Reviews For I'll Pick You Up
Reviewer: Essence of Potter
Date: 09/05/10 10:02
Chapter: I Can Be Anything

Not your last chaptered fic! That's awful! This is probably been my favourite fic on MNFF and I think your wrighting is amazing. I've been reading this story from pretty much the stared and I'm terrible sorry I haven't reviewed in a while. My favourite parts, James and Lily's fight, not because it was a good thing but because it nearly had me crying. Grace was and amazing character, so complex and believable. The things people do for the ones they love.... I loved how you wrote James' birthday and I laughed so hard at the thing with all the food, it's the little things like that that make a character more real and show us the extent for Lily's love of him. All in all an amazing story though SIRIUSLY (pardon the pun I couldn't resist) sad at part. I hope you keep wrighting :) And I shall most definately keep reading!

Author's Response: Knowing myself, I probably won't be able to stop myself from starting another Lily/James epic, but if such is the case, I want to have written several chapters before I start posting, which means it would be a while before anything was up on mugglenet. I'm glad you enjoyed this so much! I always think that the little things are what endear us to characters in fiction, so I'm glad you appreciated that in this! Thanks for the lovely review :)

Reviewer: tc100292
Date: 09/01/10 0:57
Chapter: I'll Pick You Up

This is one of my favourite chapters:
a perfect combination of fluff, humour, romance, tension and drama. Very well done and really really exciting to read :)

This is one of my favourite multi-chapter fanfics, and one of the ones i freqently turn back to reread when I have nothing else.

Congratulations on a really great story!

When I compare this to Someone to watch over me, I think its really remarkable and evident how much your writing has improved!

Its sad to see this finish, but I got very excited when I read below that you were planning on starting another lily james! Personally, I think you write them in the war era (such as One Miracle and I couldnt climb alone) absolutely remarkably amaaaaazingly well, so i would love to see more of your first war era fics. You are my favourite author for that period, and that is my favouriite period!
But yeah, keep up the good work, I can't wait to see an epilogue!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you enjoyed this story and that the final chapters didn't disappoint! And I'm so happy you think my writing has improved -- I definitely like to think so ;) I even cringe a little when I go back and read my older work! Real life has been insanely busy for me lately, but the epilogue shouldn't be too far off. And as for a first war multi-chapter fic . . . I have been thinking about it!

Reviewer: weasleygirl2
Date: 08/25/10 10:01
Chapter: I'll Pick You Up

well i think peter pettigrew killed jilly, but i dont think they would figure it out if he did

Author's Response: I guess you'll have to keep reading and see :)

Reviewer: REMi iS AWESOME
Date: 08/07/10 18:19
Chapter: I Can Be Anything

I just nominated this story for best canon romance!! I hope you win! You're just absolutely one of the best writter here and it makes me so happy to read every single one of your stories! Best of luck! I'll be wearing my evil eye bracelet just for you to win!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so happy you like my writing and think it among the best -- that's such high praise and absolutely makes my day to read :)

Reviewer: Morsmordre62442
Date: 08/02/10 18:22
Chapter: But I'm Not Made of Steel

I must say, that when I started reading this fic, I was a bit sceptical. By chapter four, though, I couldn't STOP reading. Your kept everyone in character, and the plot was very well thought out. I especially liked how Peter wasn't a blundering idiot, but that he fit in with the Marauders.
There were a few spaced out grammatical errors, but nothing dreadful. And I think that at one point you said that the battle in Diagon Alley occurred in Hogsmeade. Like I said, simple little things that we fix automatically when we read them.
All in all, well done, and I look forward to the epilogue.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad it managed to hook you! One of my biggest pet peeves is when Marauder Era stories have Peter as a huge dorks that the others don't actually like; I really don't think they would have pretended to be friends with him and then trusted him with something so serious as their lives. I'm glad you liked how I portrayed him! As for the typos -- I'm sorry! I never manage to catch them all. If you remember any specifically, please point them out!

Reviewer: Little Miss Witch
Date: 07/30/10 5:04
Chapter: But I'm Not Made of Steel

Incredible :) I go away for two weeks, come back and BOOM.. It's finished. So, yeah, this is kinda my review for the last two chapters.
I love this story so much...
I think it was a really touching finish, i liked the fact that it was the Marauders and Lily left comforting each other, but I somehow wish Marlie was there too. And the whole Sirius/Regulus and Lily/Snape thing.. It had never occured to me that both Sirius and Lily loved a Death Eater.. Sad times. The brotherly love was really a kind of *tears in my eyes, sniff, sniff* moment!
Haha... Wrong time to laugh but when James said 'Voldemort, Voldemort, Voldy, Voldy, Voldemort!' I just had to! It reminded me of the Potter Puppet Pals.
Yes, having read the entire story again I did notice a few wee mistakes.. especially in the last two but we know how it is.. You're really excited to finish and all that jazz, so..mistakes are allowed! :P
And Grace.. poor Grace, you actually feel sorry for her.. It would be really interesting to see more of how she felt *cough-one-shot-cough-cough*!
Anyways.. Can't wait for the epilogue!
Little Miss Witch x :)
P.S. Sorry about any spelling mistakes in my review.. my computer screen has shrunk drastically and I DON'T KNOW WHY! :@

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you could enjoy coming back to two new chapters :) I'm sorry about those typos -- if you notice any, please point them out! I do feel sorry for Grace, but there will be more of her in the epilogue . . . And I'm glad you liked the parallel between Sirius/Regulus and Snape/Lily -- that was something that I started thinking about when I was first planning the story. As for the Voldy, Voldy, Voldemort: I've seen Potter Puppet Pals, too ;)

Reviewer: REMi iS AWESOME
Date: 07/29/10 17:46
Chapter: But I'm Not Made of Steel

I loved the last scene!! This whole story is marvalous, I love how you have your readers take a good look at your characters you make them so complex and they act not like characters but really like people too!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you like it and like all the characters. Trying to write the characters well was really my main goal when I wrote this :)

Reviewer: REMi iS AWESOME
Date: 07/29/10 16:53
Chapter: I'll Shut Them Up

Woah my lanta! I really adore all the complexity you have in this one chapter, i was litterally jumping up and down yelling at the computer screen. I'm sooo happy my computer is finnaly fixed! Reg is absolutely perfect, still so human in his feelings even though he's a bit diluted with evilness. Roiser's an absoulte nut job, but hes a great antagonist haha onward to the next chapter! Oh and oh my lanta is like my way of saying oh my god btw in case you were wondering

Author's Response: Thank you very much! This was such an exciting, fun chapter to write, so I'm glad you liked it and enjoyed all the complexity :) Rosier is a complete nut job, you're right -- he's certainly the sort of character you love to hate! And oh my lanta is what Uncle Jesse on Full House used to say, right?

Reviewer: Lalilulu
Date: 07/23/10 23:22
Chapter: But I'm Not Made of Steel

I LOVED this story! it's some really wonderful james and lilly with great marauders banter. Their entire romance is so perfect and the plot is exciting and intriguing. It's also very well written. So many fics are sloppily edited or have substandard writing, but this one is a fantastic read! thank you! can't wait for the epilogues

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked both the James and Lily romance as well as the Marauder banter -- I really love reading and writing about the Marauders, but I'm never sure I'll capture them very well. And I'm glad you think the story well written! A lot of fanfiction isn't, you're right, so it's good to know you think mine is :)

Reviewer: hedwig4evr
Date: 07/22/10 23:37
Chapter: But I'm Not Made of Steel

Wow. That's--wow. That last scene was intense. Made me cry, not going to lie. I can honestly say, the portkey to Voldy threw me off. Was totally not expecting that! Haha. This story is just incredible.
You are such an amazing writer! Keep it up!! Any new stories coming up? Can't waitfor the epilogue!

Author's Response: Thank you! I was hoping that last scene would bring on the tissues ;) I'm glad you liked the story so much! Hopefully the epilogue should be up soon! I'm sort of afraid to start another multi-chaptered fic, to be honest, but knowing myself, I probably will, so. . . .

Reviewer: hgprincess92
Date: 07/22/10 16:38
Chapter: But I'm Not Made of Steel

It's alright about not putting more of regulus and Snape. I agree this story was perfect leaving it James/ Lily. I'm sad it's over and I can't wait for the epilogues! I'm really glad you didn't cut it in half.The final scene made me want to cry, it was perfect. Sirius is my favorite character, for everything. You did him well in that scene.Another amazing story. Terrific Job! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you like how it stayed focused on Lily/James :) And the epilogues should be up soon! The final scene was definitely a tissue-worthy one, and I'm happy you thought I did Sirius well -- I'm always nervous I won't do him justice!

Reviewer: NinjaBuddy
Date: 07/22/10 12:56
Chapter: I Can Be Anything

Fantastic! I love all of your stories, but this one is definitely my favorite. The only thing that's not really right about it is James was a Seeker... wasn't he? Isn't that why he carried the snitch around? But, that doesn't really matter. I love it (:

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you like it! Actually, the first movie made a mistake when they said James Potter was a Seeker, which J.K. Rowling has mentioned in interviews. He was actually a chaser, she said, and only carried the snitch around to show off, not because he was a Seeker. You can find all the information on HP Lexicon :)

Reviewer: lily_death_flower
Date: 07/21/10 18:16
Chapter: But I'm Not Made of Steel

brilliant, amazing, fantastic and every other positive adjective. this was the perfect ending! obviously i knew they would escape i mean harry sstill had to be bron and all but as lily held the wand to herself i held my breathe  like she actually was going to kill herself.

i am a bit suprised though that while lily and james were gone the mauraders wouldn't have told dumbledore atleast some of what they knew. 

sirius' part in this chapter was what in my opinion made this chapter. his emotion was so real it made me bawl. 

and the end scene was my favourite scene of  the whole story. 



Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked the ending! Sirius was definitely the star of this chapter, I think -- and the last scene is one of my favourites from the whole story, too! In my opinion, I don't think, until they joined the Order, the Marauders had the same trust in/bond with Dumbledore that Harry had as before this year I don't think any of them went through near death encounters every year that ended with a nice Dumbledore chat. So, in my head, I don't think they would immediately go to him, at least not for a few hours.

Reviewer: AReader
Date: 07/21/10 13:35
Chapter: But I'm Not Made of Steel

Yay! It's finished! What song lyrics are the chapter names, if they are song lyrics?

Author's Response: Yes, they're song lyrics -- I thought I had said it in an A/N at some point, but now that I think about it, I guess I haven't! They're from the song "Made of Steel" by Our Lady Peace. It's an old favourite of mine :)

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 07/21/10 12:44
Chapter: But I'm Not Made of Steel

What to say. I've enjoyed this so much, and am relieved to learn there is still an epilogue coming, so that it doesn't have to end quite yet. I don't think I've ever felt so personally invested in a story that did not include R/Hr, but I have seriously been checking and checking for updates on this.

I admit I felt utterly conflicted when Sirius asked Lily to keep Regulus out of it. He's a murderer, of course, but you wrote this so beautifully I felt like I was right there in the room with them all each time it was discussed. And in the end, I'm glad she didn't say anything. She did understand, after all, because of Snape. And eventually, Regulus did come around, and it would be easy to imagine this whole thing as canon and say this bit of grace shown to him by Sirius and his friends played a role in turning him back. (Apologies for that exhausting sentence.)

James and Lily--I just love them. It took so much for them to come together, and I just loved every bit of it, every obstacle. I knew she had to be strong enough to throw off the curse, and with him crying just before that... ah! I loved it!

When they came out in the trees... you won't believe this, but I swear I knew it was going to be the Forest of Dean. It just HAD to be! What a great connection to Harry, that they, too, found refuge there, and it was chosen by Hermione for a similar reason. Lovely, lovely touch. And what an amazing scene there between James and Lily, easily my favorite of this entire story.

This is a great paragraph:

"James pulled off the cloak. Lily cried that night, too."

So simple--two short sentences. But it communicated so well that the moment after Jill's killer walked out of the room, it became a safe place again, a place to cry, a place to heal. Really nice.

Others have already gone on about the ending with Sirius... it broke my heart. It seems right that he just completely lost it. He's not a stone, and he couldn't have gone on that way, just holding it all in forever. And it makes perfect sense for it to come out as rage at first, for him to have to be nearly forced to actually let himself feel the weight of it... I felt a little choked up myself. Also, the tension you created between Lily and Sirius kind of niggled me... I wanted that to work out. I wanted Sirius to get over it. So even though you may or may not be advancing that in the epilogue, the resolution of it is foreshadowed here... and I imagine him really beginning to trust her after sharing this moment.

Whew! I'm chatty, huh? Love it, love it, love it. I will have a moment of silence when this fic is truly over. You are a wonderful writer.

Your fangirl,
Lori

Author's Response: Oh, thank you very much! I'm so glad that I could make you love a story as much as you do this even though it isn't about your OTP! It does seem wrong that the murder that really began the story goes unpunished, but I really think that Regulus had to have more motivations for turning and sacrificing his life then what Kreacher went through (although that's certainly something!) And of course it had to be the Forest of Dean! ;) As for Lily and James . . . the best part of epic Lily/James stories, imo, is looking at the first few chapters and then the last few chapters and seeing how they always come so far (or should, if the story's good!) I'm glad you liked them in this. And Sirius -- oh, Sirius -- I really love him, but I never feel comfortable writing him. I definitely think that the final scene sets up their future friendship. And, yes, please, be as chatty as you like :)

Reviewer: k4c
Date: 07/21/10 11:07
Chapter: But I'm Not Made of Steel

That was so dramatic and I loved it :).

You wrote the conflict between James, Lily and Voldemort well and it was convincing, not forced.

But I think your sections on Sirius were the best, his anger at his brother, but the fact he still protected him after what he had done was so Sirius. And that last paragraph where he wrecked the bathroom and it was Lily that calmed him, not one of the Marauders was so sweet. It also seemed symbolic of the fact Lily was now one of them, not just James' girlfriend.

Love it, now get that epilogue uploaded :P

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you thought the whole conflict with Voldemort was well done. Sirius kind of took the show in this chapter, you're write -- and oh, oh! I had wanted that final scene to represent that Lily was no longer simply James's girlfriend; in my head, this is the start of her friendship with Sirius outside of their respective relationships with James. I'm so happy you caught that :)

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 07/21/10 10:55
Chapter: But I'm Not Made of Steel

That was such a brilliant story. You should definitely think about writing crime with your own OCs. I'd totally read any books you write.

The fact that Sirius didn't want Lily and James to say anything about Regulus is quite touching, really. Even though Sirius despised his brother, he didn't want him to go to Azkaban or whatever, and it shows that sibling love is pretty deep. I should know, I've got two brothers and a sister and there's no way I'd just let my friends snitch on them if they do anything wrong. It's like an unspoken rule.

I also like how Sirius used Snape as an example. Even though Lily didn't love Snape like that, she still loved him, in a strange way. I think the characterisation of Lily in this story has been brilliant: the sarcasm, the bluntness, the effortless intelligence and the stubbornness is all very Lily - and very Harry. It was great that Lily comforted Sirius in the end, because of all people, I thought Sirius would have been the most mad at Lily, but he wasn't.

Just one thing, there are several typos in this chapter, for example:

"I'll you chaps later, then," James said quietly.

I don't mean to be picky, just that I noticed that there were more typos in this chapter than usual. I just wanted to let you know.

All in all, this is one of the best stories ever written on MNFF, seriously. I hope you write another chaptered James/Lily fic soon. I'm looking forward to the epilogue and what happened to Regulus and Snape as well!

~Soraya~

Author's Response: Thank you! One of my main goals (probably the main goal I had) when I started writing this was to write Lily and James well, to write them in-character and with more depth. So I'm so glad that you like how Lily was written -- and that you think her similar to Lily! In my head, Harry is so much Lily's son, even if he looks more like his father. And I completely agree about siblings -- I have two brothers and a sister as well, and I can't imagine anything could happen that would ever make me truly hate them, even if they did do something terrible. As for the typos -- *sigh* -- they'll be the death of me. Please point them out, and don't feel bad about it!

Reviewer: decdraft
Date: 07/21/10 8:56
Chapter: But I'm Not Made of Steel

Outstanding! Fabulous story, fabulous end. I love reading your work - it is just like reading Jo. Can't wait for he epilogue. And very glad you didn't chop this in two!

Author's Response: Thank you! That's very high praise :) The epilogue should hopefully be up soon.

Reviewer: pokie4389
Date: 07/21/10 7:03
Chapter: But I'm Not Made of Steel

Yay! What a great story! It was wonderfully written and so enjoyable to read! I loved how you wrote Lily and James and EVERYONE! Thank you! :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it! :)

Reviewer: herm_own_ninny13
Date: 07/21/10 2:51
Chapter: But I'm Not Made of Steel

Other Maggie.
Fuck. Oh god, I am crying. This was so raw. This was perfect. The bit at the end with Sirius- oh, my god. You continue to hold James up to my standards of perfection, but Sirius- Please, Maggie, you have talent. You have power. Your Sirius is Sirius. You could work magic writing more of him, no pun intended.
Thanks for the update; you don't know how frequently I refresh this page to see if you've updated. You're amazing.
-The other Maggie

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I spent so long thinking of writing that final scene that it's a relief to know it had it's intended effect! Sirius is such a great character and I'm glad you think I write him well -- I'm always nervous that I won't do him justice (but props from another Maggie is always good, as we Maggies are the best sort of people!)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Crofter and The Snake by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
During the perilous school year of 1997-1998, when Muggleborns are on the run...
Lily and Alice by Wenlock 3rd-5th Years
Alice defied the odds when she became the first woman Auror in the 20th century.Lily...
Time, Space, and Blunt Force Trauma by teh tarik 3rd-5th Years
On the very last day of his life, Sirius Black was bored. Bored, bored, bored.
FEATURED
My Troubled Tyrant by Belledeg Professors
Keedie Dante has experienced many amazing things during her time at Hogwarts...
His and Hers by Acacia Carter 3rd-5th Years
In a perfect world, Neville and Hannah's wedding would go off without a hitch...
All This Waiting For The Sky To Fall by Dawnie 1st-2nd Years
They found her body - broken, bleeding, face filled with signs of pain and fear...
Sanguini, the Vampire by teh tarik 6th-7th Years
Vampirism is the persistence and the perpetuity of the body, a madness of the...
Lost and Found by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
When Tracey Davis's financial security was a casualty of war, her family is...
CATEGORIES