Reviewer: Lyra Lestrange
Date: 01/14/08 16:51
Chapter: Chapter 1: In Which The Stage Is Set

This is good! I love your choice of names, especially Haley and Emma. Both are two of my favorite names in the world! Anyway, I already like the characters' personalities right from the start. I think Emma is my favorite.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I've always loved the name Emma, but oddly, I've never liked the name Haley much. Ah, well. I'm glad you like Emma, because she doesn't seem like a very popular character.

Reviewer: Narcissa de Noir
Date: 01/07/08 17:22
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

I love this fic so much I've read the whole thing twice. This is probably because I don't really have a life, but whatever. My favourite OC is Jordan, he's amazing and I wish I was more like him. Don't know that I really don't-like anyone though, even though Ted freaks me out sometimes because he really reminds me of this guy I went out with who was also named Ted. But Ted Lupin shouldn't take it personally, and neither should you ;)

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, wow! I wrote this story twice, and I don't have a life! COINKY-DINK! It's really cool that you like Jordan... he's my favourite, too (though I'm not sure why you'd like to be more like him.)

It's funny that Ted reminds you of your ex-boyfriend... which brings me around to the question-- why is he your EX? Ted's adorable! ^_^

Reviewer: Tim the Enchanter
Date: 01/06/08 14:02
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

Hello Schmerg_the_Impaler,

In accordance with the virtues of reverse-psychology, I went ahead and read this story. Certainly, it does not contain the same level of advanced lunacy as some of your other works, but it was an entertaining read nonetheless. To answer your question at the end of your last chapter, my favourite character of yours would have to be Ted, for obvious reasons that don’t need to be stated. As for characters I disliked… there weren’t really any, though Jordan annoyed me somewhat.

[WARNING: the following paragraphs contain review-pleading self-advertising and off-topic correspondence]

Anyway, I enjoyed reading this story; it was not “too serious” at all. My own fic, “Obliviate!” pretty much has only one joke in the whole story. Serious writings as well as madly insane rants are definitely my cup of tea. However, I am not impartial to all stories… or tea, for that matter. For instance, I will only read Gustave Flaubert’s Madame Bovary at gun point (wand point?), and I utterly detest iced tea. Tea is supposed to be HOT!

As always, keep writing. You have a talent for writing insane stories… and finishing them! You see, I cannot seem to concentrate on any one project (either serious or deranged), so consequently my computer is stuffed with many stories I started but never finished…

Tim the Enchanter


Author's Response: Hello Tim the Enchanter (I just realized we have rather similar usernames... kind of...)

I think I made Ted a little too likable. Even when he acts like a jerk, he's loveable. (He didn't get a chance to act like a jerk in this installment, but he's lucky.)

Well, I personally LOVE iced tea because I end up burning my tongue on every hot beverage I've ever consumed... but still, to each her own. (Insert bad 'cup of tea' pun here.)

Your reviews are always insanely amusing. You know, I also start a lot of stories I don't finish. I just write a lot of stories, so I end up with a lot of finished ones, even if I don't finish more than I finish. I manage to do this by not having a life.

Reviewer: Llama_Moose
Date: 12/31/07 12:16
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

LUv Haley! KInd of like me! I'm upset that Emma didn't ask Tyrone out! ON to the second book!

Author's Response: Thanks! I love Haley, too. There aren't enough crazy female characters out there. (Though you never know what Emma will do later on....) I love your username, by the way.

Reviewer: Ankh of the night
Date: 12/31/07 8:55
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

Grr! Emma can be so infuriatingly insensitive!

Author's Response: She really can be... especially in the second and third books. But what do you expect from the daughter of Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger? ^_^ Neither is exactly the picture of tact.

Reviewer: Llama_Moose
Date: 12/28/07 9:21
Chapter: Chapter 6: In Which Ted Has Quite A Bad Hair Day

My phys. ed. teacher's last name is Burke!

Author's Response: That's exciting! My friend's last name is Burke. (What does this have to do with the story, though?)

Author's Response: Oh yeah, John Andre Burke! One of those magicians. I remember.

Reviewer: sophiewalpole
Date: 12/04/07 11:58
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

three of whom i like the best are Ted, Haley and Jordan. They just seem to be rally different to other wizards and witches their age, so carefree and light, i absolutely loved this book, and i am now going on to read the second, i have you saved in my favourites so ill know when you update thanx for filling in my hours

Author's Response: Wow, thanks! I wouldn't say Jordan's carefree and light, but he is certainly different from other wizards and witches his age! I'm so glad you liked it.

Reviewer: Amanda Vega
Date: 12/03/07 0:39
Chapter: Chapter 3: In Which Professor Potter Takes the Reins

Argh, I'm only on chapter three and I'm already feeling compelled to write an extremely lengthy (well, maybe not!) review [:

So, I really love this story. It's well written and humourous. Your lines are classic: "twice as perky as a pot of fresh coffee," and things like that. I love them [: If I had time, I would find something to critique, but I can't [: Your characters are very original (discluding the James/Tyrone similarity, but you said already that it was unintentional!) and their characterization is great. I love it [:



Author's Response: I like reviews of any kind. ^_^ I'm so glad you like this story, since this is the first fanfiction I ever wrote and I felt a bit nervous about posting it. Luckily, Tyrone does evolve a bit more, and by book three he's very much his own person. Thanks for the lovely review!

Reviewer: sophiewalpole
Date: 12/02/07 11:57
Chapter: Chapter 2: In Which Emma's Goat Is Gotten

cool harry potter a teacher, i feel sorry for his kids great so far, im really enjoying this

Author's Response: Thanks! I feel sorry for his son, Jordan, but not for Haley-- she's thrilled! I hope you enjoy the rest.

Reviewer: humyn
Date: 12/02/07 3:26
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

i absolutly loved all the characters. the good ones at least. you explain them so well. this is some of the best characterization ive read. more specific favorites: i love emma's spunk, i love how you made the mental battle with ivy about malfoy being two differnt people so evedent. i loved how well you explained jordan and his mental dilima. i love haley's perky tweaks (though i would never be caught dead in her clothes!! but they did fit her) even the minor characters like ivy's brother were no where near flat. i didn't like blaise at all. he seems such an arogant mightyer than thou type ( the characterization was great!) it is now 3:30 in the morning and i loved your story enough to have been reading it for the past three hours! it made me laugh with the random humor, expecialy the potatoes. i cant wait to read the sequel. and this is horendously long, so im gonna shut up now.

Reviewer: sunnyskygal
Date: 11/28/07 20:50
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

I loved this story! *favorites* My favorite character was Ivy (I also liked Ted), and my least favorite... probably Tyronne. But he came around, so it's all good. I can't wait to read the next book!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! I can see why you didn't like Tyrone, though I think he's more likeable as the trilogy continues. Hope you like it!

Reviewer: Nevilles Girl
Date: 11/26/07 17:24
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

Hey Schmerg! Excellent job! (Although I sorta cheated. I didn't haff ta wait for it like all y'all did. Muwahahahaha!)

. . .

I apologize for lack of manners, spelling, grammar, a good evil laugh, and brains.

Schmergo, the summary still says this is incomplete.

Smiles,
Luna

Author's Response: Mwahahaha, you got to read it before anyone else on this site. And I am glad you liked it. MUST... FIX... SUMMARY!

Reviewer: otter pratonus
Date: 11/26/07 7:00
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

absolutely amazing. Please write loads more really quickly!

Author's Response: Wow, thanks! I do have the first two chapters of the sequel up.

Reviewer: Astronomygirl
Date: 11/20/07 15:12
Chapter: Chapter 4: In Which Tyrone Thomas Does Not Have One of His Better Days

Oooooh, poor Emma, she has to counsel Tyrone Thomas. But, you know, I also feel sad for Thomas, you know. I've never had a family member die, so I wouldn't know what it's lkie, but that doesn't mean that I can't feel bad for Tyrone Thomas. Othjer thatn that, the chapter and story was/is very good.

Author's Response: I feel bad for Tyrone Thomas, as well. I've never had a parent die, but I know how it feels for a family member to die... and Emma wasn't very nice to him.

Reviewer: Astronomygirl
Date: 11/20/07 14:15
Chapter: Chapter 2: In Which Emma's Goat Is Gotten

Okay. I love this chapter, but the only thing that I want to know is why Jordan doesn't want people to know that he's related to Haley or Harry. To me, it seems a bit odd. I'm still a little clueless as to which kid is who: (ex. who are the parents of Ted? Who are the parents of Emma? etc, etc, etc..) If you could answer that for me sometime, then I would grealty appreciate it.

Author's Response: Ahhh, Jordan's just kidding about not knowing Haley and Harry. Everyone knows who he is. (He doesn't have much of a sense of humour, so I can see why you're confused.)
Emma is Ron/Herm's daughter, and Ted is Remus and Tonks's son. I decided not to kill them off in my version.

Reviewer: Astronomygirl
Date: 11/20/07 13:48
Chapter: Chapter 1: In Which The Stage Is Set

Ok. Malfoy's escape definitly un-nerved me, but with Harry seriously considering adopting Ivy, now I know that this will be a great story. I just hope that Ivy and the others will be alright at the end.

Author's Response: Awww, thank you! Now, this is a trilogy, so it would be silly to kill off a main character... yet... mwahahahaha...

Reviewer: harryfan4ever
Date: 11/15/07 1:01
Chapter: Chapter 1: In Which The Stage Is Set

OMG!!!!!!!!!!! I just loved this story!!! Probably my favorite characters would be. . . aw who am I kidding? I loved all the "good guys" in your story!! I really liked the Ted/Ivy relationship and how they're kinda awkward about it even though it's soooo obvious that like each other, plus. . . I think it's soooo cute how Ivy tries to change the subject when Emma and Haley ask her about Ted. (Talk about a run-on sentence) Anyway, speaking of Haley. . . I could really relate to that character because I am just so normally entergetic and sugar highs are a big norm for me.

. . . YAY SUGAR HIGHS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(0_o . . . maybe I shouldn't have had that soda and those 3 chocolate chip cookies . . )

Anywho. . . Excellect story and YOU MUST GET THE OTHER BOOKS UP!!! BEG WITH THE MODS, PLEAD!! DO ANYTHING YOU HAVE TO DO OTHERWISE I WILL GATHER A BAND OF FOLLOWERS AND START AN ANGRY MOB AGAINST THE MOBS!!!!!

(Yay angry mob!!) =)

Author's Response: WOW, thank you for your delightful review. I can see you are rather similar to Haley, mwahahahaha... though I'm a lot like her, too! This was the first story in which I ever wrote any kind of romance, so I'm glad you like it.
I'm submitting the second book again today... cross your fingers, kids!

Reviewer: harrypotterfangirl21
Date: 11/13/07 16:51
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

SCHMERGOOOOO!

I'm listening to 'The Scarlet Pimpernel' right now -- my CD finally came! :D [/spam]

So, here's some ways to get this past the mods:

1. Blackmail the mods.
2. Email them and ask how you can change it.
3. Write an Author's Note explaining that you *have* to have the Internet in your fic.
4. Replace the Internet with something else -- enchanted mirrors? Owls? Enchanted paper? You could have some fun with this.
5. Offer them cupcakes.
6. Force them to listen to the Head-On commercial on repeat until they approve you. (OH, THE HORROR!)

Hope that helps some!

- Katie *listens to Terrance Mann* *applauds*

P.S. Chapters two and three of "Becoming Extraordinary" are up -- they're dreadful rubbish, but thought you ought to know.

Author's Response: KATIEEEE! ^_^ Terrence Mann should definitely play Snape in a Harry Potter musical, I think.
I heard from Julie, and I HOPE I can get the story through queue. I'm resubmitting it later today. (I couldn't use anything enchanted, because Jordan uses the internet to communicate with a Muggle friend who doesn't know he's a wizard. Yep.)
*WILL DEFINITELY READ BECOMING EXTRAORDINARY*
Your list made me giggle, though!

Reviewer: missgiggles316
Date: 11/08/07 17:21
Chapter: Chapter 1: In Which The Stage Is Set

I loved this fan fic. This is the best Next Generation fic on MNFF(maybe the whole site)!!!! My favorite characters were Haley and Emma and Ivy. The only OC I didn't like was Ivy's older brother(I won't even attempt to spell his name right). I can't wait for the next book! Why can't MNFF ignore this plot sitch-ation?If MNFF won't accept, are you going to put it somewhere else? Anyway, loved the fic. I couldn't find anything that I didn't like. For a second, I really thought that Jordan was really an Overseer, and then I was totally convinced Haley had killed him. Now the song Haley made up at that part(the one about the bush and the ferret) is stuck in my head. I might start singing it at school tomorrow. YAY FOR WEIRD LOOKS YOUR PARENTS GIVE YOU!!!!!(hehehe... my mom heard me singing the song a while ago...). Anyway I loved the plot twist. And the whole story in general.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! You made me smle so much! I had a lot of fun writing it, and I think I probably will submit it to FF.net or something like that (even though I hate that site) if I really can't get it past the mods.

Reviewer: PadfootnPeeves
Date: 11/05/07 17:39
Chapter: Chapter 1: In Which The Stage Is Set

well, i had this nice lovely review typed out, and then i got thrown off, so i'll havta write it again! *sigh* so, here it goes:
i love this fic. with a capital L-O-V-E! tis my fav on MNFF. my fav OC is Ivy (on harrypotterfangirl21's quiz i got her) and my leasst fav is probly Ivy's brother cuz he's bad or Tyrone cuz he was kinda annoying in this book... and the fact that he reminds me of somebuddy i know and that person annoys me lol
and on a side note, you've been saying that the mods that love you to pieces have been regecting the second book for plot??? thats crazy!!! it has to come up or else i wont know what happens! lol... good luck with submitting the truth (is that what its called?), and I LOVE THIS STORY!!!!)
~Padfoot

Author's Response: WELL ZANK YOU SO MUCH! For this and your other delightful reviews! Yeah, Tyrone is pretty annoying... though I think he gets more likeable as he gets older and (slightly) more mature.
The mods keep rejectin' "The Truth" (which is called that) because an integral part of the plot involves Jordan and the internet, and 'twould seem we're not allowed to use the internet in our stories... apparently, this is a new rule that was made after I did Dark Lord's Blog.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES