Reviews For A New Year's Gift
Reviewer: Bookwormy
Date: 03/16/09 5:12
Chapter: Chapter 1

Very nicely done.! I liked it, i like the way you write it's not too detailed and neither too short..!!

Snape is nice :D

I was kind of hoping Dumbledore would give him what he saw in the mirror ... erm, Lily? lol anyway
9/10

Author's Response: Sorry, I'm not a big Snape/Lily shipper (plus wrote it before DH!) I'm glad you enjoyed the rest of it, though! Thanks for reading and leaving such nice reviews!! It's nice to get them for older stories. ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Hermoine Jean Granger
Date: 09/16/08 10:44
Chapter: Chapter 1

Lovely story, Gina. I liked the characterisation of Severus throughout the story, the things he saw in the Mirror of Erised, his feelings when he received the gift and when he opened it..... all of it has been written well.

The gift from Dumbledore was well-thought out and wonderful. The description of the tree and the phoenix song was enthralling. Overall, I completely loved the story and the imagery in it. The value of trust and faith that Severus realised through the gift was brought out in a wonderful manner.

Author's Response: A very belated thank-you for the lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed this story. I wrote this story a while ago - long before DH - but I really appreciate all your positive comments. Thank you for finding it, reading it, and leaving such a nice review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: sayiansirius
Date: 01/02/08 20:19
Chapter: Chapter 1

I havenít read much of your work, Gina, but this is beautifully written and Iím glad I read it. Especially now that the New Year is upon us. The message in the story is an excellent one and it also reflects on real life, as it does in the Potterverse. Trust is something we all need to have.

But, back to your story. Even though there wasnít a lot of dialogue, you still kept Snape and Dumbledore in character. Many write Snape as either too evil or a Snape who isnít evil enough; you seem to have it down packed.

In my opinion, Dumbledore trusting Snape because he used Occlumency and saw what Snape saw in the Mirror of Erised is a better reason for Dumbledore to trust him than what Jo used in Deathly Hallows. The Mirror doesnít lie Ė it just simply shows your heartís desire and if Snape desired not to have the Dark Mark anymore and be trusted and respected and just taken in a different light all together, then Dumbledore has all the reason to trust him. *grumbles about a Patronus not being good enough*

Thereís not much to say here. Excellently written with a simply, yet wonderful plot. Great job, Gina!

~KC :)

Author's Response: KC!! Thank you so much for reading this story! And thank you for the amazing review!! I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. I wrote it for a 'Claw challenge last season. It came quite quickly, and I was rather happy with it. I'm thrilled with the response it's gotten. I know I can write certain characters fairly well, but Snape can be tricky so I'm glad I managed to do him some justice with this piece. I totally thought the relationship between Snape and Dumbledore was a bit of a let-down in DH, but oh well! That's what fanfic is for! ;) Thanks again for the amazing review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 11/20/07 17:29
Chapter: Chapter 1

I got a warm glow from this piece, Dumbledore really is extraordinary. I wonder if that truly is what Snape would've seen in the mirror. Wonder what everyone else would see?

Author's Response: I wonder if JKR will ever tell us. O.o It is fun to write about, though. Thank you for reading this story, I'm glad you enjoyed it. And than you for the lovely review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: lilyflower113
Date: 09/13/07 0:46
Chapter: Chapter 1

It's so good!!!!!!!! And sad!!!!!!!!!!! I wanna cry!!!!!!!!!! But don't that's a good thing -- well not me crying -- but you writing a story so well that I want to cry. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the great review, I'm glad you enjoyed the story even if you are crying! :) ~Gina :)

Reviewer: DailyProphetEditor
Date: 03/26/07 9:42
Chapter: Chapter 1

I like this story very much. First of all, you have a beautiful writing style. One can see that you put a lot of effort into that.
Second, I like the way you depicted Snape and Dumbledore. Both of them are very much in character.

I liked the end so much - Snape hearing that New Year's Song in the distance. New Years's is a symbol of hope, but not for him - he stays secluded from everyone else. Yet this loneliness was his own choice.. really, a good story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review!! I really appreciate your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed this story and its message of hope for Snape. I'm glad I was able to portray both him and Dumbledore well. Thanks for reading this, and for the lovely review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 02/22/07 12:00
Chapter: Chapter 1

Good story. Stays within canon. Makes Snape more human.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed the story. I love staying in canon, for some reason - especially when working backwards like this. As for Snape - well, yes, he is human, and I'm hoping he is truly loyal to Dumbledore. We'll see in July! Thanks for reading this story, and for the lovely review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: merwizard
Date: 02/08/07 19:17
Chapter: Chapter 1

This is a very good story. It is not fair that Snape dislikes Harry for what his father did, but it is very in character. This story made me feel bad for Snape. It makes sense that he wants not to have done bad things. I liked that he got a Christmas tree. A late tree is much better than no tree at all.

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for reading this story! I'm glad that you enjoyed it and found the potions professor in character. Thanks for leaving such a nice review, I really appreciate it!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Snapes_secret
Date: 01/28/07 19:13
Chapter: Chapter 1

I know, I know ... I'm late! But it's the thought that counts, right? You know I can't resist a Snape-tale.

And a lovely tale it is! I love your insight as to what Severus might see in the Mirror. Something so simple ... and yet so out of reach, at least at the moment.

Good job!

Author's Response: Hi Sandy! Thanks so much for reading this story! I'm glad you enjoyed it, it was fun to write it for VV's little Snape challenge over in Ravenclaw. I even ended up writing a sequel for the December Challenge, lol. Snape is becoming more and more interesting to write, I must say. I hope he gets a juicy role in Book Seven! Thanks again for reading this and for the lovely review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Cheshlin
Date: 12/26/06 11:10
Chapter: Chapter 1

I love your portrayal of Snape! You really show in in a much different light then we normally see him. I truly could see him wanting to change the suspicion people have in him, and the fact that he had ever become a Death Eater. I'm in the Snape is in Dumbledore's camp too! Thanks for a heart warming story! It was joy to read. Cyns

Author's Response: Aw, thank *you*! I see this as another of my little oddballs in some ways - VV challenged us to write a story about Snape and the perfect present, and this popped out - it practically wrote itself! I'm glad I was able to write Snape okay, he can be tricky. Yes, I think he's loyal to Dumbledore, even if he is mean and nasty. I hope I'm right in the end! Thank you so much for reading this story, and for another wonderful review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: chickonsticks
Date: 12/06/06 14:00
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow, I am so impressed. I almost never read one-shots, but this one caught my eye. Thank you for bringing to light the concept of trust in all our eyes. Happy Holidays

Author's Response: Liked it that much, huh? ;) Thanks again! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: chickonsticks
Date: 12/06/06 12:55
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow, I am so impressed. I almost never read one-shots, but this one caught my eye. Thank you for bringing to light the concept of trust in all our eyes. Happy Holidays

Author's Response: Hi there! I'm glad this one caught your eye, and I'm really happy you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for reading it and leaving such a nice review - Happy Holidays!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Amortentia_18
Date: 12/05/06 16:33
Chapter: Chapter 1

It was really a touching story, and it makes me want to give Snape a hug=P lol great work!!=)

Author's Response: Thanks for the great review! I'm glad you liked this story, although I'm not sure about the hug - he's still Snape, after all, even if you feel a little bad for him ;) Thanks for reading it, I really appreciate the lovely review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: LovelyxLena
Date: 12/04/06 22:02
Chapter: Chapter 1

What?! No!

I reviewed and I submitted and it's not here. Ah well.

The present from Dumbledore was surprising. It really makes me want to give Snape another chance. He can't be all bad, right? Maybe he did just make some very very bad desicions.

This piece was so descriptive. It was short but you got your message across.

I love Fawkes. Hehe.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading the story, and for coming back and leaving a review! I'm glad you liked it. I think Snape might deserve that second chance, though we don't have to necessarily *like* him. I'm glad you liked Fawkes, he brightens up any story! ;) Thanks again for reading and leaving such a nice review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Big_Kelpie
Date: 12/04/06 21:23
Chapter: Chapter 1

good story!!!

Author's Response: Kelpie! Thanks for reading this story, I'm glad you liked it! It was for a challenge - of sorts - in my house. Thank you for the review, I really appreciate it! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: mgle_teacher
Date: 12/04/06 20:13
Chapter: Chapter 1

Another wonderful story Gina!
*hugs*
I like how you characterize Severus as a troubled man due to his past - but give him hope to look forward too...that's a nice gift!


Author's Response: Hi Ritta! Thanks so much for reading this story! I'm glad you liked it. I appreciate the comment on Snape - this is my first time writing a story from his PoV and I hope I've struck the right balance between dark and light, despair and hope. Thanks so much for the lovely review, I really appreciate it!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Vindictus Viridian
Date: 12/04/06 19:38
Chapter: Chapter 1

Awww! I like it; in fact, you won me over somewhere around 'green-eyed git.' Happy holidays to you, and to Severus as well!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for the review, VV - and for the plot bunny in the first place! I'm so glad you liked it, I hope I did Severus justice even with it being a bit on the sentimental side. My husband suggested something rather interesting this evening so maybe you'll get a drabble as well! ;) Thanks for reading it and for leaving a review, I really appreciate it!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: SimplyCharmed
Date: 12/04/06 18:31
Chapter: Chapter 1

That is a beautiful story. *10*

Author's Response: Thanks for the *10*! I'm so glad you liked it!! I appreciate you reading this story and leaving such a nice review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Hermione_Rocks
Date: 12/04/06 18:02
Chapter: Chapter 1

Aw. I loved it! I've never really thought about what Severus would see in the Mirror of Erised, but your reason fit perfectly. I'm curious as to what Dumbledore sees in the Mirror though.... Great job!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks so much for the great review! I'm so glad you liked this story. I actually wrote a drabble about Dumbledore and the Mirror, which probably had some small influence on this piece now that I think about it. How about that! Thanks for much for reading, and leaving such a nice review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: LovelyxLena
Date: 12/04/06 17:53
Chapter: Chapter 1

I can't read this now but I wanted to snatch first review! I'm sure this will be fabulous.

Author's Response: This just totally made me laugh! :) I hope you get a chance to read it, and I do hope you enjoy it! Thanks for the vote of confidence - and the first review! ;) ~Gina :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES