Reviewer: The Lark Dord
Date: 06/02/09 3:12
Chapter: Chapter III: Twenty-Nine Goats

LOL!!!! I totally loved your use of weapons and call of duty 4.
"BAM! You were killed by Your Mother!"
LOL!
"Jesus has called in an air strike"
“Dick, you dick! We’re on the same team!”
Great use of humour. I also liked it when
XD!
“Brother Hunter’s right,” Vanessa added after taking a puff from her cigarette. “Besides, it’s been statistically proven that kids who play violent video games become crack shots even if they’ve never used a gun in their life.”
Where did you get that from? *chuckle*
I also liked it when you did the bit about Bob drinking the Molotov Cocktail. I loved the weapons humour :)
Hope you add more soon
Your admirer,
The Dark Lord (oops)

Author's Response:

Greetings, the Lark Dord. I am very glad you like this glorified crack!fic story of mine! There’s more weapons humour to come whenever I next update the story. I wrote half of Chapter Four last year, and sort of forgot about this story... Well, that’s what summer is for! Got to get back to writing!

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: armagod679
Date: 11/25/08 16:29
Chapter: Chapter III: Twenty-Nine Goats

Based on everything I've read from you, I can promise that this is the weirdest, most factual, and most insightful story you've ever written. I'm enjoying the editorial comments. Please write more!

Author's Response:

Every time I wonder WHY I wrote this crazy story, reviews like this one never fail to make me feel better, so thank you! I have to agree with you in that this is probably the weirdest story I’ve written, but I can’t really say why – I guess it’s just so weird that I am lost for words. As you undoubtedly noticed, I did quite a lot of research for this story, so I appreciate your comment on its factuality. Finally, one of my favourite movies is Monty Python’s Life of Brian, a movie that is not only just plain hilarious, but it has such a great insightful, satirical message on... well, pretty much everything! That was one of my great inspirations for this strange story, in addition to my natural eccentricity!

Thank you again for reviewing this story – I am so glad you actually understand it!

Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: Leah_Lovegood
Date: 11/25/08 16:25
Chapter: Chapter III: Twenty-Nine Goats

Haha. Cool chapter. I especially liked your description of Shangri-La. It was very creative.
I know what you mean about the video games. My friends once got me to play Halo 3. The Canadian players on X-Box live are MEAN.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review, Leah_Lovegood, and I appreciate that you liked my description of Shangri-La. There will be more of it! Also, I’ve actually never played on Xbox Live – getting massacred repeatedly by my friends just on multiplayer is as far as I’ve gotten, and I don’t really see the need to improve! Besides, there are more important things to do in life, like write… about other people playing video games!

Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: IndigoPassion
Date: 10/29/08 11:24
Chapter: Chapter I: A Flash of Silver

Ha, I loved the Yeti joke at the end.

But yeah, wow, you must have done a lot of research!

But yeahh, wow, really good:)

-Lexxyy

Author's Response:

Oh goodie - thanks for the review! As you can tell, I did a fair bit of internet-surfing on the subject of the People’s Liberation Army for this story, but I decided to stick a homicidal Yeti in it! Chapter Three is ready to go, but unfortunately I can only submit one chapter in a single category at a time – you’ll see it eventually, though.

Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: sabradan
Date: 09/30/08 23:19
Chapter: Chapter I: A Flash of Silver

This is great. Absolutely brilliant. I had no intention of reading this, well, ever, because it just seemed so...absurd. BUT! I saw you're little schpiel about it on Schmergo's site (though I'm not registered, just a ghostie) and saw the art related to it and had to check it out, and I'm glad I did. Absolutely absurd, yet in so many ways, brilliant. I understand you don't like canon cameos, and I respect that (and rather like all the OC love) but I still think it might be fun to stick a cameo in there. Maybe not the trio or anything, but maybe like Luna (after all she's into the freaky creatures just like Hagrid), but undertandably, I can respect if you choose to ignore this.
Just a quick nitpick, you have Erick's boss being Hispanic/Spanish/Latino (in someway decended from Spaniards/Spanish-speaking), yet you call him a "dago", which at least here, is a slur for an Italian, not Hispanic.
Anyway, update soon and happy writing.

p.s. good to see another male fan fic writer, we are such the minority, here, after all.

Author's Response:

Ahh, yes… male fanfic writers. We’re a dying breed, aren’t we? Well, we Y chromosomes have never been very numerous to begin with, but I digress.

Thank you for reviewing this story of mine, sabradan – I am especially glad that you even understand it! The humour is much more subtle, being a sort of absurd, politically incorrect satire of environmentalism, terrorism, bureaucracy, governments, and even video games, among other things. Though I do mention some canon characters in passing (like Rita Skeeter), there probably won’t be any actual cameos. However, that doesn’t mean you won’t see any, as I haven’t finished writing the story yet. I would update quicker (Chapter Three is ready to go), but this is one of two humour stories that I’m writing and I can only submit one at a time, unfortunately.

Concerning the word “dago,” I’ve only heard it used while referring to Spaniards – it is, after all, derived from the Spanish name “Diego.” However, I’ll take your word for it that it’s a pejorative term for Italians, too.

Anyway, thanks for reviewing. Stay tuned for the next exciting chapter!

Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: Flobberworm93
Date: 06/24/08 12:19
Chapter: Chapter II: Magic Pixie Dust, Man!

Brilliant, again. What's Das Zweite Zauberereich mean, though. I feel like I'm missing out on something.

Author's Response:

Hello there!

rnrn

Thank you for leaving another review! I’ve certainly put a lot of thought into this rather strange story, so I appreciate the fact that you are interested in the little arbitrary details. To answer your question, “Das Zweite Zauberereich” translates to “The Second Wizard Empire.” Expect more random German titbits (and swearing!) in future chapters.

rnrn

Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: armagod679
Date: 06/20/08 19:43
Chapter: Chapter II: Magic Pixie Dust, Man!

So, um, that magic pixie dust?.. You on it? I only ask because this is a very strange story.

I did like the Benjamin Dover reference. That was a good story, and I hope you write more of it.

Author's Response:

Well, thank you for telling me that this was a strange story – I happened to be aiming for just that! Anyway, to answer your question, I am not on any (fictional) Magic Pixie Dust. I wrote this story while completely sane and sober, though please understand that I just happen to be weird.

rnrn

Good – you spotted the Benjamin Dover reference! I also put a few allusions to some of my other fics in this chapter as well. Anyway, I am indeed writing more of Out of the Darkness, but I’ve hit something of a cement wall since the last chapter prominently features Harry and Ron. I don’t like writing about canon characters, since they aren’t mine and I’m always worried about keeping them in character; this probably explains why I invariably only have OCs in my stories.

rnrn

Thanks again for reviewing!

rnrn

Tim the Enchanter

rn

Reviewer: Leah_Lovegood
Date: 06/20/08 12:34
Chapter: Chapter II: Magic Pixie Dust, Man!

Hahaha. Magic Pixie Dust. My friend does that...;)

Author's Response:

Hello there! Thanks for another review!

rnrn

Speaking of Magic Pixie Dust, it will actually have a bit of an important role to play later on in the story. Stay tuned for the next update! …Which will probably been in about two weeks. Oh well. At any rate, I’m glad you like this fic!

rnrn

Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: Leah_Lovegood
Date: 06/20/08 12:13
Chapter: Chapter I: A Flash of Silver

Wow. You know a lot about Chinese Military. I love the ending of this! (The Yeti irony, not the dismemberment)

Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing! You can tell I did a lot of research on the People’s Liberation Army before writing this – learning about different militaries and weapons is a rather strange hobby of mine, as is Harry Potter. Also, I’m glad you liked the irony; there’s going to be a lot more of it later!

rnrn

Tim the Enchanter

rn

Reviewer: lmcayton
Date: 06/01/08 21:08
Chapter: Chapter I: A Flash of Silver

Just out of curiosity, what does this have to do with Harry- besides the magical Erick- also, why china-also, how is two people being torn apart funny?

Author's Response:

Well, hello, Imcayton-reviewer-person!

rnrn

Thank you for reviewing and letting me know what you thought about this rather disturbed story – I do understand that it is rather… unconventional, so to speak. But anyway, I’m sure you don’t want to hear me dither, so I’ll just go ahead and answer your questions!

rnrn

To be quite truthful, this story doesn’t have much to do with the Harry Potter series. There are absolutely, positively no cameos of any of the characters we’ve come to love. Though I do mention in passing characters like Rita Skeeter or Grindelwald, you will never see Harry or any familiar names because every person in my story is an original character. However, this fic is based off the Harry Potter universe and Magical Beasts and Where to Find Them. The story is divided roughly in half between magical and Muggle characters, and you will meet more witches and wizards in future chapters.

rnrn

Next – why does this story take place in China? The answer is quite simple: that’s where yetis live, according to Magical Beasts and Where to Find Them. Yetis live in Tibet, which was absorbed into the People’s Republic of China in 1951. Therefore, this story takes place in Tibet, which is a part of China today.

rnrn

Lastly, how is two people being torn apart funny? The answer is, it isn’t. The first chapter simply introduces the situation that the story is based on. I start this fic on a very serious note, but each subsequent chapter gets steadily more absurd, which leads me to the humour (or lack of) aspect. As I mentioned in the Author’s Response for the below review, I originally submitted this story as a General fic, but the moderators decided (after much confusion) to place this story in Humour. I would describe Yelling Yourself Yellow With Yetis as more absurd and ridiculous than funny, but oh well. I suppose that in itself is a kind of humour, albeit a more subtle kind.

rnrn

Once again, thank you for reviewing and voicing your concerns. Sometimes, I find myself confused by my own creation too!

rnrn

Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: Flobberworm93
Date: 05/23/08 14:40
Chapter: Chapter I: A Flash of Silver

First review! Yay!
This is an . . . interesting fic. In a good way. :) I didn't even make the choice to click when I saw the word yeti, it's pretty much a reflex for me (Like turning around and shouting "What about Harry Potter," which has happened more times than I can count.) And I was NOT disappointed! The first chapter was a bit more, well, violent than it was funny, but I'm definitely going to keep reading.

Dude this rocks

Author's Response:

Hurrah! Finally, a review! THANK YOU!

rnrn

You have no idea how difficult it was to get this story approved – it wasn’t because of its content or anything, it was just that the moderators didn’t know what category to put it in. Personally, I would describe this story as “absurd,” but what category fits that? I originally submitted it in General but the mods rejected it and said I should move it to Humour. Then it was rejected a second time… and a third time, with a different moderator each time deciding it would fit better in Alternate Universe, back to General, or… GAAHH! Finally after several frustrated e-mails, the lovely moderator Bethany personally reviewed my submission and gave the final verdict: Humour. If it wasn’t for her, this story would still probably be rejected by mod after mod who can’t figure out what category to put it in!

rnrn

Now that I’ve gotten that out of my system, I’m glad that the word “Yeti” got your attention: I had fun coming up with the title. Of course, the first chapter introduces the premise of the story, but starting in Chapter Two the story shifts its focus towards the actual protagonists/comic relief. Depending on how I format the story, it will probably end up being five chapters, most likely with an epilogue.

rnrn

Thanks again for this lovely review!

rnrn

Tim the Enchanter

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Skeletons' Tale by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet," wrote Shakespeare. This story...
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES