Reviewer: HermioneJean1
Date: 06/10/13 6:47
Chapter: It Takes Two (a Duet)

Awwwwwwwww..... This is a great story. I love it how you join all your stories up. It is very clever and you are an amazing author!

Author's Response: Thank you. For me, joining the stories up is essential. I want to create one future, not many alternatives. -N-

Reviewer: stanzie
Date: 08/15/12 17:09
Chapter: It Takes Two (a Duet)

One thing I like about your stories are how there is more to them than just fluff. The plot could have just been: Harry finds out Ginny is pregnant; he surprises her with the news. But you still weave in some Auror action and details about the lives of so many of the other characters. It isn’t necessary, but it adds so much depth to your stories.

Author's Response: Thanks. Fluff with substance, perhaps? I need to have something more than the romance (at least usually I do). In this particular case, the Auror action came about because an injury was the easiest way to 1) get Harry to St Mungo's so he could find out, and 2) face him with one of the realities of parenthood. -N-

Reviewer: turquoiseturkeyz
Date: 07/11/12 1:07
Chapter: It Takes Two (a Duet)

My mother received 6 girls from my father before she finally had a boy with her ex-boyfriend. I usually find it hard to connect with any of the small details in your stories despite the fact the you are obviously a consistent and quality writer. I will presume it is because you actually live in England (I am American). It was nice to finally read about family, as mine is 300 or more strong. I do however find that Harry is a little off in this one but he seems to come to terms with his crazily obvious mistake. All in all it is really well put together, it flows smoothly and enchantingly engaging even with it's cliche plot.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I’m sorry that you find it difficult to connect with the “small details”. I’m a British writer, writing about British characters in a British setting, so I’m curious about to what “small details” cause you problems. Harry was, I hope, no more “off” than most blokes who accidentally discover that they’re about to become fathers. The story was written for a challenge on another site, and I had to work within the confines of that challenge.
-N-

Reviewer: Shreeja
Date: 11/28/11 12:45
Chapter: It Takes Two (a Duet)

Oh this was brilliant. I can never help admire how your characters are always in character. Harry is funny, yet caring, and here, doesn't know as much about family as Ginny does. They complement each other well, I see. Reading the entire series now!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I wanted to remind Harry up against the responsibilityies of parenthood, and, as you say, allow Ginny, who has never known anything but a loving faimily, reassure him. Off to see what you think about the others.
-N-

Reviewer: Amelia_Bones
Date: 09/04/11 23:17
Chapter: It Takes Two (a Duet)

I've read the Potter Family series backwards. No matter. You've done all the little details well as usual. Loved all the little cross references that tie all your stories together. Great plot move to get Harry to St. Mungo's. The only thing I really didn't like and found a bit out of character was that Harry basically tells Ginny in front of the whole family. After his talk about parenthood and knowing about Ginny's temperment (especially with the hormones!) I'd think he'd want to tell her privately. It's their first kid and everything. The last bit was cute with Teddy but I found it incongruous. Nice job otherwise.

Author's Response: I agree with you (sort of). I tried to hint (at the end) that at the very last minute Harry realised that hed made a mistake. He actually came very close to telling her on the beach. But he thinks she was deliberately misleading him by going to St Mungos without him. Its been a while since I reread this. Ill take another look at it and possibly do a bit of tinkering. Thanks. -N-

Reviewer: littlewolf
Date: 04/17/11 19:14
Chapter: It Takes Two (a Duet)

i've been reading quite a few of your stories, but didn't review since all that comes to mind is "awesome story!". but i guess authors would like reviews, so here's one saying that you're an awesome writer. although i don't really like harry/ginny, ron/hermione fanfics, you write them very very well, and when i have time, i will sit down and read every one of your stories =)

=) =) =)

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.
I only write canon. Its JKRs world, and while I tinker around the edges, changing the relationships she established in seven books means changing the characters themselves. While my stories are all interrelated they do (I hope) stand alone. And not all of them are H/G R/Hr, There are several Lavender stories, plus Tales, and a Colin Creevey story.
-N-

Reviewer: bibliophilebaby17
Date: 04/16/11 16:20
Chapter: It Takes Two (a Duet)

i remember reading this and liking it so i thought i'd say so.

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 03/02/11 10:18
Chapter: It Takes Two (a Duet)

This was for the "You're Having My Baby" Challenge on SIYE, wasn't it? Yeah, I entered too, but for some reason it didn't get entered into the challenge category, so...yeah. At first I thought the prompt was a bit cliched but at last minute I just had to enter.

Now, onto the story! I loved how this was written -- usually changes in POV annoy me because they're abrupt and unexpected, but I liked how you didn't change it too often, and you kept it between Harry and Ginny. There were things that both of them didn't know, so it was great how you put everything together.

I liked Harry's reaction to Ginny's pregnancy. Dancing in the lift -- haha. All in all, this story was very original despite the cliched prompt, and definitely deserved whatever category it won in.

One thing I did wonder was where the title came from? I mean, I know about the "It Takes Two" bit, as in, it takes two to make a baby, etc, but what about "a Duet"? It's not that I don't like it -- I do -- but I'm just curious as to how you came up with it. Great job as per usual, Neil, and I can see how your stories all tie in now, as I am reading and beta'ing Hunters and Prey at the moment.

~Soraya~

Author's Response:
Soraya

It was, yes, and it did okay in the challenge. Pregnancy, birth and babies can be clichd. Even when they are realistic, they can only be fluffy, or tragic.

This was my first (and so far only) attempt to change POV in a one-shot. Youre correct about the first part of the title. The second was my attempt to let readers know that they will be listening to two voices, two points of view.

I have one timeline and I fit my stories into it as and when they arrive. So far the only minor edit Ive made was in After Breakfast. In the first version, Parvati wasnt married. When I wrote Bare I realised that she was, so I fixed it.
Neil

Reviewer: mugglenetaddict813
Date: 01/08/11 8:00
Chapter: It Takes Two (a Duet)

What a sweet story! I loved how you had the different parts in Harry's and Ginny's point-of-view. I think that made the story come to life even more because you get both of their anxieties. I loved the part on the beach where they are discussing names and the future. Precious! The ending was great too! I just love all of your stories! :)

Author's Response:
Thanks

Prospective parents are always anxious. Harry, unloved and with neiher parents nor siblings, has a lot to learn, its fortunate that Ginny has such a warm and welcoming family. The names discussion was (I admit) my answer to those people who say Harry named the kids. In my opinion, Ginny wouldnt let him! As you know, this story, along with First Sight and Sleepless Night, chart Harrys progress into parenthood.
-N-

Reviewer: abovelevel
Date: 12/07/10 8:40
Chapter: It Takes Two (a Duet)

What a nice way to start my Tuesday morning! This one-shot was a wonderful mix of fluffy H/G and interesting tidbits about the Auror Office and Quidditch training.

For me the strength in this truly was really how well and easily it flowed. Though you jumped between Harry and Ginny's minds, it felt natural and as a reader, I could settle into their different thoughts quickly and logically. In paticular, I think you really got into Harry's thoughts, as Ginny's husband and as a future Dad. Now, I don't know much about parenthood, but I have a feeling that you do, haha.

The Auror I.D. cards were brilliant - what a perfect idea and how magical it seems, yet also technological if that makes sense. It was interesting seeing some characters we already know, as well as the hierarchy of positions. When Harry said he "wished Neville was there" I had to smile and the knot on the tree was a great connection to canon HP.

I liked the scene at Ginny's Quidditch practice a lot - I think this was the part where you reflect Ginny's thoughts the best:

"The girls laugh at me, but I don’t pay them any attention. Why is he here? Has something happened? Is someone hurt?" - I see this as really reflective of, as her Coach said, the changing priorities between a professional athlete, one who is wholly dedicated to the sport and team, and someone who is becoming a wife and mother, someone who in those roles must put family first. I know this is just one small thing, but it really brought that point home for me.

In the scene at the beach, I was surprised Ginny wasn't more suspect of Harry's sudden baby talk. I suppose she had no reason to be, but through the rest of the scenes, she certainly seemed to have an instinct for when "something" was up.

I like the discussion of the names as well...it made me happy to see that Lily and James were Ginny's suggestions - everyone always says Harry "obviously" picked them, but I feel like Ginny would have seen how much it would mean to Harry and would want to do it too. This conversation feels very real to me, when they discuss the "last Potters" and "last Weasleys" and joke about what genders they want.

The end was a great surprise to me as well as Ginny, I imagine. I would so love to hear what kind of talk they had when they got home, but it was a very sweet place to end. The inclusion of Teddy was a good home-run for the "family" themes running throughout and he just sounds so awfully cute.

Anyways, well, that's all from me. I cannot believe this story only has two reviews, I think it's wonderful.

Author's Response:
Thank you for such a lovely review of this much read (but little reviewed) story.

I was a little nervous about switching the point of view through the story, so Im pleased that you think it feels natural. I will admit that Harrys thoughts on parenthood do bear a certain similarity to my own.

Ive given a lot of thought to the Auror Office, and it helps that my stories all follow one future history. Even though the Aurors and Quidditch players are no more than names here, I know the ages and at least some background information about most of them. (For example, Auror Polly Protheroe gets her own chapter in Tales of the Battle.)

As for the names, personally, I think that Molly and Arthur would have been on Ginnys list, too, but that Percy bagged both of them the moment Audrey got pregnant.

Ill look at the beach scene again, as I was hoping to imply that Ginnys suspicions about Harrys motives were eased by his discussion about the parents of the injured Aurors, that it was this aspect of parenthood which he hadnt considered.

Now it has three reviews, thanks.

It also has two sequels: First Sight, and Sleepless Night.
N

Reviewer: Vorona
Date: 09/04/10 21:30
Chapter: It Takes Two (a Duet)

I'm really glad that Gina put your story up as the first in the Ravenclaw Review Circle. I probably wouldn't have read it o therwise. I tend not to like fluff or Harry/Ginny or pregnancy-related stories, so I'm sure I wouldn't have deliberately sought it out. That said, I really loved it. I even cried a little at the end. Beautiful composition.

I did have a few problems. I thought the aside about Parvati's husband seemed a little out of place. I'm not sure that Harry would actually be thinking that right at that moment, and since it's in first person, even though it's in parentheses, he'd have to be thinking it. I think you might want to find other ways of accounting for that kind of information. I'm not even sure it's necessary that we know it's really the same Parvati. Finally, there were times when Harry seemed too formal in his thoughts. For example, when he's dealing with the receptionist at St. Mungo's, he thinks, "Little annoys me more than a sycophant." It didn't seem to be his voice there. It seemed to polished, if that makes sense. Even if he's matured, I can't imagine him suddenly thinking in these formal, polished ways.

On the other hand, I found most of the story to be delightful. I thought, on the whole, the characterisation was well done. Yes, there was the part I mentioned about Harry's voice, but his role as an Auror and soon-to-be-father were spot on. Ginny, too, was very believable. I could see her wanting to avoid being late to training and then impulsively deciding to get tested. The conflict between Harry and Ginny was well done for the most part, too . . . although I wondered in the picnic scene if you could enhance it even more. Since you were in Ginny's head and she was oblivious, I think there wasn't as much actual conflict. It would have been stronger, I think, if Ginny had begun to suspect that perhaps Harry knew, or think about the fact that she was keeping a secret from him -- maybe something along the lines of "Would he still be acting like this if he knew I'd just been tested this morning?" Still, I thought Ginny and Harry were both perfectly in character throughout, and the conflict/tension was great. I particularly liked the fact that we don't know what Harry is planning, exactly. You also have a real gift for capturing mood. When Ginny thinks that Harry is to blame for, well, everything, it's extremely cute, and shows us exactly the kind of mood she is in. Similarly, your description of the February beach as being "strange, wild, empty beauty" was a gorgeous and evocative description. I could really see it there. Also, like Gina, I really liked the detail you put into the Aurors and their department. It was all very real. And since part of what he had to do was let parents know about their children, it fit really well with the other storyline and Harry's feelings about being a parent.

Overall, though, as I said, I really enjoyed reading this story, and it's one I wouldn't normally have been drawn to. I loved all the little touches you put into this story and the way the two different events really blended together. The story was coherent and charming. Wonderful. It made me smile.

Author's Response:
Vorona

Thanks for the review. It takes Two is sadly lacking reviews for some reason. As a one-shot, its second (behind The Mind of Arthur Weasley) in number of reads, but until now it only had one review.

I actually added the aside about Parvatis husband because I was asked (on another site) whether this was the same Parvati. Having reread the story I think that youre right, I'm not even sure it's necessary that we know it's really the same Parvati, either. I justified Harrys use of the word sycophant by his relationship with the obviously well read Ginny (she named Pigwidgeon), perhaps youre right their, too. Youve unerringly picked on the parts I was least sure of.

I also wondered about making Ginny more suspicious, more questioning. But this was intended as a one shot and it was beginning to show signs of becoming bigger, and 6000+ words is enough fluff, isnt it? Thanks for the review and Ill just let you know that there are two other bits of fluff which are sequels to this. First Sight and Sleepless Night, if youre interested.

Neil

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 03/24/10 21:15
Chapter: It Takes Two (a Duet)

I love it! I have a huge smile on my face, which is always a great way to end a story. You have a real knack for writing in this point of view and tense. It flows very well and is easy to read, plus you've captured both characters' voices perfectly.

I really want to ask if this story and your other one come from personal experience, but that's too personal; however, it reads like something very real, very close, and that's a strong point for the story and you.

Even though this story was about Harry and Ginny finding out they were having a baby, my favorite part was with the Aurors. Brilliant! I loved the cards they carried and how you set up the hierachy in the office. You've done great research and really fleshed out an area we don't know much about it. It should be canon, as far as I'm concerned. It was also neat to see so many familiar characters in that part. You give them all background quickly without feeling rushed or contrived.

I would only say the last paragraph felt a bit abrupt, but by then I was already smiling at what Harry had done for Ginny and her reaction. This was really well-written, well-researched and thought out, and just so sweet. I enjoyed it tremendously. Great job! ~Gina :)

Author's Response:
Gina, thank you.

It Takes Two, simply appeared as an idea, rather like Arthur did.

Ive been giving the Auror Office a lot of thought as the sequel to Grave Days will feature some Auror action. Consequently I came up with a rough timeline for Harry and his friends future careers. Ive read very few Auror stories and the ones I have read seen too assume a military/paramilitary organisation. I also reckon that there arent very many of them.

The Auror section was supposed to be a short set-up piece to get Harry to the hospital but it just grew and grew.

The ending was the bit I was least happy with. It seemed sensible to stop just before the back slapping and congratulations. I tried to lengthen the run up to the restaurant scene, but it just seemed padded, so I left it alone. Neil

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES