Reviewer: Misshogwarts1125
Date: 08/26/13 14:26
Chapter: Chapter 1

absolutely work it. I'd love to see it for at least Ginny.

Reviewer: Misshogwarts1125
Date: 08/26/13 14:25
Chapter: Chapter 1

absolutely work it. I'd love to see it for at least Ginny.

Reviewer: CrookshanksLovesHedwig
Date: 07/24/12 23:54
Chapter: Chapter 1

Yes very worth it. I loved the Ron one as well as this one but for this one a raise in the rating may inspire a bit more caution. Also red hair would look TERRIBLE with purple streaks.
Your stories rule and I love them but could benefit from a proofreader.

Reviewer: Invisibility Cloak
Date: 09/16/11 16:02
Chapter: Chapter 1

Hi there! Thanks for posting such a wonderful study, MagEd! Although.... hm... I'm not really sure that merely “study” describes your little masterpiece. In my opinion, though each and every character was very well presented and you gave an accurate summary of everyone using only a few paragraphs chock-full of details (which does merit this as a perfect study), you also included relevance and plots, voices and settings (loved Arthur's!), something which is necessary to transform a profile into..... a wonderful tale like this one!!! This is rather difficult to manage sometimes (it's easy get stuck just stringing various trivia together), but you did it with flying colors! What I DID end up enjoying most most, however, were the characters, so I hope you don't mind if I give you most of the (lengthy ;) ) opinions I gathered of them in your work, skipping a bit over the other details:

Hermione's Dad was obviously needed to start the tale. It was a very good start. We saw a bit more of Hermione as the exceptional child we already knew she was. We also saw some very precious Granger family moments, which were practically nonexistent in the the books. The line: Andrew stared at his only daughter, a grown woman now, with her hair neatly clipped up and her eyes bright and an air of confidence in herself and her mind and her magical powers subtly clinging to her posture did a very important thing: it allowed the reader to, in their mind, analyze and catalogue what they knew about the journey from bushy-haired firstie to Hermione Weasley.

I think Victor's piece was the second best-written one: I was left with the impression that everything came back to Hermione, but it was not all about her. We learn Hermione giggles in an infectuos manner, Hermione is interesting to many types of people, Hermione....... but you showed very well how Hermione proved important to Victor and how he turned out. I also think developing Victor as well as you did is an example of how throughout this piece you subtly managed to paint Hermione, paint other characters and let us paint our own thoughts all at once.

Neville- It was a nice touch to include how he realized about Ron/Hermione before everyone else did. And I think you had a very nice thought with how he finds that: Hermione wasn't the only nice girl out there. You also touched upon a very important bit of information: for a girl who spent some parts of her first year at Hogwarts friendless, She had a way of reading people, Hermione did, and knowing what they needed most in a friend. He thought that was a pretty rare quality - a quality which I think throughout the books is a sign of her growing maturity. Great idea to include it!

Harry's piece, especially his sentence about how he'd been raised by a bushy-haired, buck-toothed girl was very sweet- their fraternal relationship really shows.


This was the nicest part for me. I must say, though maybe these characters aren't too relevant, that you certainly gave Ginny the persona I always expected her to have, the caring-but-relaxed-mother-who-gives-her-child-leeway-except-when-they-mess-really-badly air; I can understand why Hugo sometimes envies his cousins (except when Aunt Ginny is really, really scary) and I think it's appropriate how, though Albus is closer to Hugo's age, James is the one who gets in trouble with him (btw, I loved the cookies bit!). And Harry as the slightly indulgent father- I guess that would be an effect of his being an orphan.
My favorite parts were how Hermione ran true to form spending so much quality time with her kid (I can imagine her going through mountain after mountain of parenting books, though I bet she's a bit of a natural as a mom), the muggle computer and how she let Hugo paint his room (strict mom doesn't necessarily mean stifling mom), and how she first tried to deal with the angry mother at the hospital calmly.

And finally Ron's piece: very pretty. Their growing, unending love was really well declared- it didn't matter that in their childhood relationship they had gone through many downs; they were partners through most of it, and I love how you reinforced that with Neither one had known what they were doing, but they had been doing it together, and that was all that had mattered. Ron is also another very good example of how Hermione helped many people around her grow.

I think you covered everyone important, although I would have included Hagrid. I think they were very important to each other, that Hagrid was very fond of Hermione, and that they helped one another through rough times.... but maybe that can be a subject for another story! ;)

All that said, I especially liked:
1) That you included tons and tons of details about Hermione which also helped the shaping of the other characters- for example, why different people listened to her: Neville because he knew SPEW was important to her, Harry because she was his friend, and Arthur out of hearty interest.
2) That you made how Hermione and Ron are a great couple very obvious
3) That the caring aspect of Hermione's character was the most prominent
4) That you did all this with solid examples told in each character's POV with good, solid experiences and examples, rather than just plainly stated as their thoughts about her, therefore letting the reader discover many things on his own. Awesome!

One of my favorite aspects of the HP books was the amazingly developed characters, which may explain why I so loved your building upon and adding to them, but a wonderful achievement with this piece is that you managed to develop these descriptions into a story (I think I'm repeating myself, but I can't help it, you really nailed that part!).

Lastly, one thing that really surprised me was how, according to Ron, Hermione had a special interest in Luna Lovegood- nice though our Hermione may be, I never really thought this particular pair got on very well. Oh well! Maybe with maturity they did improve their interactions. Once again, thank you, great job, and please keep that quill writing!!!

Reviewer: Solar knight
Date: 08/17/11 3:03
Chapter: Chapter 1

very worth it indeed. Like a in-depth analysis of each major Harry Potter character, in a very interesting way. I chose to read this title first because I love Hermione, might as well be the eigth :)

Reviewer: MadEyeMaddy
Date: 07/31/11 23:58
Chapter: Chapter 1

Also, where did the idea of Hermione going blind come from?

Author's Response: You know, after all this time, I don't remember! I'm sorry! :/

Reviewer: MadEyeMaddy
Date: 07/31/11 23:57
Chapter: Chapter 1

Okay this one *did* make me tear up. You write Ron and Hermione perfectly. PLEASE write another story about them

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for the review :)

Reviewer: whorecruxes
Date: 07/07/11 8:24
Chapter: Chapter 1

So lovely! I loved Harry's part most of all

Author's Response: Thanks! :)

Reviewer: sevanderslice
Date: 03/18/11 10:00
Chapter: Chapter 1

This was fun to read.

I really, really liked the line where Harry says that Hermione raised him, and you are right, that in a way, she did.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it :)

Reviewer: goldensunshine
Date: 02/22/11 18:44
Chapter: Chapter 1

definitely.

Author's Response: :)

Reviewer: charmaine23
Date: 12/20/10 17:28
Chapter: Chapter 1

"Do you remember . . . when Rosie asked me to marry her?"

"You said you gave your heart a way a long time ago, but you'd take care of hers until she was ready to give it away, too,"
So sweet :) your an amazing writer, I loved Ron's Hugo's and Harry's

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked that--and enjoyed the whole story :) Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: lifewhatever
Date: 10/12/10 14:00
Chapter: Chapter 1

Loved it! Harry's was so sweet, and I thought Arthur's was funny. Victors was interesting too. It was well- written and good as always. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked Arthur's -- I was smiling almost the entire time I wrote that!

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 08/29/10 4:32
Chapter: Chapter 1

This is a really sweet fic and a great idea. Nice the way they're sort of chronological, and end with Hermione/Ron. I liked Neville's part, it was especially sweet, and you had some really great insight in Harry's part about Hermione always caring for him. I liked the story line in Hugo's part too. Great idea, and really well-written too!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I did try to make it some what chronological, so I'm glad you noticed and appreciated it! :)

Reviewer: MoRoCcAnAnDpRoUd
Date: 08/22/10 16:48
Chapter: Chapter 1

I've been away from HPFF for so long that sitting down and reading this literally brought me to tears. Or maybe that was just your amazing writing.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it :)

Reviewer: MorganRay
Date: 08/01/10 21:55
Chapter: Chapter 1

The part with Hermione’s dad was very sweet and adorable. It seems to be one of your very straight forward sections. I think you did something very similar to Neville’s section. They’re both very platonic, sweet, and direct in how they portray love for Hermione.

And he wanted her to be his friend, too . . . or more than that. He imagined spending time with her, simply talking, or perhaps studying, or making her laugh like that, or pressing his lips to hers. It made him smile.

That was the best line from that part. I was surprised (in a good way) how pleasant the part with Viktor was. You wrote him really well, and I think a bit more sympathetically, than most authors do. I liked how you portrayed his love for Hermione as being more genuine.

What really endured him to Hermione was the simple fact that she was the first person who ever took care of him.

That part was very sweet. I liked how you acknowledged the possibility of Harry/Hermione, but also went into why Harry viewed Hermione as just a friend. I think that line really sums up how and why Harry thinks of Hermione as a sister. The dialogue with Harry and Hermione about being a good father was amazing. I also liked how Harry decided he would be a good father because Hermione raised him.

While I liked parts five and six, you really don’t recapture the brilliance of part four. Don’t get me wrong, the part with Ron was great. I think your dialogue between Ron and Hermione is very believable. Overall, I liked your piece here.

Author's Response: Thank you! This is such a detailed review, which is always a real treat :) While I'm a huge Ron/Hermione shipper, I do have something of a soft spot for Viktor, and I'm glad you thought that showed and that you liked how he was portrayed! As for Harry's part -- I think he and Hermione have such a sweet relationship, the epitome of a close relationship between a girl and a boy that remains close despite the fact that it never turns romantic. And she really is the first one to take care of him, imo! :) Thanks again.

Reviewer: balla
Date: 07/27/10 23:14
Chapter: Chapter 1

great story and the character study would definitly be worth it

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: ica44
Date: 07/05/10 13:55
Chapter: Chapter 1

I. Love. This. Fic. Seriously, one of my favourite pieces of fanfiction, ever. Call it a character study or whatever, it's beautiful. It made me tear up several times, especially Harry's part, and her dad's. So heart-warming. The line from Harry's part, where she was the first person to take care of him, absolutely tugged my heartstrings. Lovely, lovely job.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Harry's part really poured out of me when I was writing it, so I'm so glad you liked it :)

Reviewer: Vikula_P
Date: 03/28/10 9:39
Chapter: Chapter 1

That is a very nice "character study". I like the old, deaf and blind Ron&Hermione... =)
But as far as I know Hermione's name is from Greek mythology, and it has nothing to do with Shakespeare.

Author's Response: Thanks! Actually, J.K. Rowling said in an interview that Hermione's name came from a Shakespeare play and she imagined her dentist parents would think it clever.

Reviewer: lily_death_flower
Date: 03/26/10 17:22
Chapter: Chapter 1

I loved this…my favourites were harry and ron and hugo (hugo‘s was  the best)  . the seven people were perfectly chosen J and all of them made me cry

Author's Response: Thank you! Hugo's was of my favourites to write -- I'm glad you liked his and agreed with the seven men I picked!

Reviewer: chattyswimmer
Date: 03/22/10 21:22
Chapter: Chapter 1

I absolutely loved this story...I saw it was nominated to be read on audiofictions, and I really hope it does!!!! In response to your question about doing this for all the major characters, I say yes yes yes!!!! I would love to read all the different stories!!1! Outstanding job!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm flattered that it was nominated for audiofics, and that you think it should be read aloud! :) I've just written another piece for Ginny that was posted today and I plan on writing more!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES