Reviews For When Worlds Die
Reviewer: nowriterjustareader
Date: 06/15/11 2:45
Chapter: Chapter 1

I loved it. When George was wishing he was dead I cried and its so great he starts joking again too.

Author's Response: Thanks! And I had to end on a hopeful note, of course :)

Reviewer: jguidobono
Date: 04/15/11 12:23
Chapter: Chapter 1

Very touching, very emotional. Poor George; it was great to see how everyone reached out to him, tho. Great job.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you liked it! Poor George indeed, though :(

Reviewer: AngelEJC
Date: 02/18/11 0:31
Chapter: Chapter 1

Why in the name of Gladys mother of Merlin aren't there more fics like this one?!?! *turns and brandishes wand to crowd of mugglenet authors* You should be ashamed of yorselves for not emulating this fine author's example!

Please keep the fics coming!

AngelEJC

Author's Response: Haha, thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it :)

Reviewer: Fred_Rocks29
Date: 01/09/11 13:37
Chapter: Chapter 1

I LOVE THIS FIC!!!! It made me cry in some parts and laugh in others - thanks for making my life a bit better. I always love it when I read a good fic! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This review makes my life a little bit better :)

Reviewer: m2m
Date: 08/02/10 16:38
Chapter: Chapter 1

wow! i don't cry but this almost did it. i'm a twin so when i read a lot of post battle george fics they don't seem to get the twin dynamic right but this totally did!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad I could capture the twin dynamic, esp. as I'm not one myself! :)

Reviewer: Liandrin
Date: 07/29/10 15:16
Chapter: Chapter 1

Dammit. It's been a long time since a fic made me cry. You manage it so effortlessly, without really meaning to. *sighs * I really don't know what to say. You don't burden the story with a bunch of flowery prose or melodrama. You're straight, to the point--cutting to the quick. The feeling is like a knife plunging through the heart: painful, abrupt, searing, hot.

You wove a wonderful, real story through an often-used device: the five stages of grief. Each stage provoked an emotional response in me, and I felt myself going through these stages with George. What really hit me, out of all the stages, was bargaining: He'd never really thought much about God one way or another. "But if you can bring him back," George whispered, "I'll believe in you."

The emotion is so palpable and relatable, for all of us. This was the part where tears came to my eyes because we have all been there, at some point, in some small way.

You use of anger was so violent, like a maelstrom of emotions, and what George said to Percy is what some of us may have thought ("It should have been you."), but when actually seen, when actually heard, it's so raw and harsh and wrong. This is something he can't ever take back--even though it is said in anger and grief--there is a truth to it that tears down walls of feelings repressed, of resentments unsung. How do you come back from that? And what he said to Harry…Ugh.

In depression, I really appreciated Harry's talk with George, relating to him and having George actually listen. Harry was right though: we all need time. And, George's admittance that he's never been George, always Fred and George, always a twin, really made me feel sorry for him on so many levels. He lost a piece of himself.

The one thing that I didn't like in acceptance was how George's apology to Percy seemed forced and there was no real resolution. I know that it would take time for them to repair their relationship, but I felt that this should have at least been mentioned. Maybe it's because I have a soft spot for the redemption of Percy, like I had for the redemption of Snape. ^_^ (Additional nitpick: you had a lot of 'its'--meant as contraction--without the apostrophe, such as George's “Its hard”.)

All in all, this was an excellent fic, and you did an amazing job taking me, the reader, along for the ride on George's journey of dealing with his grief. Thank you.

~Lia

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This is such an amazing, detailed review :) I was really nervous about this piece -- it was the first non-romance-focused story I'd ever written, or one that featured a Weasley other than Ron. I'm glad you liked it and it could actually evoke some emotions in you! You're right about the "its" -- there were a lot of them, but I've gone back just now and fixed them all! As for Percy -- I feel like a lot of this story was hard to write because I was trying to fit so much into so little; it would have been, you're right, if there had been more of a redemption for Percy. Thanks again! :)

Reviewer: balla
Date: 07/27/10 19:33
Chapter: Chapter 1

this was great. you're an amazing writer. i honestly feel that J.K. Rowling would write something like this. please keep writing i enjoy reading your works immensly. :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much! That's such high praise :) I'm glad you liked it.

Reviewer: Evora
Date: 04/16/10 22:01
Chapter: Chapter 1

I almost CRIED reading this. Almost. And I assure you, I NEVER cry when I read sad and depressing stories or even watching a real story movie. NEVER. I don't how to explain it, cause I'm not really good with words, but how you narrate-- how you tell the story, it makes the pain real. I noticed that you didn't dwell much on how George feels, but rather what you see in someone on the outside after someone they dearly loved died. They were empty, for a while.

But you had me laughing at the end. And there's no better ending than what you just gave: hope. Thank you for that beautiful story! You are, by far, my favorite fan fiction author for Harry Potter. Even if I'm not the type who loves to read grief, it takes a whole lot of talent to express it in writing. So, thank you again!

-Dinny.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad you enjoyed it so much! I'm the sort of person that sobs at everything remotely touching, but I still hope to inspire feeling in those who aren't quite so emotional as me -- it's good to know I largely succeeded with this! And I'm especially glad you liked the way the emptiness was portrayed and then the happy ending of hope :)

Reviewer: reading_is_my_life
Date: 04/13/10 5:49
Chapter: Chapter 1

I liked this story a lot. It is one of the more realistic versions of what george would have gone through. Very moving.

Author's Response: Thanks! I know this has been done many times before, so I consider it high praise that you thought it was one of the more realistic :)

Reviewer: IckleRonnieX
Date: 09/23/09 19:24
Chapter: Chapter 1

This, my friend, is pure gold.
You are such an amazing writter! You capture everyone's emotions so beautifully, amazingly, perfectly... I'm so jealous of you, I really do wish I could write as well as you, or just to pose my characters the way you do. You are amazing, you've got me on tears.
-Ronnie

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked it :)

Reviewer: HiddenVixen
Date: 08/31/09 14:53
Chapter: Chapter 1

Extremely well written~excellent job!

I am an identical twin myself, so I took Fred's death particularly hard, only imagining the depth of the grief George would feel. You brought me to tears.

Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad you liked it :)

Reviewer: junior_achievement
Date: 08/26/09 22:00
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wonderful! I've always imagined what life was like for George after the final battle, and I think you got it just right. This made me cry & laugh all at the same time, and I loved it!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you didn't just cry, but laugh, too!

Reviewer: xxBigGreenEyesxx
Date: 08/26/09 7:16
Chapter: Chapter 1

This. Is. Awesome.
So, so sad! You just brought up all my feelings when I first read Fred died!
Seriously, it's how I've always pictured George's reaction to be. You really captured his grief perfectly.
It made me cry when he was yelling at Percy. Real tears, man, real tears.
Thank you for publishing this =]

Rachel xx
P.S. this also has made me a George/Angelina shipper. I never really agreed with it before (because of her past with Fred and everything) but after reading your fic, I'm starting to warm up to them.
Little sweeties =]
thanks again!

Author's Response: Thank you! This story was a bit more emotional than anything else I've written, and I'm glad it worked well and actually evoked some emotions in a reader :) I wasn't a big George/Angelina at first, but I'm warming up to them, too.

Reviewer: Trucker
Date: 08/25/09 22:28
Chapter: Chapter 1

The "official" stages don't matter; what matters is you told an amazing story that tugged at the heart of this old truck driver. Congrats!

Now for some serious criticism:

Really, it was a great story with no weaknesses I could see, and I'm very picky! I've lost most of my relatives, some far too young, and I went through similar stages, insulted people, shut myself off from them, and finally learned to live again. And to risk love again.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad you think the "official" stages irrelevant, as I do and you enjoyed this and thought it realistic. Pulling on heartstrings is always something I strive for in my writing :)

Reviewer: JustLikeHermione77
Date: 08/25/09 15:36
Chapter: Chapter 1

this was such a sweet story! and very realistic, as far as i'm concerned :]

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you thought so!

Reviewer: ron lover
Date: 08/25/09 14:45
Chapter: Chapter 1

This is the wrong story to read before the first day of school. You had me crying for George. I really love this story. I really love your George. He is really great. I also like the fights between Harry, Ginny and George. I just love this story.

Author's Response: Thanks! I've never really written much of George, so it good to know you think I did it well! I'm glad you liked the story, even if it had you crying ;)

Reviewer: lily_death_flower
Date: 08/25/09 10:25
Chapter: Chapter 1

U can write any kind of story whether they’re fluffy romances or dark and angsty like this one.

 

The emotion u put into ur writing is amazing. I feel for the character though they’re only fictional. You had me crying like i had lost a brother.

 

My favourite part was when George was yelling at percy and harry you showed his anger so good.

And the ending was cute and a nice way to end it i especially loved the flower idea. :)



Author's Response: Thanks -- that's high praise! I cried a bit while writing, too, to be honest. The anger scene was actually one of my favorites to write; it was the first one I envisioned when I started thinking about the story. I'm glad you liked it!

Reviewer: Passion For Prongs
Date: 08/25/09 10:04
Chapter: Chapter 1

You write with really amazing emotion, and I'm always sucked in. It's crazy. I'm thinking this is my new favorite by you, simply because of the raw emotion that you've managed to embody in it. The part where Geroge begged God to give Fred back had me crying for the fictional characters :)

By the way, I'm so sorry about whoever is posting your work and plagarizing you. They're jerks.

~Passion For Prongs

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I was getting so into this when I was writing I actually teared up a little, too! I'm glad you liked it and enjoyed all the emotion. And thanks -- it kills me that someone would plagiarize, but its good to know most people aren't so terrible. :)

Reviewer: Arial Felchem
Date: 08/25/09 9:44
Chapter: Chapter 1

Great story! You were really true to the characters and it seems like this is the way it really could have happened. I really REALLY enjoyed reading this story!

Reviewer: Arial Felchem
Date: 08/25/09 9:44
Chapter: Chapter 1

Great story! You were really true to the characters and it seems like this is the way it really could have happened. I really REALLY enjoyed reading this story!

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad you liked it :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES