Reviews For Purgatory
Reviewer: Arial Felchem
Date: 08/20/11 23:44
Chapter: Purgatory

Wow. The things that happen to the characters in this story are truly terrible, but it was a really good story. It definitely reads like a nightmare, but it is also true to the characters from the books, I think; it definitely works as an "alternate ending" to the series, if Harry had died. It was disturbing, definitely, but well done; I liked it.

Reviewer: wilted_orchid
Date: 03/27/10 12:03
Chapter: Purgatory

I understand your objective with this piece, and if I understand it correctly then you achieved this goal. The utter misery and hopelessness of their situation was clear and the gradual closing of the net around Hermione was obvious and your writing style is very effective.

However, to reach your goal you sacrificed all attempts at remaining in character, particularly with regards to Ginny and Remus. This spoilt the overall intensity of your story for me, but the quality of your writing itself was very high.

Author's Response: I appreciate you taking the time to review, and for the con crit, though I disagree with your assessment of what would be in character for someone who has been broken down to nothing and is a shell of who they once were (Ginny), and of Remus, who was only mentioned in passing in the story and had just witnessed his wife's brutal murder. And if my Hermione is out of character from how she is portrayed in J.K.'s stories (neo-victorian good girl who would never do anything remotely bad or lose hope) then, that's a high compliment, I think.

Reviewer: Sk8erChick
Date: 03/22/09 14:40
Chapter: Purgatory

wow.i luv reading a fic like that once in a while.but at the end, did Bellatrix or Hermione die? Better make that a bit clearer.

Author's Response: Read it again. Especially the last two sentences. That ought to clear it all up for you.

Reviewer: GinnyPotter86
Date: 07/04/08 19:33
Chapter: Purgatory

wow. That was THE saddest story that I have ever read. Very well written but definite tears at the end.

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 06/29/08 21:18
Chapter: Purgatory

That was such a soul destroying story. The world was utterly devoid of hope. There is however one good thing, they'll all be together now, beyond the veil, safe and at peace. This was extremely well written and powerful.

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 05/09/08 20:45
Chapter: Purgatory

Oh my! This was really angsty and deep. I liked it, even though I'm generally a happy person. I liked these 2 lines, because they were so full of feeling and emotion:

1: And for just a split second before the Killing Curse stole her breath and dimmed her eyes, Hermione felt hope.

And then…

AND

2. “I can feel today,” she informed Hermione quietly.

“I’m sorry.”
^^Both of these were deep. I liked them. You really are a great writer, Emily. Keep up the good work! {Becca}

Reviewer: Pottergirl
Date: 02/03/08 17:39
Chapter: Purgatory

It was kinda scary, though. I kept thinking Bella was right behind me; when the floor creaked, I actually turned around to make sure Voldemort wasn't sneaking up on me!

Have you considered writing books, and (I read this in an earlier response to an earlier reviewer) do you think that this dream could mean something?

I sometimes have dreams that are of everyday things, then I forget about them until I actually see them. Then I get this creepy deja vu feeling, and say "Oh, I had a dream about that!" honestly, it's creeeeeeeeepy!!!! 10/10 keep writing!

Author's Response: Yeah, my dad, when he read this, simply commented that I certainly know how to draw out the feeling of dread. So you're not the only one.

I actually really do want to write my own stories, my own books, but I'm still waiting for an idea to hit me. So I'm passing my time making myself a better writer with Jo's characters.

As to whether this dream means something, I don't know. I never really thought about interpreting it. It seemed more important to write it down than think about what it meant.

Finally, I know what you mean! It hasn't happened in a while, but I get that deja vu feeling too.

Thank you so much for your reviews!

Reviewer: Pottergirl
Date: 02/03/08 17:32
Chapter: Purgatory

With one last groaning protest, the door blew open in a shower of splinters and lumber. Hermione had just enough time to glimpse Bellatrix Lestrange standing on the other side of the destroyed door before she tightened her grip on her wand and said once more, Avada Kedavra!

And for just a split second before the Killing Curse stole her breath and dimmed her eyes, Hermione felt hope.

And then

"She was with Harry, Ron and Ginny. Tonks was there, too. And everyone from the Light who had gone before.

And Hermione was happy. She could rest in peace."

10/10 it's a great story!



Author's Response: Ahhah! So THAT'S how it should have ended. Thanks for filling in the blanks. Glad you liked it and thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Her My Own EE
Date: 02/02/08 8:28
Chapter: Purgatory

That scared the crap out of me! It was very good. I have demented dreams too. Reading this was like remembering one of my own.

Author's Response: It was such a scary dream, and it haunted me until I finished writing, so I think I managed to convey that fright. I dreamt this from Hermione's perspective, and I woke up, upright in bed and shaking. I really hope I never have another dream like this again.

Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Hp_4_eva
Date: 02/02/08 0:33
Chapter: Purgatory

my mom walked into the room while I was some three-quarters into the story, and she asked my why I was crying. It took me a full ten seconds before I could compose myself enough to answer. That was beautifull, 10/10.

Author's Response: Wow, I hope you went to read something cheerful afterward! I'm so pleased that you liked it. thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Sakura Haruno
Date: 02/02/08 0:27
Chapter: Purgatory

and then what!!!! please write a sequel !!!!!! i will like love u forever!!!!

Author's Response: A sequel??? Everyone is DEAD! LOL.

Reviewer: Leah_Lovegood
Date: 02/01/08 20:27
Chapter: Purgatory

wow...that was ur nightmare? i think u need to talk to a counselor...jk. it was very well written, though. Bravo!

Author's Response: Alright, I don't normally have nightmares, period, and this one haunted me for days. Though, you aren't the first to suggest I seek professional help *smile*

Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: primagirl89
Date: 02/01/08 18:17
Chapter: Purgatory

wow! really powerful!!

Author's Response: Thank you! It certainly does pack a punch, doesn't it...

Reviewer: lunalicious
Date: 02/01/08 17:25
Chapter: Purgatory

Wow -- you weren't kidding that this was a dark story. I loved it. I can't wait to read some of your other stories.

Author's Response: This one is the darkest story I've ever written, I think. But hopefully my others will strike your fancy as well. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: kalae_zoe
Date: 02/01/08 17:16
Chapter: Purgatory

Wow. I'm speechless. What a horrible world to live in. You captured the moment well. My heart sank when Hermione discovered that Ron was dead. I would've been envious of Ginny too I think.
It reminded me a bit of "I am Legend" (the movie), the loneliness, fear, and despair. Very well written.

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I appreciate your kinds words. Frankly, I don't really know what to say about this story, either, other than it would not let me rest until I'd finished it.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES