Reviewer: Snowlily
Date: 07/18/11 9:07
Chapter: Chapter 1

Very good, ingenious, well written, enjoyable and sweet. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! I will, because they're so much fun to write about. :)

Reviewer: Seer_Witch
Date: 03/07/10 0:31
Chapter: Chapter 1

Loved the description. Very bold, very mysterious, very perfect:)
Scorpius is so clever, but weird, I suppose; I love him!

Author's Response: We're all delightfully weird in our own ways, thank goodness! Thank you for being an eclectic reader and wonderful reviewer!

Reviewer: XhayleeXblackX
Date: 12/31/09 21:53
Chapter: Chapter 1

Paige, this story was such a laugh! I seriously was chuckling aloud at the end. :)

That said, I think that your characterization is lovely. Scorpius was just… nothing like the Scorpius I’m used to seeing, but still perfectly Draco’s son as well as his own person. I love the way that you had him teach Rose simply because he didn’t want Potter’s idea to be better than his own. It’s brilliant and very Malfoy.

Rose was also the lovely little mix. At times she was like Ron, but for the most part she was so utterly her mother. I loved those little touches, like the mitigating circumstances line. Those are really what made this story work, for me; you characterized all the kids very well. Edgar was even a pleasure!

I can see Albus’ being very embarrassed by James’ idea, though, so I pictured him siding with Rose, and that makes me giggle – who would want someone their named after to be the scariest face on the pumpkin? And Scorpius saying that they would carve Voldemort’s face into the pumpkin next year was absolutely priceless.

The only thing that caught me off guard was Scorpius remarking on Rose’s eyes – I couldn’t picture him saying something aloud about it, and the fact that he did made it seem that there would be a romantic interest later on, which was clearly not the case (and I’m glad it wasn’t).

Lovely work, my dear; this was a lovely little Halloween humour story.

-Haylee

Author's Response:

This is a "prequel" to the Scorpius/Rose seventh year romance Our Little Secret. I wanted this to be the beginning of their awareness of each other as individuals, not just children of parents who once fought on opposing sides of a wizarding war. The comment about Rose's eyes shows that he's noticing she isn't what he'd expected, and it puts Scorpius off guard. He speaks his thought aloud. :)

Thank you for the lovely review. I hope you have a very Happy New Year!

 

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/31/09 9:12
Chapter: Chapter 1

I've been wanting to read this story for a long time and now's the perfect time--Halloween morning. You know how I love Scorpius and Rose stories. You write Scorpius so brilliantly. I hope you write another Scorpius and Rose story again sometime. Was this the beginning of Scorpius' crush on Rose? Yay!! East coast daughter got her chocolate for Halloween. I don't know how much I'll read today. I'm off to the next big town for movies and shopping before too long. Happy Halloween and excellent story.

Author's Response:

Movies and shopping for Halloween? A scary movie? :D

 Yes, this is what they were talking about on the train when he admitted he'd liked her since fifth year. Thank you for wanting another story! I have to put the sequel off until December (National Novel Writing Month and Remus and Tonks have to have happy endings first. :) but after I've cleared the slate, I will definitely be back for another adventure. Romance/suspense, I'm thinking. 

Reviewer: sorrow_of_severus
Date: 10/03/09 8:37
Chapter: Chapter 1

I'm pleased to report that I enjoyed reading this story the second time just as much as the first! After reading in OLS that this is when Scorpius started liking Rose, I think it actually made the story all the more meaningful, although I also think it works well as a stand-alone piece.

It's so original to write a story about a pumpkin-carving contest. So often, special events for holidays in HP fanfiction are balls. Frankly, I think the pumpkin-carving contest seems much more fun!

Finally, I love the idea of Rose breaking all the rules because she's annoyed with James. I agree with Scorpius that Snape would have made a scarier pumpkin than the Shrieking Shack, but I can see where Rose would rightfully feel that other Gryffs, especially the boys in her family, don't listen to her.

Author's Response:

I'm more than pleased that you read the story a second time! I'm tickled scarlet. ^_~

Balls are mentioned in canon, so I understand why they're used (because I've used them myself, heh), but Hallowe'en and pumpkin carving go together like sweets and fizzy drinks (without the cavities or stomach aches).

Rose is a Gryffindor, so she takes bold action when it's needed...and when she can rationalize that it isn't hurting anyone and no one will find out. :D You're right, Rose felt like she had to find a way to make the others listen to her, and wanted to prove to them that her design had merit. 

Thank you so much for reviewing!

Reviewer: Kantaka
Date: 07/07/09 21:55
Chapter: Chapter 1

Ooooowwwhh!! Awesome!!! I hadn't read this one before!! It was quite interesting...

Darling little Scorpious... tricking Rosie liek that tut-tut! She should have known, thought!! And Snape was certainly more scary than the Shiecking Shack!!

Author's Response: He didn't really know if James' idea would be better or not, he was just hedging his bet. :D I have a ginormous soft spot for Snape, so I think his face would be more visually interesting, lol.

Reviewer: Hedwig_is_my_owl
Date: 06/02/09 22:09
Chapter: Chapter 1

;) Again, I'm reading this after OLS, and I know I am reading the moment that Scorpius fell in like with Rose. Enjoyed the story....have I mentioned I LOVE your writing?

Author's Response:

Ack, I have Barney in my head now. I love you, you love me... Oh well, it's worth it. Thank you for reading this!

Reviewer: olipop10
Date: 04/29/09 14:34
Chapter: Chapter 1

haaaa, thats the time Scorpius fell in love with Rose , right? he says this himself after taking the Verisimilitude on the train. i love it:)

Author's Response: Scorpius isn't ready to admit any deeper feelings yet, but yes, indeed, this is the moment when he noticed Rose...and he liked her!

Reviewer: Chaser921
Date: 03/12/09 1:43
Chapter: Chapter 1

This was very cute, and fits beautifully with your other story, "Our Little Secret." I especially love the last line, "He would carve Voldemort." I think it fits with the idea that Scorpius isn't afraid to be the best, even if it means doing something that might offend people. I have a small crush on him, actually. He's awesome!

On a side note, I noticed one of your other stories is called "Dealing With Dragons". I haven't read it, as I just can't stomach the idea of Draco and Ginny together (though I'm sure you write them beautifully!). Anyway, that's also the title of a book by Patricia C. Wrede, which I think you'd enjoy immensely, if you haven't read it already.

Author's Response:

Yay for you having a crush on Scorpius! He's very worthy, :D.

In the Dealing with Dragons author note I say I got the title from the first book in The Enchanted Forest Chronicles, but I actually used it before, in A Tale of Two Matchmakers, the D/G story "Dragons" follows. I think you'd like my Draco/Ginny (The stories were written pre-HBP, so they're AU, what they could have been instead of what they became in canon) but since I have pairings I don't read, I understand, and I went and cut this Dealing with Dragons quote from the last chapter of Matchmakers. ;)

~*~

Draco and Charlie returned while she was reading a book in the lounge. Her brother had a wide assortment of dragon-related books, from the practical From Egg to Inferno, A Dragon Keeper’s Guide to the whimsical, Dealing with Dragons.

The moment Ginny had read the title among the many crammed onto shelves filled with novels, collections of myths and drawings, and non-fiction, she’d been intrigued. The author had written about a princess who wanted more from life than the stereotypical prince. Ginny had instantly related when she read, Cimorene was the youngest daughter of the King of Linderwall, and her parents found her very trying.

Diving into the novel with enthusiasm she hadn’t displayed diving into her cold shower, she had just got to the chapter titled In Which the Wizards Try to Make Trouble, and Cimorene Does Something about It and read “The door to the cottage opened,” when the front door was flung open.

Reviewer: hogwartsismydrug
Date: 10/26/08 18:38
Chapter: Chapter 1

I like how you spell Halloween (Hallowe'en). I also like how he doesn't call her any bad names! I hate it when Malfoy does that! can't wait for December either! ^_^ LOL ttyl!

Author's Response: Scorpius was raised in a different atmosphere than Draco, (no Voldemort!) so he doesn't have the same attitudes about blood purity and social status. He's never hated Rose, just been indifferent...which he isn't any longer... :)

Reviewer: claymor
Date: 10/23/08 10:36
Chapter: Chapter 1

I always look forward to your writings and this did nothing to change a very high expectation. I will be impatiently awaiting December for more than just the holidays.

Author's Response: Aw, that means so much to me. I'm all vaclempt!

Author's Response: Aw, that means so much to me. I'm all vaclempt!

Reviewer: evester
Date: 10/21/08 17:49
Chapter: Chapter 1

This was really good! I loved your characterization of Rose and Scorpius. I have read so many fics where Scorpius is completely different from his father, and it takes basically nothing at all for him to fall for Rose, so this is certainly an interesting take, making him more than a little similar to Draco. The apple doesn't fall far from the tree, does it?

He couldn’t say no. She might think he was trying to get on with her when he wasn’t, and wouldn’t, even if she was better-looking than most Weasleys, and had— “Blue eyes,” he said. “Your eyes are blue, not brown.” He had never been close enough to see the colour.
Oh, denial. Someone's got a crush, I think! Nice touch- there seems to be little undercurrents of something under Scorpius's unreadable personality.

I also liked how you kept the whole pumpkin thing under wraps until the middle, it added to the mystery and suspense of the story.

The goodwill of housemates and evasion of detention were added benefits.
Oh, sneaky! He's rather like Hermione, no? Except that Hermione's actions estranged herself from the houseelves and Scorpius' system seems to be working.

He would carve Voldemort.
LOL that would be scary, I"m sure.

He said, “Doesn’t it get old pretending you’re not smart? Aren’t you tired of being treated like you’re—”

“My father? No. I prefer to be underestimated.”

So did Scorpius, as a rule.

I thought these lines were very effective. The idea of Goyle pretending to be stupid is interesting, you'd think that after all that happened, the kids of those people would want to try and distance themselves from their parents as much as possible.

Anyway, great job with this, and I certainly can't wait until December for your new fic!

Author's Response:

He might like to think he's totally different than his parents (don't we all, lol) but there's more of Draco (and Lucius!) in Scorpius than he believes.

The title gave it away, but I tried to build up to it, so thank you for saying that!

Both Scorpius and Rose will be in denial about their attraction. It'll be fun--loads of tension, heh.

Edgar and Scorpius see eye-to-eye on most things, but where Scorpius wants to be a different breed of Malfoy, Edgar doesn't care if people think he's just like dear old dad. He uses it to his advantage, cunning Slytherin that he is. :)

Thank you so much for looking forward to the new story!

Reviewer: ElspethBates
Date: 10/21/08 7:46
Chapter: Chapter 1

Great Halloween Treat! Scorpius seems very sweet under a tough exterior... I bet you have great plans for this particular pair!

I think Edgar is abso-bloody-lutely adorable!

Author's Response: I heart you for liking Edgar! Cronies are a sickle a dozen, but a friend is priceless (especially when he's a cunning Slytherin, lol).

Reviewer: rushinn
Date: 10/20/08 21:20
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow, I love your writing style! It's very sharp and witty. Love the story! And looking forward to any new fics!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm the most prolific author on Mugglenet (currently, anyway, heh) so if you like my style, I've got a wide variety of stories and pairings to choose from. Pick a fic, any fic...I'll heart you for reading. ;)

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 10/20/08 17:13
Chapter: Chapter 1

Very very interesting story; I loved it! And good stories always help me, because four of my stories (one MWPP era, one Next-Gen, one D/A, and one poem) have been rejected (sobs) and so I need all the help can get! So, on to the review:

Haha I liked it! I guess Scorpius's reasons for helping Rose is that he likes her?????? Just a hunch... haa it was really good! Now I have to go study for a math test, in the course I am currently failing... yay... big time... Okay, so i give this 5 stars! {BeccA}

Author's Response:

Scorpius wanted to ensure his House would win, :D, but he is aware of Rose now in a way he wasn't before!

I'm happy you liked the story and sad you're having trouble getting approved. Have you tried to find a perfect imagination beta? The link is on the Navigation menu to the L of the screen. It might make all the difference!

Reviewer: Pendraegona
Date: 10/20/08 16:44
Chapter: Chapter 1

This is pretty cute, a nice quick read with a good Scorpius and a dollop of the old House rivalries to make it run. Very much in the Halloween spirit and all.

I've no doubt you'll manage Nanowrimo just fine, but best of luck to you anyway. Cheers!

Author's Response:

I think there will always be House rivalries--ensuring fun for writers as well as readers. ;)

50K words in a month is more than I've ever written in that short a time span, but I'll do it if it...well...makes everyone want to kill me for acting mental, LOL.

Reviewer: PeaceLovePotter
Date: 10/20/08 15:46
Chapter: Chapter 1

That's a cute ending!

Author's Response: My inner Scorpius is curling his lip because he thought it was cunning, lol, but I thank you! ;)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
A Story for Charlie by Darkness Enshrouds 3rd-5th Years
A boy. A girl. A budding romance. If only things never got complicated... (Violence...
Scorpius Malfoy and the Salem Witch Trials by Hotrav 3rd-5th Years
The third story in the Scorpius Malfoy and the Sins of the Fathers series. Lucius...
No One Can Ever Know by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
"My word, Severus, that I shall never reveal the best of you?"~Dumbledore to...
FEATURED
My Troubled Tyrant by Belledeg Professors
Keedie Dante has experienced many amazing things during her time at Hogwarts...
His and Hers by Acacia Carter 3rd-5th Years
In a perfect world, Neville and Hannah's wedding would go off without a hitch...
All This Waiting For The Sky To Fall by Dawnie 1st-2nd Years
They found her body - broken, bleeding, face filled with signs of pain and fear...
Sanguini, the Vampire by teh tarik 6th-7th Years
Vampirism is the persistence and the perpetuity of the body, a madness of the...
Lost and Found by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
When Tracey Davis's financial security was a casualty of war, her family is...
CATEGORIES