Reviewer: hallows_vs_horcruxes
Date: 07/21/11 14:16
Chapter: Chapter 1

Very good, and the OCs weren't boring in the slightest. Again, see my comment on the "seven women" for Harry - it explains it all! I loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you didn't mind the OCs! :)

Reviewer: OohButterfly
Date: 05/30/11 14:30
Chapter: Chapter 1

I really like all of these seven series. Please excuse me if I don't review all of them. Could you do Molly Weasley? Please?

Author's Response: You don't have to review them all--this is plenty! I'm glad you like them! And I've considered doing Molly Weasley, but I wouldn't know how to pick only seven men!

Reviewer: lcs04a
Date: 01/23/11 0:07
Chapter: Chapter 1

I have read all of your "seven people' stories; I decided to post on Lupin because he's my favorite.

I love these. What a clever way to do some character development! I like the interactions you've created between some characters that aren't necessarily canon but totally make sense (like Lupin/ Ginny in this one.) I think you keep everyone in character very well and weave your own work and JKR's together flawlessly.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you enjoy the "seven people series" of sorts--I thought it was a really fun way to explore my favourite characters and some interactions that we never saw in the books but which I think really make sense--like, as you say, Lupin and Ginny :)

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 09/12/10 3:05
Chapter: Chapter 1

Once again, great fic! Probably not my favourite of your 'character studies', but still very good. I loved the LOTR reference... I'd never thought of Remus as like Aragorn, but I see the comparison. Ginny's part was interesting too. I thought you repeated the line "He was her friend" just a bit too much in Lily's part... initially the repetition added emphasis but I think you overdid it a little.

I think this is the last (as yet) of these character studies that you've written, are you planning to write more? If yes, I hope you do one for Ron - of the trio he seems to be left out the easiest, and I think your writing style and ability to write his character well (his characterisation was great in both "How Much a Heart Can Hold" and "The Gates of Happines"), so I'd love to read that. I guess you'd include Molly, Ginny, Hermione, Rose, Lavender... and I'm sure you could find others. I'd also love to read one for Lily Evans, I guess you'd have her father, Snape, James, Harry, Remus... can't think of more off the top of my head, but I'm sure you could. Anyway, I can't wait to read your next one!

Author's Response: Thank you! A lot of people were surprised by Ginny's inclusion by this, but she was one of the first ones I thought of when planning it. I'm glad you thought her part interesting! This is the last I've written, yes, and I've started another and plan to do seven total, but real life has been awful lately, and my writing has been on the back burner for several weeks now. Keep an eye out, though! :)

Reviewer: Vikula_P
Date: 06/05/10 13:22
Chapter: Chapter 1

Very creative! I like Remus in your story, he is very in character, you managed to form his personality the way he didn't get it formed in the series. Great job!
It's always enjoyable to read another of your stories ;)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you like how I developed his personality -- I think there should have been more of him in the series! :)

Reviewer: ac507
Date: 05/30/10 14:12
Chapter: Chapter 1

Having read the other ones for Harry, Hermione, and Ginny, I've been eagerly waiting for the next "seven people" fic. And this was beyond what I imagined!

Although I usually prefer canon characters and storylines, your OC's were so incredibly well written! All in all this was great and gave me a lot of new insight into Remus's character. Thank you.

Any chance we'll be getting one for Ron soon? :)

Author's Response: Thank very much! I'm glad this didn't let you down and that you didn't mind the OCs :) And Ron is on the short list!

Reviewer: heartachin4harry
Date: 05/29/10 12:42
Chapter: Chapter 1

i really like this!!! great job! remus is definitely in character, it was amazing!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you think so!

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 05/28/10 8:57
Chapter: Chapter 1

I loved the OC's! I thought it really added depth to this. You say these are character studies, but when you get down to it, each one is really eight character studies, isn't it? Ginny, for example, I positively loved here! And I almost never like her anywhere outside of canon. But you captured her softer side, her vulnerability, in such a believable way. How like Lupin to notice what she was going through and try to give her some of her power back, or maybe give it to her for the first time. What a nice touch, including Ginny. I liked it all, but that was my favorite.

Well done. This is shaping up to be one of my favorite stories/series in the whole place.

Author's Response: Oh, good! I'm glad you liked the OCs! The part with Ginny seems to be surprising a lot of people, but I assumed it to be a kind of given that Remus would have helped Ginny that year. I'm glad you liked that part and liked Ginny it and thought her vulnerability well done! I really don't know if "character study" is the right word for these -- you're definitely right when you say they almost look at eight people instead of one, but I don't know what else to call them! Regardless of what they're titled, being called a favorite is high praise :) Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: REMi iS AWESOME
Date: 05/27/10 17:39
Chapter: Chapter 1

Aw so beautiful made me tear up soo bad, I love how you portray Remus exactly how I think of him in my mind. My favorite though had to be the Hetty Bayliss one, in my opinion it was the most sweetest how Remus changed her life, alsmost saved her it was so sweet. I adore these character studies sooo much! Who's gonna be next?

Author's Response: Thanks! This is definitely a tearier "character study," imo. I'm glad you liked it and enjoyed the Hetty Bayliss part. I was afraid people wouldn't like that part as I took a random name from the books and completely invented her, so it's good to know that you got the point of it and like it :) And as for whose next . . . I'm choosing between two people. Hopefully you'll see soon enough!

Reviewer: lily_death_flower
Date: 05/26/10 22:09
Chapter: Chapter 1

I have never had or even heard of peach butter before now but i really want some now :P

Remus was definitly in character and i am so glad u did a cahracter study of him since he is one of my favourite characters. 

i wasn't sure what seven people you would pick for him. I assumed you would include his mother, tonks, and lily. But i love all the others that you added in. My favorite was Lily and Remus because i always thought they would have a close friendhsip you just don't see it written about very often. I also love Hetty and Remus' mother since mother son moments always make me tear up. 

i cant wait for the next cahracter study :)



Author's Response: Thanks so much! I definitely had to put more thought in who to do for Remus, most so than for Hermione, Ginny, and Harry (for them, I mainly had to focus on who NOT to do). I'm glad you liked who I chose. I agree about Lily and Remus -- I've always imagined them as having a close relationship, even if it isn't written about very often. And glad I could introduce peach butter into your life ;)

Reviewer: hgprincess92
Date: 05/26/10 19:36
Chapter: Chapter 1

Well, now I have to actually get some peach butter ;)Remus is a complicated character, but I think you protrayed him well. It is the Remus I imagine him to be. The OCs were good. All in all another great character study. I'm glad you decided to write one or Remus, I feel like he doesn't get enough time in the books, you know?? Your Remus was great, can't wait for the next!

Author's Response: Definitely try some peach butter! I'm glad you liked this and thought I portrayed him well -- he certainly is a complicated character, and as he goes through so much, I think he changes a lot, too. And I'm glad you liked all the OCs, too. Thanks for the review! The next one shouldn't be too far off into the future :)

Reviewer: Kaiserin
Date: 05/26/10 15:48
Chapter: Chapter 1

You - evil- writer!

Must- stop-reading-fics!!

You NEVER fail to reduce me to a puddle of tears!!!! Why!?!?! I mean, honestly, this time I said to myself, I've already read four of these fics, she can't possibly have more stuff in store. I must get tempered or stronger after a while, right?

WRONG!!!

Evil, evil, evil, evil writer!!!!! I'm crying SO hard even as I write this... Sobbing!

I liked the approach you took with Ginny. Very in character!! I was surprized you didn't use Hermione, but welcomed the change! And the idea that she compares him to Harry, and that last coment on Potter men he makes!!

As for Andromeda's part. Spotless!! Really brilliant!

This is one of my fave parts actually. (the first tear dropped about here, BTW.)

"Because her daughter might have died so young, so tragically, so undeservedly, but at least before dying, she had experienced something wonderful.

She had experienced the rare kind of love that makes a soul so much better.

And for that reason, she supposed, Andromeda Tonks loved Remus Lupin."

As for Tonk's part. What can I possibly say? Standing ovation to that. Specially that last sentence. And the way he proposed to Tonks was just so... gosh! I made me want to jump into the screen and give Remus a bear hug!!!

*sigh*


I close this review with the firm purpose of NOT crying the next time you post one of these.

Kudos!!!

PS: when I write "evil", it's intended as evil mastermind!! So, please, take it as a compliment. ^_^

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I definitely take evil as a compliment ;) I'm glad you liked this and it didn't disappoint after the first few one-shots like it. I think Andromeda's part was one of the easier for me to write -- it just poured out of me -- it's good to know you really liked that. Including Ginny seems to be surpising a lot of people, although when I was putting together a list of who Remus's seven would be, she was one of the first people I thought of. I thought about Hermione, too, but it seemed more important to me to show the perspectives of Dorcas Meadows and Hetty Bayliss. It's good to know you didn't mind!

Reviewer: DownWithTheCarrows113
Date: 05/26/10 15:32
Chapter: Chapter 1

I enjoyed the one-shot because I have RLS (Remus Lupin Syndrome)!! It really is quite sad actually. Well, I have more of a SBS (Sirius Black Syndrome), but Lupin is close third because of my FWS (Fred Weasley Syndrome). I liked Dorcas because, it's a kickass name and I have read loads about her in other fan fictions. I also liked how he meant to Ginny and I was not expecting her to be on the list. I also enjoyed the OC's! And Hetty Bayliss was clever thinking on your part!

Author's Response: Haha, those sound like some serious syndromes ;) I'm glad you liked this, especially that you liked the parts with Dorcas and Hetty, because I wasn't sure how those would be received. Thanks for the review :)

Reviewer: siriusblackhead
Date: 05/26/10 13:52
Chapter: Chapter 1

Aw I love Remus even more now! :) I'd always hated that he got always got put on the backburner in the novels; there always seemed like so much untold story there. But I guess that's why we have people like you to tell it, eh?

I thought the OCs were very good, and not really OCs, either, since they are mentioned in the books. I also loved how Remus was one of the reasons for Ginny's restored confidence and courage. And the ending... so beautiful and so sad. RIP R&T.

Keep these wonderful one-shots going! Heck, I'm sure I'd even enjoy one on someone ridiculous like Kreacher or Ms. Figg. hahaha.

Author's Response: Thank you! I definitely think Remus deserved more attention in the books, and that's definitely why fanfiction is so great :) I'm glad you liked the OCs and the scene with Ginny and especially the ending. There are more of these one-shots to come, rest assured! And I hadn't considered doing a more minor, ridiculous character, but it'd be kind of fun, wouldn't it?

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 05/26/10 12:20
Chapter: Chapter 1

Lets' see. You say you have trouble writing Remus ... I disagree. You're unsure the OC's were successful ... I disagree. This fic is wonderful. I write a lot of Remus/Tonks and you nailed him totally. I loved the fact that he wasn't a novice at 'love', that he'd had relationships before Tonks. The seven females who loved him were such good choices. Ginny took me by surprise ... but it fitted totally. And he would help her, he was that kind of man.

My favourite section was Tonks with the peach butter (and no I've never tried it but will now). As I said, I write Tonks/Remus myself, so the fact that this capitavated me so much is a feat in itself because usually I'm uber critical. (not that I'm an expert, I just have my ideas firmly entrenched about the pair) I think my second favourite is Andromeda - you bringing in Teddy at the end made me want to weep.

I don't quite know what to say without sounding like a gushing fangirl ... uh ... I think I already am one. Just Brilliant! ~Carole~

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad that someone who's experienced in writing Remus/Tonks thinks I did him justice. I really was nervous (I stick pretty firmly in my writing to Harry/Ginny, Ron/Hermione, and Lily/James). I'm glad you liked that he wasn't a novice at "love" and that you enjoyed the OCs and Ginny's part :) And I'm glad you liked the section with Tonks -- I spent ages on that one section, so I'm so happy to know you enjoyed it! Please feel free to sound as much like a gushing fangirl as you want ;)

Reviewer: ProfPosky
Date: 05/26/10 9:00
Chapter: Chapter 1

Well, this is very good. Whether Remus is in character or not is hard to say. Things can change people, and it is possible that Remus changes, not drastically, but somewhat, as life goes along, and perhaps that makes him difficult to pin down. I like Hetty but I'd have changed the order of the names in her last sentence.

You DO realize you've afflicted me with a very AU Ginny/Remus bunny....

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you liked it. Characters do change, you're right, especially someone who faces everything that Remus does. As for AU Ginny/Remus -- that's never occurred to me in any way, but I'm glad I could inspire you somehow! ;)

Reviewer: decdraft
Date: 05/25/10 23:17
Chapter: Chapter 1

OMG - that was perfect - you so perfectly wrote Remus. It was all so poignant and bittersweet - as Remus' life was. What insight you have into all the characters. And of course I cried. I have at all the stories in this series. I love too that you included Lily and Ginny. Off to buy some peach butter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so relieved that you think I wrote Remus well. And bittersweet is definitely a good word to describe his life. Enjoy that peach butter :)

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 05/25/10 22:56
Chapter: Chapter 1

I love it! I think you pegged him right on! I can totally picture all that happening in his life! Tell me though, Tonks went out to fight in the war, do you believe she knew he had already died? I assume you do, the way you ended it. I really liked it! I've loved all of them!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you think I pegged him :) No, I don't think she knew he already died. The idea was that she went to find him, because she didn't want him to fight alone, but she didn't find him until she'd died, because he'd died, too. At least, that's what I was thinking when I wrote the end.

Reviewer: hlf_insn_insmnc
Date: 05/25/10 22:56
Chapter: Chapter 1

So precious! :) I love it.

Author's Response: Thanks! :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES