Reviews For The Happy Couple
Reviewer: trigg
Date: 07/10/13 11:06
Chapter: The Happy Couple?

Honestly I don't like the idea that Ginny betrayed (if she really did) Harry as they are my favorite couple, and I don't believe Ginny can do such a thing. Of course sometimes people does stupidly things but this was a bit much. If they didn't seem so much together in the books, that doesn't mean they didn't love each other. At least I think so. But still I would love to know that what happened and how. How Harry heard it? Hope you let me know.

Author's Response: In my mind she and Harry had split up, so were on a break, when she had a brief fling with Dean. But then she got back with Harry. She didn't tell him because they were on a break, so really it's not his business, but he found out because there was possibly some gossip, or he just guessed. Yes, she loves Harry very much. Yes, he loves her very much. Sadly being in love with someone and being loved back does not make one immune from making a mistake. Plus ... I will say this again a la Ross from Friends 'They were on a break' Thank you for the review ~Carole

Reviewer: Chanichani
Date: 05/17/12 3:49
Chapter: The Happy Couple?

Wow! That is one of the best " books " I have ever read!!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I enjoyed writing this - but then I like anychance to write some Lavender/Blaise in my stories - hee hee.

Reviewer: PeppermintToads
Date: 04/14/12 13:07
Chapter: The Happy Couple?

I hated "Mildew" at first, but I suppose that she did some good for Dean in the end after all. I actually felt badly for her when she thought that she didn't deserve to be there...though I suppose that she didn't. Good job--just like all of your other brilliant stories.

Author's Response: Thank you. Romilda is a tricky character. Resourceful in her fourth year to drug Harry (or try) and that's all we know about her. Im not a fan, but ... that's not everthing about her ... *sigh* thank youuuu ~Carole~

Reviewer: tupy1025
Date: 01/15/12 5:37
Chapter: The Happy Couple?

SEQUEL!!!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response: OH! Hmm, not sure there's a sequel in this, but thank you fore reading and reviewing. ~Carole~

Reviewer: OtterMoone
Date: 07/17/11 9:09
Chapter: The Happy Couple?

Interesting. So, was something supposed to have happened between Dean and Ginny after she and Harry had already gotten together? And was Romilda lying about having had a crush on Dean? I like how you made her a little remorseful (?) near the end when she saw Dean saying thank you :)

Author's Response: Um, yes, I think she quite likes Dean or would like to be the sort of person that Dean would fall for. Okay, with Ginny/Dean, my thought was that she had a one night stand with him after her and Harry had a row. So it was anger that drove the brief fling. And Harry is ultimately forgiving because he wants a family. Thanks for the review. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Eowynatheart
Date: 08/06/10 14:48
Chapter: The Happy Couple?

I dont get it...wow i feel stupid...please do explain

Author's Response: Um, okay. Well, it's ambiguous, so I left it up to the reader to decide what had happened with Dean and Ginny. I know something happened, and Dean is struggling to let go, but was Ginny seeing Harry at the time? That's up to the reader. Harry knows the truth, but wants more than anything to have a settled life, so doesn't want the Prophet exposing anything. He's happy and Ginny's happy.He enlists Lavender's help. If it's Blaise's appearance confusing you, that's me taking a liberty because Lavender and Blaise are a couple in another fic of mine. Ginny and Harry are very much in love, but that doesn't stop you making the odd mistake ... ~Carole~

Reviewer: lucca4
Date: 05/31/10 13:39
Chapter: The Happy Couple?

Wow wow wow! I love this story, even though it kind of puts a bittersweet turn on the Potters' wedding. But it made me way, way too curious as to exactly what went on with Ginny and Dean...if you ever feel like writing a fanfic about that, I wouldn't complain :)). I'm not a huge Ginny fan, so her probable betrayal was really interesting. I do hope you write more on that topic!

Anyways, great job, I think this one has a really good chance of winning.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you for the review. I might write a 'prequel' but I'm veering towards leaving it ambiguous. Now, I rather like Ginny but I do think that likeable people make mistakes as well as the Dracos of this world. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: sam1
Date: 05/26/10 10:42
Chapter: The Happy Couple?

i like the way you have immagened the story although i dispised the way u insinuated that ginny might have had an affair with dean especially that ginny has always been a tough and brave girl and would not have done such a thing

Author's Response: Hmm, 'tough and brave girls' do make mistakes as well. And is it an affair? Were she and Harry even together? None of us know what actually did happen, I left it deliberately ambiguous.

Reviewer: MerrryD
Date: 05/25/10 20:18
Chapter: The Happy Couple?

Carole,

This is a thank you for that push. Also, you hinted. :)

Okay, so I really like this. You have a beautiful balance of funny, sappy, and angsty in this, which really makes your story come to life and seem very real. I’m impressed.

One of my favorite things about this story is how rounded and full each character is. None of them are there simply for the sake of moving the story along—they each have their own story, their own light and their own darkness, and you made sure to show each part. Thus, making the characters seem like actual people, instead of fictional characters who always get the impossible.

. . . which I guess was your entire point with this story. No couple is the perfect couple.

Another thing I really liked about this fic was the point of view. It’s very different and kind of surprising. I like the way it allowed you to introduce the idea of no person having a perfect life before you actually got to the dirt on Harry and Ginny. Also, I love the way it sort of allowed you to gloss over what actually happened and just scratch the surface to prove your point. In fact, that’s another thing that I also really liked: that you didn’t tell us what happened between Dean and Ginny. Keeping it private seems like the most natural and real thing to do; also, it keeps your readers thinking about your story, which is always good.

As far as plausibility goes, I find it very real. Especially that it’s Ginny who slips up. Harry’s far too loyal and his desire for a family far too strong for him to have messed up. And, to me, their relationship has never been as solid as, say, Ron and Hermione’s. I could see Ginny with someone else, seriously, at least for a little while. Obviously, she has to get back to Harry eventually (if you allow the epilogue to exist).

Finally, I love your Lavender/Blaise pairing. I may have to check out Lavender, blue – A Gryffindor True. :)

Fabulous story, Carole!

--Mere

Author's Response: YAY the nudge worked and I get a great Mere review. Thank you for reviewinga nd I am pleased you first of all liked the story and also found it believable. I want people to make their own mind up about what happened between Ginny and Dean; the point being, as you sadi, that no one is perfect. Ahh, I love Lavender/Blaise as well, so I hope you enjoy the fic. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 05/25/10 12:15
Chapter: The Happy Couple?

Brilliant as usual. Why? Because you sure work down to the details, wow! And you don't throw them in the reader's face, but just weave them into the story naturally so we just accept it as truth. So easy to read - I never question anything you write, because it's all backed up by the story. (I hope that all made sense, lol)

Really original idea. I loved your framing device and how you revealed bits and pieces of Harry, Ginny, and Dean's story throughout but using Romilda's POV. But now you have to write that other story - and tell us how Lavender got the scoop from Harry. :D
Good luck in the challenge!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: WOW! Thanks Gina, I'm so glad you liked the story and found it believable. There were so many ways I nearly went with this and other secrets that nearly spilled out, but I tried to keep it as simple as possible, yet also leave something for the reader to make their own minds up about. Thanks for the great review... and good luck to you too. ~Carole~

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 05/24/10 19:21
Chapter: The Happy Couple?

Love that little twist at the very end! Nice!

Author's Response: Thank you. I liked the twist too. ~Carole~

Reviewer: decdraft
Date: 05/23/10 20:01
Chapter: The Happy Couple?

I liked this story - even though I was prepared not to - didn't want to read Ginny and Harry not have a happy ending. But, I think your happy ending was beautiful. Obviously whatever happened was not enough to undermine Harry and Ginny's relationship. And I liked Lavendar and Blaise together and that Lavendar remained loyal to Harry and Ginny - that she was a true Gryfinndor. So many stories, poor Lavender doesn't get a happy ending. Very well written, lovely story.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. I agree about Lavender. She never gets a fair deal from fanfiction (although she does in another of my fics) I don't think she'd pine after Ron for the rest of her life. Thank you for realising that Ginny was truly happy to be getting married. The Dean 'thing' , I left it deliberately ambiguous, didn't derail them. Glad you enjoyed the story. ~Carole~

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 05/23/10 18:52
Chapter: The Happy Couple?

Oh that was sad, Carole! I love the last line, especially. Actually, I love the fact that Lavender and Blaise are together in this. Is this some foreshadowing for Lavender Blue eh? One thing that struck me as really well done was how you had Lavender and Blaise 'reprimand' Romilda and her behaviour.

Lavender smiled a touch sadly. “We’ve all been silly teenage girls with crushes. Some of us got over it, but you,” she crouched down by Romilda’s side, “you’re so determined to make yourself known that you’re forgetting about that girl who was resourceful enough to smuggle in a love potion and then hide it in a box of chocolates. You have brains, Romilda, just use them with a bit more purpose than trying to wreck people’s lives.”

That is so true and it's a great little snapshot of what we know about Romilda's character.

Also, I love how you left whatever happened between Ginny and Dean (and Harry) up in the air. In my mind I can see this happening as a one-off thing. I don't want to think that Ginny is in love with Dean, in fact I don't think that at all. I think she has feelings for him yes, but they're in the past and she wants to move forward with Harry. You showed this when Romilda commented on how happy she looked. Also, I imagine that Dean needed closure rather than a rekindling of flames. He just needed to accept that things were over. Harry, on the other hand, I'm curious about. I wonder whether Ginny knows that he knows... anyway, sorry about all the rambly speculation! I really enjoyed this fic.

Julia XD

Author's Response: Thank you Julia, you seem to have come up with all the conclusions I wanted people to see when I wrote the story so *fans face* PHEW!. In my mind, Ginny doesn't know that Harry knows, but then Harry might not know exactly what's gone on ... confusing ... ha ha. Darn, I see a prequel in the offing. Hmm, Lavender/Blaise ... just wait and see. ~Carole~

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 05/23/10 16:38
Chapter: The Happy Couple?

Hello, Carole. It's really getting mundane trying to think up creative ways to say how much I enjoyed yet another of your stories. :) This was really fun, though. I nearly laughed at loud at poor Draco's plight! I also loved the line about Romilda's boss and her lover being one and the same.

The end was the best though. I thought she was going to say Ginny's, but your way was that much better. Good luck with the challenge!

Author's Response: Lori, the line about the ferret was my favourite, too. It took me ages to think up the animal. I digress, thanks very much for the review. I know how fond you are of canon, so the fact that the 'golden couple' aren't quite as golden in this story - yet you still liked it - makes my day. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: Callisto Anaxandra
Date: 05/23/10 15:28
Chapter: The Happy Couple?

The way that you reveal information carefully and leave doubt in the reader's mind about what actually happened is done really well. I also like Lavender Brown as a sympathetic character. However, I'm in general not a fan of the idea of Ginny cheating on Harry. But well written!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. Hmm, maybe she didn't exactly cheat, but sometimes things happen that shouldn't. Perhaps I need to write a separate story explaining - ha ha. Concerning Lavender, she's one of my favourite characters because she gets such a bad deal from fanfiction, so I have a whole chaptered fic devoted to her in her seventh year at Hogwarts. Anyway, I digress. Thank you again ~Carole~

Reviewer: chattyswimmer
Date: 05/23/10 14:38
Chapter: The Happy Couple?

First, I'd like to say that I am so happy you made Romilda never figure out anything bad to write. Also this was superbly written.

I have one question though, of clarification. The way I interpreted this, Ginny and Dean had a "thing" while Harry and Ginny were together (I'm guessing before the engagement) and Harry found out about it. Is that right?

If so, than I am so happy Harry and Ginny worked it out. And, again, that Romilda never found out!! Great story.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Regarding clarification, I've deliberately left it ambiguous in the story, but in my mind it's a one-off that happenedwhen all three parties were vulnerable for whatever reason. Harry knows something happened, but perhaps he wasn't totally blameless.In the real world - especiallly in relationships - things are not black and white. Hmm, I think this has made me realise that I need to write a Ginny/Dean. Plot bunnies are driving me nuts. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: Kaiserin
Date: 05/23/10 14:18
Chapter: The Happy Couple?

WOAAAAA!!!!!

So, Mildew got screwed!!! ^_^ And Blaise is every bit a cunning Slyth as he ought to be!!

Romilda, sooo goy what she deserved. And Lavender, come to think of it, acted ever as cunningly as a Slyhterin herself. She wrote the article but got off the hook of writing the dirt. AND if there was dirt to be found, Lav-lav sure as hell HAD it to dish out.

Harry knew, but I bet Ginny had a decent motive. Perhaps a row and in the mist of it darling Dean showed up and offered comfort? Sometimes things just happen... What surprizes me is that Dean actually did that to Harry. They may have not been BFFs but they were mates, fellows, right? Shame on him! On Gin, too, with reason or not.

I like the way you made Romilda the new Rita Skeeter. I so loathe the both of them!!! Great, great, great, great fic!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you liked it. Now, I have left it ambiguous so for all we know Dean wasn't really doing the dirty of Harry. You're right though, sometimes things just do happen, and poor old Dean was left without the girl. Ah, now Romilda ... I don't think she'll be quite as awful as Rita was, not now. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: hushpuppy22
Date: 05/23/10 10:37
Chapter: The Happy Couple?

It's not totally clear what is happening although it seems from Ginny's line " “I can’t do this, Dean, not after the last time. I can’t be with you ever again.” that she has cheated on Harry. This review assumes that she has cheated on Harry and still loves Dean... Although the story comes off as cynical in the 'weddings aren't as happy as you think' way, it's also naive because it assumes that the person being cheated on, Harry, is completely oblivious to the cheating or using. In real life, it seems that people settle for someone and *choose* to ignore that their spouse(s) are cheaters, liars or otherwise. They know what is actually wrong in their relationship but they make excuses to save their relationship because they don't think they can do better or they have children. Why would Harry settle for someone that was in love with someone else and cheated on him? He's known her for many years and wasn't enamored with her for most of that time so it's not like he's projecting any image of perfection onto her or that he was always in love with her and doesn't want to face the truth. Harry is rich, famous and confident, so why would he put up with this when he is all about honor, nobility and love? And why would his tactless best friends allow him to stay in a doomed relationship? In any event, I love your writing but think this idea doesn't work without all of the characters being OOC from canon.

Author's Response: Hmm, well let's look at what we know from canon. Ginny went out with Dean; she then went out with Harry. Dean was still fond of Ginny. Later we know Harry and Ginny got married and had three children. We don't know what happened in between. You're assuming from my story that Ginny was in love with Dean. That's not what I've said. In fact I've left it ambiguous as to what happened between them ... and when. It could have been a one-night stand before Harry and her got together. I hope I've made it clear that she's ecstatically happy to be marrying Harry - I use the line 'No one could fake that much happiness.' Harry knows a 'version' of it as Lavender says. And what has Harry craved all his life - a happy, settled family. People do 'forgive' things. They make compromises. Perhaps there's nothing to forgive (if they were as Ross says to Rachel 'on a break' then does Harry have to forgive her for anything?) Yes it's ambiguous, and it's up to the reader to decide what went on. I also make it clear at the end that Dean is happier. Now, I don't think any of them are OOC from canon but then that's because I have the story in my head as to what exactly happened between Dean and Ginny. Thankls for reviewing, though, I do like reviews that make me think about what I've written and ask questions about it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Lunalovespudding
Date: 05/23/10 9:29
Chapter: The Happy Couple?

I don't really get this story....... But it's good!

Author's Response: I've left it deliberately ambiguous because sometimes I think the reader should put their own ideas into the story. I have a definite idea about what happened between Dean and Ginny ... and when. I haven't written that because, well, as I said, I want to leave it open ended. I'm glad ytou enjoyed the story, so if you want a more detailed explanation or would like to let me know which particular bits you didn't get, then I don't mind if you want to PM me. Thanks for the review ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Research and Development by Northumbrian 3rd-5th Years
The Mirrorphone, the latest advance in Wizarding communications. Now, of course...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES