Reviewer: Maple_and_PheonixFeather
Date: 06/02/11 11:33
Chapter: One-Shot

Wow. This actually had me completely stunned and near tears (and I NEVER cry). Its just so beautiful and so true.

Author's Response: Heh, heh - I love those reactions. ;) I am so glad you dug back and found this old story to read, because it's one of my favorites. And I'm really glad you enjoyed it and that it touched you in some way. Thank you so much for reading this and leaving me such a lovely review so long after it was written! I really appreciate it - thanks again! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: laceymoibella
Date: 12/11/07 12:28
Chapter: One-Shot

This story is so profound and emotional. It is beautifully written. You put so much thought into this.

This is a fic that one can easily relate to in terms of love that they encounter and their reaction to the love in their lives.

~Lacey

Author's Response: Lacey! I can't believe I never responded - thank you so much for reading this story! I'm so glad you read it - I really did put a lot of thought into it, and am still proud of it. Thank you so much for the wonderful review! *turnip hug* ~Gina :)

Reviewer: coolcat456
Date: 06/22/07 12:39
Chapter: One-Shot

great story! i love your work. i know this is going to sound stupid, but i almost cried when i read the last bit with harry's parents. so compassionate

Author's Response: Oh, it doesn't sound stupid at all, that is one of my favorite parts of Harry's journey. Thanks so much for reading this story, it's a special one to me. I'm really glad you enjoyed it as I find it a bit different. Thanks for another awesome review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: lucilla_pauie
Date: 04/26/07 13:08
Chapter: One-Shot

oh....

oh...

oh.... *speechless*

this is the most touching HP fanfic i have ever read! and I have read a lot!

thank you for writing such a wonderful story, gin, you followed the butterfly of inspiration, too, didn't you? great work!

and please share with me that puppet video, id love to see it.

back to the story, i saw a reference to this from your duelling thread. the dueller was in awe...like me now. i see why. ^_^

~joanna

Author's Response: Hi Joanna! Thanks so much for reading this story, it goes with the other one you read about Harry's final battle. I'm thrilled you enjoyed it as well. It was really fun to write something that was actually quite different for me. Thank you so much for the great review, and for reviving my dueling club thread! Your questions were great. Poke me if I don't send you a link to that puppet video; although, I must warn you it is rather twisted. ;) Thanks again for reading my work, and for such nice reviews!! *turnip hug* ~Gina :)

Reviewer: LoOnY_for_Harry
Date: 12/08/06 15:22
Chapter: One-Shot

Amazing fanfic. The wisdom in the story is unsurpassed by any wisdom I've ever heard. I love the colour of the butterfly chosen for each character-- they fit perfectly.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the glowing review! I'm really happy you liked this story so much. It's rather special to me, as its rather different than most of my other stories. I am so glad you read this piece, and really appreciate your kind words! Thank you!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Cheshlin
Date: 11/23/06 20:46
Chapter: One-Shot

This was a wonderful story. I loved the message from each character, or set of characters. You definitely picked the correct people for each lesson. I knew Lily and James would make an appearance at some point. :) That was a very cool part. I loved how Lily and Mrs. Weasley touched his face in much the same way! :) I've been meaning to review this story since it was posted, but I just haven't had much time. Great Job!

Author's Response: Hi Cyns! Thanks so much for the great review! I'm so glad you read this story, and enjoyed it. The comment about picking the right people just made my day, because that part was tough; I really wanted to work in Sirius and Remus, but just couldn't. Thanks again for reading this, and leaving such a nice review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Ithinkrabis2people
Date: 11/21/06 13:14
Chapter: One-Shot

I don't think this is odd at all. It's actually rather beautiful. It's such a lovely tale, and I adore everyone in this fic - I thought the characterisation was spot-on!

However, I do have one thing to say. I normally find that it's easier to write second tense if you use First Person, rather than third. That could just be me, but you might want to try it in future.

Aside from that, you made me very happy with this!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for reading this story! I'm glad I could make someone happy with it. I'm also glad I got the characterization correct, tricky to do in a dreamscape, perhaps. ;) I'm intrigued by your suggestion of using a different tense. Just moving away from past tense was a stretch for me, but I can certainly "see" a story like this being written in first person. Thanks for the idea! And thank you for the wonderful review - see you around Ravenclaw! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Dumbledore Prince
Date: 11/21/06 6:49
Chapter: One-Shot

Beautiful!

I was pulled in by the summary, simply for the joy of reading an unusual piece. And to my delight, this fic is not only unusual, but hearwarming as well! I loved the way you choose the butterfly to be the symbol of peace, as opposed to the more ... conventional animals. I could make out the reasons for choosing different colours for the butterfly's wings as and when Harry meets many different people who he has known and loved.

Nearly everyone was very, very in-character, and I could almost visualise this sort of vision occuring to Harry in Book Seven. My favourite scene is the Harry/Ginny one, and the most poignant lines from this story are too many to list.

But I noticed a few things that seemed a little out-of-place. While Harry's interactions with most people was very clear and in-character, I didn't feel the same about the meeting with Snape and Draco. While they were bitter and sarcastic, they seemed to be two-dimensional. In spite of that, I like the way you portray Bad!Snape (I've read too much of Nice!Snape). I would have loved to see more of their emotions. Apart from that ... great story!

Author's Response:

Author's Response: Hi Mini! Thank you for the amazing review! I am so glad you liked this story; I am thrilled (and surprised and relieved) with the response it has gotten so far. I appreciate your comments about Draco and Snape. I wonder how I could make them more three-dimensional, I'll have to think about that. On the other hand, it is sometimes hard to get an unbiased view of these characters in particular when reading a story from Harry's point of view. His feelings color everything he sees and hears. Still, I will try to make my baddies and well rounded as possible in the future. ;) Speaking of colors, I saw that you asked about the butterfly colors in the Dueling Club. *squee* Thank you for reviving my thread, I will be sure to answer later today! Thank you for reading this story, for the lovely questions, and the wonderful review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: GreyLady
Date: 11/20/06 16:14
Chapter: One-Shot

Oh, Gina! When you told me about this, I wasn't sure what to expect...but it's so lovely! The symbolism was the best part, I'd say; the entire concept is just really cool. Did you match people up with colors for specific reasons? My peronal favorite part was when Harry merges with himself. As for concrit, I don't see anything that really looks like it needs to be worked on; maybe you could try more description. Just a great piece of writing, overall. I found it to be very powerful. As for it being unusual...maybe you should try writing stuff like this more often. I'd say it worked out very well. ;)

Author's Response: Oops, double review! :) But I'll read such nice words twice - thanks again for reading this story, I'm so glad you think it works and that you enjoyed it! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: GreyLady
Date: 11/20/06 16:14
Chapter: One-Shot

Oh, Gina! When you told me about this, I wasn't sure what to expect...but it's so lovely! The symbolism was the best part, I'd say; the entire concept is just really cool. Did you match people up with colors for specific reasons? My peronal favorite part was when Harry merges with himself. As for concrit, I don't see anything that really looks like it needs to be worked on; maybe you could try more description. Just a great piece of writing, overall. I found it to be very powerful. As for it being unusual...maybe you should try writing stuff like this more often. I'd say it worked out very well. ;)

Author's Response: Hi Ren! Thank you so much for the fabulous review! *blushes* I'm glad it was unexpected, and I'm so happy you liked this story! I like the end too. :) As for the colors, there are some very loose meanings to the colors and order I chose, yes. Thank you so much for taking the time to read it, and for leaving such a wonderful review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: lovedansblue eyes
Date: 11/19/06 20:55
Chapter: One-Shot

simply beautiful....:)

Author's Response: Why thank you! I'm so glad you found it so! Thank you for reading this story and leaving a lovely review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Moony 62442
Date: 11/19/06 20:53
Chapter: One-Shot

I love it! The symbolism is so deep! Amazing. I didn't think it would be funny, actually, because butterflies always seem so show change. If you have every seen Tim Burton's "The Corpse Bride" then you will know exactly what I mean. Thank you for a wonderful and brilliant story that will be on my favorites in about 23 seconds. Cheers!
~Moony

Author's Response: Wow,you are quite welcome - thank you for the fantastic review! I am so glad you liked this story. I have not seen "The Corpse Bride" but I know what you mean about butterflies. I'm still puzzled about how this all came from a rather ridiculous online video poking fun at Ron. ;) Thank you for reading this story and taking the time to leave such a great review, I'm thrilled! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Pianochic1703
Date: 11/19/06 19:54
Chapter: One-Shot

This is fantastic! That's the only word I could think of the describe it! How true the message is! Wonderfully written!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the great review! I am so happy you enjoyed it, I really enjoyed writing this story and am thrilled with the response so far! I'm happy that the message resonated for you - thanks again for the lovely review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: mgle_teacher
Date: 11/19/06 19:37
Chapter: One-Shot

This is a nice piece Gina!
I'm honored you dedicated it to me and Julie. It's always a pleasure betaing work for you as you are such a magnificent writer. *grins*

I love the butterfly theme, and the way you have the butterly change colors throughout the story. I'm assuming that the colors represent several feelings, or the people (ie: Slytherin = green).

You really captured the entire feeling of what it is to you. I particularly loved the part with Snape telling Harry that hate and love are opposites.

I once heard a saying that the 'opposite of love isn't hate - it is indifference'
It might not necessarily apply to Harry or your story but still...lovely.

*hugs*


Author's Response: Ritta! Thank you for the wonderful review! Oh, I'm so glad you read this story, and even happier that you liked it! To think it's all because of a silly video and an even sillier avatar. ;) I did want the colors to have a loose meaning, yes. As for love and hate - I'd probably agree that the opposite of love is indifference, but in this story Harry doesn't feel indifference toward Snape, he feels a very concrete hatred that needed to be acknowledged and released. Does that make sense? Thanks again for reading this story, and for the lovely review, and for all your hard beta work! *huggles back* ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Gryffinpuff
Date: 11/19/06 18:11
Chapter: One-Shot

Wow, I'm glad I inspired you to write this lovely, unique piece with that random "follow the butterflies" hidden video on the Potter Puppet Pals site, lol! I think this was absolutely lovely, Gina. The butterfly is a symbol of rebirth and transition, and I think it was a very clever device to use in Harry's progress of discovering the secrets of love and life. I really loved the end when the butterfly became black, and Harry was faced with himself. I think overcoming the boundary of your own doubts and limitations is truly the hardest hurdle to pass in life, so I liked that it was how you ended his journey. I found only one problem, I think anyway I may have misread. In the part with James and Lily, Lily said we choose twice, and I think it should have been chose, as she is referring to the past.

Excellent job dear! *hugs*
~Ashley

Author's Response: Hi Ashley! Yes, I suppose I should thank you for sending me these crazy links, although I'm not sure they are all as inspiring as the Potter Puppet Pals. ;) I'm so excited that you came to read this story! I'm really happy with how it turned out - it's not what you would expect, is it? I went back and fixed that stupid past tense verb, thanks for pointing it out so quick. ;) I'm very glad you liked this story, particularly the bit at the end - thank you for the wonderful review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: LovelyxLena
Date: 11/19/06 18:01
Chapter: One-Shot

I loved this, I really did. It reminded me somewhat of "Five People you meet in Heaven" The way you showed all the different types of love, and how you must let go of hate. Brilliant! *tears up*

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed this story, as it is very different for me. I have not read Mitch Albom's book, actually, but what a compliment to be compared to a best-seller! Thank you so much for reading this story, and for the wonderful first review!! ~Gina :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES