Reviewer: Hermione Jean Weasley
Date: 01/13/12 21:32
Chapter: Part One-The Night Before

I love this story so much it's one of my favorites! You are an amazing writer I love your work. I also really loved how the characters were portryed in this story, wonderful job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I've written quite a bit of J/L since this story, but it's still one of my favorites--even though it's just a lot of talking, lol. I'm so glad you enjoyed it, thank you so much for reading it. I really appreciate the review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: unjellify
Date: 07/17/11 20:24
Chapter: Part Two-The Day After

Wow. I loved James in this story--well, I always love James, but I loved your characterization of him. The contradictions he has to face as a person who cares deeply for and worries about the people he loves, but also a courageous person who feels compelled to go out and fight Voldemort, were portrayed very well. I thought Lily's realization that he was more serious than he had been and she needed to treat him as such was realistic too, because essentially growing up with him for the past seven years might well have caused her to treat him the same even as he matured. Lastly, as a diehard J/L shipper, I always welcome a bit of fluffiness between them. :)

After reading this and some of your other stories, I can see why people call you the queen of James/Lily!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the amazing review! I appreciate the title as well, though there are loads of other good J/L authors around! :) I really do enjoy writing them, however, and I really appreciate you reading this story because even though it is short, it's one of my favorites. I have a soft spot for James, even if he is being sick on Lily. ;) I'm glad you appreciated both the serious parts as well as a little bit of fluff. Thank you again for the lovely review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Jupiter13
Date: 06/17/11 4:34
Chapter: Part Two-The Day After

Aw. That was really sweet. Well done, really!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm glad you enjoyed it because this is one of my favorites. I appreciate the review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 06/09/11 7:03
Chapter: Part Two-The Day After

Wow, Gina, this has to be one of the best fanfics I've read. It's such a beautiful story with the most wonderful characterisation. I loved the way you wrote James, it felt fresh but just so... right. You say in the end notes that you wanted to explore a deeper side of James and you truly excelled at that. And the way that Lily comes to see a whole new side to James was paced so well. I really feel like you built this wonderful journey for the two of them even though it's over a relatively short time.

Everything about the fic is perfect--the characterisation and pacing and flow, I loved it all. This is certainly going in my favourites.

Julia x

Author's Response: Er, one of the best?? Wow, thanks Julia! You really are on a J/L kick, aren't you? Hee hee, do I sense another OTP coming your way?? They are fun, aren't they? I love writing them. I loved writing this. I was up in the middle of the night once with insomnia and Natalie came on and said something about James getting drunk and I said - ooh, can I borrow that idea? And this came out. I was in a big dialogue phase then, lol. I'm glad you liked it even though it was really just a lot of talking! Thanks so much for reading this, your reviews have made me want to keep working on the story I started a few weeks ago, heh heh. Thanks again! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: BloodyWhiteRose
Date: 06/05/11 19:33
Chapter: Part One-The Night Before

beautiful, I loved this. I love how you made just the right amount of angst, romance, and real life worries. The thing I appreciated most though, was that it wasn't rushed. You don't know how many fanfics I've read where the author rushes the story when the story doesn't want to be rushed and ruins everything. But this was perfectly timed, I just fell in love with it. I haven't had my story approved yet (because I just submitted it) but I do write, in fact writing is a big part of my life. And for my experience with writing I understand that stories sort of grow on their own. A good story is sort of like a plant- you plant the flower, you give it fertilizer, you water it, and put it in the right amount of sun, but in all truth, it's the plant itself that grows, you're only helping it. It's the same with writing. You create the characters and the scenery and you set all the vague details... and then you let your story grow.

I don't know your writing style, but whatever you do it's brilliant. You obviously put time and effort into your work and that's awesome.

I do have a few things I didn't entirely like (nothing's perfect I guess). While the story itself wasn't rushed, I find it a tad unrealistic that James and Lily would simply start dating overnight. However, I have always believed that in her heart of hearts, Lily has always loved James so maybe one night would be enough to make her realize just how much of a man the boyish James Potter can be. So that isn't really a problem. Although in some ways I think Lily was OOC, I really think you did a good job.

So there's my terribly long review- I hope you keep writing and I hope you always write like this :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the amazing review! I'm so glad you enjoyed this story. What's funny is that when I first wrote it I was worried it was just too much talking and not enough action. I'm glad you appreciated the pace. I loved writing this piece, because I really enjoy writing dialogue, for one. And it was just one of those conversations I could picture so clearly. As for James and Lily starting to date overnight--well, I think you said it yourself when you pointed out that perhaps that one night is what it took for her to realize that James was worth giving a try. I'm sure there were hints before this, too. ;) As for Lily being a bit OOC, I tend to think that for characters we don't know much about, if you support your own characterization within the story, it will work. Which is why I like writing James and Lily so much - there is wiggle room for adding little twists here and there. ;) Thanks again for the review - no worries as I'm still writing and have no lack of ideas for stopping! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Luna_Lover
Date: 12/04/10 15:06
Chapter: Part Two-The Day After

Gina,

I love your fluff. And if you had written two hundred fifty-seven versions of James and Lily's relationship, I would read them all. I like how this story is written from both characters' perspective, giving both their thoughts and inhibitions about the future. I think you balance the fluff in this chapter with just enough seriousness. The mutual awkwardness and confusion throughout most of the conversation is especially realistic. Awesome work!
~LiLu

Author's Response: Two reviews in one night - thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed this one. It might be one of my favorites of the J/L binge I've been on since spring. I could just see and hear the first scene so clearly, I'm glad that seems to have come through. A lot of J/L stories (my own included) don't often address the darkness that was building at the time, so it was really interesting and challenging to try and address that. Plus it was fun to write James a bit inebriated and hungover. ;) Thanks again for the amazing reviews! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: lily_death_flower
Date: 10/10/10 0:17
Chapter: Part One-The Night Before

this is really good. the idea of it is so simple but the writing so deep. i was inches away from tears. ur characters seemed to real.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it and found it so real. I really enjoy writing this couple so I'm glad people like reading about them. Thanks again for reading this, I really appreciate the lovely review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 10/01/10 14:50
Chapter: Part One-The Night Before

Oh Gina! You know how I feel about this fic.

*Perfection*

I have gushed so much in my review already. And now, I will be honest with you. I was worried how you would add to that; I knew you'd do great, don't get me wrong, but I was scared of expecting too much from someone.

AND YOU EXCELLED AT IT!

I seriously love your J/L. I could read them over and over again. This one was different because of the drunk! James approach, and how you wrote him so well. And Lily is so...believable and relatable. She seems really good for him.

The irony is the seemingly level-headed Lily learning so much from a drunk James, from the men who, even in his sober thought, she would never think of being anything less than immature. You executed that very well.

*I can only gush*

The ending was fabulous! This story makes me feel all warm and mushy inside. You have reaffirmed my love for this OTP.

Brilliant! Brilliant! Brilliant!

~Natalie.

P.S. I think you should put this up on lilyandjames.

Author's Response: Natalie! I'm so glad you came to read the final product! Thank you for the amazing review. This was all thanks to you, you know. Your status update, remember? And I stole it one night when I couldn't sleep, lol. I'm glad the second part lived up to your expectations, since I hadn't really planned on continuing and you know I had trouble with the end. The last line finally came to me and I'm glad it's finished. It was great fun to write. I don't know about brilliant, but I'm rather pleased with how it turned out, given it's nothing but talking and no plot, lolol. This will forever be my OTP but I think I should maybe start branching off, don't you? I will break them up, mark my word! LOL! Thanks again!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 10/01/10 14:18
Chapter: Part Two-The Day After

"Game?" she asked, eyeing him curiously. "I guess so. Our game." She seemed to think about it. "I like it, our game," she offered. My utter, utter favourite line that just about sums up the whole 'thing' between James and Lily. OMP (adfoot) You have so totally caught this pair. I'm shamefullyfangirling you because you've done this superbly in such a short story. Okay, I had reservations about Lily last time, but here, she's just brilliant. Hmm, I said that was my favourite line but then they went and kissed and I was laughing with them, (and crying too because they're going to die) Damn it, I'm all sad and happy now. I need to get back to some good old James/Lily.

Gina, sorry for the rubbish review, but this is just ... love. I am adding to favourites. *sob* ~Carole~

Author's Response: Ah, I'll take a rubbish review like that any day! Thank you so much for reading the second part. I'm really glad I could get them right (especially considering I hadn't really planned on continuing.) It took me a little while to really figure out the very end. Your comments about Lily did make me think and I fleshed her out just a tad here to get it right. Did you see my use of 'clever dick'? Was that okay? Thanks for that! And thank you so much for the lovely review, it really makes my day. ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Hopes Mom
Date: 09/30/10 20:41
Chapter: Part Two-The Day After

So sweet and such a satisfying end. James has such along uncomfortable wait for his happy ending. I almost cringed with him in his discomfort. It was really touching to see his fears, hopes and dreams. Thank you!

Author's Response: You're welcome! :) Thank you for the lovely review! Your last one really got me thinking about things and so I'm glad you liked how everything turned out. Thank you so much for reading my stories, I really appreciate your reviews! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: littlewolf
Date: 09/30/10 20:17
Chapter: Part Two-The Day After

very nice!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: lilyfan
Date: 09/24/10 20:11
Chapter: Part One-The Night Before

you really did give me a whole new perspective of the lily and james love story. usually in all the other stories of when james is in his seventh year, he usually is either still immature towards lily evans, or sooo mature that he quickly vows his love to Lily Evans! in this fanfiction he was described to be mature but does not hastly tell lily his feelings. Also, in this fanfiction you created the perfect lily evans- soft-but fair and smart. The only flaw about her is her gullibilty. nonetheless, you're fanfiction is absolutley one of my favorite fanfictions!!!!!!!! you are a wonderful writer. i know...this is my third or fourth time commenting on this story..hehe :))

Author's Response: Another one! Wow! Thank you! I think what's different about this for me and my writing is that there is not very much humour, and I often think (or write) this couple with more banter. This was a chance for me to try and step away from that - like you said, no immature pranks and certainly no endless declarations of everlasting love. I'm starting to like the more subtle approach (although I've done the fiery one as well, lol) I'm really glad you liked this Lily, I have some doubts, but I like her too. I should tell you I've been on a bit of a J/L binge the last few months, and if you check my author's page, my last several stories have all been about James and Lily, just different approaches. I'd be honored if you found one you'd like to read. Thanks again for your lovely comments on this one! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: lilyfan
Date: 09/24/10 20:00
Chapter: Part One-The Night Before

this is my third time reading this story, it's really good. the details you added in, the structure of the words and everything is soooooooo good in comparison to other fanfictions i've read. you really grabbed my attention. I love it when in the text it stated "..But he had just revealed his deepest fears, and somehow that bit of vulnerability made him that much more attractive. She found herself wanting to take him in her arms and hold him so that his fears might settle." That line made me compare Lily to me...because sometimes I..kind of want to help some guy out and help him or even kiss him to make him feel better- even though in reality i wouldn't really do something so impulsive.

Author's Response: Wow, a second review! Thank you so much! I'm really thrilled you've read it three times. To think I've been sitting on this for a few weeks, wondering if I should submit it, lol. I like the line you picked, I think it gives a reason for Lily changing her mind about James. There really *is* something about knowing a person's vulnerability that makes you view them differently, reach out to them. Why not James and Lily? Thanks again for the review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: lilyfan
Date: 09/23/10 21:22
Chapter: Part One-The Night Before

wow, i really like your fanfiction. it's positively going to my favorites! The intensity of it all!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Yes, it is a bit intense at times, and I'm glad you found it that way as I wanted it to be very emotional at times. Thanks for reading this story, I really appreciate the lovely review and hope you enjoy the rest! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: tc100292
Date: 09/19/10 0:37
Chapter: Part One-The Night Before

Hello!
This was a very very enjoyable first installment and I am eagerly awaiting the second

I love your characterisation - you endowed both characters with vulnerabilities that make them more understandable and loveable.

Their intereaction is very well written and wonderfully shows the chemistry that is bound to exist within the pair.

I especially love the way you have James address Lily about his feelings for her, so desparate yet honest at the same time, I think it is a great portrayal of his character, and shows his developing maturity towards the feelings he harbours for her. And her understanding of this showcases how she has grown up too.

It's all very sweet,
I really enjoyed it :)
can't wait for the morning after!
good work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the amazing review!! I really appreciate all your comments. One, because they make me smile, but also because you picked up on something I really wanted to come across: James's vulnerability and his fears for the future. That was really the entire point of this scene, just to showcase James at a very crucial point in his development, as he matures into the adult we know fights for the Order. And I love trying to balance that with all the other aspects of his character that we know (or think we know) as well as pair him up with Lily and see how it all affects her and their interaction with each other. I'm working on the next part and hope to have it ready soon. Thanks again for the lovely review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Hopes Mom
Date: 09/18/10 11:02
Chapter: Part One-The Night Before

Loved it. As the mother of a teen and preteen I might wish that James wasn't so drunk but I well remember the emotions of leaving high school and college and entering the real world to be an adult. I see how his condition was perhaps the only way for Lily to hear his fears. Thank you for writing - I enjoy all your work!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad you liked it. You know, I honestly hadn't thought about how James being drunk might not be the most morally responsible characterization of him for younger readers (my own is only three!) He is eighteen at this point, and as you said, on the cusp on adulthood and dealing with a lot, and yes, it was what got him to open up to Lily at the deepest level. I am now wondering if I could've gotten him to that point without the Firewhiskey, hmm. I am glad you still enjoyed it and really appreciate the review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 09/18/10 10:50
Chapter: Part One-The Night Before

GinGin!

How come I didn’t know this was up?

I am so happy you put it up here. :D It is brilliant, Gina! If there’s anything I seriously envy about you, it’s how you can write simple, character-based stories with just a few conversations going on, and yet they are wonderful to read and hold so much meaning.

Your characterization of James and Lily is just…I can’t describe it. You do it so well, so effortlessly. Both of them are no longer the two-dimensional characters we see in fanon. They have conflicts, they have personalities.

But the best thing about your J/L is the chemistry between them. See, this is why James and Lily work; this is why they are meant for each other. Both of them are passionate, but not overly so. And Lily cannot help but like James, no matter what.

There are so many parts in this story which I loved, but my favourite part is:

"Stop staring," he stated very clearly. "She is not feeling very well and I am merely helping her back to her dormitory."

Hahaha!

Really love this fic, GinGin, and I can’t wait for the next chapter.

~Natalie.

Author's Response: Natalie! Thank you so much for the review!! And the idea. :D I hope the title is okay for you. I can't wait for you to read the next part, once I finish it. Still not sure how far to take it, we'll see. I really appreciate the lovely review. It makes me feel a bit more confident about the story, which is really just one big long talk, lol. Bo-ring! ;) I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for reading it over - I hope you like the next part! *hugs* ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 09/18/10 2:30
Chapter: Part One-The Night Before

Hello,

Yes, it's me! Had to read your story because a) it's J/L and I'm on that ship and b) it's written by you. *beams* I like this. I love the premise, and James comes over as wonderfully tortured and very different from the irresponsible prat we usually see. James, in fact, is wonderful here. You have a great understanding of his character.

Your writing as always is wonderfully descriptive. I adore the scenes by the lake and when he's swimming. The plot too is good, simple but very effective.

I do have a nit pick or two (sorry) Sirius's uncle died. Apparently he was also blasted off the family tree, so Sirius was keen on going to pay his respects to a fellow black sheep." Sirius in OOTP says Alphard was blasted off the tapestry because he left him some gold. So, I don't think he'd have been blasted off at the time of the funeral because wills take a month to process according to Hermione and Scrimgeour.

The other thing was that I was unsure about Lily here. She came over as very naive about what was happening in the world. She's going to be in far more danger than pure-blooded James and Sirius, despite them being blood traitors and fighters. Yet she seems almost disconnected from what is going on in the outside world. As a witch who has a real connection with the outside world due to her Muggle parents, in my opinion, she would be far more aware than those who were brought up solely in the magical world. At one point I wanted her to get really angry with James because he was banging on about his worries, whereas she's the one who faces persecution. I'm not saying that James didn't have a right to moan because I think it's clear that he was worried and scared for all the right reasons - including his concern for her. James, as I said, was bang on the money, but Lily felt a bit off in places.

Damn! I feel mean now, because I genuinely loved the story. It flowed well, and had a great story. The moments when he was puking were so funny, I was so pleased he didn't try to kiss her - ha ha ha. I can't wait for part 2.

~Carole~

Author's Response: Hi Carole! Don't feel mean, lol. I appreciate the review and am just glad you came to read this. I really, really enjoyed writing it. Do you remember when Natalie's status said something about writing a drunk character? That's where I got the idea. I don't mind your nitpicks. As for Sirius's uncle, I will reread that bit in OotP. I can tweak that line easily. I still imagine him being a bit of a black sheep (ha - I just got my double meaning, lol!) but perhaps he wasn't blasted off until later. Easy fix, that's why you are the timeline queen! :) As for Lily...hm. I can totally see your point, that's for sure. All I can say is that I deliberately wrote her that way because I wanted them both to be slightly different than usual - ie, James with his fears for the future, and Lily with her slightly naive but hopeful plans for the future. She is ready to move on, excited to be starting her own life - she doesn't share James's trepidation about the future, she's far more positive. I guess that comes across as ignorant, but she doesn't see it affecting her in terms of having to fight like James does. Talking with James makes her realize just what life post-Hogwarts will be like with the war. I address it in the next part but I'll be sure to flesh it out a bit so she is more the character readers know and recognize (even though she is in my head - just got to get that out.) I hope that makes sense, and I hope that you enjoy the next part and how things resolve. Thanks so much for reading this story and leaving such a nice, detailed review! I really appreciate the feedback!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: madhumakhi
Date: 09/17/10 23:11
Chapter: Part One-The Night Before

I like this story, how Lily's and James' relationship changes overnight. I also like the face that you have given James a lot of depth.

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for the review! That was really one of my big goals here, to give James some depth with all of these worries and fears, and to instantly change the dynamic between them through this scene. I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Thank you so much for reading it and for a lovely first review! ~Gina :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES