Reviewer: BrokenPromise
Date: 03/03/12 23:09
Chapter: Chapter 1

Being one of the first stories I ever read on MNFF, I couldn't forget it, so now that I have finally gotten round to reviewing it, I just really want to say how wonderful it was. I would say it was good enough to be true, and just as likely. Thank you for being part of the reason I love fanfiction almost as much as the original books.

Author's Response: :O I've just got my connection back. I just saw this. I'm really thrilled you liked the fic enough to return to it and leave such a wonderful review. Thanks!

~Natalie

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 11/07/11 16:00
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow, Natalie. I have no idea how I have never read this story? Good thing it won a QSQ or it might have gone completely under my radar. ;)

You're brilliant, you know that, right? This was just wonderful! Your characterization was simply perfect and yet, you've made such a convincing argument for a Slytherin sorting. I'll never forget the way I felt in reading DH when I learned that he had always intended for Harry to die (though he did suspect Harry might survive). You've captured that here, and I just loved it.

Perfect ending with Snape going down the same road. PERFECT, perfect ending. This was just love. You are so deserving of that lovely award.

Author's Response: :D Thank you for this lovely review. I was amazed by Dumbledore's duplicity while reading DH, too. He truly has a few Slytherin traits in him.

Reviewer: Celinda
Date: 11/03/11 12:08
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow, this was amazing! I especially loved the ending, and you write Dumbledore's thoughts very in-character, in my opinion. I have nothing else to say, this was a great one-shot.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! :) This story just won Best AU at the QSQs so I have been squeeing in general. Your review cheered me up even more.

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 08/10/11 6:01
Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh, very very clever. Of course he is so manipulative and cunning and clever, so Slytherin is a great choice to put him in. And the way this so carefully foreshadows Snape's story is all good, too.

Well done! (6 - possibly or 7)

Author's Response: I do see him in Slytherin a lot. But he was way too bold and courageous and flamboyant, I suppose. Love him in spite of everything. Thanks for the reviewwwww! <3333

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 01/25/11 18:29
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow, Natalie, I can't believe I hadn't read this before now! I am such a failure at keeping up with my must-read list. Argh. Anyway, this is fantastic. Beautifully written, as always, and beautifully structured. I love the way you can write in small snapshots and blend them together in such a way that they flow perfectly. You did this in The Receding as well. What struck me was where you placed Albus' sorting. I love how you didn't place it as the beginning, but left it until you had exposed Albus' character enough to make his sorting justifiable. You built and built his characterisation up until you finally revealed his sorting.

That is another thing which you mastered. You managed to make this a completely plausible AU. You haven't changed Albus' character in the slightest, merely focusing on the parts of him which would place him in Slytherin rather than any of the other houses. It makes me think that, yes, he could well have been a Slytherin. There is the underlying current of Albus' belief, or rather faith, that the end must justify the means. If that wasn't true in his mind, then the struggle between his conscience and actions would be so much harder for him to bear. He will do what is necessary for his desired outcome even if it means the loss of an innocent soul.

It is necessary, Albus told himself, even though the thought alone hurt him.

This, I think says it all. You’ve captured his character perfectly. It is truly Dumbledore and yet, you have portrayed him in such a way as to lend his characteristics to that of Slytherin. And what you have the sorting hat say rings so true. It doesn’t matter whether or not the end is noble and moral and just, Albus will still do whatever means necessary to get there. And he does, as we all know.

The comparison between Dumbledore and Snape that ran right through the fic was also a nice touch. It created a sort of balance between the canon of the fic and the AU. When you think about it, as you obviously have done when writing this fic, Albus and Severus are both rather similar in certain aspects, and I think that Dumbledore saw a bit of his young self in Severus.

Anyway, I’ll stop rambling now. This turned out to be a lot longer than I intended but I am so glad that I’ve finally read this fic. It is a wonderful piece of writing and your exploration of the characters was truly insightful. I hope we can discuss this in the SBBC!

Greenleaf x

Author's Response: “There is the underlying current of Albus' belief, or rather faith, that the end must justify the means. If that wasn't true in his mind, then the struggle between his conscience and actions would be so much harder for him to bear.”

I completely agree with this. In fact, it is the idea upon which the story was built. I was shocked when I found out that he had known Harry must die in the end. In fact, I was shocked about a lot of things that Albus did – allowing Harry to face Riddle in first year, leaving him with the Dursleys and not bothering to remind them of his warning to Petunia all those years, etc. Yes, whatever he did had a grand reason behind it, and the end itself had never been useless, but he didn’t care much for the means. In fact, Albus could be very unfeeling if circumstances required him to.

That said, Albus is still my favourite character. It is impossible not to love him.

There would be similarities between Albus and Severus, although Severus was far more unloved than Albus ever was. Both had to deal with unrequited love, both had to prove themselves, and both had mastered the art of concealing their ulterior motives. It was an interesting thing to write about.

I’m glad you liked the structure of this fic. You see, I wouldn’t have expanded the original drabble if you hadn’t asked me to in my thread at TTB. I thought the drabble itself was compact and didn’t need any further elaboration. It was quite a task attempting to turn it into a one-shot. I am very, very grateful that you encouraged me to – it has been well-received, and is one of the fics I am rather proud of.

Thank you for this wonderful review, Julia! I actually squee-ed when I saw it.

~Natalie

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 11/18/10 2:26
Chapter: Chapter 1

The name and summary of this fic really caught my attention, and I absolutely loved this fic. Your characterisation of Albus was spot on - I could imagine him being like that at age 11. I think he's an interesting character, because although he seems to have left the idea of "For the Greater Good" behind, what he does to Harry seems to follow that ideal exactly (if that makes sense.)

I also loved Snape in this story and the way you connect Dumbledore and Snape as being far more similar than you would think initially.

Author's Response: Hello!

Oh wow! Finally, one of my summaries worked. ; ) I usually tend to be bad in this area so you have cheered me up.

Albus is my favourite character, but he is cunning. There is just no way around this, you know, and ultimately, he was raising Harry for slaughter.

Thanks for your reading and review!

~Natalie

Reviewer: FawkesToTheRescue
Date: 09/24/10 14:37
Chapter: Chapter 1

Woah! I was totally not expecting that, Natalie! WOW!

I thought for sure, whenever I read the summary that this would be a story about Severus Snape. Which was okay, of course, because I love him. But it would've been maybe a little cliched, but still sort of original.

But of course, this was the most orignial, fascinating Albus piece I've ever read. You made the thought of Albus Dumbledore being sorted into Slytherin so realistic that when I'm done writing this review, I'm going to go on the HP lexicon and make sure he was in Gryffindor . . . . .

I think that the when you have a first and last paragraph that show such contrast, it would naturally be hard to flow the piece together and make it feel complete. But you did AMAZING! In the first paragraph is Snape thinking he doesn't want to do what Dumbledore says. But in the last paragraph you've got Snape going out to defy the Dark Lord in order to obey Dumbledore! This is just what makes this piece so, so, good! Oh my! I just loved this.

I really liked your concepts and your little twisty and your last sentence. It's very conclusive and perfect.

Another fine job!

-Megan

Author's Response: Megan, Megan! You brighten up my day. Okay, night as well, since it is 2 a.m. here. :D:D



Yikes! I was worried people would think it was a Snape story, but I couldn't think of a more appropriate summary, you know. BUT I am so happy you at least gave the story a try. Yay for that!



I have always thought Albus DumbleD (I've plenty of nicknames for this wonderful old man) as having Slytherin tendencies. He's a bit of a Machiavelli in how he uses people, although, of course, he does it for the "greater good".



I'm glad I managed to convince you about my theories. Now, I shall happily bask in the glory of your compliments. *basks*



~Natalie.

Reviewer: the fetal positon
Date: 08/18/10 21:21
Chapter: Chapter 1

This is a brilliant little story. I had to read it twice to fully absorb what you were trying to say, and to fully understand what exactly was going on, and that only makes me think that it is even more brilliant. Your characterization was just perfect for everyone; you know how to portray a character's personality with only a few words and that's a very hard thing to do. I love the Sorting Hat scene! This is definitely going in my favourites. Well done!

Author's Response: YAY!



This is a great review indeed. I am glad you liked my roundabout fashion of story-telling. The Sorting Hat is my favourite, too. :)



Thanks again! You made my day.



~Natalie.

Reviewer: Analyn Grint
Date: 08/18/10 10:13
Chapter: Chapter 1

I really enjoyed reading this view of things. In a lot of ways, you stayed true to the way things were really told. The story was informative, yet entertaining, and it was well told. Thank you for sharing this possibility with us!

Author's Response: Hey Analyn!



Your review makes me smile. I wanted to explore the Slytherin side of Dmbledore while using canon events. So, your telling me that it worked definitely makes me happy. I was also a it skeptical about the flow because I was expanding a drabble which already had a disjointed structure, so YAY! Thanks!



~Natalie.

Reviewer: hermionegm
Date: 08/16/10 20:15
Chapter: Chapter 1

just one word...Wow!!!

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you liked it. ;)



~Natalie.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 08/16/10 13:33
Chapter: Chapter 1

Dumbledore's actions are somewhat Slytherin aren't they?

Author's Response: Yep! He's a pretty tricky character, though I must say his Gryffindor qualities outweigh his Slytherin ones. I wrote this for a challenge called the Re-Sorted Challenge, where we had to choose a character from canon and sort him/her into a house which he/she wasn't originally in, and this seemed like a nice idea to explore.



~Natalie.

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 08/14/10 13:37
Chapter: Chapter 1

That was cool. :) They way you set it up totally made sense that Dumbledore would be Sorted into Slytherin. Of course, one could argue that he was brave enough to do what had to be done, and that's why he was Sorted into Gryffindor. Are you going to write more? Like, how Dumbledore reacts to being in Slytherin? Or will the story shift to Snape? Because the end ties to that nicely, but I'd like to see more of Dumbledore too.
Very nice little AU here! ~Gina :)

Author's Response: Egads! I would love to write more of this, but I dunno. My brain has been consumed by PI so much - lol - and also, my huge syllabus for the first MA semester, I can't think of anything 'fanfictionly'. :O But...hmm...you got me thinking. Hehe. Thanks for reading and reviewing!



~Natalie.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES