Reviewer: ginevra715
Date: 12/28/12 23:50
Chapter: Epilogue

This is so beautiful, and so imaginative! I like your explanation for so many aspects of Dumbledore's life that we never get the chance to learn about before he dies, from something as big as his wife to something as small as the scar on his knee. Still a wonderful story even after the 7th book's publication. And the last chapter -- so wonderfully done!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the amazing review!! I loved writing this story and I'm so glad you found it resonant even after the final book. I really tried to work in all those little details about Dumbledore so I'm glad you picked up on them--and I do hope we get some of those details from JKR someday, even if they contradict this. I'm so glad you enjoyed the ending. And really, it's just such a treat to get a review for a story I wrote so long ago - thank you so much!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: muggle girl marauder
Date: 03/21/11 20:35
Chapter: Epilogue

*sniff*
This is a beautiful story. If I had read this before DH I would have had a hard time accepting the canon version. Love it so much!
~Lea

Author's Response: Thank you Lea! I can't believe you came and read this! I am still awfully proud of it. I sort of wish it were canon myself, just because I like the idea of Dumbledore having loved and lost in this way. Plus she's one of my few OCs that I've written and really liked. Thanks again for coming to read this, I really appreciate it!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: TheBlackSister
Date: 08/17/08 23:35
Chapter: Epilogue

This is a beauiful piece, on so many levels and for so many reasons! Your use and significance of Fawkes and Grey Lady almost brought me to tears. Wonderful way to integrate the Muggle and wizarding perspective of both global warfare and Hiter/Grindelwald specifically - I salute you!!!

Author's Response: This is such a wonderful review, why didn't I reply sooner?? Thank you so much!! I am so glad you enjoyed how Fawkes and the Grey Lady played such an important part. I know the Grey Lady turned out to have a completely different identity in DH but I enjoyed writing this story for her and Dumbledore. It was really fascinating researching WWII and trying to align wizarding history along side of it. Thank you for appreciating that aspect of it! And thank you again for the review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: MysticalMayhem
Date: 08/17/08 15:27
Chapter: Prologue

I loved it...it made me cry...not that that's hard to do...but it was amazing anyway. The wedding was just so touching, with the vows and everything, I thought it was very well thought out. I'm so glad you gave Dumbledore his happy ending, I always thought that was something missing in the real HP series. I also love how you incorporated Fawkes and The Grey Lady. It really was a stunningly well-written fic, you obviously have talent. :D

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for the great review. This story is now two years old and I'm still very proud of it, and thrilled someone is still reading it! I have to admit I was sort of disappointed that the Grey Lady in DH wasn't actually Dumbledore's wife, lol. And I still want to know more about Fawkes, I love writing him! The vows were fun to write as well, I'm so glad you enjoyed them. Thanks so much for reading this story and taking the time to leave such a wonderful review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: claymor
Date: 07/30/08 12:51
Chapter: Epilogue

WONDERFUL!!! I found this on the beta forum as a recommended story. What a treasure. I am so very greatful for the find. Beautifully written.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!! Oh, I'm so happy someone recommended this story to you. It's a story I worked very hard on and am still very proud of. Thank you so much for reading it! I'm thrilled you enjoyed it so much, and really appreciate the review! Thanks again! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: lilyflower113
Date: 09/15/07 18:31
Chapter: Epilogue

Wow this was a really good story. You write really well.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it, I'm very happy with how it turned out. Thanks for reading and leaving such a nice review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: harrypotterspirit
Date: 08/23/07 20:32
Chapter: Epilogue

I truely enjoyed this story. Dumbledore was such a thoughtful and caring character in the HP series yet we never see many details about his past. And this story filled this gap nicely. I could feel Dumbledore's adoration for Catheryn. This story nicely explains why he devoted his life to Hogwarts because he lost his one true love. I, too, liked how you used the phoenix at the end. I do enjoy a happy ending (even though it included a death). Great story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I am very fond of this piece, and of Cathryn, so I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading it and leaving such a nice review! It's great to know people are still reading my older stories. ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Mariangelo
Date: 05/07/07 12:57
Chapter: Epilogue

This is the first time since reading OOTP that I have cried for a HP character. My poor fluff-filled heart couldn't take the romantic sentimentality of this piece. Thank you. It was absolutely beautiful.

Author's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review! I'm sorry to make you cry, but it did turn out well for them in the end, didn't it? It was a sad story to write, although also great fun to research and plan. I sometimes wish Cathryn hadn't died so soon, I really liked her. Thank you so much for reading this story, it's almost been a year now since I wrote it and it's so great to still get reviews for it! I really appreciate your lovely words - thank you!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: SugarxSpunxQuill
Date: 04/22/07 11:10
Chapter: Part One

Great story, i havn't read a 'young albus dumbledore' story before, ive not had much intrest in them, but your story has me gripped!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you are still interested, I hope you keep reading and aren't disappointed! I have to smile when you say 'young Dumbledore' though, since he is almost one hundred years old here, lol. Thanks for continuing and leaving such a nice review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: SugarxSpunxQuill
Date: 04/22/07 10:17
Chapter: Prologue

hmm... i too believe that dumbledore would have at one point been married! I love the way he offers condolences for his own death, that is very dumbledore!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! This story is almost a year old so it is so great to know someone is still reading it! I'd love to know more about Dumbledore's past. This is just my take on the man. I hope you enjoy the story - thanks again for reading and reviewing! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Indigoenigma
Date: 11/23/06 1:50
Chapter: Epilogue

Incredible, simply incredible. I was so moved by this story that I've been in tears for a while now (that's a good thing, really). It is so well written that I can feel just how much Dumbledore loves Cathryn. I'm also a hopeless romantic and this fully satisfied my questions about Dumbledore's capacity for love yet his lack of a partner. Congratulations on a job very well done.

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for reading this story! I am thrilled that you enjoyed it so much, tears or no tears. I am rather proud of this story and how well it did in the challenge so to get such a wonderful review three months later is a thrill! Thank you so much for your kind words!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: maagpie
Date: 11/07/06 10:02
Chapter: Epilogue

What a lovely and touching story. I was in tears several times, especially at the end. Really one of my favorites I have read. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I am thrilled you enjoyed this story so much. I am rather proud of it, tears and all. I just finished a story called Many Meetings that is set a few years after this story. It is about about Dumbledore's final confrontation with Grindelwald, as well as his first meeting with Nicholas Flamel. I've really enjoyed working in this time period. Thanks again for the review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Cheshlin
Date: 11/01/06 15:40
Chapter: Epilogue

I have been side tracked for quite a while now, but I've finally finished this story! I totally loved it! Fawkes part at the end was truly the best! Thanks for such an enjoyable story. See ya around! :)
Cyns

Author's Response: Hi!! I can't imagine what you have been sidetracked with. ;) I am so glad you finished the story, and I am really happy you liked it. I am rather proud of it, so thank you for reading it! I am glad you liked seeing Fawkes again at the end, I thought it was a nice way to reunite Albus and Cathryn. I'm so excited now, thank you so much for leaving this great note!! ~Gina :) PS. I submitted a one-shot on Dumbledore and Grindelwald that is directly related to this story for the FHWP. I hope it is accepted soon and that you might read it! :)

Reviewer: Emily_the_Poet
Date: 10/10/06 0:15
Chapter: Part One

This story is beautifully written. You balance the plot and such evenly and you are really good at your descriptions of actiony events. I particularly liked the way you slowly unveiled Cathryn's personality, you can tell from the beginning she's rather fiesty, yet she develops into a wonderfully well rounded character. It's too bad about what happens to her though. I felt wretched just reading it, so I can only imagine what you felt writing it, even if you knew it had to be for the ending to work in your favor. You did a masterful job Gina.
~Miki

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review, Miki! I am so glad you read this story, you are the first since the results went up. *squee* Thank you for the generous compliments! I am glad you liked it, as sad as it was at times. Yes, it was difficult to write, for many reasons. I felt terrible creating this lovely character only to have it turn out the way it did for her. Did you like her connection to Ravenclaw? There are lots of little connections in this story I'm proud of, particularly that one. Thank you so much for coming by to read it, and thank you for your great review, I really appreciate it!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: mgle_teacher
Date: 09/16/06 11:13
Chapter: Epilogue

Oh, Gina.
I never did get to beta the epilogue - I was crying at the end. *wipes tears*
I might have been your beta BUT you definitely have the talent of writing!
And I was happy to be your beta -- sorry I lagged it for a while. lol.

Author's Response: Hi Ritta! Thanks so much for coming by to read the epilogue! You were a wonderful beta, thank you so much for all of your wonderful work on this story! You never lagged, you worked so hard to help me meet that deadline. This story was one of my most challenging yet and I really appreciate all of your help. I'm sorry I never got you the end, but I was wiped out by the time I finished,lol. :) I'm glad you liked how it turned out, even if you did cry. :) Thank you so much for your great review, and for being such a super beta!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: EmeraldFire
Date: 09/16/06 0:36
Chapter: Epilogue

Lovely story. so sad but still gives you a sense of hope that things turn out right in the end. Well written and thanks to you and your beta for a great read :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so much for your wonderful comments! I haven't had much feedback on the epilogue and was starting to doubt myself. I am so glad you enjoyed it and really appreciate you taking the time to leave a note! I am going to copy it to my beta as well. :) Thanks again! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Gryffinpuff
Date: 09/10/06 11:13
Chapter: Part One

I love the way you tied the standard wedding procedures into the growing conflict in London and the rest of the wizarding world. You really were skillful with layering in different ideas and objects, which I'm sure I'll see returning in the chapters to come. Excellent job so far, dear!
~Ashley

Author's Response: Hi Ashley! Thanks so much for coming by to read this story! And thank you for the comment on layering - you know I worked hard on that. ;) I do hope you read the rest of the story and enjoy it as well. Thanks again for the great review, it made my day! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Lost_Wizard
Date: 09/08/06 8:56
Chapter: Epilogue

Wow that was great..

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it - I appreciate you leaving a review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Zacko Borni
Date: 09/07/06 13:37
Chapter: Prologue

GREAT story! OMG, I can't belive it's not even a story about a lemon or humor or anything and it's still this good! Unbeileivable! Not really that funny though. Still!

Author's Response: Hm, sorry there are no lemons. ;) I"m glad you liked it anyway! It's not that funny, no. But I do have a story in the humor section called "Double Double Toil and Trouble." I hope you like the rest of the story, it should be complete soon! Thanks for leaving a review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Cheshlin
Date: 09/06/06 22:07
Chapter: Part Three

Ah, poor Dumbledore. I wonder when he will realize that the scar on his knew is the London underground! LOL I love Aldred and Aberforth. You write them very well. I can't wait to read the Epilogue!!

Author's Response: Hi Cyns! Thank you so much for continuing with the story! So were you surprised at how they were separated, or was it apparent what was going to happen? I'm just curious. Yes, that is the London underground scar - when I started this story I made a list of little things I wanted to throw in, and that was one of them, strangely enough. I hope you spotted the others. :) The Epilogue is posted and I can't wait to see what you think!! I'm so excited about it, its silly. Thanks so much for the great review, I reallly appreciate it! ~Gina :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
At the Battlefront by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
The Final Battle at Hogwarts rages on as the victims question whether or not...
Crocus by Equinox Chick 3rd-5th Years
Four years after the Battle of Hogwarts, Andromeda Tonks exists only for her...
Other Lives and Dimensions and Finally a Love Story by MoRoCcAnAnDpRoUd 6th-7th Years
The year is 1977, and the Wizarding World is in turmoil, but it doesn't really...
FEATURED
My Troubled Tyrant by Belledeg Professors
Keedie Dante has experienced many amazing things during her time at Hogwarts...
His and Hers by Acacia Carter 3rd-5th Years
In a perfect world, Neville and Hannah's wedding would go off without a hitch...
All This Waiting For The Sky To Fall by Dawnie 1st-2nd Years
They found her body - broken, bleeding, face filled with signs of pain and fear...
Sanguini, the Vampire by teh tarik 6th-7th Years
Vampirism is the persistence and the perpetuity of the body, a madness of the...
Lost and Found by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
When Tracey Davis's financial security was a casualty of war, her family is...
CATEGORIES