Reviews For Twilit Confessions
Reviewer: PeppermintToads
Date: 08/16/12 2:49
Chapter: Streetlights

This was so cute! I love this just as much as I love the Harry/Ginny one. ^_^

Reviewer: GoldenPhoenix18
Date: 03/15/12 22:56
Chapter: Streetlights

I have to add this to my favourites! I just absolutely love this fic by the way, if you did not get the meening of 'I have to add this to my favourites!'.

Reviewer: Ginnypotter2699
Date: 12/18/11 17:04
Chapter: Streetlights

I came across this when I looked at Northumbrian's favorites . It's a nice story.

Reviewer: Shreeja
Date: 11/26/11 15:31
Chapter: Streetlights

This was beautiful. I think I liked this more than "Moments", perhaps because this was more mature. But that story was when Harry Ginny were in school, so the maturity levels were captured well by you.

Thank you for also showing me why Ron probably kissed Lavender. I always thought that just happened, and that he was a little too slow to realise his feelings for Hermione, but this puts an interesting perspective that I should have noticed in the books.

I loved it, and the song fit in so well.

Reviewer: hypotenuse
Date: 09/15/11 22:03
Chapter: Streetlights

It is a great story

Reviewer: natiselene
Date: 07/29/11 22:16
Chapter: Streetlights

So good. Ron and Hermione were right on. Thank you for sticking with the canon.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm a canon girl, what can I say? :) Thanks for the read/review! ~Amanda

Reviewer: HalfBloodPrincess217
Date: 07/26/11 2:14
Chapter: Streetlights

Listening to the song Streetlights (which I'm thinking of buying now), reading my new favorite fanfic at 3:30 in the morning. How much more awesome can it get!!! XD I LOVE IT!!! You are an amazing writter! =D Thank you for the awesome story!

Author's Response: *beams* Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed the story, and I'm really really glad you listened to the song, I think it compliments it so well. Love Ludo! Thanks for the read/review! ~Amanda

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 03/18/11 17:52
Chapter: Streetlights

Hello again,

Another fantastic story! I hadn't heard this song before, so I youtubed it and listened to it - the mood really fits the song.

I think you captured a fantastic moment here, and your characterisation of Ron was wonderful. I think it is important that he told Hermione all that at some point - I mean about Lavender and the Horcrux - and this was a great time to tell it.

I wasn't so sure about Hermione's response to Ron talking about Viktor - in a way, it seems IC for her to want to take Veritaserum to prove that she's telling the truth, but at the same time, I think she would be telling Ron that it was years ago and it's not relevant... so yeah, I just wasn't sure about that.

Also, when Ron asks Hermione out, she responds by apologising - I assume this is because she left it for a few minutes before she answered and Ron got nervous or something... but perhaps you could put another line in there about Ron going stiff or something? It just wasn't entirely clear.

Anyway, I hope you don't feel like this was a negative review - I actually think this is a fantastic story, there were just a few little things. Well done!! :)

~Katrina

Author's Response: Thank you for the read/review! The song is fabulous, and I'm just tickled pink you listened to it. You brought up two points several other people brought up, and I've explained them in response to other reviews (1- the Viktor Krum thing is Hermione misunderstanding what Ron is leading up to, but I still think I just wrote it badly and it seems like she's overreacting (and she might be...I need to re-read it), and 2- you are spot on in that Hermione apologizing is because she didn't answer right away, but I don't think the entire end scene is entirely in character anyway). I think I need to consider a re-write of a couple of things, so thank you for bringing them up! But- I am glad you enjoyed the story, and I am really glad you enjoyed the song, too! Thank you very very much for the read/review! It is much appreciated! So sorry for the late reply, by the way! ~Amanda

Reviewer: fredweasley7
Date: 02/25/11 15:36
Chapter: Streetlights

this is one of my all-time favorite stories!!! i especially love how ron counts the kisses... so cute. great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I always thought Ron might be a softy. :) Appreciate the read and review! ~Amanda

Reviewer: hebridean black
Date: 01/01/11 6:28
Chapter: Streetlights

I have to say, I read this story a while ago, and I've also known of Ludo for about 3 years, though I didn't listen to them avidly until the last year. However it was only just a minute ago that I put both of these things together!! I would agree that everyone needs to take a listen to Ludo.

Author's Response: When I first heard "Streetlights", I couldn't get the image of Ron and Hermione's first "I Love You" at the end of a driveway...the "curbside confessions, no longer afraid of what you'll say..." wouldn't leave me alone, and it seemed perfect for them. And the song is sweet and beautiful, too. :) ~Amanda

Reviewer: hebridean black
Date: 07/18/10 22:56
Chapter: Streetlights

ohmygosh! i love this song, and i had read the fic before i had really listened to this song, but i never made the connection until now! love it (:

Author's Response: I can no longer separate this song from this little moment I've created. I adore this song and I feel (in my deluded HP world) as if Ludo wrote this song just for Ron. :) Thanks for the read and review!

Reviewer: sooinlovewithneville
Date: 05/20/10 21:00
Chapter: Streetlights

fantasic! thanks for the great read!, only dont use will u be my girl, toooo corny ;)

Author's Response: Thanks for the read and review! I left quite a long response to Jen below for the "be my girl" thing, if you are interested...

Reviewer: decdraft
Date: 03/09/10 22:06
Chapter: Streetlights

Good job! Great story, great characterizations.

Author's Response: Thank you! :) Thanks for the read and review! ~Amanda

Reviewer: jenny b
Date: 02/11/10 22:50
Chapter: Streetlights

This was a great fic. I loved the setting and how you’ve put this perfect, peaceful moment in between the craziness of their lives after the final battle. I thought Hermione was especially well-characterised in the beginning; she worries far too much about everything but at the same time seems so in control of her life and what’s happening. Ron, too, was very IC – I loved how he was still Ron, but you developed him past what we see in the books. In your fic he seems much more mature and has that kind of heavy weight on him that is inevitable after Fred’s death and everything else he would have had to deal with in the aftermath of the final battle.

I didn’t know the song you used, but I looked it up on Youtube so I could get the full effect of it in the fic. It’s quite a pretty song, and I thought the mood of it fit the fic extremely well – so peaceful and gentle. However, the lyrics didn’t really jump out at me at where you’d placed them in the fic. Songfics are a tricky thing to get right sometimes, and the quotes you used and where you placed them just seemed to jut out and didn’t help with the flow of an otherwise gorgeous fic. Whilst it fit with your setting, it seemed rather like you tried to make the fic fit with the lyrics instead of the song just fitting with your story. I think that with songfics, the lyrics need to add extra meaning to the situation rather than just describing it. The lyrics at the end, though, I thought worked really well, especially the last line.

It was a nice touch to bring up Krum and Lavender, because I can imagine Ron still having all that pent-up jealousy about Hermione kissing Krum. ;) But Hermione being so aghast at the fact that Ron knew they had kissed seem a bit odd, especially when she gets angry at him about Lavender not moments later. I can’t see Hermione being upset about kissing Viktor – I would think she would have been more annoyed at Ron for thinking it was still important. But the paragraph following where she tells him off for using Lavender was very IC. Trust Ron to think of it like a competition, bahaha.

"You don't have to tell me," she said. "Not now, not ever, if you don't want to."

This line was just so perfect. It even made me go all mushy inside, like the romantic I am. ;) In so few words, it just shows the amount of trust and love Hermione has for him, and that she can understand there are things that she doesn’t need to know, and she won’t make Ron tell her. In fact, the whole sequence following that line was just so heartbreakingly beautiful. They’ve always loved each other, and they both knew it, and it just all came together perfectly in that part there. Especially the line about Hermione crying every night.

Before I forget, the little thing about Ron counting their kisses is just so cute. It’s such a Ron thing to do, and besides it being totally IC for him, it really helps to bring out just how much he cares for Hermione. We never really saw that in the books because it wasn’t from Ron’s POV, but I can just see him having taken notice of little things like that for the entire time he’d liked Hermione. The way you kept repeating it in this fic just made his love for her seem so more real.

Near the end, where their kisses started being a bit more … sexier? ;) It kind of broke the lovely spell you had woven over the story. I think it would have been nice if you had just left it as it was, with beautiful and tender kisses rather than the ones pressed up against the door. You wrote it really well, it’s just that it seemed to go from sweet to sexy too abruptly for my liking, and perhaps if you did the transition more gradually or left it how it was it wouldn’t have interrupted the flow of the fic as much.

One other thing that seriously bugged me was Ron asking Hermione to be his “girl”. The use of that word just made me cringe. I’m not British, so perhaps it’s a Briticism that I’ve never come across, but it just seemed so out of place for the setting and for Ron to say. Where I come from, calling someone your “girl” just seems to be a bit disrespectful, and I can’t see Hermione standing for that, let alone being overjoyed at it. Perhaps it’s just my personal aversion to the word, but seeing it there really made me stop and cringe and ruined the moment slightly. In my opinion, it would have kept its sweet and romantic appeal if Ron had said “girlfriend”, or “go out with me”, or whatever it is Brits say when asking someone to date them. Also, I don’t really understand why Hermione apologises after he asks that. Is it because she didn’t answer straight away? It seemed a bit odd to me, is all.

All in all, I thought this fic was absolutely lovely, though. You really captured a beautiful moment between Ron and Hermione, and it fits in really well with what I’d imagine would happen after the final battle and everything that came with it. Thank you for the gorgeous read, dear!

--Jennifer

Author's Response:

I got this review very late one night as I was sitting up working, and it totally energized me, make me squee, and just was the most amazing thing ever. I posted a special LJ post to tell everyone how happy you made me. I’m so glad you brought up some of the things you brought up! I will warn you, the phrase “if that makes sense” comes up a lot…having a distinct image of characters and situations in your head is one thing, and explaining why you did or didn’t do something is another. I’m not so good at the explaining part, but I have to admit, I am super excited to try, because I love talking about this fic, and R/Hr:

I have such vivid characterizations about Ron and Hermione – more so Ron, especially during and after DH. I’m very pleased everyone seems to think he’s IC in this story, as that was a big reason I wanted to write it. I’ve read too many stories where he’s Ron from PoA.

This story is built so much around that song, and it pleased me to no end you said you looked it up. I heard it over a year and a half ago, and was virtually assaulted with that image of Ron, sitting on the curb, turning to see Hermione watching him from the window, she comes down, and they talk about everything, ending in a kiss… Curbside confessions, no longer afraid of what you’ll say… Every time I heard that song, the desire to actually write this little story just grew and grew, and then I joined the boards, and got the courage to do it, and get their conversation out. I feel like that song was meant for Ron, and about this moment in his life for Hermione. That being said…I struggled so much with fitting the song lyrics in. I think there are obvious points where places in the story fit with the song (or, obvious to me, as I’m very familiar with the song), but it kind of jumps around a bit in the song… a line here, a line there…and I’m still not entirely happy with any of the placings of the lyrics, except for the part right before Ron tells her about the Horcrux. Overall, this story means so much to me personally with the song that the two will forever be associated – I can’t read/hear one with thinking about the other - but maybe sometime in the future, I’ll edit the lyrics out, and have a note about it being inspired by it. Because it was a huge huge huge inspiration for so much of it, and I feel like listening to the song adds a great deal to it.

The Viktor/Lavender thing (for these two are related). The flow of the conversation was to be this: Ron brings up Hermione kissing Viktor, and she jumps to the conclusion that that is why he’s been so uptight all this time about exchanging letters. Thus, the shock. I don’t think she ever expected him to find out, and the way he says it, after he says he’s been so afraid “for so long” – I think she would have jumped to the conclusion that he’s known for much longer than halfway through their sixth year. I don’t know of a way to make that clearer, because I honestly believe that’s the way she would have reacted, if she thought that, which I do think she would have thought…and now I’m started to get convoluted. >.< And, even now thinking about it, maybe her gasping may have been a bit too much, but some sort of realization of all those years of jealousy and the fact that she thought he had kept it secret for so long…But that was the thought process behind her reaction, if that makes sense. So…if it does…I wanted Ron to be honest in spelling out what happened with Lavender, and he needed to tell her about knowing she kissed Viktor. I think if he ever said to her “I believe you aren’t interested in Viktor. I’m okay with it.” She would have a moment of speechlessness for a minute, especially after finding out he knew about their kiss, no matter how small, so she is a bit stunned and Ron jumps in to continue. Ron has a bit of a streak of jealousy throughout the books, even towards Harry throughout some of DH. And as much as I think Ron has matured, I think he was very relieved not to have to spell out too much about Lavender. Just leading Hermione there was enough, lol. And I like that he trusted her to figure out what he was talking about. I really don’t think that Hermione would hate Lavender at all, especially if she found out what happened. She was just a girl, who had a crush on a boy, who seemed quite enthusiastic about her in return. And I’m going to stop talking about all of this now, because I wasn’t kidding when I said I could talk about it for ages….

I have no idea where the counting kisses thing came from, but everyone seems to really like it, lol. I know I do. Ron’s too cute. I really think he’s been fairly sweet, no matter how he treated Lavender.

About the kiss at the end…the sexier part, lol: I personally thought it would go either two ways, realistically, stepping back from a story/writing angle: it would be a bit awkward for a while still, or it would end the way I have it. They have liked each other for Merlin knows how long, and been in love for quite some time, and they are eighteen years old, been on the run alone for a long time. I honestly think there’s quite a bit of pent up tension going on, though I don’t think they’ll be shagging each other silly anytime soon either. I just think that once they get comfortable, they’ll…catch up a bit, lol. And while I really love romance fics, I don’t really love pure fluff, and I try to keep things as realistic as possible. I see a scene play out in my head, and I write it. I saw this scene playing out…Ron wanting to simultaneously tell her things he’d been too afraid to but kiss her silly at the same time. And I have this vision of Hermione that I could write pages of…a little bit of that showed through at the end. I think there are aspects to Hermione’s personality that only Ron will get to see, and I’m basing that partly on how passionate she gets about the things she cares about, and partly on myself, as I can relate to Hermione and being somewhat of a reserved individual in public when it comes to maintaining your image…if that makes sense.

At the same time…stylistically…I can see your point, if it was jarring to read and go…”Hmm, things just shifted here, and it doesn’t fit.” Because no matter how I might “see things going” for these fictional characters, I’m still writing a story and I want to keep a certain mood, etc. I think my main point was that I wanted to show a shift in their relationship…I do believe that they were either always moving moving moving…or things were awkward, as Ron references. After this talk they finally have, and their kiss at the curb, things shift, and they are starting to relax around one another, and banter like they used to, only it has a different flavor to it because they aren’t hiding anymore. But…perhaps that could be for another fic. I still like that part, but I understand what you mean about the mood shift of the story.

About the “be my girl”: For me, the term isn’t disrespectful and isn’t meant to be, it’s just old-fashioned. For some reason, I’ve always felt Ron to be old-fashioned about some things, such as calling Hermione a “scarlet woman” in GOF, and I think some aspects of the wizarding world are a bit out of date. It truly just came out that way when I was writing. I honestly think Hermione would have been giggling insider her head (just as she did at the “scarlet woman” comment), and maybe going “oh, please”, but recognizing the sincerity of it all the same. Actually, I think if I were to rewrite this, I would have her giggling out loud and making fun of him a bit for it, but for some reason, I really think that’s the phrase he would use, and I have no real reason for thinking that, lol. I don’t think many other characters would use it, though, and I do agree. As for the apology: after she doesn’t answer him – and re-reading it, I didn’t describe what I was picturing accurately at all – he is sort of stiff in place, staring at her intently, expectantly, and she realizes that he is waiting on an answer. It’s sort of important to him – he’s built up the courage for quite some time, even though he knows her answer, silly boy – and she doesn’t want to make him nervous. Even though, again, she’s probably giggling at him.

I hope my answers helped a bit…Your review was wonderful and lovely and you sincerely and utterly and truly made my day. I know that the SPEW is working on recruiting, and I’ve debated several times about joining because of THIS FEELING right here. The purpose of SPEW is fantastic, and it really and truly does bring joy, feedback, encouragement, help, squeeing, and improvement to writers. And reviewing those out of SPEW like myself is only making me bite my nails more and continue to waiver on the fence, because I know there are others like me out there who enjoy bestowing joy on others. I'm very glad you enjoyed the story. Thank you thank you thank you!

~Amanda

Reviewer: Beebbop
Date: 11/11/09 11:43
Chapter: Streetlights

This was great, enjoyed reading every minute of it!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! I appreciate the read and the review very much, thank you. ~Amanda

Reviewer: Beebbop
Date: 11/11/09 11:43
Chapter: Streetlights

This was great, enjoyed reading every minute of it!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you very much! I'm really glad you enjoyed it, and I very very much appreciate the review! ~Amanda

Reviewer: hpmommie97
Date: 09/25/09 12:34
Chapter: Streetlights

OMG!!!!!!! This is one of the best I've read so far!!!!!!!!! I really can't wait for more!!!!!!! Do you think you can message me when you have done more? My email is hpmommie97@yahoo.com
I loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response:

*Blushes* Why, thank you so much for your supremely kind words!

If you add me to your favorites, I'll pop up when I've added more. I will be honest about the fact that I will most likely forget to send you a message - did you see how long it took me to respond to a very flattering review? *blushes again, for a very different reason*

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 09/11/09 20:12
Chapter: Streetlights

Really nice read. I agree with the previous reviewer... Ron is more serious and mature in DH, really from Dumbledore's death on... and you wrote that very well. I'll look for more of your stuff. Happy writing.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much for your kind words. And thank you very very much for your read and for taking the time to review. ;) And I'm glad we agree about Ron.

Reviewer: Northumbrian
Date: 09/06/09 7:30
Chapter: Streetlights

Amanda

I arrived at this story from your review of my fic and I’m glad that I did. This is a really nice piece of work. Both touching and amusing. Well done! I’m now going to read your other stuff. (You may be interested in my take on Ron and Hermione’s wedding btw).

Ireally like this story, so I’m sorry to make this one niggle. Fireflys, cicadas? I’ve never seen any fireflies in the UK and the only chirruping insect are, so far as I know, grasshoppers. I’m no beta-reader, but, if you want any future stories brit-picking, I’d be happy to oblige.

N

Author's Response:

It tickles me pink that you came to read my story! And please, niggle away. I actually researched the firefly thing, because I really wanted them in there for some reason, lol, and the map I found of their territories included the whole of the UK. Xp. Oh, well. And you can probably guess about the cicadas, as it features so beautifully in the song. *Sigh* It's one of my favorite parts of the song, I couldn't resist. I assumed that one, that's my bad. My beta-reader was actually a Brit-picker; you would have run away screaming if you would have seen the original. :)

Thank you so much for the read and the review, and I will definitely be taking a look at the rest of your stories as well! Thank you!

~Amanda

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 09/01/09 3:27
Chapter: Streetlights

Hello Amanada!

Here to do my Puff duty - although it isn't a duty - it's an absolute joy. Okay, I don't read a lot of Ron/Hermione because too often he's portrayed as some stupid buffoon and people forget that in DH he really started to mature when Harry was becoming all flakey. So, I love that in your fic he is mature, warm and not at all idiotic.

I adore the Lavender references and I'm pleased you've shied away from making Lavender out to be a total mush head. (I'm protective of Lavender at the moment).

The fact that he could count how many kisses they'de had is really sweet and sad. It shows that not everything fell into place straight away.

Your fic, my love, shows a great deal of talent. I adore your style and you write romance well without becoming cheesy or at all fluffy. It is honest.

Lovely story. ~Carole~

Author's Response:

Oh, it seems that our view on post-Hogwarts Ron is quite similar. And Lavender, oddly enough, though we've never discussed it. I didn't even plan on writing that part about her, it just happened. Hermione kind of took over.

Thank you so so much for the read, and thank you even more for taking the time to leave wonderful words of encouragement. It means the world.

~Amanda

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Research and Development by Northumbrian 3rd-5th Years
The Mirrorphone, the latest advance in Wizarding communications. Now, of course...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES