Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 12/15/10 10:50
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

LOL! Gina, this was good fun. I especially like that Harry doesn't want to look like a git. ;) Your banner and link are doing their jobs... good stuff!

Author's Response: Hey, thanks Lori! I wrote this several years ago but I still like it and it's not AU, so I figured I'd link it in my signature. I'm so glad you came and read it. And I'm glad you liked it, it was fun to write. Thanks so much!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Bookwormy
Date: 03/16/09 5:03
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

Haha, very nice! Quite a random childish poem but thats the kind of stuff I LOVE!

good job, really ! 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it, it was a blast to work on. I really appreciate the review, thanks for reading! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Ollirep
Date: 12/16/07 11:25
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

That was quite good! I also wrote a Harry Potter parody of this poem. Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you! It's a fun poem to pull into the Potterverse, isn't it? Thanks for reading mine and leaving such a nice review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: star_sailor
Date: 12/02/07 18:34
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

This poem is all kinds of the following:
Great
Cute
Amazing


This was really one of the best poems/Christmas stories I've heard. It faltered a bit on some of the first lines, but only a few times, and you kept it moving. Such a good job!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I'm so glad someone is reading this a year later!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: lilyflower113
Date: 09/13/07 0:19
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

Wow, I usually don't like poems, but your's was GGGRRREEEAAATTT!!!. Yeah, I think you can tell how much l like it. I'm gonna go read your other stories and stuff now. Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, thank you for the review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: pavartipatil
Date: 08/17/07 8:51
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

It could use some work but other wise it has potential!

Author's Response: There are a few rough rhymes, but I had fun with it. Thanks for the review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: kikASSbabe
Date: 07/07/07 16:35
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

i love this poem! you have such an awesome way with words!! who would have thought to twist 'twas the night before christmas? i know i'm replying pretty late, but i got my account a couple of months ago and am starting to learn my way around.

Author's Response: There's no rule that says you can't read Christmas fics in July! ;) I'm glad you liked it, thanks so much for coming back to leave such a lovely review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: MissyQuill
Date: 06/01/07 4:44
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

That was FANTASTIC. i simply loved it.=Sammy

Author's Response: Thanks so much! What fun to have a holiday story reviewed in June! ;) I'm glad you enjoyed it, it was a blast to write. It just seemed like a perfect adaptation of the HP universe. Thanks for leaving such a lovely review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Soccer_rocks_likeHP
Date: 03/18/07 14:16
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

That was a very nice twist on Twas the Night Before Christmas. The only problem with the poem I had was every so often some of the lines didn't quite rhyme. I've always thought a line should rhyme with another close by in that poem. But otherwise you did a great job. Just wok on the rhyming (don't change it to much) and you shall succeed greatly!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks so much for reading this poem! I hear you about the rhymes, but boy "Myrtle" and "Hagrid" are hard ones to come up with! ;) I hope you enjoyed it otherwise. Thanks again for reading this and for leaving a review, I really appreciate it! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: FenrirG
Date: 02/27/07 23:43
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

Hello there! I don't believe we've been properly introduced, but you've probably seen me around the forums recently--I'm a 'Claw as well. =)


This is succhh a wonderful, cute, quirky, and funny poem. It's hilarious and well-written, and stays very true to the original poem. I just *love* the hippogriff names, I was laughing hysterically when I read them.


Gosh, you've gone and put me in the holiday spirit--and it's February! Great poem, I'm off to checkk your other stories. =) *turnip hug*

Author's Response: Hi there FenrirG! Nice to meet a fellow 'Claw! Thanks for reading this little piece, I'm so glad you enjoyed it. I'm really happy to hear you laughed, I had such fun with parts of this! I really appreciate the lovely review. Thanks again and see you around the forums! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Ravenclaws Heir
Date: 01/20/07 19:48
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

Nice.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for the review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Magical Maeve
Date: 01/11/07 6:00
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

I adore this! Everything about it is right. It's very faithful to the original and the rhyme scheme works beautifully - it's as if the original words echo in your head as you read the newer version.



The blending of canon with the original is so well done, and I adore Hagrid as the one doling out advice on girls and dancing. He might be a great big oaf to some, but he's also full of wisdom - some good, some not so good. *giggles* The vision of him sailing above Hogwarts with Harry on Buckbeak is a lovely Christmassy one.

I also loved the nod to the beta forums, that was great fun and well worked in. Apart from those lines, my other favourites would have to be...

Harry returned to the castle with stealth,
Making sure he wasn’t seen, since he valued his health.


Imagines stalking Potions Master waiting to do him some damage... and...

Their robes were all gathered and hanging with care,
In hopes that the house-elves soon would be there.


... because I love the image, the fact that it could only be Hogwarts and the fact that it could also have come straight from the original.

No real concrit apart from maybe one line... As the brooms through a Quidditch match through the air fly, I felt you could have lost the first the and somehow replaced the first through. maybe something as simple as "As brooms in a Quidditch match through the air fly." It alters the metre slightly but doesn't sound quite so clunky. I would need to find the same line in the original to compare the exact metre. Other than that - faultless. As always, a pleasure, and great fun, to read.



Author's Response: *dies* Jan, oh my gosh, thank you SO MUCH for the wonderful review. Wow - my second SPEW review, yay!! I am so glad you enjoyed this piece - and I'm glad you let me use this poem for the challenge! I'm so happy a certified poet found it lived up to the original, although mine turned out quite a bit longer. I really enjoyed writing it, thanks for a lovely prompt (as usual). You are absolutely right about that awkward line, I can't believe I missed that. I noticed it as soon as you quoted it. Thank you for the suggestion, I will touch it up soon. Thanks for all you do around here and for being such a lovely HoH. And another huge THANK YOU for such a wonderful review, it really made my day to wake up to such kind words. *turnip hug* ~Gina :)

Reviewer: the_evenstar
Date: 12/16/06 9:18
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

I don't think I've laughed this hard in a long time! I think these lines were my favorite:

“Now Harry, my boy, just a bit o’ advice:
When you dance with yeh girl, be sure t’ dance nice."
“Thanks, Hagrid,” said Harry, and laughed with a grin.
“I certainly wasn’t planning on doing her in.”

I mean, the whole idea of Hagrid as a Santa-figure is funny in the first place, but to have him giving Harry advice about girls is side-splitting! I'm just glad that you're in Ravenclaw, because a parody like this is gold!

Holiday love from,
*The Order of the Ravenclaw House Elves*

Author's Response: Oh my, thank you for the wonderful review! *squee* And from a house elf, no less! I'm so glad you enjoyed this poem, it was so much fun to write. I think the idea of Hagrid giving out romantic advice is funny too, given his relationship with Madame Maxime. Thank you for reading it, and for participating in the gift drop - and thank you for my lovely gift!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: crazy_purple_hp_freak
Date: 12/10/06 14:33
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

Wow, great job! That must have been so hard to write…but you managed it really well, and I love the fact that the whole poem tells its own story.

I also love these lines:

“Now Turnip, Now Cabbage, Now Mary and Sue,
Come Philbert, Come Toaster, Come Tiramisu!


Hilarious…lol! I also loved the way that you ‘slanged’ Hagrid’s speech, it sounds exactly like him. And the thought of Hagrid giving Harry love advice is so funny! This made me laugh a lot, and is so well written. Good luck in the challenge! ~Suzie


Author's Response: Hi Suzie! Thanks for the great review! I'm so glad this made you laugh, that's perfect! I had a lot of fun with it. Some of the rhymes gave me fits, but it worked out in the end. I'm glad you liked the Hippogriffs, yay! It's my personal nod to the great fun of the beta forums and I love that readers are picking up on it. Thanks again for reading this, and for the wonderful review! Good luck yourself!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Sly Severus
Date: 12/09/06 21:59
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

Awww...this was really cute. I loved the ending. It just seemed to sum in up perfectly.


Very well done. :D

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so much for the review! I'm so glad you stopped to read this piece and I'm really glad you liked the ending. I couldn't resist the extra couplet. ;) Thanks again for the lovely review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: mgle_teacher
Date: 12/08/06 20:17
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

Girls were quite pretty and made for nice dates,
But he’d always prefer time to spend with his mates.

Lol!
I loved that last line, Gina!
It was hilarious.
And on another note - what a great poem! Parody poem! Whatever!
It was great! I had no idea it would come out this great when you shared the part with the hippogriffs with me.
And the names were wonderful! Especially the Turnip, Cabbage, Toasters, Philbert, and Tiramisu from the forums - nice way to incorporate it all - and nice inside joke.
Again, lovely work!
You're just too talented for your own good. lol.
*hugs*

Author's Response: *blushes* Thank you so much for the compliment! I don't know about all that, but I definitely had fun with this one, especially the hippogriffs! Thank you so much for reading it and leaving such a nice review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Cheshlin
Date: 12/02/06 19:48
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

I really did enjoy this story! It was a pleasure to read it through for you. I love the names of all the Hippogriffs. :) You worked those in quite nicely! Great luck with the challenge!

Author's Response: Hi Cyns! Thank you so much for looking this over. I'm glad you liked it, it was fun to write, and probably a good way for me to start with my first poem in the Potterverse. I still laugh to myself about the hippogriffs. ;) Thank you for reading this and leaving such a lovely review, I really appreciate it!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Cinderella Angelina
Date: 11/28/06 21:12
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

Philbert, Toaster, Turnip, and Tiramisu?

I too must add my appreciation of the names chosen there. Also, I find that this is a very well-done parody. I don't really believe that Hagrid would've flown up to give Harry advice but with regards to the actual poem that it's a spoof off of that's probably the best choice.

For it being a poem, Harry was characterized pretty well, I have to say. Good luck on the challenge and all!

Have a nice day! *D*

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for reading this poem and leaving such a nice review!I really appreciate the compliment on Harry. I'm so glad you liked the hippogriff names - it is such fun to see forum members come by and pick up on that little bit! *Of course* Hagrid would never fly up to give Harry advice - he's way too big for a hippogriff, and his romantic advice is really a bit sketchy. ;o) Like you said - it's a parody, all in fun! I'm glad you liked it, it was fun to work with this particular piece. Thanks again for reading it and leaving such a lovely review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Just Beyond the Veil
Date: 11/28/06 15:39
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

This is a great poem! I loved the hippogriffs' names, too. Poetry's never really been my thing, but I really like this one. Great job and good luck in the challenge, Gina!
~JBV

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for stopping to read this poem! I'm so glad you liked it. Poetry's not really mine thing either, except around Ravenclaw. ;) But I had such a good model to work with on this one and a fun story to tell so I thought I'd go for it. I'm glad you enjoyed the hippogriff's names as well, that was fun! Thanks again for reading and leaving such a lovely review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: ronnyc718
Date: 11/28/06 0:29
Chapter: A Visit from Hagrid

I love it! Quite a delight. Hagrid's hippogriff's names definitely made me laugh.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked the Hippogriffs, its a bit of an inside joke - if you visit the forums at all, I'm sure you figured it out. I had fun with it. ;) Thanks so much for reading my first poem and leaving such a nice review! ~Gina :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
MIT: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
Through the Mines by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Tom Riddle remarks on the power he held while at the orphanage and at school.Written...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES