren't exactly related, so they don't seem to need to be grouped together.

The revelation that Neville's gran had been killed completely shocked me. I honestly read along with my jaw hanging.

A very merry Christmas

That needs a comma after the end. I'd have to say I was just as disappointed as Ginny that the letter wasn't from Harry. I'm going to venture a guess that Arthur wrote this letter, because I'm sure Molly would have had an exceedingly more emotional letter: gushing in the way that dear mothers do.

I loved the way that Ginny just ... Well she just insisted on being the friend that Neville needed. She didn't make a big deal out of any of it, but she did let him know that she was there and that she would help him whether he particularly felt up to being helped or not. Lovely story!

Author's Response: Mar love, thank you for that lovely review. I hadn't even noticed that my story was featured (excuse me while I squee *SQUEEEEEEEE*) so my heart skipped a beat when I read it.

Thank you for pointing out the grammatical errors. I'll fix them right away.

Reviewer: charmer
Date: 10/22/06 20:38
Chapter: ...Are Friends in Deed.

Hello,
I enjoyed this little piece very much. it grabbed your attention at the beginning and held it the entire way.

Only improvement suggestion would be to make it longer.

Charmer

Author's Response: Thank you :D

Reviewer: charmer
Date: 10/22/06 20:38
Chapter: ...Are Friends in Deed.

Hello,
I enjoyed this little piece very much. it grabbed your attention at the beginning and held it the entire way.

Only improvement suggestion would be to make it longer.

Charmer

Author's Response: Ooops.

Reviewer: ms weasley
Date: 09/21/06 11:58
Chapter: ...Are Friends in Deed.

Such a beautifully-written piece. I'm very impressed. You have a wonderful knack for description which is evident from the very first line:

The snow was lightly descending from the indigo sky, laying itself like an ice cold quilt on the grounds that surrounded Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

It's such a lovely beginning - very simple, but it sets the mood, as well as the scene, and tells us so much.

Your characterisation of Ginny is excellent, which I was pleased to find. I have noticed that many authors fail to grasp her personality and she ends up grossly OOC. Her quiet acceptance of hard facts and love for her friends was a great way to portray her.

All three of them were out there somewhere in the vast darkness, on the search for those horrible Horcruxes so that Harry could ensure the fall of Lord Voldemort.

I'm interested as to why Ginny knows about the Horcruxes. I know that it isn't really crucial to the plot of this story, but Ginny hasn't previously been one of Harry's confidants, especially as he is trying to keep her safe - if Voldemort thought there was even the slightest chance that Ginny knew Harry's plans, she would be in danger. Just my thoughts, anyway.

Another thing I liked was the fact that the reader really got a feeling of Neville's grief, despite the fact that this wasn't written from his point of view.

But she knew he wasnít ready, he would come to her when the time was right.

What a gorgeous line! It's a nice explanation of why Neville isn't talking to Ginny, and vice versa. Ginny really is being a good friend to Neville, simply by being patient, and realising that he has to come to terms with it in his own time.

She squeezed Lunaís hand under the table; she knew that she had been worrying about her father since the start of term when more and more people had started disappearing.

Whilst this is a lovely interaction between the two friends, I have to ask - why is Luna sitting with Ginny? After all, wouldn't she usually be sitting at the Ravenclaw table?

Luna placed her wand behind her ear and walked over to Neville who was sitting at the far end of the table. She bent down, kissed him on the cheek and swept away her dirty blonde hair from her face as she absentmindedly strolled towards the Entrance Hall.

This is possibly the part of your fic which best characterises Luna. She does something so affectionate, and yet to her it is so perfectly natural. I adore it. It's just so sweet.

Neville smiled and suddenly he drew her closer and kissed her. Their lips parted and Ginny could sense the taste of salt on her upper lip; she looked at Neville. Tears where streaming down his face.

This is my favourite part of the entire story - it's so beautiful and perfect. Even though I don't really like Neville/Ginny, this seems so natural that I can't help but love it. Guh! I adore it. Small error, though - 'where' should be 'were', I think.

All in all - this was simply superb. Apologies for the lateness of this review, and thank you millions for the gorgeous banner you made me!

Author's Response: Wow 0.o

What a wonderful review. It's reviews like this which makes the entire writing experience worth while.

You're right about the Horcruxes. I hadn't really thought about her not knowing until you pointed it out. I'll probably keep it like it is but thank you for informing me *facepalm*

This was really worth waiting for. You can be late any time you wan't, hun ;-)

*goes to change 'where' to 'were'*

Reviewer: SarahGitty
Date: 07/18/06 19:14
Chapter: ...Are Friends in Deed.

Wow.
I was... entranced. Your writing is so lulling, so heartwarming, so- real.
Isn't it comforting to know that there are still beautiful writings- and writers- out there?

Author's Response: Oh Sarah. I'm starting to get tears in my eyes from all of your beautiful reviews. I can't think of anything to say but thanks. Thanks :-)

Reviewer: Gonz
Date: 07/08/06 11:57
Chapter: ...Are Friends in Deed.

I really liked how you set the mood in this story. From the weather to Ginny reading but not really and Neville's staring it really captures the worry and fear of those left behind. The feeling of your safe and everyone else isn't, the underlying darkness that we forget about in war. I love how you brought that out in made it real for reader.

I really liked Ginny charactizaqtion, I think it was spot on. She misses Harry but understands why she isn't with him. Even in her own worries she reaches out to help a friend. The way you had Ginny wait until the right moment was perfect.

Your story seems to move a little fast. My suggestion would be instead of just skipping from one time to next put in transition paragraphs.

Overall I really enjoyed your story and I'm thrilled over my new banner!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for that lovely review and I'm really glad you liked your banner.

Reviewer: Gryffinpuff
Date: 06/26/06 13:17
Chapter: ...Are Friends in Deed.

First of all, I LOVE your use of imagery! I can literally see every line in my head like a movie. Fantastic job! Secondly, I like how you used Ginny in this story. People tend to focus on her anger or her stubborness, and you really brought out the beautiful aspects of Ginny as a friend. Her holding hands with Luna, crying for Neville's pain. Even screaming the word "boob" was so fitting of her! I almost cried when you described the scene in the great hall waiting for the owls. We focus so much on the battles themselves and those fighting, that sometimes we forget the horror of those who really don't know what's going on, and you painted that picture very well. Bravo! You're going in the favorites and I hope to read more!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for that great and utterly lovely review, and since you like my work you're welcome to check out my other stories and poems.

I LOVE these kind of reviews. Yay.

Reviewer: Bianwen
Date: 06/15/06 14:04
Chapter: ...Are Friends in Deed.

*bianwen wipes away a tear* aww! I love this story (partly because i'm in love with neville and look just like ginny weasley) cheers to neville fics! *bianwen hugs you*

Author's Response: Thanks Bianwen, for that nice review. I'm glad you liked it.

Reviewer: lily_evans34
Date: 04/27/06 16:37
Chapter: ...Are Friends in Deed.

Ahh... that was so sweet! I loved Ginny's character. Running outside and shouting seems like something she would do. I also loved how you captured her thoughts, and made it so that she was angry, but it was romantic all the same. I also loved how Neville just kissed her, without saying anything about it. he seemed pretty shy, which was very Neville-ish. I loved this! I give you an imaginary 10. Happy writing!

~ lily_evans34 aka mrs_tom_riddle

Author's Response: Thank you so much for that wonderful review. I'm really glad you liked it. *Bathes in the light of the imaginary 10*

Reviewer: winky123
Date: 04/10/06 9:17
Chapter: ...Are Friends in Deed.

That was very touching indeed. I must say that this is the first fiction I have read where Ginny has accepted why Harry broke up with her. I'm glad you mentioned it because it made the fiction so much closer to canon. I loved the description too. I could see everything playing out in my mind. The goings on at Hogwarts was described exactly how I would see it. Very little students left and the apprehension of what the coming mail would bring. There was one thing I picked up on. In the first chapter you have Ginny seated in front of a roaring fire, but then she gets goose bumps. But then, perhaps it was due to the thought of Harry and his search for the Horcruxes? Well that was my only query everything else seemed perfect to me. Poor Neville, I am so glad Ginny was there for him and the fact that he kissed her...well I think it was believable considering the circumstances. Neville may be clumsy at times but heís a Gryffindor. He had the courage in him to do it.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for that lovely review, and you're right; the goosebumps is related to the thought of Harry and the Horcruxes. I just really wanted to emphasize her dark thoughts even with a roaring fire right beside her.

Reviewer: Antimonie
Date: 01/30/06 15:51
Chapter: ...Are Friends in Deed.

Hey...I have pretty high standards for FF and I thought this was absolutely lovely. I couldn't see how you were going to convince me before I read it, but what a charmer the story was. Right on target with personalities and flavor. Wish I knew what was going on with H/R/Hr, too, but your story was perfectly encapsulated. Nicely done!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm glad I passed your high standards ;-)

Reviewer: pandafan81
Date: 12/14/05 12:15
Chapter: ...Are Friends in Deed.

Very well written Foxy! I was a little apprehensive reading the summary, I'm a Harry/Ginny shipper to a fault. But you've done this justice. Poor Neville, he always seems to get the short end of the stick doesn't he? Ginny's a good friend to help him out when he's so obviously down. Thank you for advertising this in the common room! Go Hufflepuff!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I wanted to make the story seem plausible; Ginny will always have a special place for Harry in her heart. And yes, poor Neville. I didn't want him to be the typical Clumsy!Neville you usually come across in fan fiction, I wanted his heartache to be 'real' if you know what I mean.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES