Reviewer: KaileeA42
Date: 10/05/07 0:19
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

“Soooo, how about those Chudley Cannons?” nice reference to teh lists. I luv this story which is unusual as I usually don't like stories that are extremely centered around a bunch of OC's but I luved your OC's very interesting.You are my favorite author here! Also Werewolves of London. Is there going to be a sequel?


Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much, Kailee! ^_^ I'm really glad you liked my story! And there is indeed a sequel... and a three-quel. It's a trilogy, and book two (The Truth) is coming soon.

Reviewer: aliauthor
Date: 10/04/07 20:35
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

PS: I forgot!

“So, Ivy,” chirped Haley. “While we’re on the subject, what’s up with you and Ted?”

Ivy didn’t say anything at all, and there was an awkward silence. Finally, she commented loudly, “Soooo, how about those Chudley Cannons?”

Sounds exactly like a diversionary tactic I used just today... hee hee, very good line there.

Author's Response: I use that line as well! I love it when Ivy tries to be funny. She usually-- but not always-- fails!

Reviewer: aliauthor
Date: 10/04/07 20:30
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

SQUEEE!

Schmergo, this was a great ending to the story! I'm *sniff* so very proud of you!

About my favorite character, I think it'd have to be Haley, because she reminds me of me (Legilimens-es-es) or Tyrone *drool* because he changes throughout the story.

All of your characters are lovely, the only criticism I had was that your newspaper article was too correct! THe Daily Prophet always messes something up...

Can't wait for book 2!

Author's Response: SQUEEE! A pretty review! Thanks so much! I'm ridiculous like Haley, too, and I think a LOT of the words in the Potterverse are insanely difficult to say. I feel a little sorry for Haley, though, because no one who knows her takes her seriously, and that is a terrible thing when you're 14-15 years old.

You are very right about the Prophet. Man, I should have messed up some stuff. That would be funnier. They would probably take the romance angle and focus on Ted and Ivy and totally forget about Haley and Emma and stick in just a short mention of Jordan.

Reviewer: Winged Artemis
Date: 10/04/07 20:20
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

Schmerg! That was amazing! Completely different yet very alike in the sense of quality as the Dark Lord's Blog!

Let's see... my favorite character, I think, was Ted. I really liked his natural-ness (is that even a word?). No, but seriously, I thought that he seemed the most human (pun intended).

My least favorite was maybe Emma... I don't mean this in any critical way, but I got confused a lot between her and Haley because I didn't see a stable characterization. I did like her character, don't get me wrong!

Anyway, amazing fic, and I can't wait for the sequels! =)

Author's Response: Well thanks very much! This means a lot coming from a wonderful author like yourself! Yeah, I tried hard to make the werewolf character the most human and nice... and I understand what you mean about Emma and Haley, because they're very much a unit in this one. They kind of come into their own a little more in the next installment.

Reviewer: Chamelion
Date: 10/04/07 18:48
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

My favorite characters were definitely Jordan and Ivy - I love a complicated backstory. I thought Emma was awfully insensitive at the beginning.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I do like backstory. Now, as for Emma... I agree, she's very insensitive. That's definitely her worst flaw. But remember that at this point, Emma's worst enemy is Tyrone. She really hates him. How much would most people worry if they unintentionally offended their least favourite person?

Reviewer: KathZ
Date: 10/04/07 16:12
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

YESH!!!
Perfect ending. I was hopping for this! ;)
Original character eh? I think I'm in like love with Ted, and least... oh my... um... I'm rooting for Ophidias to die. Yes, die.

Kathy

Author's Response: HOOORAY! I'm very glad you liked it! And Ted is nice, isn't he? ^_^ I started out with him as a fairly small character while the plot mainly centred around the three girls, but he kept hogging my brain, so I made him a lot more important!

Remember that Ophidias is a dynamic character, though. THERE IS HOPE FOR HIM YET!

Reviewer: saveginny417
Date: 10/04/07 16:00
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

I stand corrected. but I meant, like, is there anything Schmergo can't do writing-wise, cause I'm pretty sure there isn't. Even after all the downplaying from the climax you still managed to surprise me! yay plot twists! I can't wait for the next book! and my favorite is Jordan. he's just...so much like me, i guess. I play air guitar and always have my nose in a book and try to get others to see past my name too! I can just relate to Jordan...I also love Ted. and Ivy. and Haley and Emma and Tyrone and... I guess I love them all! except Ophidias. but i doubt I was supposed to like Ophidias, so its all good. you get a bazillion gold starts, Shmergo! and I would so be shouting RONALD WEASLEY! right there with you.

Author's Response: Fnarfnarfnar... writing-wise, I can't write about things like sex 'cause I don't know anything about it, and I'd never write about stuff like self-mutilation or abuse because those topics are really heavy and stufff...

Hooray, I've always wanted a bazillion gold stars! And I'm really glad you liked my characters! I think part of me is a lot like Jordan, but I'm also a lot like Haley... I guess it's good to be a balance between the two, though!

Reviewer: Cirelondiel
Date: 10/04/07 5:44
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

Fantastic, as always, Schmergo! My favourite bits are too numerous for me to put them all in here, so I'll just say that overall, this final chapter worked really well. Over the whole story, you've definitely had plenty of character development and this chapter tied up several knots but you've left enough open for the next book, so suffice to say I'm really looking foward to the book 2 to find out all that happens to your wonderful characters!

Oh yeah, and about your OCs:
I really liked Ted, and then probably Jordan (apparently quite a few of the readers of this fic like smart boys ;-) ) and Ivy. Haley is an uber-fun character as well, I find her hilarious.

I think I'm alone here, and I'm sorry to say this, but I don't really like Emma. She had some funny lines which I really liked and as a character she's pretty well-rounded so I'm not saying she's a bad character, it's more that I don't like her personality, she's not the kind of person I could be friends with in real life. So it's kind of like how I think, say, Snape is a FANTASTIC character but he's still not a likeable person. So, that's just my thoughts on Emma. I think I'm just still holding a grudge against her for saying that thing about Tyrone's mother being dead to him. I felt so sorry for Tyrone then :-(

ANYWAY, my point is your characters are all well-characterised and Ted, Ivy, Haley, Jordan and even Tyrone I find totally loveable. If had to pick my absolute favourite it would be Ted and my least fave would be Emma.

So, yeah, overall...GREAT FIC!!!

:-D Cirelondiel

ZOMG! I almost hit submit and then I remembered Edwin Weasley!! I *love* him too!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you very much! I definitely understand why you don't like Emma as much, because she's very emotionally immature and she can be not-very-tactful. Of the people who read this story (and the other two) before I put it up on MNFF, almost all of them disliked Emma.

Hehehe, Edwin... I like him as welll.

Reviewer: Cirelondiel
Date: 10/04/07 5:12
Chapter: Chapter 9: In Which Fate Is Sealed With A Kiss

Wow! So much suspense and action and SUPERBNESS! I was totally shocked about Jordan joining the dark side and then shocked about Haley killing him and then confused and finally really relieved when he turned out good! This chapter was one amazing emotional rollercoaster!

Emma blinked. “What--are--we--waiting--for? RUN!” And they did so, out the front door (It was actually supposed to be guarded by a prefect, but luckily, Haley covered the others with an invisibility cloak-- she always kept the cloak in her ‘pockety’ jacket. In any case, the prefect on duty didn’t seem to be there) and out into the moonlight yard.
^ A couple of issues with that section:
- It should say moonlit not moonlight.
- There's some problems with the punctuation in the parentheses... I'm not exactly sure how to fix it but there should be some sort of punctuation mark before you close the brackets...it doesn't look quite right.
Anyway, that detail seemed like a bit of a random 'oh-how-so-...coincidental...' moment but of course we later find out that Ophidias should have been there so it all makes sense, which is great (I read this chappie ages ago but didn't review at the time and now I've already read the last chapter.)

“Where--are--we--going?” panted Haley, clutching a stitch in her side.

“Following--you,” gasped Emma.

“I--was--following--you!” puffed Ivy.

“Me--too,” added Haley.

Emma blinked. “What--are--we--waiting--for? RUN!”


^ So realistic. That happens to me all the time. I love how they get all caught up in discussing where they're going and then are like 'Hey, why are we wasting time?' and rush off again...


The interaction between Ivy and Draco was great. It made me laugh when Draco was all confused and like 'Huh? But you look like Ivy...'. But in all seriousness it was great to see Ivy confronting her father and telling him what she thinks!

Love the chapter title, as always! It sounded like this would be a super-romantic chappie, but -wham- you hit us with all the action and a very differnet type of kiss. Although of course there was the Ted/Ivy 'kiss'- so sweet :-) This chapter ended really nicely.

Now, we’re going to have to move Malfoy’s body--” he shuddered slightly here Understandably :P

Love the detail about Haley's pink sequined ballet flats. (You did write that, right? I can't find the quote now anywhere...) She is such a normal hyperactive girly girl! And that detail contrasts so much with the situation, it's really funny. *Reads other reviews* I love ballet flats too! I got a new pair today :D I'm maybe a little bit taller than average so I can wear them without being miles shorter than everyone else. High heels hurt my feet and I feel a bit like a giraffe in them... tall and skinny... Anyway, end of my random ramble about shoes ;-)

I was disappointed to read the words 'penultimate chapter'. And then I realised that there are more books to come about my beloved Ted, Ivy, Haley etc!! (The words 'book one of a trilogy' in the summary should have been a clue... apparently I forgot about that until nearly the end of this book). So, I'm super excited to see what they get up to next. After the last chapter of this fic, of course, which I shall go review...right now!

Hmm...that was a rather disjointed review. Meh, I think I included all of my major thoughts. See you in the reviews page of chapter 10, Schmergo!

(I didn't put many exclamation marks in this review, but I think this chappie deserves some. So here you go: !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your lovely review and storms of exclamation marks. I am the queen of typos... I never seem to notice them when I write my own stories, and I hate them on everyone else's when I beta! Hooray for hypocracy?

I love ballet flats, though I'm a shortie like Haley... I have brown ones with gold sparkles, red sparkly ones, black shiny ones with bows, and camouflage ones. I think I like shoes a little too much.

Reviewer: MissSammiekins
Date: 10/03/07 23:27
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

Schmergo, you've done it again! I seriously love all of your stories, and this is no exception. It's been on my favorites list since I read the first chapter, and I always squee excitedly when I get the new chapter email. :) I'm so sad it's over, because this is quite possibly one of my favorite stories on Mugglenet. But hey, there's always the next two books to look forward to!

As for my favorite characters, I really don't think I can choose. All your OCs are so original, and they all have their own qualities that make them special. Ted's cheerfulness and optimism, Ivy's sensitivity and logic, Haley's hyperness and humour, Emma's bluntness and confidence, Jordan's moodiness and determination, and Tyrone's arrogance and suaveness make your characters some of the best I've seen. :D (I know you didn't ask for this, but I also love your characterization of Harry.}

I looooooove the romances in this story! I'm a total sucker for Lily/James-esque thingies, so Emma and Tyrone's love-hate relationship was just perfect! And Ivy and Ted's shyness was adorable and too cute to resist.

I think it's wonderful how you manage to produce such a well-written story while still retaining your famous (or shall I say infamous?) sense of humour. That, in addition to everything else, is what makes your story one of the absolute bestest on Mugglenet.

Keep up the good work, and I can't wait for the next book! :D

~Sammie

(P.S. I think this is the longest review I've ever written, so feel lucky. :O Mwahahahaha!)

Author's Response: Wow, Sammy! Thanks for the pretty review! I'm really glad you like my characters, because I rather enjoy them myself. Your review made me grin like an idiot!

Reviewer: Heiress_of_Insanity_
Date: 10/03/07 21:20
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

PS: I LOVED the whole Ivy/Joran conversation. It was so sweet how he opened up to someone, 'specially his adopted sister. Now hopefully he'll be less moody in the next books!~

H_o_I_

Author's Response: Thanks very much! That was one of the scenes I had planned from the beginning. I think Jordan's character takes some interesting turns in future books, so you shall seeee...

Reviewer: Heiress_of_Insanity_
Date: 10/03/07 21:17
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

NOOOOOOOO!! It's OVER! Well, at least we have #2 and 3 left...

OC I like best: Ted Lupin (for several reasons...*shifty eyes and fangirl smile*)

OC I like least:...um...Ophidias? I LOVE all of your OC's!!!

Why didn’t the spell work?

What, did you WANT to kill your brother? It IS something that you might ask, but if the spell had worked...*bursts into tears* I dunno...I didn't like it, but it fit in well.

*starts chanting 'Kiss her! Kiss her! Kiss her!' over and over again*

*sighs*

I wanted Ted to kiss Ivy...=( Oh well!

WONDERFUL story!! 10!~

H_o_I_

Author's Response: ZANK YOU! I'm really glad you like my OCs... and Ted seems to have developed quite a following! Ivy better watch her back!

Speaking of which... *sings* SHALALALALALA MY OH MY, DON'T TRY TO HIDE IT NOW, YOU WANNA KISS THE GIRL! *Ahem* Sorry. Just remember that it is a trilogy, and that if I made all the romantic stuff happen in the first one, the second and third would be anticlimactic!

Reviewer: simking
Date: 10/03/07 17:53
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

I'd have to say I liked everyone here, u made the story hella interesting! Can't wait for the next book.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! I'm glad you thought my story and characters were interesting!

Reviewer: GryffindorGal87
Date: 10/03/07 17:26
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

Who's not to like in your story? I loved every bit of it and I can't wait for the next one! Though I do have to say that Emma is my fav because she's so funny!

Author's Response: Well, thanks very much! Yeah, I think Emma's fun!

Reviewer: Helios Sol
Date: 10/03/07 17:12
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

Hooray it's the last chapter! Wait, why am I hooraying? It was a good chapter, I can't find anything glaring, though I feel something is missing..I don't know what though. It might have been the lack of pompous Percy, which even if he was humbled in book seven, I think he would have retained a certain amount, even in this alternate timeline. One thing actually, is how can u mistake horseflies for billywigs? They have wings on the top of their bodies, and a long stinger from the bottom! Oh well, maybe it's just me overanalyzing everything. Favorite character: Jordan. 9.75/10

Author's Response: HOORAY! It's a review from Helios Sol! The horsefly-billywig thing is due to Edwin being a LIAR LIAR PANTS ON FIRE. He wanted everyone to think he had a jar of billywigs when they were quite obviously not. I like Jordan best, too. ^)^

Reviewer: JustLikeHermione77
Date: 10/03/07 16:48
Chapter: Chapter 2: In Which Emma's Goat Is Gotten

lol. i love haley!!!! great story!!

Author's Response: Why, thank you! I think Haley is fun... I'm crazy like her!

Reviewer: The_Quibbler
Date: 10/03/07 16:36
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

nooo its ooover!!!!!

Author's Response: But there's so much more to come!

Reviewer: I_LUV_MOONY
Date: 10/03/07 16:26
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

That was a brilliant ending! I loved the beginning news article; you wrote it like an actual article.

Jordan and Ivy's conversation was really good. It's rather strange because they never seem to have much interaction, but it was still believable all the same. And we still don't know the secret of what happened in the Final Battle.

“So, Ivy,” chirped Haley. “While we’re on the subject, what’s up with you and Ted?”

Ivy didn’t say anything at all, and there was an awkward silence. Finally, she commented loudly, “Soooo, how about those Chudley Cannons?”

Ha ha, that was great! I can't wait to see how they work out together in the next books.

I loved Jordan's speech. It had the air of one who knew what he wanted to say, just not how to organize it, which made it believable and seem from the heart.

Well, since I have to pick a favorite, I would say either Jordan or Ted. What can I say, I like smart boys! And I can't pick a least favorite, because all the characters were so well-developed. Their talents are balanced out by their bad habits. You did an excellent job with the entire story. Best wishes! :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I wanted to put a Jordan-and-Ivy scene because they are siblings but we don't see much of them! I'm so glad you like my characters and my story-- your reviews always make me happy.

Reviewer: ix3thehpseries
Date: 10/03/07 15:50
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

Ahh! That ending was amazing!! I cant believe they're gonna have the Tri-wizard Tournament!! I loved all of the characters but I think my favorite was Ted. He's just so sweet and stuff! Cant wait for the next book!

Author's Response: Oh, thanks so much! I rather like Ted myself. I just want to pet him!

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 10/03/07 15:49
Chapter: Chapter 10: In Which Our Heroes Are Called Just That

Oh man, it's over. :( But I can't wait for Book 2! This fic was amazing! I think it's very hard to make a next-gen fic believable and original, but you did just that. Your characters had just the right amount of resemblance to their parents, and a wonderful OCness, too. You did a great job establishing them and then keeping them IC and original. The plot was also great. It's one that's probably been done before, but you really twisted it into your own story, with wonderful development and characterization. As for voting... hm... they're all really great... I think I like Haley best. She's so open and so realistic, also in ways that can get on people's nerves. Hmm... I guess Ophidias is my least favorite. Not just because he's a despicable guy, but also because I can't see anyone being that cruel to their little sister, even if she is a "traitor". All in all, this fic was great! I can't wait for the next book!

Author's Response: Oh, thanks so much, Valentinia! It means a lot to me to say that you liked my OCs, because we all know your disdain for badly written OC'S (Half-Blood Prince and Mary-Sue, anyone?)

I'm a lot like Haley sometimes. ^_^ Oh, and in the third book, you see a more developed side of Ophidias, so I'll be interested to see what you think of him then! Cheers!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES