Reviews For Shades of Black
Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 09/17/08 7:09
Chapter: Part VI: Wake Up

Wow!
This whole series is truly wonderful. I've just read the whole lot in one go and am very pleased I haven't had to wait for updates. I loved the first chapter- you portrayed all four children superbly. Orion and Sirius' relationship was lovely. Orion never gets a look in usually. As for Recognition:- I was spellbound. Your description of the battle was wonderful. How you managed to keep the tension going all the way through was.... well I've run out of superlatives now. BRILLIANT!

Reviewer: luinrina
Date: 04/21/08 1:51
Chapter: Part V: He Laughed

Up until now five wonderful chapters. I like this story and hope it’s going on for a little while longer. It’s interesting to see different parts of Sirius’s life.

What I wonder is what happened after Sirius had recognised Regulus being the Death Eater having caught him (chapter four)? And where did these fragments of remembrance come from? Or where they a kind of foretelling/intuition of what would happen with him after he had been captured by the Death Eaters?

Author's Response: Don't worry. I have absolutely no plans for abandoning this fic, or finishing it anytime soon. At least ten parts have a basic plan/outline for them, and there isn't really an "end goal" or point that I'm trying to reach in this fic. It really is, in essence, random looks at random points in Sirius's life.

As for what happened after Sirius recognised Regulus as the Death Eater, as well as the information concerning those memories/fragments, I've started writing the sequel to that. It's being posted as another, separate story on my account, called "Thoughts in the Abyss", and has the first couple chapters posted. The continuation of "Recognition" won't be posted as posted as a part of "Shades of Black."

But thank you, luinrina, for the review. I hope you continue to enjoy this fic, as well as "Thoughts in the Abyss", if you go to read that one. (And if you want to find out what happened after "Recognition", you'd need to!

~Megan

Reviewer: Pissenoffanis
Date: 10/13/07 17:40
Chapter: Part IV: Recognition

Yeah I guessed it was Regulus :) Your descriptions of the pight were very well done - you showed the reality of what it was like to be in the Order of the Phoenix.

Author's Response: Thanks, Pissenoffanis. Good job on guessing it was Regulus, and I'm glad you enjoyed the fight/action scenes in this piece. They really were fun to write!

~Megan

Reviewer: Pissenoffanis
Date: 10/13/07 17:33
Chapter: Part III: Success?

I like the image of Peter showing strength that most people would not expect of him. I would certainly think that. And him having the will to betray his friends that stood with him all through school...

Author's Response: You know, I do like exploring these characters and making them deeper than just one-dimensional portrayals, so regardless of my intense and utter hatred for Peter, I try to be fair to his character in these fics. Thanks, Pissenoffanis, for the review. I'm glad you liked it!

~Megan

Reviewer: Gamma Orionis
Date: 10/12/07 22:48
Chapter: Part I: Didn't Do It

This was a really good drabble about my dearly beloved character Sirius. :)

I loved your characterization of Bellatrix---I can totally imagine her lying in such a skilled fashion as a child. I also love that your characters (Walburga, Druella, etc.) are canon with the story.

When Sirius is in Azkaban, I loved that you maintained the four words of "I didn't do it!" Nice repetition there. :) Probably the only fault I can think of is that Walburga could easily wave her wand and say "Reparo" vis a vis the vase.

Author's Response: Yes, Sirius is a dearly beloved character of many.

Ah, you liked young!Bella as well; she was so much fun to write, you have no idea, and as for the characters being canon - I'm obsessed with the Black Family Tree and spend *far* too much time staring at it, trying to figure numerous things out, like relations, ages, etc.

I'm glad to hear, too, that you liked the bit of repetition, since that was sort of a central ... point, if you will, with the story.

(Yeah, Walburga could've repaired the vase that way, but it was more of the principle behind the action than it was the fact that the vase was broken; it was more of the 'the children shouldn't be playing in here, Sirius shouldn't be lying, etc.' than the surface fact of a broken vase.)

Thanks for the review!

~Megan

Reviewer: Hypatia
Date: 09/12/07 9:20
Chapter: Part II: Nightmares

This has a wonderful sweetness to it. I really love your portrayal of four year old Sirius; his fear of his mother, protectiveness of Regulus and love for his father. I'm also quite taken with your characterization of Orion, I have to admit I had never thought of him like that before. Excellent job!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you, Hypatia! I'm very happy to hear you liked it, and writing a four-year-old Sirius was so much fun, I'll admit. He's just adorable, I think. As for Orion's characterisation, I'm glad you felt it worked. I like character depth in my characters, and the Black family is just ripe with characters to add other dimensions to and explore a little deeper than the "they're all evil" side of things.

And thanks, once again!

~Megan

Reviewer: James Jameson
Date: 09/07/07 21:49
Chapter: Part III: Success?

I hate Peter. That was a sick, sick thing t do. *blows a rasberry at him* SO THERE!

Author's Response: And I agree with you there! I hate Peter Pettigrew with a passion unrivaled by any other hatred I've ever had for ANYTHING! So, I wonder why I seem to torture myself by writing this scene so many different times? Food for thought, I guess.

Thanks for the review, James!

~Megan

Reviewer: James Jameson
Date: 09/07/07 21:45
Chapter: Part II: Nightmares

aw! Orion feels love for Sirius... at least for now....

Author's Response: Yep, Orion isn't just one-dimensional in my mind. Heck, I don't think I've ever made a member of the Black family strictly evil (or good, however rare that is). And little!Sirius needs some love - He's only a child at this point, after all!

Thanks again, James!

~Megan

Reviewer: James Jameson
Date: 09/07/07 21:42
Chapter: Part I: Didn't Do It

good one megan! awesome! I can't wait to hear more!

Author's Response: Thanks, James. Glad to hear it!

~Megan

Reviewer: solemnlyswear_x
Date: 09/07/07 18:01
Chapter: Part I: Didn't Do It

Wow, this was really great. I’m looking forward to the next chapters. =) I really love Sirius fics, and the ones that explore his childhood are so interesting.

I think you wrote all the characters spot-on. Each young character fit their older personality very well. Bella’s ability to lie and manipulate was perfect, and Narcissa’s readiness to go along with what others say was great too.

My favorite part, though, was the ending. I thought the repetition of the I didn’t do it was chilling.

A few things –

I did notice the absence of Andromeda. Bella’s twelve, so I’d assume it’s not because she’s at Hogwarts, because Bella would be there too. It’s not a big thing, but even an offhand comment about why Andromeda isn’t there – maybe she doesn’t want to play with her younger cousins – would be a nice addition.

“Regulus,” interrupted Mrs Black, not even bothering to spear Sirius another glance… Do you mean ‘spare’ rather than ‘spear’?

Anyway, I really enjoyed reading this; it seemed like a missing moment from canon.

- Melissa =)

Author's Response: Well, firstly, thank you for the review, Melissa. Yeah, Sirius-centric stories are the best, as far as I'm concerned, and his childhood is an interesting thing to explore. There's so little that's really *known*, but there's enough to sort of piece a general picture together, I think.

Ah, young!Bella is *so* much fun to write - so it's good to hear she seemed IC.

As for Andromeda's absence ... I hadn't really thought of that, of figuring out why she wasn't there - hmm? (And yes, I *did* mean 'spare'. Should really go back and fix that.

~Megan

Reviewer: Pissenoffanis
Date: 09/06/07 3:39
Chapter: Part II: Nightmares

Yeah the charater personality of Orion is pretty believable. Siriu could have had a loving father and a satanic mother...

It's a very sweet exchange between father and son!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you again, Pissenoffanis. I'm glad you liked it.

I've always seen Orion this way, and I don't know why. But yes, a satanic mother ... I like that image *Pictures Walburga Black with talons and horns*

Thanks once again.

~Megan

Reviewer: Pissenoffanis
Date: 09/06/07 3:35
Chapter: Part I: Didn't Do It

Oh that is a sad, sad story. I hate it when you truly didn't do something, but wen you say so, nobody will believe you.

Author's Response: Thanks, Pissenoffanis, for the review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed it.

I hate that, too, and Sirius just seemed like the PERFECT character to make that happen to. I can easily see Bella wanting to get her cousin in trouble; she's an interesting little girl, that's for sure.

~Megan

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES