Reviews For Over A Mug of Tea
Reviewer: jlemon
Date: 11/08/11 13:31
Chapter: Chapter 1

Have these exchanges been as fun for you as they have been for me? I can't help but feel that I'd get along with you in person!

Author's Response: Oh yes! Like I said before, they brighten up my beige existence. :D Maybe we would. I actually am a canon shipper, you know.

Reviewer: jlemon
Date: 11/08/11 3:10
Chapter: Chapter 1

I feel a bit bad that most of your feathers got ruffled for no reason. I wasn't calling you, the author, a bastard. Rather, I was using a quote from your own story!

"That proved she was aware of what had occurred, and Harry found that that was adequate; they may not have done the right thing, but they had done nothing wrong. It reassured him, and saved him from labeling himself a bastard." I was using Harry's own thoughts; maybe I shouldn't have paraphrased your story. Thanks for the baseborn tip, though, I'll make sure to keep it in mind!

The fact that so many of your friends would have no problem going behind each other's backs makes me wonder how you can trust them so easily. Good for you, I guess.

I have no problem with you writing whatever fanfic story you want, but I have the right to express my opinion through a review, don't you think? Also, even though I did not insult you like you thought, it's nice to see your true colors come out when someone disagrees with you. It's not pretty! I'll make sure to only tell you things you want to hear from now on, as you seem a bit senstive to criticism. Some (unsolicited) advice: If you are going to share your work with others, you can't expect everyone to like it. The fact that you are unable to stand a criticsm from ONE reviewer really leaves me at a loss.

Once again, sorry for the great deal of aggravation I seem to have caused you. But if I provided you with a release so that you didn't have to scream like this at someone in real life, I'm glad!

Author's Response: I love your little snark there. Really, I do. Exchanges like this brighten up my otherwise beige existence.

Hmm. Let's see. I didn't say those men were my friends. So, there is no reason for me to trust them or distrust them. It was an observation.

You seem to realise that I thought you were directing your wrath towards me. Excellent! Yet you wouldn't allow me to respond the way I did? Not so excellent. I get crit for every single fic I have written, and if you care to read my responses, you will realise that I receive crit very, very well. In fact, I crave crit just as much as I crave praises. However, I do not tolerate obnoxious reviews. I’ve got one or two of those in the past and I’ve never responded kindly. Clearly, I mistook yours for one and I apologise for the tone of my response.

But I won't let you go that easily. ; )

First of all, your comments were confusing. To be honest, it still unsettles me that you were talking to a character using the second person.

Secondly, it was not so much a review of my fic as it was a tirade against a character. In that case, I'd rather you didn't continuously contradict yourself by saying that you were still criticising the fic.

Thirdly, you have every right to express your opinion, but you might want to do that in a way that doesn’t flummox (another word I love) the author, or anyone else passing by! I’d have appreciated your meaning better had you said: The Harry in your fic was so and so, and I don’t like him.

Fourth, and this is very important, mind, you did NOT cause me any aggravation. I enjoyed responding. I did it so with a smile. Yes, I am that twisted.

My true colours! Ah. Suffice it to say that a full-blown analysis of my true colours might fill several volumes. I could be a twenty-six year old she-demon, a fifty-year old man who just got his first grandchild, a ninety year old transvestite from Iceland. Really! It’s a dark and murky area, and I strongly discourage people from straying into it.

Last, and by now you have probably understood that I was grinning ear to ear when I was drafting my previous response. If you want to feel accomplished, please do it because you made me happy, and not because I used your review in order to let off steam. Screaming at people … Sigh! I wish I could do that. I’ve heard it can be effective. Will probably try it someday. There is only so much snark and a basilisk stare could achieve, right?

Thank you for clearing the air, though. I loved responding … again. I noticed you had left another review for The Substitute. He he he.

Natalie (Yes, this means you can tick off one of those three options.)

Reviewer: jlemon
Date: 11/07/11 5:29
Chapter: Chapter 1

Nice try at rationalization Harry, but you did do something wrong, and you are a bastard. I'm a male, and trust me when I tell you that to go behind your friend's back with said friend's girl is THE absolute worst thing you can do to that friend. It is grounds for an immediate severing of the friendship--even if the friendship is saved, it will never be the same. 95% of men will feel the same way. The fact that Harry hid it from Ron and Ginny, and lied to them about his feelings, makes him a selfish coward as well. I'm glad this didn't happen in canon; I have no respect for this Harry whatsoever.

Author's Response: I am glad you left me this review. I have been pining for someone to leave me a review that would force me to sink my claws into their skin (virtually, of course) as douchebag reviews seem to be doing the round lately, and you have given me an excellent opportunity! So, allow me a moment to gather my thoughts; I want to enjoy every moment of this. :)

Nice try at rationalising Harry - Thank you!

I did something wrong - Yes, I did. In a sense. Promiscuity is something 'bad' by definition. But did I do something wrong by writing it in a fanfic? No. Does my fanfic affect Harry and Ginny’s canon married life? No.

I am a bastard - My birth record begs to differ. By the way, you might want to try “baseborn” next time. I find it so much cooler than “bastard”.

The next part of your review leaves me to conclude that this has happened to you personally, or to somebody you know. As for your blatant conclusion that "95% of men will feel the same way", that is nothing but gross generalisation. I can easily respond that 90% of men I personally know would have no problem whatsoever cheating on their friend to sort out their feelings, and a whopping 75% have actually done it. Were they traumatised by it? No.

However, I did not set out to lament the fact that men and women can cheat on their lovers. This was fanfic about Harry and Hermione, exploring possibilities of how their relationship could have gone down a different way. As a fanfic writer armed with a disclaimer, I have every right to write their story whichever I want. And I say this as a die-hard canon shipper.

"even if the friendship is saved, it will never be the same" - True. I am not completely sure you read the whole story, because the later part does show things are not the same. Something has changed between Harry and Hermione.

"The fact that Harry hid it from Ron and Ginny, and lied to them about his feelings, makes him a selfish coward as well." - Yes, it does, but does it make him the most evil person on it? No. Human beings act like selfish cowards at some point or the other in their life. Both Harry and Hermione preferred their lovers in the end and returned to them. Why would Harry tell Ron and Ginny about this when he isn't even sure what the hell happened? It isn’t like that kiss didn’t have its repercussions on him and Hermione.

“I'm glad this didn't happen in canon; I have no respect for this Harry whatsoever.” - You are still aware you are reading fanfic, aren’t you? While the last sentence seems to suggest you are, the intensity of your aggravation appears to suggest otherwise. I have two advices for you: one, learn how to close a tab. No one is forcing you to read a fanfic. You certainly won’t get a PhD out of this. Two, read the story summary and notes carefully next time. That way, you can avoid getting into a story that could get you so worked up you’re prepared to leave a completely immature (yet grammatically bearable) review.

Thank you for surviving this fic! You might want to read The Substitute, also by me.

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 08/10/11 5:55
Chapter: Chapter 1

Can you stop making this plausible, please?

*giggle* - I enjoyed this story, surprisingly. Well, not surprisingly because you wrote it, but because of the pairing. You gave enough of a hint that this pair could work as a couple, and yet they stopped because of Ron. I'm sort of discounting Ginny because Harry was single at the time.

I really enjoyed that this was a reminiscence. Harry as an old man being patronised by his kids was very well written. Great job. ~Carole~ (5)

Author's Response: Heeheehee. I think that's the last time I'm writing Harmony. Really ... Ahem. I am glad you liked Harry being patronised by the kids. I don't want to get old, though. >.< Thanks for the review! <3333

Reviewer: cjbaggins
Date: 11/27/10 22:18
Chapter: Chapter 1

Aww. We get so philosophical as we age, more contemplative, I think!

A good fic. Although a die-hard canon shipper, nevertheless enjoyed the little glimpse into this 'hidden memory' and 'what might have been' musings.

cj

Author's Response: Die-hard canon shipper here as well. ;) This was written for a friend who ships Harmony. But I am thrilled you liked the musings. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Natalie

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 11/22/10 22:29
Chapter: Chapter 1

Ooh, this is absolutely stellar. It was so sweet and innocent, hardly even a blip on the radar, but it changed everything for Harry. It's unbelievable how well you've spun this perfect little tale, woven in and out of canon, and the characters are unmistakably themselves.

I suppose this is a story about people changing, which is the entire premise of why I love Harmony so much. I never believed that they were attracted to one another during the books, though there were times that it was possible, but as people move on later in life, as we both know, things that mattered to us before don't matter anymore, and things that had never crossed are mind are coming to the forefront. The very idea of Harmony for me is based upon this idea of people changing. 

Very, very lovely fic, dear Natalie. Heart heart, favorited.

~Jess



Author's Response: I suppose this is a story about people changing

exactly! I wanted the story to be less about what happened that night, than what it meant for Harry as a person, and what it meant for his relationship with Hermione. It is something that happened without any planning, and I think that was what scared him the most.

Possibilities, eh? ;)

Thanks for such a lovely review. I shall now bask in the glory of my success, as both you and Julia have given this fic your seals of approval.

~Natalie

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 11/21/10 14:55
Chapter: Chapter 1

Hmm...interesting. I'm glad to see that this wasn't one of those stories when wrinkled Harry starts snogging equally wrinkled Hermione totally out of the blue or anything. Before HBP, I was always a Harmony shipper, and it was only after DH that I realised that they just weren't meant to be. But even in DH the movie, there were so many Harmony moments, it was unbelievable! And they even bigged it up a bit more than what it was like in the book, too. Plus, when you see Harry and Hermione snogging their faces off in front of Ron, well...let's face it, I reckon David Yates is a secret Harmony shipper too. Anyway, your story was really good, even though most of it was mainly musing, and what could've happened. I appreciate the fact that you killed Ginny and Ron off first, so I don't feel as guilty about Harry's thoughts. And, I suppose I'm making excuses for him about the fact that he was drunk at the time too. Anyway, I'll stop rambling now. Fab story, keep it up!!

~Soraya~

Author's Response: Ahhh! Fandom will always accuse Steve Kloves and David Yates of being blatant Harmony shippers. Lol.

. I appreciate the fact that you killed Ginny and Ron off first, so I don't feel as guilty about Harry's thoughts. And, I suppose I'm making excuses for him about the fact that he was drunk at the time too.

This made me laugh. :D Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Natalie

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 11/21/10 14:26
Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh, Natalie! *squiggles* This is so beautiful. This is one of the best Harmony fics I've read and that you wrote it for me is so so so special. I'm grinning from ear to ear right now XD It was so heartbreaking seeing Harry as an old man, alone, but I loved the way you incorporated the memory. I like Harmony to be on the line of canon like you have done - Hermione still loves Ron and Harry still loves Ginny yet the two have this do-they-don't-they connection... gahhhhhhh. It was brilliant. I feel like squeeing out loud, again. I loved your characterisation. The little pieces of humour and banter between them felt like they could have been written by JKR. And the ending was so bittersweet. Sighhhh.

Thank you, Lafonna. This fic means so much to me :)

Author's Response: YAYAYAY!

While its lovely to get reviewed by other people as well, I honestly wouldnt care if the whole world hated this fic as long as you liked it. :D After all, it was written for YOU!

To be honest, I did a lot of brainstorming the night I was contemplating the pairing. In the end, I wanted something canon-y, something quiet and subtle, as Gina says below, because (a) I dont think Harmony is the kind of pairing that suits the cheery, the fluffy, or the lets just go down and have hot sex without rhyme or reason kind of approach, and (b) I had a feeling youd like quiet and subtle. ;)

I dont honestly know why I started off with old and lonely Harry, though. It made me very sad writing him in that situation, butI think it paid off. I wanted the moment to be significant and have some sort of an impact on Harrys life. So, the story was not about the moment in itself, but the questions it raised.

Is this response longer than your review? :D I dont know how to end it. It feels silly saying Thanks for reading and reviewing because lol you had no choice but to read it in the first place, and it isnt really a review, is it?

SoGlad you liked it. Its all that matters. And HAPPY BIRTHDAY, once again.

~Natalie

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 11/21/10 13:11
Chapter: Chapter 1

That was really nice, Natalie! It was quiet and subtle and completely believable. It was sad to see Harry in his old age, especially since he's lost so many friends and family. So bittersweet by the end! You set up their kiss nicely, but I think my favorite part was their reaction: the one liners and the laughter. So in character. Very lovely fic! ~Gina :)

Author's Response: It was quite saddening to write old and lonely Harry. :( But Im so glad you found them in character. The mere thought of writing the trio makes me tremble. Id sooner write Umbridge/Filch, you know.

Thanks for reading and reviewing, Gina!

~Natalie

Reviewer: leftrightmiddle
Date: 11/21/10 10:09
Chapter: Chapter 1

I occasionally read Harry/Hermione fics, but the summary on this one looked to good to pass up! Very nice job!

Author's Response: Thanks!

I usually suck at summari3s, so its a good thing to h3ar this on3 work3d. ;)

~Natalie

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
MIT: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
Through the Mines by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Tom Riddle remarks on the power he held while at the orphanage and at school.Written...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES