Reviews For Summer of '97
Reviewer: SoGranola
Date: 03/18/13 23:48
Chapter: Summer of '97

Ohh, this is heartbreaking. I've always been sort of neutral-feeling toward Colin, but this story made me want to cry. Well done.

Author's Response:
Thank you.
The deaths of Remus, Tonks and Fred are (it seems to me) a staple of Battle and post-Battle stories. Poor Colin is often overlooked.
-N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/06/12 20:22
Chapter: Summer of '97

This may be my favorite so far, my wife tells me I'm a romantic at heart, she actually just says I'm a girl but whatever, this is a wonderful story it makes me sad for Collin but happy for terry thanks.

Author's Response: Thank you.
I'm rather fond of this story myself. It's set in a part of the UK I know well, and it featres a particularly odd couple. But they are, I hope, a couple of likeable characters.
-N-

Reviewer: silverlining95
Date: 03/31/12 20:06
Chapter: Summer of '97

I love this, it's a touching sentiment to the life of someone who died before he ever got to live.
Plus I can really identify with Fenella (not least because she shares my name, something I was astonished by when I first stumbled across her in Grave Days!), but because she's loyal and brave and willing to defy everything for him. She reminds me a lot of Andromeda actually. I love your writing, it flows perfectly, you have this eloquent way of expressing yourself, so that's it's intricately detailed yet concise at the same time, :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
This story was spun from the background notes I'd made for Fenella when writing Grave Days. I wanted a rare forename for her, the alternative was Clarissa, but that name seemed a bit to self-assured (it's probably just me). I'm very fond of Fenella and she will continue to appear in my other stories. She'll be in both Strangers at Drakeshaugh and Hunters and Prey soon.
-N-

Reviewer: Shreeja
Date: 12/18/11 7:10
Chapter: Summer of '97

This was heart rending. Colin was always full of life and you brought that out well. And in a way, Fenella fulfilled his wish of becoming an Auror. Great one shot

Author's Response: Thank you. This story grew from Fenella's walk-on part in Grave Days. Here, she's the co-star along with Colin and his camera. Colin's death seems to be a theme in several of my stories. -N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 06/03/11 17:16
Chapter: Summer of '97

That was beautiful, so wonderful. I'm sitting here with tears in my eyes. If you'd had your ears to the west, you would've heard a great big sob. It wasn't a sad sob necessarily, but more of a salute to a life well lived. I've always felt sad about the death of Colin Creevey. As I said, this story is beautiful. I loved every second of it.

Author's Response: Thank you. I’ve always felt sad about Colin’s death too. It’s a theme which runs runs through “Tales of the Battle” and parts of “Grave Days”. I wanted to give him a few happy days, to make him more than “that annoying little kid with the camera”. I’m sure that all authors want an emotional response from readers, a sob is good. :-D -N-

Reviewer: Loko
Date: 05/21/11 3:39
Chapter: Summer of '97

This is a really sweet story! I love the way that Collin got to have one last happy day before the madness of the Second War messed up their lives.

Author's Response: Thank for the review. I wanted to dig a little deeper into the life of Colin Creevey. I'm glad you liked it. -N-

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 03/13/11 22:13
Chapter: Summer of '97

I really enjoyed this (like pretty much everything else of yours that I've read). I loved the beginning when Fenella is trying on Muggle clothing - using a simple example you really showed the difficulty people can have understanding a different culture. I really loved your depiction of Colin in this - you really showed some development from what we see of him in CoS. It made me think more about his death in DH.

You evoke a great sense of place in your writing - I've never been to anywhere near Barnard Castle, but I had a great sense of what it was like from your writing.

I also liked the idea of Slytherin girls practising to get on the Quidditch team. And interesting that Fenella was in Slytherin but had no problem with Colin, a muggleborn and Gryffindor.

The ending was quite sad, but still really well written.

~Katrina

P.S. The optimist thinks that the glass is half full, the pessimist thinks that the glass is half empty, Luna Lovegood wonders why the glass is twice as big as it needs to be. totally made my day!!

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

Fenella was simply supposed to be a very minor character in Grave Days, “Colin’s Slytherin friend”. Somehow, she’s managed to make an appearance in almost all of my chaptered stories. The complexities of Muggle clothing must be difficult for robe-wearing Purebloods and Fenella would have been happier dressing like a middle aged lady in tweeds.

The fact that Barnard Castle is a real place, and I’m familiar with it, which helps with the descriptions.

Colin’s appearance at Hogwarts fascinated me and I’ve build several stories around it, and him (including several chapters of Tales of the Battle. Fenella and Colin have a lot in common. Both are enthusiastic photographers and both are noticeably at the edge normal height for their sex.

Why does the supposedly “cunning” house field a team of arrogant and violent male Neanderthals?

The ending could never be anything other than sad, but I wanted Colin to have some good memories, and too be remembered. And I couldn’t resist the Luna joke, especially as Colin and Fenella were in Luna’s year.
-N-

Reviewer: Sailing Girl
Date: 02/25/11 13:24
Chapter: Summer of '97

This is really good, I really enjoyed it! I come from Northumberland too ;) Whenever I see this story title, I think of 'Summer of '69', the song, and I always try to fit '97 into those lyrics whenever I see this.

So, anyway, carry on writing!

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review

Making Colin and Fenella Durham Dales folk seemed like a good idea at the time. I like using real places (like Barnard Castle). I’ve set another story (Strangers at Drakeshaugh) in Northumberland rather than Durham, Coquetdale to be precise. If you’ve never been, you should walk to the Drakestone.
-N-

Reviewer: Darcy HP
Date: 01/14/11 18:37
Chapter: Summer of '97

Great, I love the characterization of Collin, as not just the first year who worshipped Harry. As a young man ready to fight for what's right.

Author's Response: Thanks. Colin (and his death) seems to be a theme in several of my stories. It runs through "Tales of the Battle," too. -N-

Reviewer: harrynutter
Date: 11/18/10 10:56
Chapter: Summer of '97

Wow, you are great. First, I loved the joke witth Luna and the glass. That is perfect. Second, I love the way you paint a picture with your words. I am going to read all of your stories, I suspect they are each wonderful in their own right. Keep it up, and thank you for sharing.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review and thanks for the compliments. I'm glad that you liked Coli's "Luna" joke. I hope that you enjoy my other stuff, too. -N-

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 06/07/10 12:12
Chapter: Summer of '97

Oh, I love this! This is great! and goes very well with Grave Days! I have a happy tear in my eye after this! Wonderful!!

Author's Response: Thanks Fenella will have her day, though not with poor Colin. N

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 06/03/10 4:55
Chapter: Summer of '97

Hello. Damn! I can't Brit pick and that's my favourite hobby! Neil, I really like your story. I think Fenella is a great character - a Slyth with a conscience and the friendship/relationship between her and Colin is beautifully drawn. I liked your minor characters as well. Zoe was sweet and Anita was nastily bitchy. I am a bit surprised that Zoe was a Slytherin, with her Muggle-born mother, I thoight she'd be elsewhere. I know Snape was a half-blood, but he always seemed to be the exception to me... However, I'm looking forward to reading more about Zoe as her mum would have been in so much trouble. I'm glad Fenella's dad saved her. Colin was amazing. There was a real depth to his character and I forgot when I was reading that he'd died, so your ending was very touching. The use of the camera club to bring them together is a great idea. I do like the idea that not all Slyths were fanatics.

I have a fe nit picks. Seeker needs to be capitalised. It should also be pure-blood not pureblood (at least that's according to the UK books).

Potter’s on the run and Bell is finished school, so Gryffindor will be fielding a younger and weaker team this year. You mean Bell has finished school, not is.

I did like your description of the area they were in. I've not been to Barnard Castle, but I lived in Cumbria for a few years and it brought to mind the Lake District to me. Beautiful scene setting.

Finally, I loved the Spice Girls reference. Sporty and Scary, eh? Ha ha - the clothes were spot on, and well worth the detail you put into it. ~Carole~

Author's Response: Carole Thanks for the review. I did wonder about Zoe’s house, but I wanted her to be part of the Slytherin girls attempts to break into the Quidditch team. I tried to make Anita mostly bitchy, but excitable and fanatical about Quidditch. Seeker – oh no! – Natalie will kill me (again)! I throw myself at your collective mercies and promise to print out the email saying CAPITALISATION and pin it onto my computer screen. Pure-blood is my fault, too. I will correct these (and the Bell issue, can I claim typo for that one?). “Barney” as the locals say, is in Teesdale, the east side of the Pennines and not far from Cumbria and the Lakes. It would be a typical Yorkshire dales market town if it weren’t for the fact that it’s not in Yorkshire. Fenella would, of course have been more comfortable had her cousin allowed her to dress like the tweed-jacketed “ladies of a certain age” she met on the bus. N

Reviewer: witch1561
Date: 06/03/10 3:38
Chapter: Summer of '97

I like. I very much like.

Fenella is an interesting character in Grave Days and your other stories, and it's nice to see this glimpse of her a little earlier. I like your characterisation of her father: it isn't that he's really horrible, because he still protects his sister-in-law, but he won't help anyone else...

I like the comments about girls on the Slytherin quidditch team: it's very true they don't have any and I'm sure there would be good ones.

I actually like all the descriptions of Colin and Fenella together and their height difference - in fact my aunt and her husband have an even bigger height difference and it looks a bit odd at first seeing them together! But there's no reason why short and tall people shouldn't like each other, and I like your depiction of them.

Author's Response: In all honesty I created Fenella for a couple of lines in Grave Days and nothing more. She’s grown on me (and she keeps growing). (-: She appears in the sidelines of several of my stories and it’s about time she took centre stage. She’s not as ugly as she thinks she is, (though her nose is very noticeable) but she has huge hang ups about her height. I see her dad as a basically rather lazy man who finds it easy to blame Muggle-borns for his failure to get promotion rather than the fact that he simply is not hard-working enough to get a promotion. Colin would not have worried about the height difference in the least, Fenella would, so I don’t think that they would have lasted. Thanks for the review. N

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES