Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 04/29/13 9:13
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

Oh Merlin this is absolutely brilliant!

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-

Reviewer: turquoiseturkeyz
Date: 06/24/12 0:38
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

Absolutely brilliant! I thought it was most magnificent.

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/15/12 13:29
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

Good to see hermione get that horrible time behind her I always cringe when I read that chapter of dh

Author's Response: Thanks again. I remain convinced that, horrible though it was, it was the final piece of the Ron/Hermione jigsaw. -N-

Reviewer: silverlining95
Date: 01/23/12 21:07
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

Somehow you have managed to make a harrowing, emotive story into one which conveys it in a manner which allows for humour, and is ultimately perfect. The issues of closure for Hermione are dealt with perfectly, and her characterisation is dead on, (though she's a little more daring than in the books, which trust me is no bad thing!), though I guess that daring could be seen as a front for her anxiety regarding the Manor. Long story short, I love this, it's both heartbreaking and hilarious at the same time, and deals with the issues in a lighthearted way which makes it much more accessible. Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Hermione has always had strength in a crisis, but she’s usually been dragged into that crisis by the boys. This is a more mature Hermione, an engaged woman in her early twenties who has been in a stable(ish) relationship for years, and is doing the job she’s always wanted to do. Ron’s encouragement is enough to make her daring (I think it always has been). I did worry about the mix of angst, recollections of torture, and slapstick. But, I didn’t want this to be unremittingly grim.
-N-

Reviewer: Shreeja
Date: 11/25/11 20:39
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

This was an amazing combination of humour and some serious sentiments. I had goosebumps when you described the room and Hermione's flashback. I laughed just as much when the pranks happened. It was a wholesome one shot, and I thought it was well done.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. This story began very seriously, but rapidly degenerated into farce when the Weasley products took effect. The first, serious bit could have been maudlin, but i wanted to concentrate on the better future, not the unpleasant past. -N-

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 03/02/11 10:35
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

The title made me think that this was actually going to be Hermione's diary. LOL, how wrong I was! Still, it was an interesting one-shot. I know how much you hate the Malfoys so I can tell you had fun writing about him!

I know that this was a great way of getting back at Dramione writers for writing Draco as a loving, handsome guy who you clearly don't think he is. Kudos to you for that, because now even my image of Malfoy has gone somewhat hazy.

I loved the way Hermione put up the Galleon with Dobby's picture on it. What I like the best about your writing is that fact that you're so creative when it comes to creating non-canon magical stuff like the Portbooks and Portcards and all of that. It makes things so much more interesting and they're really original ideas.

Nitpicks again: I don't think it’s necessary to capitalise “Good morning, sir and madam”. At least, not the “Good Morning” bit. Also, when you said “Draco didknow” you need a space between “did” and “know”. Maybe, when Hermione goes back in time, you could have the memories in italics?

Finally, I really like how you've given Zabini a backstory after the war. I've always thought his mum was a character -- marrying a toyboy! Anyway, well done.

Author's Response:
Soraya

I dont hate the Malfoys, I hate poor characterisation (and the bizarre idea of Draco Malfoy as a sex-symbol). The Malfoys are brilliant characters. Every story needs conflict, and without the conflict between Harry and Draco the books would not have worked. The Malfoys are capable of love. Cissie loves Draco (she may even love Lucius too). Draco definitely loves Draco (at least he did until HBP).

Draco is a pale boy with grey eyes and pointed features, and thats all we know. JKR gives us very little in the way of descriptions for any of the characters. The Quidditch girls all think that Cedric is good looking, no one else gets rated (apart from Fleur). I assume that Draco is at best, average looking, he was (possibly) the second choice (after Blaise) of pug faced Pansy, who is no great catch.

The Galleon was Lunas idea (in my story Grave Days, but she thought of it, not me) and the Portbook/Portcuffs first appeared in Aurors and Schoolgirls, I re-use my own stuff.

Zabini is the person Im least happy with in this story. This is another one-shot for me to look at again and try to fix your criticisms.
Neil

Reviewer: harrynutter
Date: 11/18/10 9:23
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

YOU ROCK. I love how you fill in blanks and address questions not covered in the books. Keep up the great work.

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 11/07/10 0:00
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

I really loved this fic - it was a nice combination of humour and seriousness. I liked your idea of Hermione returning to Malfoy Manor to face up to her fears/nightmares. I liked the way you talked about everyone who had been in the room at the time she was tortured and how they had changed/where they were now. It showed how she could put things in the past.

Also, spot on characterisation of Hermione and I liked your interpretation of the Malfoy's post-war. All the minor characters (Harry, Ron, George etc.) were also nicely portrayed. I didn't really see how the Blaise of the books turned into your Blaise, however not much is said of him in the books and anyway, the character you created was very believable (even if not entirely IC), if that makes sense.

I liked the Portbook - very creative :).

Oh, one other small thing - you wrote "Grayback" and I'm pretty sure it's "Greyback" in the books.

I probably should stop this long review, but I really enjoyed this fic and will look at your other stuff soon hopefully :).

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

Blaise is, I have decided, the weak point of this story. Youre right that he is not portrayed the way he usually is in fanfics. In my defence, we really see him only once, at the start of HBP and I should really have reread that section instead of relying on my memory. I suspect that I could have made him slightly different. Ginny thinks that hes a poser. That is something to consider when I edit this story (which I will).

I was a little uncertain about the mix of humour and seriousness, too. But I seem to have got away with that.

The Portbook has/will make other appearances in my stories and 9thanks to Ron) will prove to be a moneyspinner for Weasleys Wizard Wheezes.

Grayback! Youre right, oops.

N

Reviewer: kreachers_pet
Date: 11/06/10 15:37
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

If that was fun for you to write - then it was so much more fun for me to read. It was very well written and the title has you thinking of one thing when in fact the story line is another. I loved it!!!!!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm a confirmed canon writer therefore Ron/Hermione is logical, sensible and inevitable. Any story featuring Hermione and Draco will (almost inevitably) include some Draco-bashing. He's a nasty little squit and deserves a lot more bashing than he gets. -N-

Reviewer: BookWorm530
Date: 09/16/10 6:53
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

this story was not what i expected, and thats in a good way! i enjoyed seeing hermione make peace with the events and i liked the humor you added to the situation. i was also relieved that hermione and ron were still together in this story. thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Admission time - this story was written for a Blaise/Hermione/Draco challenge on another site. Needless to say that while strictly within the rules of the challenge, it did not win. Ron and Hermione will always be together in my stories (except when they have argued).

Reviewer: goldylocks1201
Date: 08/10/10 20:27
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

great story, very funny, but it shouldn't be filed under romance. It should be filed under humor. That way, more people can read it.

Author's Response: Ive never submitted anything to the humour category (not because its misspelt (-; ). Ive always seen my humorous stories (this one and Fred and Georges Busy Day) as drama with more jokes than usual. Perhaps I should reconsider. N

Reviewer: Rose Nym
Date: 07/09/10 19:25
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

Sorry for double-posting, I accidentally hit submit before I was done typing...The characterization of the Malfoys was GREAT, actually. I'm really just prejudiced when I read stories about them that contradict my own, but I should leave out of reviews. When I said they could go different ways...I do not think that one of the ways is Narcissa founds an orphanage, Lucius claims perpetual remorse and gets elected Minister of Magic, and Draco decides that everything he believed before was dumb and that he was misunderstood and what he really wants is to pledge undying love to Hermione...:)
About the Dark Mark: When Snape's was invisible, Voldemort was not completely dead yet. If the Dark Mark was a spell, then now it would be gone. But I guess you could argue that it was a curse scar. I don't think so though. good job overall.

Author's Response: I have to agree with your assessment, particularly of Draco. The only person I see Draco Malfoy pledging undying love to is Draco Malfoy (though I dont think that hes as fond of himself as he once was). Well simply have to disagree about the Dark Mark, I still believe that it is both magical and physical (like Harrys scar). N

Reviewer: Rose Nym
Date: 07/09/10 19:11
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

I'm sorry, I should have clarified what I meant a little better in the last review. I also do not think that Draco or either of the other Malfoys are likely to automatically transform into nice people after the battle. I thought their characterizations were good, actually. When I meant that I could see them going in different directions, I mean that there is much to ponder on their fate, and your depiction, while being good, was not the only possible depiction.

Author's Response: Thanks for the clarification. I agree. There are many ways for the Malfoys to go. I see Lucius as bitter, twisted and unable to come to terms with the fact that following Voldemort brought ruin to his family. N

Reviewer: Rose Nym
Date: 07/07/10 20:47
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

Sometimes very sweet and moving, sometimes funny...I loved Hermione going back to face her fears, her thoughts on Ron and placing the picture of Dobby. Some of the humor seemed kind of forced...and I thought the Malfoys were not characterized as best as possible, ok, I'm biased because my fic portrays them slightly differently. I can see them going in many possible directions after the war, and this fic's portrayal of them was definetely better than some I've seen. A slight canon error is that when a wizard dies, their spells are undone, so Draco would no longer have a Dark Mark now that Voldemort is dead, I think. Blaise Zabini was mostly believable, but I would keep in mind that he has said he "wouldn't touch a blood traitor no matter how pretty she was" so having him constantly trying to flirt with Hermione, the Muggle-born, could do with more explanation. I wouldn't classify it as a Ron/Hermione romance, but as a General Fic or a Post-Hogwarts. Overall, writing canon-compliant fan fiction about major canon characters is a very difficult and delicate art and this is one of the best I've seen. Unfortunately, that's not saying much.

SPOILERS FOR PEOPLE WHO READ REVIEWS BEFORE READING THE STORY...

What Hermione's "diary" turned out to be was funny, and more than that, the introduction of the new magical object seemed believeable and likely to fit in canon. I agree with you, Hermione would not keep a diary.

I will probably read more of your work in future.

Author's Response: I was happy with my characterisation of Draco, changed only slightly since the battle. Narcissa barely appeared. Im not one of those people who believe that Draco will suddenly change into a nice person after the battle. In the epilogue Harry and Draco acknowledge each other, but they are hardly friends. If you have any specific characterisation comments, please make them. We could argue whether the Dark Mark would disappear or not. Is it simply a spell, or is it a curse-scar too? I could easily make an argument for the latter. It may be invisible (as was Snapes for many years) but Ithink that it would still be there. The wouldnt touch a blood-traitor Blaise was the son of a very wealthy woman. This Blaise is a penniless orphan. I find writing canon-compliant fan fiction about major characters. I usually write about the major characters and I rarely get criticism about canon issues. (I bet they start now, though). (-: N

Reviewer: msk8
Date: 06/29/10 20:34
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

I like it. It has the right combination of humor and seriousness. I think that yes, Hermione would definitely need to go back, and this was a good fit for it. I thought that Hermione's character was just a bit off though, because she's usually more serious and less likely to support Weasley jokes. She's also not usually quite so forward and bold as she’s portrayed towards the beginning, and I think it would be strange for her to go out of her way to humiliate someone, even if that someone is Malfoy. She’s always the one telling Harry to ignore Malfoy. I also think it is unlikely that Hermione would associate with Blaise if he is usually as rude as he is in this fic. If he was there as Hermione’s assistant, I think she would probably request or choose to have a different person come. But I think it sounds just like George to want to plant pranks on Malfoy. I like the “Uncle Dodo” touch, and the reference to Fred and George’s Busy Day through the Death Eater detectors was good. It made me try to remember whether I’d seen that before. The suspense for “Uncle Dodo” was good. In the beginning, I was rather disappointed that we didn’t get to learn what Teddy called him, but I think it works better this way. Overall, this was a fun read. I liked this, and looking forward to seeing what else you write. :)

Author's Response: The Hermione of this story is 22 years old. Im surprised that you think that shes not usually quite so forward and bold as Ive never noticed her do anything other than be forthright and forceful in expressing her opinions. She did not go out of her way to humiliate Draco, she simply allowed George (and Ron) to persuade her to carry items which would be activated should Draco and Blaise succumb to temptation (which of course they did). N

Reviewer: cddn
Date: 06/29/10 12:09
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

LOL! Excellent! Anti-Dramione indeed. Way to go. Looking forward to more "Aurors and Schoogirls" - not too much longer, I hope?

Author's Response: Anti-Dramione nice phrase. If that's what this is then there should be more anti-Dramione stories in my opinion. I will be resubmitting the next chapter of A&S within a couple of days. N

Reviewer: Kaiserin
Date: 06/28/10 20:34
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

BRI LLI ANT!!!!!

Standing ovation!! Really, really, really good!!! All of it!!

Author's Response: Thank you. N

Reviewer: siriusblackhead
Date: 06/28/10 18:11
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

Loved it. That's all :)

Author's Response: Thank you. N

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 06/28/10 14:30
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

That was GREAT!!! I'm crying from laughing so hard! LOVE IT!

Author's Response: Thank you. I tried to write a serious story, but I just had to humiliate Draco. As the wonderful Captain Mal Reynolds says "I'm a bad man." N

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 06/28/10 12:35
Chapter: The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger

Hello, I thought I'd read this as I was intrigued by the summary and also was experiencing a moment of shock that you could possibly be writing a Dramione - ha ha. I should have known.

I like the story behind this. Hermione does need to face Malfoy Manor after all. I also think your characterisation of Hermione and Draco is good. Her memories of the event and the contrast of Andromeda and Bellatrix were superbly woven into the fic. I also adored the fact that the Malfoys weren't as grand and wealthy as we'd previously seen them. Down on their luck ... nice touch.

I have to pull you up about Blaise, though. I'm biased, I admit, because I write him a lot. However, I really dont think you've caught him at all. In HBP, he's aloof, scornful of women (although there's a hint of something that went on between him and Pansy) and he never once made any suggestive remarks towards any of the girls. He has scenes with Ginny, for instance, and he just glares at her. His mother probably killed seven of her husbands, and I rather think he'd be unable to trust women (and men probably) so wouldn't spend his time making crass comments. I get that this is a few years after the battle and that people change, but Blaise was such a reserved character in the books, even when with his fellow Slytherins, yet here he comes across like Cormac McLaggan trying to grope Hermione. /rant over Blaise (sorry) OOOH, except that 'seeing Blaise in his underpants' would not have traumatized me in the slightest - ha ha.

The inventiveness of the book was a brilliant idea. I love a good Weasley product, and can imagine the fun George and Ron had creating that.

Okay, review over. I did like the story ... just Blaise threw me rather. ~Carole~

Author's Response: Carole This is Dramione, isnt it? Its about the relationship between Draco and Hermione. (-; Ill be honest. Ive never had the slightest interest in Blaise Zabini (though Theodore Nott fascinates me). This story was written (very quickly) for a Draco/Hermione/Blaise challenge on another fanfic site and I did absolutely no research on Blaise. This shows, doesn't it? This story was not (of course) what was expected or wanted by the issuer of the challenge. Ill bow to your superior knowledge of Blaise. I did kill off his mother and leave him destitute. this is my defence against my unlikely characterisation. It obviously still doesnt wash with you, does it? Ah well, I enjoyed writing it. The portkey book is making its second appearance, in a way. The first appearance is in chapter 10 of Aurors and Schoolgirls which has yet to be submitted. Neil

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
A Christmas in Azkaban by shadowkat678 3rd-5th Years
Hope is like a flickering candle. It can be snuffed out, but it can also be...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES