Reviews For The Only Thing
Reviewer: Narwen3
Date: 08/16/12 16:46
Chapter: The Only Thing

So, the last time I reviewed or read was six years ago. I stumbled again onto the site and saw you had a 66 chapter fic up. I thought I'd check out your one shot before giving that one a go and let me just say, wow. I'm impressed with the amount of detail and heart in this short story and I cannot wait to see your other work. It reminded me of what I loved about fanfiction. Very well done indeed.

Author's Response: :) Thank you so much, Narwen3. I think I remember you from all those years ago, but it has been a long time. :*) Welcome back, though you may have already left again since it has taken me so long to get to this lovely review. >.< Forgive me. I'm so glad you enjoyed this story. Even though the fandom has definitely died down, I too still love fanfiction. I just wish I had more time to devote to it! Thank you again.

Reviewer: HumanHorcrux
Date: 07/07/12 5:11
Chapter: The Only Thing

Oops, sorry, I missed a line. Your timeline for James and Lily's hiding is right. :P

Author's Response: :) No problem!

Reviewer: HumanHorcrux
Date: 07/07/12 5:09
Chapter: The Only Thing

Wow! This is amazingly powerful, I really enjoyed it. The emotions are overwhelming- you did a fantastic job. :D
I just wanted to point out, in case you didn't know already, that James would have been 21 by the time Harry was born, and that they had hardly been in hiding for a week before Voldemort came (although in the case of your story, the months in hiding thing works really well :D). Also, I think that her name is Marlene, not Marlena.
All the same, good job, I really really liked this! :D :D :D

Author's Response: Oh, thank you HumanHorcrux. I'm very glad you enjoyed it. And thank you for pointing out that flaw. >.< I will fix it. Thank you for reading and reviewing my story. These old ones sit around and I don't think of them for a while, so it is nice to know they are still appreciated. :)

Reviewer: Nagini Riddle
Date: 06/01/12 22:20
Chapter: The Only Thing

What a tear jerker! I have a baby in my own home, and I feel the exact same way.
I think you captured this scene perfectly! I absolutely loved this story, and I hope you keep it up. Your stories are really good!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you, Nagini Riddle. I'm so glad you liked it. I did enjoy writing this little piece, so thank you for letting me know you enjoyed it, too. I really appreciate you giving my stories some love!!! :)

Reviewer: littlewolf
Date: 05/18/11 21:28
Chapter: The Only Thing

"When had he fallen so hopelessly in love with this tufty-haired little boy? "

that is the best line in this fic. i find your portrayal of james realistic, and his love for harry simply awwwww-inducing. like others, i thought that it would end with voldemort blasting open the door (actually i was anticipating it since halfway through the story lol). but i like your ending so much better.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you littlewolf! And yayyy...that is my favorite part of the story, too. :*) I'm glad you like my ending. It was meant to be a very bittersweet story, and having Voldemort show up would have been too horrible, ruining the sweetness. Knowing he was going to made it sad enough, for me anyway. :'( I just wanted to leave it with the love, not the actual loss. *sniffle* Thank you for reading and reviewing. :)

Reviewer: keara96
Date: 01/28/11 16:15
Chapter: The Only Thing

awww, baby Harry sounds so cute. That was a sad story though, especially at the end when you said "cold late-October air" because we all know what happens at the end of this October:(
really nice story

Author's Response: :( Yes, we all know...*sniffle* The story of Lily and James is just so very heartbreaking, but I wanted James to have a good day with his son. I wish Harry could remember it. Even if it isn't really part of his story. ;) I'm glad you liked it, keara96. Thank you so much for reviewing.

Reviewer: ravenclaw1997
Date: 12/22/10 6:44
Chapter: The Only Thing

Aww, that was so sweet! b29;

I have a feeling, though, that this is taking place on October 31, the day James and Lily die, though. Poor James...

I loved how James and Harry were playing with the Snitch- the way you portrayed baby Harry was just adorable. :)

Great job! I'm going to read your giant story now, slowly but surely...

~Manda

Author's Response: :) Thank you so much, Manda. I'm so glad you enjoyed this little peek into James and Harry's father/son relationship that was just too short lived. :'( I have a feeling you are right about the date. *sniffle* I felt slightly better about it all by giving James a good day with his son. He deserved it. :')

Oh, dear, you're going to tackle my 'giant story'? LOL I'm beginning to think of it as my never-ending story. >.< Slowly but surely...ha, that's how I'm writing it. Well, if you read it slowly but surely, maybe I'll have the next chapter up by the time you get to it. ;) I hope you enjoy it. Thank you for the review on this story. I really appreciate it.

Reviewer: Allovimo
Date: 10/31/10 13:02
Chapter: The Only Thing

That was very well done.

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Allovimo. I'm glad to know you think so. Thank you for reviewing.

Reviewer: ren_a87
Date: 10/22/08 16:31
Chapter: The Only Thing

That was really good! I just happened to find it when I went to your profile. I actually thought it would end with Voldemort breaching the charm. Anyway, you're a really good writer so if you ever write professionally you'll have to pen your name as Moonymaniac so I know!

Author's Response: Oh, my gosh, ren_a87, I'm so sorry I haven't responded until now. :*/ I stop paying much attention when the story doesn't see much activity and 16 and 15 sort of look the same to me if I don't have my reading glasses on. >.<. *curses aging eyes* Anyway, thank you so much for your very kind words. *HAHA* Can you imagine trying to get something published as moonymaniac? They would think I was a maniac...of course I probably am, but...*fantasizes seeing 'NYT Bestseller by moonymaniac'* LOL I don't think there is any danger of that, but thank you so much for the vote of confidence and for giving this story a little love. I really appreciate it.

Reviewer: XhayleeXblackX
Date: 07/26/08 17:54
Chapter: The Only Thing

Wow, this was such a brilliantly written story. You have James written in a way that shows how much he has grown, and why Lily loves him, which not many authors can achieve.

After all, James Potter didn’t back down from a challenge; he was a Gryffindor and a Marauder—and a man with too much to lose.

All this made his current situation all the more intolerable. It went against every instinct he had.

James Potter was in hiding.


This was so very perfectly chararterized. I can really picture James being restless and worried the whole time he was in hiding, too much pent up energy. You really showed this in a wonderfully way. The wording is simply perfect.

The way that you described James' thoughts in the shower about how he didn't love Harry the moment he saw him was just . . . wow. You wrote it wonderfully, and the way you continued to tell the story up to where James walked back into the room where Lily was playing with Harry was just great. It really showed a progression but it wasn't rushed.

And that Snitch scene! How could you get anymore perfect? It was very in character for James and Harry is such an adorable baby.

The only thing that I can think of that tops that scene is the ending. James want for Harry to miss his nap is so cute and fatherly.

This is truly a great story and I really love the characterization of James. Amazing job, I can give nothing but praise.

-Haylee

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you, Haylee. I'm nearly speechless. I'm so honored that you like my portrayal. I think many of us find writing James a bit intimidating, because he is something of an enigma. I know I do. We only ever actually see him as an arrogant little berk, but also know that nearly everyone, with the exception of Snape, loved or at least respected him in the end. Sometimes, it is a little difficult to reconcile the two aspects of his character. I hope writing this has helped me understand him a little better for a WIP I am working on. Anyway, I'm so glad he works for you here. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review.

Reviewer: ink_daughter
Date: 07/26/08 17:34
Chapter: The Only Thing

Aww, that was an amazing fic, portraying a part of James that people don't write about often. I could just feel his love resonating from this one-shot.

Author's Response: Thank you very much, ink_daughter. I'm really glad to know you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 07/19/08 22:08
Chapter: The Only Thing

wow your story made me cry. I really really loved it. It's so candid and it shows emotions extreamly well. It was cute and sad and happy all at once. It was very well written.

Author's Response: Oh, Fiffer, thank you so much. I couldn't hope for the story to have been received any better than this. Thank you for reading and leaving such a wonderful review.

Reviewer: mrsjamespotter93
Date: 07/05/08 1:58
Chapter: The Only Thing

awww... I think I'm crying!!! so sweet! well written!!

Author's Response: :) Thank you so much, mrsjamespotter93. I'm so pleased to know you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: FullofLife
Date: 06/26/08 5:12
Chapter: The Only Thing

Beautiful. Thank you for telling us about the other parent too. I found this utterly realistic. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you so much, FullofLife. And you are welcome; it was my pleasure. :) I'm so glad to know you liked it.

Reviewer: meryal
Date: 05/24/08 23:43
Chapter: The Only Thing

Wow, absoultely brilliant.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, meryal. :D

Reviewer: mudbloodproud
Date: 05/24/08 16:37
Chapter: The Only Thing

I happened to stumble across a post you made and was intrigued by the banner in your signature for this story.
I am so glad I clicked on it. This story was wonderfully written. It shows James as more than a Marauder, it shows him as a father. I submitted a one-shot yesterday that deals with Harry's first birthday. I enjoyed reading your take on James as a father and his reaction to being in hiding.
I noticed only one thing. Healer should be capitalized in the paragraph about Lily feeling more comfortable at the hospital. Other than that, I didn't notice anything.
Thank you for an enjoyable read.
Terri

Author's Response: Oh, yay! Banner advertisement does work. :) I'm so glad you clicked on it, too and that you enjoyed it. Thank you so much for taking the time to let me know and for that capitalization error notice. I'll fix that right away. Your one shot sounds like something I need to put on my to read list. :) There just don't seem to be that many stories focusing on that part of James' life. *makes note* Thank you again, Terri.

Reviewer: Sedragore
Date: 05/18/08 16:42
Chapter: The Only Thing

I.... I can't say anything but AWWWWWWW!!!!!!!! >.

Author's Response: :D Thank you, Seddy!

Reviewer: Buckbeak22
Date: 05/14/08 17:34
Chapter: The Only Thing

Wonderful. I just love seeing something nice about James that seems realistic. Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you, Buckbeak22. I'm really glad to know it seemed realistic. That means a lot. :)

Reviewer: Jazzbones
Date: 05/07/08 11:45
Chapter: The Only Thing

Very nice and touching story.

Author's Response: Thank you, Jazzbones. :)

Reviewer: Elf01
Date: 05/07/08 3:59
Chapter: The Only Thing

I like the fresh look on James, and was glad to see the traits we know coming out in him e.g. playing with the snitch with Harry, and I don't imagine that he would be happy to go into hiding.

I get the impression that this is set after the Fidelus charm was cast. If it is the reason Sirus suggested Peter was because he no longer trusted Remus, and I believe that James would agree. Mentioning Remus therefore seems a little out of place. However this is very minor. Just something to bear in mind if you want to write another fic set in that time.

Overall nice fic.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, elf01. I’m glad to know you liked it.

Hm…writing another story in this time…Well, now you mention it, I’m definitely planning to cover this time in another fic. I have to say, I spent a lot of time agonizing on the mention of Remus in this story for the same reason you mention. However, after much deliberation, I came to a conclusion about how I think James’ felt about Remus and decided to write it this way. Let me explain. I have decided that I don’t think James ever suspected Remus. I’m not even sure I think Sirius suspected him strongly enough to make the accusation to James. I’m of the mind that Sirius came to the conclusion that Remus might have been the spy through the process of elimination and at the last moment. My reasons for this are that I definitely get the impression from the Shrieking Shack scene that Remus had not known that Sirius suspected him. Quote -“Not if he thought I was the spy, Peter,” said Lupin. “I assume that’s why you didn’t tell me, Sirius?” he said casually over Pettigrew’s head. “Forgive me, Remus,” said Black… /Quote] That just doesn’t sound like Remus knew that Sirius suspected him and Sirius doesn’t strike me as the type to sit back and let someone get away with that sort of thing. I think if Sirius had held strong suspicions at all, he would have confronted Remus or at the least made Remus suspect that Sirius suspected him. If he had, I think Remus would have really questioned Sirius’ guilt, because why would Sirius have suspected Remus if Sirius was guilty? Of course, Sirius might have acted suspicious and Remus might have thought Sirius was only pretending to suspect him to deflect his own guilt, but I don’t see any reason to think so…*gets dizzy* Anyway, in Deathly Hallows, my feelings were confirmed when Remus says to Harry, “No, I think you’re like James,” said Lupin, “who would have regarded it as the height of dishonor to mistrust his friends.” While James was closer to Sirius than any of the others, Remus would have known James nearly as well, after living so closely together for all those years, so I accept what Remus says here. I think James went under the Fidelius Charm believing the spy was a member of the Order, but not one of his closest friends. Sirius would have known this about James, too and probably never came right out and suggested Remus was the spy, though he might have hinted/felt around for how James felt about it. I don’t think Sirius suggested they change to Peter because he suspected Remus. He simply didn’t offer the information to Remus in case Remus could be the spy. “I thought it was the perfect plan…a bluff…Voldemort was sure to come after me, would never dream they’d use a weak talentless….” So the change of plan didn’t have anything to do with Remus, but the knowledge that everyone, including Voldemort and the Death Eaters would automatically come after Sirius to find the Potters. They wouldn’t need to be told by a spy that Sirius was James best mate. That would have been fairly well known information. So anyway, I’ll stop rambling, but those are some reasons I think James was friendly with Remus right up to the bitter end and why I included that. I really hope that makes some sense and know I could definitely be wrong, but that is how I see like to think of it. I just can’t bear to think they would all ostracize my darling Remus. :(

Again, I understand your issue with that inclusion. I’m glad it didn’t completely ruin the story for you. Thank you so much for the thoughtful review.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Crofter and The Snake by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
During the perilous school year of 1997-1998, when Muggleborns are on the run...
Lily and Alice by Wenlock 3rd-5th Years
Alice defied the odds when she became the first woman Auror in the 20th century.Lily...
Time, Space, and Blunt Force Trauma by teh tarik 3rd-5th Years
On the very last day of his life, Sirius Black was bored. Bored, bored, bored.
FEATURED
My Troubled Tyrant by Belledeg Professors
Keedie Dante has experienced many amazing things during her time at Hogwarts...
His and Hers by Acacia Carter 3rd-5th Years
In a perfect world, Neville and Hannah's wedding would go off without a hitch...
All This Waiting For The Sky To Fall by Dawnie 1st-2nd Years
They found her body - broken, bleeding, face filled with signs of pain and fear...
Sanguini, the Vampire by teh tarik 6th-7th Years
Vampirism is the persistence and the perpetuity of the body, a madness of the...
Lost and Found by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
When Tracey Davis's financial security was a casualty of war, her family is...
CATEGORIES