Reviewer: Redwing
Date: 02/09/13 15:58
Chapter: Runaway Specials.

LOVE IT. Thanks for directing me here!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for letting me know you read and liked. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Sainyn Swiftfoot
Date: 05/31/11 9:43
Chapter: Runaway Specials.

Yes, this is going to be a short review. This fic was amusing and touching at the same time. The emotions seemed so genuine and it was definitely a very different Draco compared to the person we normally see in fanfic. I'm really glad I read this. :D

Author's Response: BBBBBBBBB! What brings you here? And why my little Draco story? Thank you for reviewing. This was a blast to write. ~Carole~

Reviewer: The Next Dark Lord
Date: 05/07/11 18:42
Chapter: Runaway Specials.

I LOVE IT! Very romantic and funny, at times. Love it, love it, love it!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Glad you enjoyed the story. This started a bit of an obsession with Draco and Astoria. You might like 'In the Stars' which features them. It's not compliant with this, but it has a similar feel. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: LunaLvegoodgirl
Date: 05/01/11 13:03
Chapter: Runaway Specials.

This is a good story but in the beginning i was like "What the heck! Draco is not supposed to marry Daphne!" but i was so happy that Draco and Astoria got married.

Author's Response: Of course he's not supposed to marry Daphne. That was just what his mum and dad wanted. Glad you enjoyed the story and thanks for reviewing ~Carole~

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 12/16/10 11:55
Chapter: Runaway Specials.

Ah, a Malfoy/Greengrass wedding... though yours is far less crude than mine. I've had this on 'Teh List of Doom' for a while now, and when I saw that you'd recommended it in the Drastoria thread in FJ, I decided to follow the link etc.

I will admit, my lips were twitching in amusement in the beginning, mostly because I already knew that Daphne was going to be the jilted bride. I just love how the 'sorry you won't get your wedding, but enjoy the party anyway' part went down. Draco was just so... almost smug as it was happening, because he was the ONLY one in the whole building (including his desired marital partner) who had any inkling that this would happen.

The wedding ceremony itself was great. I liked all the little details about a Celebrant (I must look into that, btw) and the tradition of holding the wedding at the bride's family home. It adds a lovely air of 'yeah, this sounds like how it should happen'.

I already knew about the impromptu wedding participants in Hogsmeade, so there was no surprise there, but it still managed to strike me as ultra-ridiculous from Draco's POV. Only he could have the sort of rotten luck it would take for one to have Hagrid and Mundungus as witnesses, not to mention Filch officiating. I did however love love love Hagrid, being the sort of papa bear making sure that nothing seedy was going on and that they really just wanted to be married.

All in all, charming story, and I'm glad I followed the yellow brick road and clicked the link. Ta for now, dear.

Jess

This review was brought to you by the Ravenclaw Order of the House Elves. :D



Author's Response: Ravenclaw have and Order of House Elves - how sweeeeeeeeet! I hope you pay them. *frowns*

Jess, thank you very much for the review. It was, as you said, a ridiculous situation for Draco to be in, and I'm glad you enjoyed Draco's discomfort. We write very different Astoria's but I think our Draco remains the same - snarky little s*** that he is. I think once I'd decided they'd flee to the Hog's Head, the next ridiculous step to Filch and Hagrid was a given. Just the worst wedding possible, but he gets his girl. And Daphne gets Goldstein - hee hee.

Thanks for reviewing ~Carole~

Reviewer: A H
Date: 07/15/10 15:14
Chapter: Runaway Specials.

LOL. I'm sorry, but a repetitive string of 'ha's, to me, is more annoying. So LOL!

...and Weasley his stomach.

LOL.

Ruddy thing just fell apart in my hand...

LOL.

The exchange between Draco and Astoria after Hagrid and Fletcher walk in... LOL.

Ohhh Carole I really enjoyed this. The title caught my complete attention and I wasn't let go until the very end.

One thing to pick at. Draco tells Astoria that it was only when he saw her that he made the decision not to marry Daphne, but his narrations before that imply the opposite, as well when he thinks humorously to himself that his poor friend won't be able to shine during the best man's speech, implying there won't be one.

Other than that, this was absolute love - and I mean that as in, absolutely everything was lovely. I loved Draco's character through this. The decisions he made were very un-Malfoy-ish but the characterization fully supported what would have otherwise been unbelievable.

Also, truly enjoyed the stark contrasts between the weddings. I knew that his wedding to Astoria wasn't going to be anything more than our equivalent (go to court house, sign a paper, BAM you're married) but the extent to which it went... I was rolling by the Hagrid comes in. Not just because of the circumstances, either, but because of Draco's reactions/narrations to it all.

I did have a fleeting thought of, 'Wait, Astoria's sixteen... how old is Draco at this point?" but it really wasn't too much of a bother and certainly not offensive. I can't imagine he's any more than twenty and four year's difference isn't that big of a gap. Also, Astoria's pregnant. Draco marrying her (and feeling a connection to a child that isn't his) goes so very far beyond the realm of 'wrong' or 'offensive' - in the opposite direction.

Overall I extremely enjoyed reading this. :)
-hugs-
Ari

Author's Response: Draco is 24/25 at this point so there's an eight/nine year gap, which was why I put the note in at the end. Now, shortly after I wrote this, I read an interview from JKR saying that Astoria was only two years younger than Draco, but it was too late to change this. Astoria is now, in my mind, a lot younger than Draco - Sorry JKR! Oh, I see your point about Draco telling Astoria he only made his mind up when he saw her. What I had in mind was that he was actually very confident she'd show up as bridesmaid so they could elope, but he made out to her he was uncertain she'd be there because he's quite manipulative and that's more flattering. (that's what I meant but it probably didn't come off like that) Thank you for the review, and I am pleased you liked Hagrid who I agonised about including. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 06/08/10 19:39
Chapter: Runaway Specials.

Very nice - and very different! So many of us readers and writers imagine Draco as a reluctant groom, unable to truly care about anyone - this was nice to see him actually in love, and actually acting responsible by his unborn child. Of course, he was a complete arse to Daphne, but he wouldn't be Draco if he weren't, would he?
I like the irony of all these rather undesirable acquaintences being the ones to marry him, especially Hagrid. And having Daphne show up at the end (great slap!) was a nice twist, since I would have expected one of their parents - or a far more angry jilted fiancee.
Very original and very well done - good luck! ~Gina :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. I'm glad you liked Hagrid because I hummed and hawwed about him. As Natalie pointed our, all these lovely characters were helping Draco, despite him still being an ungrateful git. The reaction to his unborn child came about because of the Scorpius fic I'm writing. I want them to have a decent relationship. Anyway, thank you, again ~Carole~

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 06/04/10 20:21
Chapter: Runaway Specials.

I love it! this was great!

Author's Response: Thank you very much.

Reviewer: decdraft
Date: 06/02/10 17:35
Chapter: Runaway Specials.

Love it! Sweet and funny - and Filch and Hagrid and Dung! I laughed out loud. And very well written. Excellent work, as always.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm pleased you enjoyed the fic and thought Hagrid a good idea. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Virgil
Date: 06/02/10 15:50
Chapter: Runaway Specials.

Wow - that was fantastic. You know, I thought about entering this challenge, but I couldn't come up with a decent idea. So when I started reading this I immediately said to myself, "Why couldn't I have thought of that?" Teehee. Siriusly, though, this is a wonderful idea for a story and very well-written. I especially like the twist with Filch being the celebrant, and Hagrid and Mundungus being witnesses. The way Hagrid turns to each of them and asked them if they love each other is very well characterized and also very touching. Sorry if I couldn't provide a more constructive review... this one-shot is simply lovely. :) I enjoyed reading it.

Peace,
Virgil

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm pleased you enjoyed Hagrid being a witness as he was the one I hummed and hawed over. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: Ravenclaws Noble Heir
Date: 06/02/10 12:53
Chapter: Runaway Specials.

awww .... its a lovely story ... i live it!

Surihya

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you like it because it was hard to make Draco 'likeable' ~Carole~

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 06/01/10 10:22
Chapter: Runaway Specials.

OHMIPRONGS, CAROLE!



This was brilliant! I was weeping tears of mirth while beta-ing this last night. :D I just thought the whole idea was wacky and unexpected and original, and you pulled it off with such ease.



The characterisation was perfect, the humour just right. Of course, the icing on the cake was the witnesses.



It was a great experience reading this. Good luck with the challenge!



~Natalie.

Author's Response: And of course Jean Paul Golompierre has nothing to do with your review. Hee hee. Thank you, Natalie. I'm glad it makes you laugh in the cold light of day and not when you're ridiculously tired yet still not sleeping *scowls*. ~Carole~

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 06/01/10 9:30
Chapter: Runaway Specials.

GAH! Carole, please stop making me have nice feelings for Draco... I'm laughing at his humor and wishing him well... it isn't right. ;)

I was so surprised that you had chosen Draco. The title made me suspect Remus/Tonks, but this makes perfect sense, too. I enjoyed it all, but my favorite was Hagrid witnessing it... too funny. I think you should follow this up with a scene showing us what happened the first time they met up with his parents. Now THAT would a confrontation. :)

Good luck with the challenge!

Author's Response: It probably would make more sense if it were Remus/Tonks, but I don't think I could have had as much fun. Actually i was quite surprised at how funny Draco could be. He's growing on me ... like a fungus. Thanks for the review ~Carole~

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 06/01/10 7:29
Chapter: Runaway Specials.

That was lovely.
I never thought that I'd be happy for Draco but I am now.
Thanks!!

Author's Response: Well, I never thought I'd write sympathetically about Draco either ... ha ha. Thanks for the review ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Dark Enough To See The Stars by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Scorpius is looking for answers in the constellation that bears his name. He...
The Ties That Bind by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
"Life is short, but this time it was biggerThan the strength he had to get up...
Pearls Mean Tears by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
Now and then I think of all the times you screwed me overBut had me believing...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
CATEGORIES