Reviews For The End
Reviewer: ms angie potter
Date: 07/07/07 9:29
Chapter: The End

sigh...how sad..

Author's Response: thanks?

Reviewer: SomberBallad
Date: 12/31/06 14:37
Chapter: The End

This is the last SPEW review I will write for a long time, so that in and of itself is very sad, but your story was also very sad. However it wasn’t like a hopeless, the world will never be bright again kind of sadness it was the same sadness I felt while reading about Cedric’s death in the book. I felt like I had lost a friend.

I’ve never read a story that took place during canon, and it certainly interesting to read. I enjoyed seeing the canon lines in the story and remembering the scene only viewing it from a different perspective. My only idea for improvement would be to flesh out Cedric’s character just a little bit more, maybe in a flashback or something. You were very straightforward in this story just going with what we knew about Cedric basically and I think it would be interesting to see more of Cedric as a person and not just Cedric in the moment. Does that make sense? I think it would add to the emotion at the end of the story.

He looked hopelessly at Harry, writing on the ground.
I totally smiled when I read this line…just picturing Harry writing on the ground while Voldemort is coming towards Cedric. Kind of like Jesus or something when the Pharisees were attacking him. I think what you meant to say was “writhing” instead of “writing” however.

I liked your repetition of “so this is the end” it shows his fear and his knowledge of what exactly is going on. It shows good emotion.

He was a mere echo of who he had been; a mere shadow of who he was. The mere spirit of Cedric Diggory.
This was a really interesting point of view on death. Since a lot of people (okay Christians) believe that you are glorified in death and greater than you were on earth. Yet you took the opposite view which I think was very interesting to see, it added to the sadness of the whole story. It reminded us that Cedric could have been great but Voldemort reduced him to a terrible death, a half-life.

And as Harry spoke the words “I will”, Cedric was filled with an unexplainable sorrow.
I had chills for a better part of the story but this line in particular was chilling. It is very emotional, it’s almost like Cedric realizes that he really is dead, and maybe almost a sense of regret that Harry had to be the hero where he couldn’t be. I guess I can’t really explain it, but it touched me.

This was a nice little one-shot, very sad though but I guess it was appropriate for the occasion. Thank you for being a wonderful SPEW buddy; it was a pleasure, Rachel.


Author's Response: The last SPEW review?!?! Ashley. No. You can't. *sobs* But thank you for the amazing review, it really made my day. Oh, and I've been meaning to fix that 'writing' thing. *giggles* I'm so glad that you liked it, and thanks for all your wonderful comments--they mean a lot. *huggles*

Reviewer: hogwartsduchess
Date: 12/01/06 14:43
Chapter: The End

I remember reading this ages ago and I really can't believe that I didn't review it then. *smacks hand* Bad Kasey!

This story is truly moving in a way that I can't begin to describe. I am a little disappointed that we don't find out what happens to Cedric's spirit afterwards - it's like he simply ceases to exist, which is a very melancholy way of looking towards death. I suppose the ending could be interpreted either way.

Regardless, Cedric seemed incredibly in-character, which is something that so many authors can't do, as we know so little about him. You've pulled it off. I remember reading all the stories you had posted at one time, but this was by far my favourite.

Author's Response: Oh wow! Thanks so much for the completely amazing review! It means so much! ♥ *endless huggles*

Reviewer: AKA294
Date: 11/24/06 15:04
Chapter: The End

Freaky... I would never have thought to make a story from Cedric's point of view! I wonder what happened to his spirit when he faded "into the mysterious darkness of the night". I wonder if there is like a spirit world in Harry Potter. After all, the spirits of his parents were conjured in that, too. They had minds of their own, and that made me ponder that aspect of the story. Great job on this!

Author's Response: Thanks for your marvelous review! Glad you liked it, and yes, a spirit world would be plausible... but very creepy!

Reviewer: Simply Being
Date: 11/22/06 10:26
Chapter: The End

I promised you I would review! It won't be near as good as yours, or SPEW worthy or anything like that but...I'll give it my best shot.

Thoroughly original! I love missing moment/from someone's elses point of view scenes! It was very touching at the end. I also enjoy your style of writing, just the right amount of words, but the right words, you know? If that makes sense...

I also enjoyed your portrayal of Cedric, it fits him nicely. The only critique I have is maybe you could have gone on a bit more about how Cedric feels about death. I realize it would be hard though, as Cedric was never really given much time to think..

Anyway, dear, I look forward to reading more of your work!

~Danielle

PS: Ha, this is funny. Right as I was reading this, I also had my beloved HBO on to the GoF movie, and the maze scene has just started. Go figure.

Author's Response: SQUEE! THANK YOU, Danielle! I don't care if it's SPEW worthy or not, but this review meant a lot to me! I'm glad you liked the story, and I'll take your concrit into consideration. ♥

Reviewer: crazyabouthermione95
Date: 10/08/06 16:43
Chapter: The End

oh my god....LOVED THE STORY!!! It was one of the BEST stories I read on Mugglenet Fan Fic., no joke!!! You are AMAZING!! LOVED IT!!!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much for the very sweet review!

Reviewer: bobby
Date: 10/01/06 10:54
Chapter: The End

so I need to email you a banner buuut i dont know your email*grrrrrr* so if you send an email to me at greendayrules.clark@gmail.com that would rock

Author's Response: You could just click on 'contact this author' or whatever it says on my author's page and send me an email that way. That's for being so kind!

Reviewer: Sekhmet
Date: 09/21/06 19:02
Chapter: The End

This is a really beautiful piece. No one really knows what is going on in someone's mind just before they die, but I really like how you imagined it here.

Your writing style is easy to read and understand and that is very appreciated! I enjoyed the feeling of worry and fear that I felt, even though I knew what was going to happen next.

I found a few more little mistakes. They weren't anything big, but I thought I would point them out, I know I appreciate it when others do that for me (umm...I hope you don't mind!) "but the fact that he was only seconds away form it made it real"

In second supposed to be in 'a' second or in seconds? Or 'In three seconds' like the other two previous sentences?

Anyway, really, I truly enjoyed this story. It was beautifully written I thought.


Author's Response: *Gasps at beautiful review* OMG, thanks so much! And no, of course I don't mind the concrit; I actually really apreciate it! Thanks for pointing out my silly typos, I'll be sure to fix those as soon as I think of it. I am SO glad that you liked my story; of course I'll read and review yours, now! It might take me a little while, but I won't have forgotten about you, don't worry!

Reviewer: bobby
Date: 09/06/06 15:30
Chapter: The End

hi. u know i think your story roxx, kuz i told u. but anyway, how do i send u a banner for a story??

Author's Response: How do you send me a banner? So... you made me a banner? *Feels honored* You can just post the link here or email it to me, I guess. :D

Reviewer: bobby
Date: 09/02/06 16:36
Chapter: The End

lilly_evans34, sry for wat i said. i was really pissed off kuz my mom just deleted mi fanfic, and i just found the first person to take it out on. once again i am sencerely sorry and hope you forgive me. part of the reason i said that was i checked the grammer on my computer and how my friend andrew had it was correct.


btw, your story The End was amazing!

Author's Response: Oh, it's perfectly fine. I had a bad day also; I usually would have just laughed and brushed it off. But thanks, anyway. And I was completely clueless as to the fact that 'stupidist' was a word. Forgive me. :P I didn't mean to make you feel bad, and I'm sure you didn't either. Truce. Now that that's settled, I'm glad you liked my story! And I'm sorry that your mom deleted your fic.

Reviewer: Oliver_Wood
Date: 08/26/06 15:54
Chapter: The End

sad, but not my favorite one uve written, i didn't think ithad enough feeling... but itwas ok

Author's Response: *hearts concrit but not from bff who doesn't know what she's talking about* You realize, don't you, that the ONLY thing that everyone else has commented on was the emotion? =P

Reviewer: ronnyc718
Date: 08/21/06 23:29
Chapter: The End

I had to stop reading this in the middle because my eyes were so teary. Excellent, excellent job.

Author's Response: Aww... thanks! That's very sweet!

Reviewer: Oppungo
Date: 08/01/06 11:38
Chapter: The End

An interesting choice of plot, I was quite surprised, as we were shown a lot in GoF of what you could do to elaborate on that, but I was surprised in a good way after reading this. I liked how you portrayed all of Cedric’s thoughts and emotions, it all fitted in well with canon as well as evolving that nicely.

“All of that seemed stupid, now. A faded memory, long forgotten. It was over.” I thought that was brilliant, so in keeping with the text for the situation and his thoughts - and so incredibly ironic! Because, of course for Cedric, it all was over. So I thought that was a brilliant few lines there.

After “So this is the end” I thought it really was the end! I was quite surprised to see more writing as I scrolled down to review! ;p I’m glad there was more though, as it was very good. You packed some really good emotion all throughout, but especially after that, with Cedric realising what’s important in the long run, referring back to the earlier phrases - all of that seemed stupid now’.

I really liked your last paragraph, there was some beautiful description there, I particularly liked, “He let himself fade from the only life he had ever known, into the mysterious darkness of the night” but then I always love your last lines! I thought the whole of this was very well done, with the irony especially, definitely thought-provoking. Great job!

Author's Response: Hehe, only I would continue after proclaiming it was the end. *Rolleyes*

I hope I did that paragraph thing right. Anyway, I'm so glad that you liked it! Thanks SO much for the wonderful review!!


Author's Response: OMGSQUEEIFIGUREDOUTHOWTODOPARAGRAPHBREAKSINREVIEWS!!

<--Showing off. Ahem. Sorry 'bout that.

Reviewer: Marauder by Midnight
Date: 08/01/06 9:00
Chapter: The End

Oh wow. I never imagined this was what Cedric's last moments must've been like.

I didn't know there was so much time between arriving in the graveyard to Cedric's death. I thought they'd landed, and Pettigrew killed him. But the time allotted only gave more emotion and more meaning to the whole story.

I couldn't help but notice you'd written: his friends and Cho. It's very amusing to see Cedric not consider Cho a friend. Whether you meant to set her aside on purpose or whether you wanted to make it look like Cedric was very aware of Cho's presence, I'm not sure. Either way, I liked it.

I found it very beautiful how Cedric thought back on the people he'd left behind. But I also found it very selfish of him to think on all the things he could've done while alive. It might be just me though.

Cedric always was pretty sharp, wasn't he? He figured out the "spare" thing very quickly. I liked this story because Cedric didn't seem as heroic as others had portrayed him to be. He, too, is human enough to show the need to survive, to live. He pleaded for his life mentally, an action most wouldn't have thought this great hero would've done. I suppose it's also meaningful how Harry wasn't able to see Cedric's terror.

It's very nice to see Cedric's point of view of that night in the graveyard. He, a naive young man, was able to see Harry's weakness but also see the distinct lines between good and evil. I suppose he matured a whole lot more after death.

-Bethany

Author's Response: Why thank you, Beth! Your reviews mean so much to me. I'm really glad you liked it! Oh, and the Cho thing was meant to imply that she was his girlfriend. True, I think it was selfish of him to think about himself, but I was thinking 'Hey, if I died, I would be just a tad upset.' True, I'm a very self-centered person, but I think that everyone has a bit of self-centered-ness. Thanks so much for the review!

Reviewer: HarryPotter is my LIFE
Date: 08/01/06 0:08
Chapter: The End

I must say, I find Cedric a bit pompous. The way he relished having the crowd cheer, and his eternal glory. Of course, he has all the right to be, but I always saw him as a bit of a more modest person. He was always so kind and humble to Harry's Quidditch skills, too.

He looked hopelessly at Harry, writing on the ground.
-The word 'writing' is maybe supposed to be 'writhing'? I don't know, but 'writing' just doesn't seem to fit here.

I like your view on the 'echos.' The way Dumbledore told them, it sounded as if they were just what the dead person would have said. You take on a different meaning. The person's thoughts are really there, but they're a shadow, an echo of their former selves. I really like that.

Author's Response: Hmm... interesting outlook on Cedric. Now that I think about it, you're right. He was a bit pompous. Maybe he was just one of those people who was modest towards other people, but had those selfish moments to himself. I'm glad you liked it, and thanks for the wonderful review!

Reviewer: moonymaniac
Date: 07/30/06 12:21
Chapter: The End

So, this is the third of your stories that I’ve now read, and I want to make a general observation of your work before moving onto this specific story. You don’t do a lot of fluff, do you? *winks*


This is another moving piece. First, I liked Cedric from the first time JKR introduced him to us during the Quidditch match in PoA when Cedric tries to get a rematch after Harry falls off his broom. Cedric was an honorable and genuinely nice guy. You further show that in this story, when he views the joint win with Harry as A Hogwarts victory. As it should be. While he still fantasizes about the eternal glory and fame, he isn’t so egotistical that he wants it all for himself. He is happy to share it with his school mate. Thank you for that. It would have been just as easy to have his inner thoughts portray a bitterness at having to share it, but that would have been OOC in my opinion. So well done.


I enjoyed the sense of confusion and then building panic when they landed in the graveyard. This is not good…that is very realistic. I can imagine that is exactly what any of us would have running through our minds. And I love the heartbreaking moment when Cedric realizes that he is the spare. From impending eternal glory, to being “the spare”, is a very long way to fall. I’m glad that the end came quickly for him, so that he didn’t have too long to dwell on it.

He looked hopelessly at Harry, writing on the ground. I’m pretty sure you meant for that to be writhing on the ground. While I’m giving concrit, I have this thing about author’s notes and separation from the body of the story. A very minor nitpick, but if you italicized the note/disclaimer and left spacing between the story, it would look much nicer. :)


You continue Cedric’s honorable characterization when he comes out of Voldemort’s wand. Rather than dwelling on what he had lost, he thinks of Harry and the need for him to be victorious in the battle over Voldemort’s evil. He was a good guy to the last. And another beautiful ending. Congratulations.


Author's Response: Hehe, I'm not your average fluff gal. *Wink* Don't worry, I nit-pick the author's note/story thing, also. I can't believe I didn't do it this time! I'll fix that. And the writing thing has been pointed out; I just forgot to change it! I'll go do that. Thanks so much for the lovely review! I really appreciate it!

Reviewer: blackhairedweasley
Date: 07/30/06 6:24
Chapter: The End

Very nice story. I liked how during the second half Cedric seemed to know things he didn't before he died, but it wasn't obvious, just implied.


I thought you took subtlety to your advantage on this story, which is a rather hard thing to do. Great job!



- Jacie the Cat

Author's Response: Double post :P

Reviewer: blackhairedweasley
Date: 07/30/06 6:21
Chapter: The End

Very nice story. I liked how during the second half Cedric seemed to know things he didn't before he died, but it wasn't obvious, just implied.


I thought you took subtlety to your advantage on this story, which is a rather hard thing to do. Great job!



- Jacie the Cat

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review, Jacie!

Reviewer: witchgeek
Date: 07/29/06 22:14
Chapter: The End

I hope that I won't repeat everything the other reviewers said.

That was a great story in a sad sort of way. The feelings of Cedric before he died and a very detailed narration of the surrounding, all of these I found in your story (which I enjoyed very much). I think I saw a few typos, but other than that, your story was great! Can't wait to read more of your work! :D

p.s.-Sorry if this wasn't a very helpful review, just wanted to tell you that your story was great (and I think i did that a lot of times already). :D

Author's Response: Hehe, pointless reviews are the best kind! The author just learns that their story rocks, which is quite the perk! ;) Anyway, thank you so, so much for the amazing review! I really appreciate it!

Reviewer: solemnlyswear_x
Date: 07/29/06 20:56
Chapter: The End

Ooh, interesting idea, writing about the end of the third task from Cedric’s POV. You have a knack for writing about interesting characters: Hedwig, Andromeda, and now Cedric.

One thing I liked about this story was when Cedric wants to fight harder because he thinks of all his lost opportunities. That’s very sad. And to be honest, I hadn’t really considered the things that Cedric is thinking when he comes out of the wand. Very interesting.

I really loved your ending line. It was very powerful. You’re good with that, aren’t you? =]

Another thing, about you not liking your title- I actually liked it. The only thing I could think of changing it to was, “So this is the End.” But, it’s fine how it is.

One little nit-pick…
“A cloaked figure was approaching them, holding a bundle in it’s arms.”
The 'it’s' should be its.

Well, great job (again!) =]


Author's Response: Hehe, I like minor characters. ;)

Thanks SO much for aknowledging the title. When I say what I don't like about stories, people usually go on to pick apart the parts I DO like. Lol, thanks for the alternate suggestion. I'll think about it! Glad you liked the title at least! I actually didn't know about the it's/its rule; that was a recent discovery, so thanks for that. I'll change it. Thanks for the amazing review!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
MIT: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
Through the Mines by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Tom Riddle remarks on the power he held while at the orphanage and at school.Written...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES