Reviewer: summer solstice
Date: 10/19/10 18:21
Chapter: An Aversion to Change

this chapter, neigh, this whole story, brought constant tears so my eyes. beautiful, though I wish Draco hadn't betrayed her... fanstastic

Author's Response: Thank you!!!

Reviewer: Stephinknee
Date: 09/29/10 2:30
Chapter: An Aversion to Change

Wow... just wow... that was twisted and unexpected and utterly.. Amazing... you had me right to the end.. bravo!

Author's Response: Thank you!! I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)

Reviewer: craftychick
Date: 09/08/10 15:48
Chapter: Desertion

If I didn't need sleep, I would have finish this story in one go. It was that good. It was well-written, with a consistent plot, well-developed characters, and juicy and exciting romance. I actually really like Draco Malfoy's character, even if he is... well, I don't to spoil it for other people who hasn't finish reading but are reading the reviews. And your Hermione is very Hermione-ish, and I love that.
I'm going to read both the Alternate Ending and the sequel because you're a good writer and I would really like to see what else you have come up with. So, excellent job and thank you for posting it up!

Author's Response: Thank you!! I think Draco is one of those character you just hate to love. Or is that love to hate? Haha. I'm glad you liked the story and I look forward to hearing what you think about the sequel!! ;)

Reviewer: Longbottom07
Date: 09/07/10 16:00
Chapter: Damage Control

ooooooh i just love how you put that last scene with voldemort in there! i know that it's malfoy because i accidentally read the alternate ending instead of starting with this, but it really makes you want to keep reading! Good job! Also i wanted to say that I thought you were doing a good job of having the characters act like how JK rowling makes them act....if you know what i'm saying :)

Author's Response: Lol, I never thought of someone reading the alternate ending first... Sorry for the confusion!! But I'm so glad you liked the story and I totally know what you're saying: keeping everyone in character was very important to me. :)

Reviewer: siriusfxckingblack
Date: 08/11/10 15:10
Chapter: Desertion

completely amazing and i have your incredible writing skills to thank for being sleep deprived as i read this in one sitting. thank you!

Author's Response: Haha, I'm always impressed at the people who can read through this story in one sitting. That takes quite some stamina! Thanks so much for reading! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: beaternumber1
Date: 08/05/10 20:13
Chapter: An Aversion to Change

Hello,
I wanted to let you know that I am very impressed with this story. It is a unique idea and you write it so well that we are never sure what to believe. I wanted to trust Draco so bad but even when you are listening to his thoughts you are never sure what to believe.
I think your portrayal of Draco is really well done and I love the idea that all he cares about is staying alive. I think this really fits with his personality and past experiences. He is just a weak kid in this fic and I look forward to seeing how he develops in your sequel.
As for Hermione I realize that sometimes we have to be flexible with characters to make a story fit but I really don't think that Hermione would have told Draco so much about the order no matter how in love she was. Even if she did tell Draco I am positive that she would have connected him to the leak as soon as Ron mentioned it.
I love the description and details that you include in your writing. The portions of the man talking to Voldemort are really well done.
Thanks for a great story and I can't wait for more. I especially hope we learn more about the ghost and the torture room in the sequel.
BB
(by the way I only ever read completed fics but since you've kind of trapped me in the story you had better finish this sequal FAST :)

Author's Response: I see Hermione as a very trusting character. Coupled with the whirlwind of love and the stress of the upcoming battle, I think she just needed an objective outlet - someone intelligent and knowledgeable about the situation, but no longer in the middle of it all. For her, this outlet was Draco, who, to her knowledge, had forsaken Voldemort when he took refuge with the Order. Obviously, a big mistake. I see your point, however. :)

And I'll try to post the sequel as quickly as I can! I appreciate your patience, however. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!!

Reviewer: Llyrfe
Date: 07/28/10 0:30
Chapter: An Aversion to Change

wow... this is ONE HECK OF A STORY... very nicely done... JK Rowling is that you?... hehe... from 1 to 10 i'll give you 11... this story is absolutely amazing, very well written too... I'm really sad about the Harry & Ginny part but I guess you got to do what you have to do, Harry has to die because he has to... I know I'm not making sense, but it has to happen, otherwise it wouldn't turn out this GREAT (I'm sure this will also turn out great if they lived but not this GREAT... know what i'm saying... geezzz... I'm blabbering... sorry)
... btw, what is the title of the sequel??? can't wait to read it... I can't wait for Hermoine's revenge and for the continuation of their romance... hehe... thanks for sharing this wonderful story...

Author's Response: Thank you!! I'm glad you liked it. The sequel is called "The Resilient" and you can find it on my author's page. Happy reading, and thanks for the review!!

Reviewer: heron
Date: 07/22/10 7:50
Chapter: Desertion

well written!!!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: sarahboo116
Date: 07/18/10 8:52
Chapter: Damage Control

It is Channing isn't it, I never trusted him. I think Draco honestly wanted to get away.

Reviewer: valmor
Date: 07/08/10 9:42
Chapter: An Aversion to Change

This ending, though well written, is less than satisfactory. Cliffhangers are bemusing, if infuriating. Do you intend to continue the tale?

Author's Response: The tale is indeed continued!! The sequel is called "The Resilient." I hope to see you there!

Reviewer: herbella
Date: 06/14/10 7:47
Chapter: Subtle Changes

hey , i read one of lucilla_paullie's stories. Both your stories are great !

Author's Response: Ah, don't you just love her?? I know I do! :D Thanks for reading!!

Reviewer: Muggle_Mary
Date: 06/08/10 22:30
Chapter: An Aversion to Change

This was a really great story. I just wish the ending wasn't so depressing. I was not expecting for it to end so badly.

Author's Response: Yes, I think I caught a lot of people off-guard with the ending. Thanks for reading, though, and if you're not planning to read the sequel, you should check out the alternate ending I have written!!

Reviewer: Lea Leas
Date: 05/24/10 5:17
Chapter: Desertion

wow! iv just spent 5 hours straight reading this and i love it. draco and hermione are my absolute fave pairing and this is def one of the best ones i have read. i figured out that Draco was the one doing the communicating about half way through but i so so wanted it not to be him that i literally shouted noooooooooooooo aloud when i found out it was.
i especially liked the little touch of putting all the riddles in. my only complaint is that i usually like to figure riddles out myself but i so wanted to know what was going to happen that i didnt bother and just read the answers straight away. :)
i am def looking forward to reading the sequals which are bound to be interesting. Some people have critisized you killing off Ginny and Harry, but in all honestly their deaths were the only way that the good guys would "lose" so compleatly. though i still think that had Draco truely decided to protect and love Hermione then helping them to win the war as apposed to losing it would prob have worked better. :) im going to go read the sequal right this second! and please please keep up the good work. especially regarding Draco/Hermione fic.

Author's Response: Thank you!! Draco and Hermione are my favorite too and this story was such fun to write. Nicely done, figuring out it was Draco. I put some clues in there (subtle ones, anyway) but hoped to leave it ambiguous enough so that some people would be caught off guard. Draco's choice to betray Hermione was a complex one and I hope that I can more clearly explain his motivations in the sequel. Thanks again for reading and reviewing!!

Reviewer: EE_Battery
Date: 05/02/10 18:48
Chapter: An Aversion to Change

This is one of the greatest stories I've read. The writing is incredible and the story is addicting. I am very excited to start reading the sequel.

Author's Response: Thank you!!

Reviewer: nullynob
Date: 04/14/10 21:52
Chapter: An Aversion to Change

Great story. Only bad part, killing Harry and Ginny. Ruined it for me. If it hadn;t been for that, this would've been a really great storyline that you worked out. 'Cept for Harry and Ginny :D

Author's Response: Haha, yeah. I didn't think I would win many points killing off most of the main characters. Thanks for reading anyway!

Reviewer: zestylicious
Date: 03/23/10 4:06
Chapter: Don't Forget It

dragon in the room.
excellent!

Author's Response: Haha, thanks!

Reviewer: sarah-something
Date: 02/22/10 18:50
Chapter: Desertion

"Blood oozed out of Draco’s body steadily, pooling and congealing on the floor, providing a horrifyingly beautiful contrast of crimson upon ivory."
I think thats the most beautiful line I've ever read.

Author's Response: :) Thank you!

Reviewer: sarah-something
Date: 02/22/10 18:50
Chapter: Desertion

"Blood oozed out of Draco’s body steadily, pooling and congealing on the floor, providing a horrifyingly beautiful contrast of crimson upon ivory."
I think thats the most beautiful line I've ever read.

Reviewer: areyousirius
Date: 01/31/10 14:41
Chapter: An Aversion to Change

Alright. Alright. Alright. So this was my first Draco/Hermione fic. I've been reading fanfiction for a while, and I don't know why but I've never gone really near the stuff, if we don't count two chapters of one horribly written attempt I found that I couldn't even finish. I had been growing sick of the obvious, conventional Harry/Ginny and Ron/Hermione, though, so I decided to go for it, full throttle. Let me tell you, this was a great way to start my journey into the Draco/Hermione pairing.

I specifically loved how you eased them into their romance. I feel that this pairing would be difficult, considering you need to find a way to take their utter hatred for one another and turn it to love and have it still seem natural all the while. It can’t come off as abrupt or too soon; it has to be taken slowly. You did this perfectly. They glided into their relationship with a definite flow; I didn’t once stop and think that something that had happened was out of line. You perfectly displayed their emotions and internal conflicts, giving both characters time to fall in love and question themselves about it. It didn’t just happen: it was a struggle, and you clearly showed that.

Though I have to admit I was frustrated at parts because I simply wanted the characters to see how much they cared for each other, that’s exactly how it’s supposed to be. So for that, I thank you.

Next topic: the masquerade. Though yes, maybe a bit clich, I still found it utterly adorable. Maybe it’s just because I’m a huge sucker for romance, but either way. I enjoyed it. A lot. This story wasn’t full of fluff to the point where it’s unbearable, which is a really good thing. I think if it was, the masquerade wouldn’t have been as welcomed by me. But, it was. All of the romantic parts were nicely balanced and put in at all the right times. It wasn’t just one big mushy bowl of mush, which even to romance-suckers like me isn’t exactly desirable. It had substance, and I loved it.

The whole plot sparked my interest. I had been about halfway done at around 2:30 AM and was forced to go to bed, much to my protest. From that moment to the moment I fell asleep I couldn’t stop thinking about and mulling over this story. I couldn’t decide who I thought was communicating with Voldemort: was it Orman, or was it Draco? I had suspected Draco, but then the idea of Orman struck me and I was battling with it up until I read the very last chapter. I really, sincerely did not know who it could have been. With every chapter that the mysterious encounters were mentioned I thought it was someone different. Draco, then Orman, then Draco again, then Orman again…
Not many people could have pulled this off well; almost any other writer wouldn’t have been able to successfully, but you did it flawlessly. I was stumped and extremely surprised when I found out. Like eyes-bugging-out-of-my-head surprised. The whole thing was great in that way; I didn’t see any of the twists and turns coming, which made the ride all the more fun. And though heartbreaking, the fact that you could really tap into such emotions says a lot. It was truly a pleasure to read this story.

Sorry for how long this review is; I get carried away. But to wrap it up: I’m about to venture on over to the sequel. You are a lovely writer. Please do not stop any time soon.

Author's Response: :D I can't believe I didn't see this review sooner!! First, thank you thank you thank you for taking the time to leave it!!! I love long reviews (and I get carried away myself), so this is quite a treat.

I'm glad I was able to convince you that the Dramione ship is worth sailing. There are quite a few utterly fantastic Dramione's out there (check out my favorites list if you want, but I have to plug "The Beast Within" by LaRubinita. It is seriously epic - so much better than I could ever hope to achieve, I promise.) Believability was a huge concern for me because I don't like stories that just drop you into the middle of it, either. So it was fun to find a way to stay true to their characters while spinning their romance. Tricky, at times, but fun.

Ah, the much-maligned masquerade. I still have mixed feelings about it (hindsight being 20/20 and all), but it really was so fun and light to write. I'm not very good at writing that mushy stuff, either (if you'll believe it...), so it was a challenge to balance it and make it flow with the rest of the story. I'm glad you liked it, though. :)

I love that I kept you bouncing around. I really had to hide my tracks and it was devilishly hard to keep everything consistent! It was totally worth it in the end, though.

Thank you so much again for reading and reviewing. I hope you enjoy the sequel!!

Cheers,

Mel

Reviewer: IckleRonnieX
Date: 01/24/10 12:44
Chapter: Desertion

Hi Mel! My name is Ronnie and I wanted to tell you that I loved this story. You are a very wonderful writer and you have a lot of talent.

I read this a week ago, exactly, and I was stunned. I was reading it on my iPod at night and didn't get to finish it the first night because I ran out of battery. I swear I was going crazy because I wanted to continue reading! :D

You managed to create suspense wonderfully throughout the story while not overdoing it, as well as the romance in it. The parts where you had a character talking to Voldemort were definitely some of my favourite parts. I loved it, because it really had me wondering so much weather it was Draco or Orpheus. There was a time when I was sure it wasn't Draco but BAM, you threw in some stuff that had me doubting again.

There are some points of Hermione's characterization I would like to point out. During all of the books, we never see Hermione as weak, or intimidated by Draco. Though I understand that Hermione would have probably be scared to be sharing a dorm with a "former Death Eater", she wouldn't have given in and let Draco harrass her because in canon we see her as a strong girl, one who can fend for herself. She would've told Harry about her problems with Draco, at least.

And as for Draco, in the books he is a total wimp, yet you have him as a strong, perfect guy which is hard to believe at times. I have to be honest with you and say I fell in love with him, but this is not the Draco we see in canon, though you managed to keep him more in character at times than Hermione. I see him harrassing Hermione but not to the extent to which he hits her. Though, probably, he might have changed during his time with the Death Eaters about it, seeing as how you said they treated him, you make it seem plausible. Having him take his anger out on her, I mean.

What I think it is really hard about writing Dramione is that they don't fit together, so we have to tweak their characterizations to manage it, so I understand why you did it. And, don't get me wrong, you did it amazingly because I've read some other fanfics...

Other things I wanted to say- Crabbe and Goyle. You made them seem like mindless trolls (which they are) but you kind of exaggerated and Pansy, she is not that shallow. She at least is a bit witty, considering on how she comes up with insults for everybody in the Gryffindor house, and a little bit brave, because she insulted older students.

There were some parts of the plot that seemed a bit clichd, like the Masquerade Ball. I've read it so many times that it has grown a little bit boring. And, I think, it was very predictable that the girl who Draco danced with was Hermione.

As for the end of the story. Wow. Wow. Wow. You left me fumbling for words. I definitely didn't see that coming. Harry and Ginny dying, Draco sending her to Azkaban. Whoa.

You did an amazing job. Sorry if I sounded as if I didn't like the story, because I really did. Actually, I will add it to my favourites as soon as I submit this review.

Congratulations on finishing such an amazing story,

Ronnie xxx

Author's Response: Hi Ronnie!

First, I want to thank you for taking the time to write out such a stunning review. This is definitely the most detailed feedback I've ever received, and I'm flattered by it. I definitely don't claim to have written a perfect story, so please know that I will take this review to heart. The only way my writing - or anyone's writing, for that matter - can improve is through critiques and revisions, which I take very seriously. So, again, your time in writing this was not wasted. :)

Second, I'd like to address some of your comments on characterization. You bring up very good points about both Hermione and Draco. Draco was definitely the harder of the two to keep canon, so it surprised me when you noted that Hermione seemed more OOC. The only reason I can give you is this: in my experience, who people are in public, even with friends, is usually different from who they are by themselves. I don't want to say that people wear "masks" necessarily; it's more like personas. It could be that we see Hermione as strong in the books simply because we rarely saw her alone and unguarded. She was almost always a part of the Trio, figuring something out or getting them out of trouble. But what about the times when she was in the Library? Or late at night when her only company was her cat? I think that Hermione is more than just a strong, female character - she's still a human. She can be weak and vulnerable and emotional. I think that because Rowling wrote in a "Harry-centric" way, we only saw Hermione in his context, if that makes sense. Not saying Rowling did a bad job of it, of course, just that she had more to focus on than the inner-workings of a love-struck teenage witch. :)

As for Draco, I have to disagree. I don't see him as strong or perfect. Following an order is so simple it's almost mindless. Even if his means were crafty, the end-game was clear-cut. If he had been strong, he would have chosen a different path for both himself and Hermione, but that can be explored more later. ;)

My secondary characters were weak, true, and I kick myself every time someone mentions the masquerade. Hahaha. It was fun to write and, at the time, utterly perfect for what I wanted, but looking back on it...::shudders:: I could have done better. Haha

Again, thank you so much for the review. I hope I addressed some of your queries without sounding defensive. I really do appreciate your feedback! :)

Most sincerely, Mel.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES