Reviews For The Smell of You
Reviewer: SilverDoe_IsoBell
Date: 10/16/13 17:12
Chapter: Chapter 1

Love, love, love! I particularly like fluff, and James/Lily fluff is the best kind :)

Reviewer: Pbcat
Date: 01/30/11 18:42
Chapter: Chapter 1

That is a truly good story, you have a terrific style of writing and something else that i just can't quite put my finger on, but love!
Keep Writing!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you liked it :)

Reviewer: Rene4hp
Date: 12/11/10 5:52
Chapter: Chapter 1

Aaww that is really nice!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it :)

Reviewer: EmmyT
Date: 11/20/10 12:18
Chapter: Chapter 1

Well done! A very good read!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: harrypotterandbenbarnes
Date: 10/11/10 11:27
Chapter: Chapter 1

omg. sooo sooo goood! i love all your lilly and james fics(: pleasee keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! I don't intend on stopping writing anytime soon :)

Reviewer: Nymphie THE Original
Date: 07/25/10 18:43
Chapter: Chapter 1

Love It!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

Reviewer: anotherlily123
Date: 07/23/10 23:45
Chapter: Chapter 1

awww! so sweet! I like it

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

Reviewer: anotherlily123
Date: 07/23/10 23:45
Chapter: Chapter 1

awww! so sweet! I like it

Reviewer: lovegreen
Date: 07/08/10 0:59
Chapter: Chapter 1

I really enjoyed this fic, it was a nice way to connect their story. I'm a huge LJ fan. You made their relationship seem realistic. And I absolutely love that song, its my favorite. Well done, Keep it up.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm a huge LJ fan, as well, and I'm glad you found this realistic and liked it! :) And, yes, that song is great!

Reviewer: goldylocks1201
Date: 06/28/10 22:07
Chapter: Chapter 1

I think It's a cute story and very well written. You are my favorite author on muggle net so please keep doing what you're doing.

Author's Response: Thanks! Your favourite author on mugglenet? That's very high praise! I'm glad you like this and my other stories, and I definitely don't intend on stopping any time soon :)

Reviewer: goldylocks1201
Date: 06/28/10 22:06
Chapter: Chapter 1

I think It's a cute story and very well written. You are my favorite author on muggle net so please keep doing what you're doing.

Reviewer: goldylocks1201
Date: 06/28/10 22:05
Chapter: Chapter 1

I think It's a cute story and very well written. You are my favorite author on muggle net so please keep doing what you're doing.

Reviewer: maggie_95
Date: 05/05/10 7:54
Chapter: Chapter 1

aww... that was so sweet!!
could you write a follow up, like when he gives her the ring? that would just make my year!
=]
i love your work, as always.. keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it :) I don't know about a follow-up, but never say never, right?

Reviewer: acciomagic
Date: 05/03/10 18:48
Chapter: Chapter 1

And even though this was read as a way for me to take a break from similar piles of work, it was most enjoyable! Everytime your name shows up on the recently added, it's a little treat for me as I so enjoy your writting

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad I could provide a distraction for someone else :) And it's so nice to hear (to read, as the case may be!) that you always like seeing my stories in the recently added section!

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 05/03/10 13:56
Chapter: Chapter 1

I loved it! Very good and a nice break away from my real world stuff too!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad :)

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 05/03/10 0:07
Chapter: Chapter 1

Hello!

Isn't Lily/James fascinating? There are so many ways in which they could get together.lol. I like how you used a few lines from the song (which is a personal favourite, and I wrote a Ted/Andromeda based on it as well :P) and used them to show how those two got together.

I am also really impressed by how you manage to write stories using the magical humber '7'. ;-)

However, I was wondering why you didn't put a 'Substance Abuse' warning, since it has Marlene McKinnon drinking alcohol and Lily smoking.

Thanks,
Natalie.

Author's Response: They are! I have so much fun imagining different ways for the two of them to end up together :) I'm glad you liked this and appreciated the song (you gotta love that one) and the number of scenes. For some reason, I just like writing things in seven parts! I will definitely add that warning -- thanks for pointing that out. I tend to think of that warning in terms of excess, but considering they're both underage, the warning is certainly appropriate. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: TheTrio
Date: 05/02/10 22:15
Chapter: Chapter 1

It has been SO long since I've reviewed any of your stories but I promise I've been reading every single one! I'm going to have to keep this pretty short, but I just felt like saying something.

This is my favorite line in this one:

"They look so nice from far away," Peter noted.

"But it's like that plant that eats people," Sirius said.

"It looks innocent enough," Peter went on.

"But get too close and snap!" Sirius literally snapped his fingers. "You've got one less leg."

"Tragic," Peter said, shaking his head.

"Very," Sirius agreed.

And my favorite section was the one in the astronomy tower when Lily is pining over the loss of Snape's friendship. That was so well done. And the Amortentia scene was clearly adorable. There are quite a few little typos in this one but I was too absorbed to copy them all as I was reading, and I wasn't thinking I would leave a review so I can't list them for you right now. I do remember at some point in one section you meant to say did, but it was written dif. Haha that's not much help. Still, I enjoyed the fluff.

So I might as well kill two birds with one stone here and tell you that I absolutely love love love love love the new one on your livejournal. PLEASE tell me you'll post that here because everyone needs to read it! I kind of think it was amazing :). Maybe your best work- but I'm floating on the high of just having read it, and they're all my favorites right after I've read them, haha. Either way definitely my favorite one shot. The Iowa snippet was stellar. Look at the creative adjectives I'm having to come up with to say phenomenal 20 different ways in one review :) You have such a creative mind, and every successive fic you write is just more candid and insightful and honest than the last. This one really shines because you have five original ideas- each of which is compelling and opens whole new possibilities I'd never considered before- in one story; all of those pieces could be expanded into unique chaptered AU fics. I also liked how you didn't explicitly say the one event that had been changed in each section, but it was just worked into the story. This is actually getting kind of lengthy but it's REALLY two reviews so you can't blame me.

I hope you enjoyed rewatching Lost. It's so much less confusing if you watch them all in a row and can remember what Desmond even did in his last centric episode six weeks ago and how he ended up anywhere near Faraday in the first place. Oh Lost :)

P.S. I love this song. I'm talking about this story again if I've lost you- Hey, Soul Sister. It always makes a story better if I can think about it in context of the song it's related too, especially since you so often incorporate lyrics. I'd love to see a new chapter of *subtle hint* Don't Mind the Puddles.

Wow. I'm all over the place in this. Apparently that's what happens when I try to say all of the things I've been thinking across months in one review. 10 days left of school and then hopefully I'll be able to review frequently enough that this doesn't happen again :) Good night!

One more thing- you're getting better at becoming British when you write. SO canon :)

Author's Response: Haha, I like how you warn me at the beginning that it's going to be a short review! ;) But I don't care if you jump all over the place -- I always love to hear from you! There are a few more typos in this one; I think I was a little overeager to post it, and I never had any of my friends look it over, as I usually do. I'll try and fix them as I seem them (a few have already pointed out and been fixed!) I think the two scenes in this story you mentioned -- in the Astronomy Tower and talking about Amortentia -- were my favourites of all them, so I'm glad you liked those :) And I ADORE that song. I'm a huge Train fan, and Hey, Soul Sister is definitely a throwback to their older, more amazing (imo) music. As for the story on livejournal -- I submitted it here and they told me I should split it into five different chapters. I don't really want to do that -- I think it works better as five snit-bits, so I don't know if I'll try to post it again or not. We'll see. But I'm glad you liked it! I had so much fun creating those little universes, and I'm so happy to hear that you think it was made clear what was different in each one, even if it was never explicitly said. Oh, and I'm glad my British is getting better -- I'm trying! :) And, I think this covers everything you mentioned now, an update for Don't Mind the Puddles WILL eventually come. I think I got ahead of myself posting that -- I had the first three chapters written so I thought I would easily have time to keep up a steady posting pace with that, but clearly I was wrong. I'm so much busier in real life now than I used to be, so it's much easier to write one-shots; I can barely keep up with I'll Pick You Up. But Don't Mind the Puddles will be updated and finished, don't worry. Whew. That was a long response. Thanks for your wonderful review!

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 05/02/10 19:49
Chapter: Chapter 1

I like this story it was sweet and to the point. It was a nice vignette. I like how teh characters evolve and the description of the situations. :)

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I'm glad you liked it!

Reviewer: lily_death_flower
Date: 05/02/10 19:05
Chapter: Chapter 1

oh i loved this. of course i'm a sucker for lily and james especially lily james fluff :)

i loved how you showed james transition from an arragont bully to someone who understood love. 

there were a few errors mostly typos that i noticed...

"...and the way her checks and shoulders were already pink from sunburn." i think you meant "cheeks"

 "Bu it's like that plant that eats people," Sirius said." i think  you meant"but"

"She hated all potato products and only liked sweets that were chocolate." but at the beginning she was eating pepperment sweets which arent chocolate.

"She liked the Muggle sport that was named after a bug (beetle? ant? praying mantis?) because her dad did, too." and just out of curiousity what sport is that?

 



Author's Response: Thanks very much! I kind of wanted to show James growing up without actually saying outright how he changed. I'm glad you got that impression! Thanks for pointing out all those errors -- I've already fixed them! :) And the sport I was thinking of was cricket.

Reviewer: U-No-Poo
Date: 05/02/10 17:35
Chapter: Chapter 1

Aww! What a sweet songfic! I completely loved the seven "smells" of Lily - it's original. I also happen to LOVE Hey, Soul Sister by Train. I listened to it on repeat through the whole one-shot.

Your characterisation of James and Lily was written perfectly. You managed to capture a person somewhere between Hermione and Ginny for Lily, and I loved that person. James turned from arrogant, thinking LIly would say yes automatically, to falling deeply more in love with her as the story progressed. He turned into a sweet, kind, more respectful guy, with still having his daredevil characteristics and a good sense of humor.

You write J/L fics so brilliantly! I simply love "Someone to Watch Over Me". Keep up your great writing!

~ Jordana :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I really wanting to show James growing up without having to say it explicitly, so I'm glad you could see that and enjoyed it :) And I definitely imagine Lily as a mix of Hermione and Ginny, so it's good to know I conveyed that idea!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES