Reviewer: fiddleofthealike
Date: 06/03/14 12:10
Chapter: Chapter 7 - What if?

Love it! It's a really well written story, as i'm sure you've heard many times, and i love the way the romance and the story is still in keeping with the canon events of the time!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm particularly fond of this couple, so they crop up in otherstories. :)

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 04/29/13 3:54
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Miles To Go

That was so beautiful. I think it was lovely that you wrote Lavender as such a 3-dimensional girl. She was portrayed as much more superficial in the books but there had to be a reason she was sorted into Gryffindor, and the first of her year too! Thanks for giving us another side of both Lavender and Blaise.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for all your reviews, crit and praise. I adored writing this couple and was very sad the end the story. So ... I wrote a few more with them in - ha ha. I was sorry about the baby though. Made me cry writing that. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 04/29/13 3:32
Chapter: Chapter 7 - What if?

Looove Loove!! No time to talk, must read another chapter. I love that Seamus guessed her pregnancy, and it is so cute everytime he says Mam.

Author's Response: Seamus is a star! Ha ha - my bestest Irish friend used to cringe when she beta'd this story because I put so many Irishisms in the story, but she let me keep 'mam' in. Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 04/29/13 3:06
Chapter: Chapter 6 - Restrictions

Yikes!! Crabbe!! *in terror, can't write another word*

Author's Response: I KNOW!!! I was scared writing it, and I knew it was coming - ha ha. Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 04/29/13 1:42
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Between the Woods and the Frozen Lake

Love the story and love Seamus' snarky remark about doing something right for being like Potter. I love that Professor Snape was secretly in the room or secretly snuck in, don't know which, but he is obviously protecting students. Bravo. I like how you work into your story the canon fact that Snape was working against the Carrows to protect the students.

Author's Response: I loved writing Seamus in this story. He rapidly became one of my firm favourites. he's just so sweet but also has some backbone. The reference to Harry was, I hope, a way for Seamus to make amends for OOTP when he didn't believe Harry's story. I like to think he's matured a lot since then. Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 04/29/13 1:12
Chapter: Chapter 4 - Stopping by Woods

Omg, Neville appeared! *Duh duh duuh da!* (insert dramatic suspenseful movie music here.) Very romantic! They are so sweet to each other. Oh love is blossoming in the air. Of course you can't make it that easy for them, so of course there is drama in the shape of a Gryffindor spy. On with the show!

Author's Response: Yes, Neville - EVIL! Well, no, he's not evil, but he was annoying to turn up at that point - ha ha. Glad you;re enjoying the story. Thank you. ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 04/28/13 21:32
Chapter: Chapter 3 - The woods are lovely, dark and deep

OooOo. Lost hairpins in Gryffindor colors! That is so clever. As much as I want to believe Lavender and Blaise are so sappy because they are falling for each other, I can't believe Lavender is falling for his super slick lines! I mean, really?! "Next time will be better," ... "Oh there will be a next time?", then she goes all gushy. Oh PLEASE. Isn't that a line every guy uses? I know Lavender is supposed to be this girly girl, romantic, and not the brightest bulb, but I was hoping she would give him some sass and say, "What makes you so sure of yourself?" I guess that's just wishful thinking on my part, as that seems out of character for her. You better not let Blaise hurt her in the next chapter, I'll be so angry with you!

Author's Response: Ha ha ha - I guess you've read on now. Blaise is slick, but he's sincere. Lavender's also desperate for romance and escape, so I think she'd believe anything at that point. I wouldn;t say she's not the 'brightest bulb' but she is a bit of a mush head. To be hinest, having faced that kind of line myself, you want to believe it and, of course, you always think of the perfect response about half an hour later, don;t you?

I've written some other stories with lavender when she's older, and she does have a lot more spark once she's gained more confidence.

Anyway, you have, I noticed, read on and Blaise wasn't horrible to her :D Thank you for the review ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 04/28/13 20:57
Chapter: Chapter 2 - He will not see me stopping here

I was very angry that Blaise basically accused her of being easy just for the purposes of being the lookout! How dare he! Especially since he kissed her. OUTRAGEOUS. I like that your writing got me to react so strongly. I thought it a bit weird though that after saying Lavender wouldn't hook up with just anyone, he basically assumed she would just hook up with him. Cocky git! LoL.

Author's Response: Well ... he likes her (I know you've read on, so I presume you must have read the chapters from his POV), but he doesn't like being fooled. She did also go with him so he wouldn't discover Neville and Ginny, so I guess he feels used. BUT ... he did kiss her, you're quite right - GIT! Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 04/28/13 20:37
Chapter: Chapter 1 Promises to keep

I love this premise. I never particularly liked Blaise but the idea that he is half blood but concealing it for his own safety is both plausible and every inch a Slytherin trait. I'm sure not all Slytherins are pure blood mad as one whole group of people of different backgrounds and upbringings can't all believe the same exact thing without some persuading. Thinking back to Blaise's background in Half Blood Prince and during the Slug Club get-togethers, it is entirely possible for him to be a half blood! Great idea! I like your version of Blaise so far.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Yes, I thought that as Snape and Voldemort were both half-bloods then there could easily be others in Slytherin. The reason no one knows is explained in another chapter. He's super secretive about it because he's a very closed person. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 04/22/13 11:25
Chapter: Chapter 2 - He will not see me stopping here

I kinda doubt that Lavender would be so quick to want to kiss anyone but I can live with this. The rest of the chapter is fine.

Author's Response: Hmm, well, I see your point after Crabbe assaulted her, but Blaise had saved her and Lavender's a bit of a sucker for a hero, don;t you think? PLus it was Blaise who made the first move and sometimes you don;t know how you'll respond until you're in that situation. Thank you for the review. ~Carole~

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 04/22/13 11:08
Chapter: Chapter 1 Promises to keep

Pretty much nailed Vincent's creepiness.

Good conflict/tension between Ginny, Neville and Lavender.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Yeah, i wanted to explore someone not automatically getting involved in DA and she'd proised her dad, so that's where the tension lay. Thanks again. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Sapphires At Sunset
Date: 08/07/12 4:44
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Miles To Go

I cried when I read this :(
But loved it all the same :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Yeah, t'is a sad story, but they have a happy ending. (You might like The Only One, and High where they both feature)

Reviewer: hufflepuffatheart
Date: 07/31/12 7:16
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

Bahhh how I cried when she miscarried. Really hit home. Great job.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Glad you enjoyed this story. This pairing are possibly my favourite to write. ~Carole~

Reviewer: PeppermintToads
Date: 07/09/12 2:32
Chapter: Chapter 2 - He will not see me stopping here

After reading High, I just had to read this as well. Plot and character developement are good so far, and it makes me hate Crabbe even more.

Author's Response: WOOT WOOT - sorry, this is my 100th review for this story and I've been waiting a while so I'm grinning form ear to ear (Thankfully I'm not George Weasley). I'm pleased you liked this story. Lavender and Blaise weren;t going to be a part of High but I rather liked him being Potions master, plus Lavender just pushes her way into everything - ha ha. Thank you again ~Carole~

Reviewer: BrokenPromise
Date: 03/22/12 19:02
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

Firstly, Happy (belated) Equinox!

Wow, that was lovely. I love how Blaise is both typical Slytherin and not, and how Lavender feels that she can't tell people about it. You can really tell how much you adore this couple, even though its one people would very very rarely think of. I have new pictures of those two in my head now.

I adore the Korybantes idea, it makes Blaise seem much more 'humane' as he doesn't have a house elf. I also love the mansion in Italy, and the chocolate and strawberries made me hungry!

Secondly, I know that you are probably extremely busy writing in your free time, but I was wondering if you would be interested in being my beta? I'm really sorry to but this in a review, but i couldn't contact you from your author page and I couldn't really think of any other way.

Finally, I don't know if you noticed but I have another story up (SQUEE!) and would be again honoured if you would read (and review?) it. Again, sorry to put this in your review but I think that it is very much your fault that I got the idea of trying to fill in a massive hole in the Potterverse.

Love this story and this ship! And all your stories to be honest.

BrokenPromise

Author's Response: Hi there, thank you very much for the review and I'm pleased you liked my lavender/Blaise story because it's one of my favourites and I still ♥ the pairing. I have noticed your new story and will be reading it very soon :). Regarding being a beta. I am actually a shockingly bad beta. My punctuation and grammar leave a lot to be desired so I really don;t think I'd be able to do a good job for you. I would suggest you head over to the beta boards and get involved with the forums there.. There are some very good betas there and they'd be willing to help, I'm sure.

Thanks again for the review, it's much appreciated. ~Carole~

Reviewer: jacibee07
Date: 10/04/11 22:20
Chapter: Chapter 1 Promises to keep

Excellent start to what promises to be an awesome fic! Lavender's decision at the end seems a bit sudden, but I'm loving the plot development.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. I think Lavender always wanted to do her part but was hampered by the promise to her dad. She needed to hear her mum's voice (albeit in her head) to truly make her mind up. Hope you enjoy the rest. ~Carole~

Reviewer: aurorahze
Date: 07/28/11 20:19
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Between the Woods and the Frozen Lake

I'm sorry that I'm not reviewing every chapter of this; it's a wonderful piece overall, one of the most compelling that I've read, and it totally deserves it. But this was probably my favorite chapter, so I decided to review this one.

As much as I love the relationship you've developed between Lavender and Blaise, my favorite moments of this chapter were the ones outside of their time together.
I absolutely adored the lines:
In the distance, she saw Blaise walking towards the castle ... but this was not about him or their relationship. This was Lavender, Neville and Dumbledore’s Army marching forwards.
They seem so realistic and heartfelt, and I appreciate the fact that Lavender, after she's just revealed that her happiness comes from forgetting everything when she's with Blaise, is able to have a moment when she remembers the war and everything that is going on, but sees that not everything is all bad. It makes sense that the students left at Hogwarts would live for these little reminders to keep hope, and everything, from Ginny making sure to get word back and including Luna and Dean, to Neville and Lavender's sheer moment of joy in the midst of everything that is going on, works perfectly in this scene.

I also think the relationship you've developed between Lavender and Neville in this chapter is particularly subtle and well done. The fact that Neville is initially skeptical and unwilling to trust Blaise makes sense in the circumstances; I'm sure the D.A. students would have trouble trusting anyone on the outside, let alone a Slytherin and Head Boy. But this scene is particularly telling in the way it defines their relationship:

“You don’t smile anymore, Neville,” she said, and she held out her hand to him as they began walking up the staircase to Gryffindor Tower.

“You don’t smile anymore, Neville,” she said, and she held out her hand to him as they began walking up the staircase to Gryffindor Tower.

“Do any of us?” Neville sighed. He glanced at her outstretched hand and then accepted it. “Are you telling me he makes you smile, Lavender?”

She thought of Blaise’s butterfly kisses upon her belly and her stomach muscles tautened. “He makes me forget for a while,” she replied.


You can really feel Neville's newfound maturity coming through, and I like that Lavender admits she is using Blaise as an escape--it's a particularly truthful thing to say, and one more instance that shows her courage in admitting her real feelings. Their conversation together shows a quite familiarity that seems appropriate after nearly seven years together, and I like that Neville's words show concern without censure. It seems very in-character for Neville that he's still a little confused and willing to admit it, but that at the same time he's willing to let Lavender be with Blaise, as long as it's for the right reasons. There's a subtle protective quality to his questions that's just so sweet, and I love that Lavender dispenses her own dating advice right back; it's true that she would have good advice to give, and Neville seems like someone who would need that extra push to make a move. All around a really touching and lovely scene between the two.

The end of this was really fun to read, particularly Snape's reaction and Seamus's last line--it seems so Seamus, and I love his pluck. Seeing the contrast between how the Slytherins deflect attention from themselves and subtly challenge the Carrow's authority, as compared to the Gryffindor's more reckless and outright rebellion, is interesting to consider and made me reevaluate the different ways to fight.

Thanks for writing such an intriguing and thought-provoking story, I really enjoyed reading it!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review. I have to admit, whilst I loved writing the seamy moments between Lavender and Blaise, I also liked building up the relationships between her fellow Gryffs. I wanted to show Neville changing because he really comes into his own in the Deathly Hallows and Seamus always makes me laugh. Sorry this is not an adequate response to your lovely review, but thank you again. ~Carole~

Reviewer: aurorahze
Date: 07/28/11 19:53
Chapter: Chapter 1 Promises to keep

I'd heard a lot of people reference this story and I'm really glad that I found it, your overall execution and characterization is flawless and you have a lovely way with description, particularly when setting the mood for a scene. I particularly loved this exchange:

“Lavender Brown’s got a detention?” Ginny said in disbelief. She was sitting in an old armchair in the Gryffindor common room attempting to correct a Charms essay. “What did she do? Not crawl convincingly enough to dearest Alecto?”

“Leave it, Ginny,” muttered Neville. “I told you before; we can’t start fighting amongst ourselves.”

It does a great job of showing the stress that everyone's under in the new regime and the way it's making friendships start to crack. Acknowledging the in-fighting and arguments even between friends that would realistically take place in so stressful a situation, when everyone's being asked to decide who to trust, makes Lavender's eventual decision to rejoin the D.A., and their willingness to accept her back again, all the more powerful and moving.

I haven't seen many stories about Blaise, but after reading this he seems like the perfect character to put in this situation. You weave your own original story in with the canon flawlessly--we know that Blaise has always been an outsider, and that Snape would be anxious to find a Head Boy who could help subtly protect the students without raising the Carrow's suspicions--it would seem that a "reluctant Slytherin" like Blaise would be the obvious choice, and I appreciate the fact that this story acknowledges that not everyone in the house has to be completely evil and consumed with pure-blood mania. Blaise's reasons for staying under the radar make sense due to the difficult position he's been placed in, and just like with Lavender's no-win situation you do a really nice job getting the reader to appreciate Blaise's predicament, and even view him from a different perspective with lines like:
“You’re a Gryffindor, Lavender, and you hate Slytherins,” Blaise replied starkly.

“That’s not true,” Lavender began, but then she stopped. It was true. It had always been true. In six years of school, she’d never thought Slytherins could be anything but bad. She sighed. “You may be right.”

The "outsider" view that Blaise can offer is interesting to read, like when he explains to Lavender how the Carrow's would view her run-in with Crabbe; I like that you've taken advantage of the fact that you're using a character who would have "insider" knowledge of how the enemy thinks to reveal a side of the situation that a Gryffindor wouldn't normally see.

As others have mentioned, I particularly liked your characterization of Ginny in this piece. I feel like some authors have a tendency to want to display the more major canon characters in the best possible light, but you neatly avoid falling into that trap here by showing an honest rather than perfect depiction of Ginny that seems appropriate to what we know of her character. I particularly like Lavender's line "Why should I change when you have such a high opinion of me?", because it reflects both the characters so well. Ginny's surrounded by family members who have all decided to fight, so I think she would be one to see the decision as more black and white, and have trouble empathizing with those caught in the middle. Lavender's position seems like the one that would be the more common among most students, however, so I'm really glad that you chose to tell the story of someone who is a bit more unsure of where their loyalty should lie. Combined with the inclusion of Lavender's promise to her father, the choice she has to make seems particularly realistic and difficult, and as a reader I really feel for her and the impossible predicament that she's been placed in.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the well thought out review - it really is appreciated. I've long been fascinated by what happened in that final year at Hogwarts without the Trio, there must be a lot of stories there. Lavender has always been a character who he's oft maligned simply because she was a bit gushy over a boy (and Ron wasn't exactly blameless) so I wanted to give her a bit more of a back story and show her growing up.

As far as Blaise goes, once I realised that he wasn't in the least impressed with Draco (HBP) and was also not mentioned as being in Umbridge's Inquisitorial squad, then I didn;t see why I shouldn;t have a bit of leeway with his character. I get annoyed when all Slytherins are portrayed as evil, plus JK did say that some Slyths returned to fight at the battle, so why shouldn't Blaise be a good guy. He's still selfish, but deep down he knows what's right.

Anyway, thanks again and I hope you enjoy the rest of the story ~Carole~

Reviewer: OtterMoone
Date: 07/15/11 4:38
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

Awwwh...... I really liked this story :) Now, I should really sleep...

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you read this all and enjoyed it. It's one of my favourites.

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 07/01/11 9:18
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Before I Sleep

Hi Carole! Okay, so you know I normally veer far, far away from Professors rated fics. But you mentioned in a review response once that you ship Lavender with Blaise, so I really wanted to read this.

I've fallen in love with rarepairs, and this is no exception. I'm glad you didn't make it completely fluffy-smutty. I mean it was smutty but it had a plot too, and a really interesting one at that. It was really romantic, with the backdrop of the war still there and imminent. Characterisation was spot on and even though in my Potterverse Blaise Zabini is very, very different, I still have fallen in love with your Blaise Zabini, LOL.

I read this pretty much in one go. Well, two goes, really -- three chapters yesterday and the rest today. I really enjoyed the story and hope you continue with this pairing because it's definitely your niche and I can see you worked hard on it and love the pairing loads. Well done!!!

~Soraya~

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Soraya. I can't write fluff that well, but I like pairings so that's why I write this way. I also wanted the theme of this story to be about forbidden things. Lavender and Blaise's relationship was passionate and daring and sexy and utterly reckless because of the times they were living in. I hoped to show that there was more to this that just sex, and I can see you appreciated that there was a story as well, so thank you so much for that. My version of Blaise, I hope, still fits with the canon we know from the books. He's aloof, not afraid of Malfoy and is ultimately rather selfish. He is also an enigma so I see lots of different versions of him that could equally fit. The only ones I don't like are where he's some kind of laughing gigolo. LOL.

Thanks again ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES