Reviewer: foolondahill17
Date: 05/12/14 10:58
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

This is utterly fantastic. The idea was fresh an clever and perfectly executed. The characters and character-growth was spot-on.
The content was both humorous and poignant - you did a lovely job of combining levity with grief, and Fred's thoughts of watching George back down on earth, slowly slipping away from him.
I could go on and on about how much I enjoyed this. Favorited and treasured.

Reviewer: foolondahill17
Date: 05/10/14 20:44
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

This was utterly fantastic. A clever idea and a perfect blend of humor and genuine emotion. All the characters were spot on. Very well written and executed.

Reviewer: HermioneJean1
Date: 08/07/13 7:38
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww................. This is AMAZING. Poor George. :( keep writing! :)

Reviewer: daughterofhecate
Date: 12/04/12 8:55
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

I revived my account just to review this. :)

It was... beautiful. The humor, the heartbreaking truth, and a piece of Dumbledore!wisdom. It made me laugh and my heart ache.

You made up for it at the end though. That bittersweet reunion. ;____;

Cheers!

Reviewer: OohButterfly
Date: 09/13/11 21:44
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

*Gets up and runs around the room* NO GEORGE!! YOU LOVE ANGELINA!!!*sits down* That was my only problem. I did like Eggs though. Otherwise, it was a really great story and you are now my favorite author. Enjoy it!

Reviewer: izzylupin
Date: 07/18/11 11:16
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

I seriously shouted a little "yay!" at the end of this. Ridiculously cute, even though I like Angelina over Eglantine any day.

Reviewer: invisiblecheshire
Date: 06/19/11 17:22
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

Fantastic. I am not incredibly sappy, and, yet your story had me crying and laughing at the same time, something which is incredibly hard to do. I love your work. I love George's children's names (they are the same as in potters pentagon if I'm not mistaken, and I love that). I generally read next generation fics because I don't like other people using Jo's characters in case he/she butchers them, but this is definitely my favorite of all your work. It is a truly beautiful piece of work. I hope that you continue writing throughout your life. I'll be the first to buy your bestseller, and I'll be like "I read Schmergo before she became popular." Thanks so much for your wonderful work it really has kept me going over the last year or so.

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, thank you so much! I actually wrote all of this story in one day, on a long car trip. This is actually my favorite of my stories, too, which is odd, because I never would have thought to write about Fred and George otherwise. This review really means a LOT to me. I think that if I ever publish real books, I might have to make 'Schmergo' my fake middle name (like I do on facebook) so people will know who I am. ;)

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 04/09/11 22:03
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

This is just simply beautiful. You write humour fantastically (eg "In your underwear drawer") and yet at the same time, this piece was poignant and thought-provoking. I imagine that it would be like this for Fred if he were in heaven and able to watch George grow up and mature and not really be able to understand him anymore, when they've always completely understood each other. I liked your ideas about how the dead shouldn't communicate with the living, and how Fred tried to have the best of both worlds, as in communicate with George and yet be able to be in heaven as well.

Another point on the humour - I just loved this line “God,” he muttered, wide-eyed.
“What about him?” chirped Fred. “I can talk to him right now for you, if you like.”
That really made me smile. I also loved all your references to Muggles (eg John Lennon, Martin Luther King), it added to the humour.

Interesting that you chose Horatio as George's middle name - as he is the one who stays alive at the end of Hamlet. (I also loved Diptheria and Nazi as middle names.)

A little nitpick - in this line His voice was absolutely infested with sarcasm, and there were little grains of sarcasm threatening to crawl over the edge. you seem to repeat yourself a bit.

Also, I suppose you know now that George married Angelina and had two children: Fred and Roxanne. I'm interested - did you purposefully change this or didn't you know at the time you wrote the story? Because I could understand you choosing not to, particularly with your references about George not marrying Fred's ex and not calling his son Fred because he could communicate with him in his head... Anyway, I'm rambling.

Also, Albus Severs is the middle Potter child, not the youngest (Lily Luna is two years younger).

Anyway, once again your creativity and humour amazes me. Even just this idea by itself is intriguing and so creative. Your characters were interesting, and your characterisation of canon characters spot on. I think you did a good job of showing a mature George, who was still the George we knew in canon.

Anyway, absolutely loved this fic, you are really a fantastic writer!

~Katrina

Author's Response: Oh wow, Katrina, thank you so much! This is one of the most detailed reviews I've had in a long time. It's funny, I never thought about that with the name 'Horatio,' but that's so true. And really interesting. 'Horatio' is kind of my go-to middle name for slightly quirky characters... I wrote a play about cross-dressing pirates where the main character's name is Aubrey Horatio Love. And interestingly enough, I wrote this story only two days after DH came out, so JK Rowling hadn't said yet who George ended up marrying... it's funny that he DID end up marrying Fred's ex. Though it never actually says Fred and Angelina dated, just that they went to the ball together... And I have no idea why I thought Al was the youngest. You're right, that clearly makes no sense!

Reviewer: ASAP
Date: 03/06/11 8:03
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

The most funniest and yet heart touching story i have read in a long time. It is exactly like Fred and George. The Best......

Reviewer: AngelEJC
Date: 02/04/11 18:07
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

I was laughing and crying throughout the whole thing! I just put this story in my favorites section. I'm going to have to check out some more of your stories!

Thankyouthankyouthankyou!
AngelEJC

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I think this is my favorite story I've written!

Reviewer: Valentinia
Date: 08/26/10 21:01
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

Aw, what a sweet story! I'm always a little skeptical of stories depicting the Afterlife, but you did it really well - especially by not going into too much detail about how things work. I loved the details you did use though! Dumbledore *would* be friends with Martin Luther King, Jr.! And the whole premise of your story was marvelous, as well as seeing George's life from Fred's perspective. The family you created for him was marvelous! Also, I loved the humor you included! I laughed out loud, more than once! "In your underwear drawer"! What a gem! This is truly a delightful read!

Reviewer: Crazycow89
Date: 05/30/10 5:41
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

You know, when I first read the summary of this story, I thought it would be a short, yet sweet story (obviously I hadn't looked at the wordcount, which is extremely odd because I normally do) and then I read this story. And it was amazing. Keep on writing stories! When's your next update for pride and prejudiced plums going to be?

Reviewer: hogwartsbookworm
Date: 05/14/10 17:03
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

Oh my goodness, I loved the moment when Mrs. Weasley said, "In your Underwear drawer!" I burst out laughing!

Very good job. I wasn't expecting it to be quite so long but I couldn't stop reading! Haha, anyway, thank you for amusing me and helping me get over Fred's death.

-bookworm

And P.S. Eglantine? Hahaha! She was great.

Reviewer: the bushy haired know-it-all
Date: 05/02/10 11:44
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

LOL! Now THAT was good!

Reviewer: House-Elves Anonymous
Date: 02/11/10 18:52
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

Heya Schmergo!

I wonder why I've never reviewed this? I've always loved this story! I actually read this before I really had a clue who you were!

The idea for this story is super clever! I congratulate you on that, Schmergo! I wonder what would've happened if George's ear had made it to heaven, but George was forced to bob up and down in a hallway for all eternity?

So, did I freakin' love this story, you ask? In your underwear drawer!

Oh, and I dropped you yet another stunning e-mail, Schmergotron! Enjoy!

Like Mad-Eye Moody on uppers,

-Josh-

Author's Response: Hey there, Joshskis! Thank you so much! This is actually my favorite story out of everything I've written (even the non-Potter related stuff), so I love getting reviews for it! As for if George was forced to bob up and down in a hallway... I have a feeling Fred would speak into the disembodied ear and tell George that he was being an idiot and that he had to fly THROUGH the window, metaphorically speaking. Though since George was pretty old by the time he died, he probably wouldn't see the corridor at Hogwarts as his 'stairway to heaven'... it'd probably be somethin' equally metaphorical, though. I have read your email, and plan on getting back to you quite soon... getting emails really means a lot to me, it's just rather difficult to actually write them, especially if the content of the one I'm responding to is really meaningful.

Reviewer: ginnypotter19
Date: 12/04/09 12:35
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

Just so you know it has been well over a year, almost two, since I last left a review, I'm sure anyway. And I still have not forgotten about this story(:. When I get in a truly weird moment where I want to read some fanfiction, this is the first story I come to, and the first story I'll suggest to the nearest Harry Potter fan next to me to read. It's still truly my favorite story! (:

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, thank you so much! I really don't read fanfiction or ever write much of it anymore, but I think this is my favorite story I've done. This really means a lot to me.

Reviewer: Rislans88
Date: 11/25/09 13:12
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

WOW!!!!!!!!! this was wonderful. i'm so impressed!

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 09/13/09 23:05
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

Okay. This is flat. awesome. I must to bed, but tomorrow I will search out your other stuff.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! Ha, I'm very proud of this story. ^_^

Reviewer: Ankh of the night
Date: 09/01/09 22:14
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

I'm rereading all your stories, as it would seem. This story is so deep and simply beautiful. Oh, and I loved how George's last words were "Eat my shorts." That made me happy.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! I'm rather proud of this one... someone told me there was an episode of the Simpsons where those were Bart's last words, but I swear I've never seen it! I also really love Jessie Lights' audiofiction version of this story... she's so good at showing the characters...

Reviewer: James Jameson
Date: 08/24/09 0:48
Chapter: Chapter One and Only

I love this story :) I'm listening as I go :)
One thing I noticed while reading/listening though... you say at one point: "George stared at him.".... he caaaaaan't really do that ;)
******
just finished... i'm crying again... all choked up :3 great job! I never tire of reading your masterpieces

Author's Response: Hahaha, I noticed that exact sentence when I was listening to it... but I was hoping that none of my preternaturally observant readers would. ;-)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
Have You No Idea That You're In Deep by littlebird Professors
"The problem, as Harry sees it, is he simply wasn't prepared."
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES