Reviews For Iduna
Reviewer: Sarakime
Date: 06/07/07 15:45
Chapter: One-Shot

*wipes tears* Alright, Ashley, I know I've reviewed this before, but it's just so amazing that I've decided to use it again for my D/A class.

As I told you before, this piece was absolutely beautiful. The overall characterization of Snape in this story isn't one I've seen (or wanted to believe) before. By that, I mean that he was loving, caring, and whatnot, for anyone that he knew. But in this story, you show all of his compassion and that he really isn't a completely cold character (until after she dies, that is) through the touching bond that Severus and Iduna have.

I love how even though Iduna and Severus have different outlooks and different personalities (one was in Slytherin, one in Ravenclaw; Iduna's opinion on Muggles vs Snape's; Iduna's love for poetry vs Snape's love for power/magic), they balance each other out and were there for each other.

Another thing I loved about this piece was the amazing vocabulary and descriptions all throughout the fic. It made it so easy for me to imagine everything and really feel as if I was right there. Especially when Iduna was afraid of her father finding her, the fear of the thunderstorm, Severus' anger towards the end, and the overall transformation of Severus.

Also, the words exchanged by Severus and his father, and Iduna's thoughts/reaction afterwards were very dark and chilling.

One line that I particularly liked: Anything to increase his knowledge, but never anything to enrich his view on life...

It really showed, to me, the contrast of Iduna's view on life/ how she lives or thinks, compaired to Severus', who wanted power.

Overall, great story. Very dark. It also helps connect the dots as to why Snape is the way he is, and the true underlying problem/issue between Snape and Bellatrix. Bravo!

Reviewer: DailyProphetEditor
Date: 03/19/07 9:08
Chapter: One-Shot

I really liked your story!

Author's Response: Thanks =)

Reviewer: XColliFlourX
Date: 02/10/07 15:25
Chapter: One-Shot

Iduna was so innocent...Lucius was evil even then? I always wondered what it would be like reading about severus'es sister and she had the same fate i imagined...Death
Love Iduna's name did u make it up? and if not where did you think of such a name?
Keep up the GREAT work
Colli

Author's Response: Lucius isn't evil so much as forced into a mindset to follow rules as presented by those in positions of power. He was just giving Snape honest advice, it is better to stay silent than challenge everything now. As for Iduna's name, it comes from Norse mythology. Iduna was a goddess who possessed the apples of youth that kept the other gods young for eternity, and she was either the goddess of poetry or married to him depending on what you read.

Reviewer: weasly_witch
Date: 12/10/06 5:45
Chapter: One-Shot

oh my god,
i nearly cried at this. i love all your stories and this is the saddest oc story i've read. keep it up!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading! Yes, Iduna's story is so incredibly sad, but I thought it fit really nicely into Snape canon =)

Reviewer: Onbegrepen
Date: 11/20/06 10:23
Chapter: One-Shot

I read this fic quite a while ago, but have only recently made an account on mnff. I really like you writing style and thought your charaterization of Snape was very well done. This is the first fic i've read that has had an OC i've liked.

I love your spin on Snapes charater and Iduna was wonderful! Also it is a lovely name!

Great fic, loved it!

-Onbegrepen

Author's Response: Double Post!

Reviewer: Onbegrepen
Date: 11/20/06 10:22
Chapter: One-Shot

I read this fic quite a while ago, but have only recently made an account on mnff. I really like you writing style and thought your charaterization of Snape was very well done. This is the first fic i've read that has had an OC i've liked.

I love your spin on Snapes charater and Iduna was wonderful! Also it is a lovely name!

Great fic, loved it!

-Onbegrepen

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for coming back and leaving a review! I'm really glad you enjoyed it. I really loved Iduna, and kinda lost it as I wrote the outcome of this fic. Her name actually comes from Norse Mythology. Iduna was married to the God of Poetry and was keeper of the apples of youth ;)

Reviewer: Thespidermanblanket
Date: 11/16/06 21:30
Chapter: One-Shot

*tears up slightly* that was..... to say the least amazing.

-The spidermanblanket

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading this one! It didn't get much attention so I'm always excited when people read it and comment. I'm glad you liked it =)

Reviewer: Potter_You_Rotter
Date: 11/07/06 15:47
Chapter: One-Shot

Very interesting, I guess you feel that Snape is a “good guy”. I liked how you gave him a past that fits his character. I think you did wonderful filling in the reasons for Snape being Snape. It will be interesting to see where his loyalties truly are in the 7th book.

Author's Response: I was fairly convinced for a long time that Snape was bad, then I questioned if he might be good. Then I became fairly certain he was just in it for himself and didn't have an allegiance to either side. Well, finally I got to thinking about why Snape is such a jerk in the first place, and being the psychology nerd that I am, decided he probably had some traumatic experiences as a child that made him how he is today, and thus was born his background. I am still kinda of two minds about the whole thing, so I'm very interested to see what JKR does ;)

Author's Response: I was fairly convinced for a long time that Snape was bad, then I questioned if he might be good. Then I became fairly certain he was just in it for himself and didn't have an allegiance to either side. Well, finally I got to thinking about why Snape is such a jerk in the first place, and being the psychology nerd that I am, decided he probably had some traumatic experiences as a child that made him how he is today, and thus was born his background. I am still kinda of two minds about the whole thing, so I'm very interested to see what JKR does ;)

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 09/13/06 16:04
Chapter: One-Shot

Hello!
This was a wonderful story, it truly was. You started out by doing a great job of setting up and describing the relationship between Severus and Iduna. Even in such a short story, her character shone through clearly, and the relationship with her brother was very touching. It was also very plausible. Although we don't know much about Snape's history, the background you gave him - his abusive father, his loving sister, and his absent mother - was very realistic and fit with canon perfectly as we know it.

You wove past events into the story very well. It was never confusing, and always had an immediate impact on the present story you were telling. It was particularly fascinating to look back at Snape's character and then see his evolution into a Death Eater fascinated with the Dark Arts and obsessed with power.

I was shocked when he killed his father. I think I actually said "OMG" out loud. Having peeked at the reviews, I had some idea that Iduna was doomed. I also remembered you posting a bit of this story on the forums, in the thread on foreshadowing. But I didn't except Tobias Snape to die, and would never have believed Snape was capable of such an act. If you wanted to stun your readers with that one, you did!

After that, I was very worried for Iduna. I did not want Snape to kill her! Her death at the hands of Bellatrix Lestrange was also shocking, and so sad. I didn't expect Lucius and Bellatrix to be there, and the seemingly random, callous way that she died while trying to run from Severus was truly tragic. Someone needs to get Bellatrix for all she's done!

The end was exceptional: not only did we see Snape evolve into a Death Eater, but we learned why he turned away. I loved the final sentences:

Severus no longer desired power. He wanted redemption. He wanted justice for his sister's fate.

Severus wanted revenge.


I would only suggest reversing justice and redemption, for dramatic impact. :)

I think what I enjoy most about your writing is your style. You have an exceptional vocabulary: you never reuse words, you always have the perfect description. You combine your words into sentences that flow naturally and are easy and enjoyable to read. You also give your writing an emotional quality that draws in the reader. The setting is always great (loved the storm here!) and your characters are strong as well.

This was a fascinating story exploring the life of Severus Snape. It was well told, had some wonderful twists, and an emotional ending. I'm so glad I read it! Keep up the great work!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: *huggles Gina for dear life* Thank you for reading this, Gina!! That was an AMAZING review, potentially the best I have ever gotten. I'll consider switching that last bit, it would change the emotional impact a bit. Thanks again for reading, and for the great feedback! *huggles again* ~Ashley

Reviewer: SPEWsupporter518
Date: 09/03/06 9:09
Chapter: One-Shot

Wow. I just want to say, I am impressed with anyone who can write a backround story about Snape because he is such a complex character with so many sides. The story of Iduna is by far the best Snape story I have read to date. I think this would be a fantastic reason for Dumbledore to have trusted Snape. Keep writing! I love One Last Golden Day, and though I have not gotten to your other stories yet, I plan on reading them soon.

Author's Response: *Squees* Thanks! That really means a great deal to me. I was so proud of this plotline, because it seemed so plausible to me. Thanks so much for reading! I'm glad you are enjoying my stories *grins* ~ashley

Reviewer: Liadian Weasley
Date: 08/17/06 13:48
Chapter: One-Shot

I hope I come across your books when you become a famous author, if you dont already have a line now. You are an excellent writter. Just everything about this story was great.

Author's Response: Best comment ever!! Wow, thanks so much! I'm working up the courage to write a book of my own, so that means alot! Thanks!!!!

Reviewer: StaceyLC
Date: 08/01/06 23:29
Chapter: One-Shot

Sad, but also very interesting and different. Severus Snape is my favorite character, and you have come up with an interesting way to show how he could have possibly become the man he is now. I like your descriptions; it shows that you put a lot of time and effort into your writing. It also touches on the "love" subject, which is obviously a theme in the HP books. Idula's love for her brother caused her to remain home that night, and yes she lost her life, but she did do what she wanted - she brought that spark back in Severus, if only a little. Good job!

Author's Response: Thanks! Would you be shocked to hear I wrote this in less than a day? It just came to me and wouldn't stop nagging until I got it down on paper =) Glad you liked it, thanks for reading!

Reviewer: lilmuggle
Date: 07/31/06 20:55
Chapter: One-Shot

I'm new to the fan fiction scene and a friend pointed me to your story. I must say that you are quite an outstanding writer! Your words flow easily in their rhythm. I don't think that you used a descriptive word more than once, unless it drew two thoughts together (ie: describing her tears as shadowy streams and then using shadow to describe what is left of Servus' old self. You may not have meant to do that, but either way, brava!). That's something that struggle with myself in everyday life, much less such great writing.

Are you going to continue this story? I doubt it, as it leaves us with such a great feel and better understanding of Severus' darkness, and expanding could risk ruining it.

I just may have to read more of your stories.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! Originally this story idea was much longer, Snape was going to be the main character, and this was just going to be one scene of many told from his perspective. But, there was a challenge on the site to write about an original character, and I couldn't resist using this moment and writing about Iduna. I may write the longer story eventually. Thanks for the review and your comments, and thanks to you and your friend for reading!!

Author's Response: Oooo, you're a sneaky little muggle!!! "A friend" pointed you to the story, huh... tricky tricky! Love you Corky!

Reviewer: Lainie xox
Date: 07/18/06 17:39
Chapter: One-Shot

"I black figure descended on her from the darkness, moving as though it had been startled by her arrival."
I think you meant "A black figure".

This fic is not like other that I've read before. I'm very impressed with the story you came up with from what you know about Severus - and it explains a lot. The description you used (especially in the beginning) was very good, and I really liked the flow of this fic as it kept me on edge.

This was extremely well-written. I'm really glad that I got to read this -- I'm really enjoying your fics in general too. =) Nice job.

Author's Response: Even after proof-reading 30 times, I STILL missed something!! Thanks for pointing that out and for reading!!

Reviewer: Sarakime
Date: 07/13/06 15:56
Chapter: One-Shot

That was really and truley amazing. I had never before been sympathetic towards Snape, but now I am. It really casts him in a different light. Beautiful!

Author's Response: Thanks, Sarah! I really appreciate you taking the time to read this! Snape is such a complex character, it was fun writing his background in this light =)

Reviewer: PotterFan22
Date: 07/12/06 0:35
Chapter: One-Shot

*Find a happy place...FIND A HAPPY PLACE!* No-I-am-not-crying!! It's these darn onions! *looks around and sees no onions* Okay, maybe I am crying...just a little though. *sobs like mad*

This was a brilliant story! I actually feel bad for Snape! (Which is weird because normally I'm filled with anger at the mention of him)

This story was amazing. Wow...I knew you were a WONDERFUL writer, but this like...well, i dunno how to explain it... okay, i thought you were a great writer - like 11 out of 10 - before i read this story. Now you're like 15 out of 10!!! Amazing story, now i'm going to go find a kleenex!
~Chloe

Author's Response: Success!! I cried a bit when writing this. I really wanted people to see Snape in a new light. I myself struggle with liking him, and this seemed like a plausible reason for his being so cold and nasty. And thanks for the compliment, I agree that this is my best writing yet (gives me hope that I may actually be able to write a book of my own someday)!

Reviewer: TMonkey
Date: 07/11/06 20:15
Chapter: One-Shot

"He'd reached out his tiny, chilled hand and grasped Iduna's as he'd spoken. "
I absolutely LOVE this line! It's beautiful! And it's brilliant!



"Opening her eyes again, Iduna gazed at her brothers hands. The hands that used to lead her and protect her were now holding her prisoner."
I don't love this line as much, but it perfectly expresses Iduna's horror and regret that she couldn't save her brother. Also, it works well to bring back Snape's humanity in the moments after he has commited his vile act of betrayl!


WONDERFUL STORY!!! YAY!


Author's Response: Whoo hoo, first review! Thanks Monkey!!!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Skeletons' Tale by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet," wrote Shakespeare. This story...
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES