Reviewer: HermioneJean1
Date: 06/14/13 10:35
Chapter: A Visit From Father Christmas

Awww
This is really cute. I couldn't sleep so I had a potter marathon. First read the books, then watched the musical now reading the fanfics. You're a really good writer. But I think you should write more romione and hinny. Again well done

Reviewer: Writ Encore
Date: 12/14/11 22:03
Chapter: A Visit From Father Christmas

Gina,

Altogether now,”Awww!” This has got to be one of the best Christmas stories that I’ve ever read. Well, Dickens’s ‘A Christmas Carol’ is a favorite out of tradition. I read it every Christmas Eve. Oh my God, this is knocking on the door as a close second. The idea is so original, so original, it stands alone. The defenses are really, really good, and I love how James counters them, and Teddy just counter back, thinking like a little kid and back to his childhood. The disguise “ well, that’s a really good move. That floors me. Of course, I’m a year late in reading this, and my apologies, though I’m glad that I got the chance to read it. How in the world did you come up with this? It ties in so smoothly, with, like, everything. (I’m sitting nodding all the way through reading this!) The Charles Lewis thing “ clever. It goes from being a cute story to something that makes those of us who have forgotten Father Christmas to sit back and remember when we did believe. Like I said, this was a nice gift to be buried in the archives, and, I’m sure most of this is incoherent because halfway through I was speechless. Very, very nice. Thank you.

Jenn

Reviewer: Cheshlin
Date: 12/08/11 18:28
Chapter: A Visit From Father Christmas

Gina,
I just got around to reading this, and you did a GREAT job! Being a Tonks/Remus fan, reading Teddy is my favorite Next-gen thing. I love the heart and soul that you gave to Teddy, and I think it came off as a great story and not sappy at all. :) Thanks for the warm fuzzy feeling.

Cyns

Author's Response: Hi there! Long time no see! Thanks so much for reading this. I'm really glad you enjoyed it, however did you find it?? I remember that you liked Remus/Tonks. I've written them twice recently and really must say I find Remus a wonderful character to work with. Thanks so much for the lovely review, hope you are well! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 03/22/11 4:11
Chapter: A Visit From Father Christmas

I really enjoyed this fic! I know it was written a while ago, but I was on your author page and it caught my eye. The ending was quite unexpected!

There were a lot of things I liked about this. Firstly, I loved your Teddy. There was a lot of Remus' giving nature and Tonks' creativity and bubbliness in him, yet he remained his own person. I loved the excitement you showed in the fic too, and Teddy's enthusiasm was almost catching.

Great job with Harry's kids too, I loved Lily particularly - she's at that wonderful stage where anything is believeable. Albus acted like a typical middle child - wanting to be 'grown up' like his older brother, but still wanting to share in the fun of toys like his little sister. And I just loved the dialogue between James and Teddy - you almost had me convinced there!

Just a little note - one time you wrote "Domonique" when it should be "Dominique".

I loved the idea that you made Father Christmas real in this fic, particularly as you started out with Teddy pretending. It was a nice twist to the fic. And I can totally imagine Teddy becoming a future Father Christmas; he's so selfless and sweet.

I think something else I loved about this is that you showed the Potter/Weasley clan having fun together. To be honest, I get a little bit sick of the stories in which their family is falling apart - I mean, I know it's not realistic that they live 'happily ever after', but I'm sure there were moments like this when everyone was perfectly happy.

Anyway, I will refrain from going on too much... loved the story :)

~Katrina

Author's Response: Thanks so much Katrina! I'm so glad you enjoyed this story. This is not the first time I've written about Father Christmas as a wizard, because I quite like the idea. I'm glad you enjoyed the fluff factor, since it is a bit fluffy but yes, there are a number of stories out there where the next generation does fall apart. It makes for good drama, I think. No worries, I have a plot bunny that tortures them too, lol. ;) Thanks so much for reading this holiday story and leaving such a lovely review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: keara96
Date: 01/01/11 13:55
Chapter: A Visit From Father Christmas

Well written and very sweet. I always like reading more about Teddy. The characters were all very real and loveable. Nice job and Merry Christmas!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I appreciate the compliments. I'm really glad you enjoyed this story, especially if it is about a character you like - I haven't written about Teddy much I'm glad it worked. Thanks for leaving such a nice review, I really appreciate it! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 12/31/10 19:34
Chapter: A Visit From Father Christmas

I loved this!!

Author's Response: I'm glad! Thanks for reading it - and as always, I really appreciate the review and knowing someone enjoyed it. ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Hopes Mom
Date: 12/27/10 14:42
Chapter: A Visit From Father Christmas

How sweet - I loved the story! Teddy is one of my favorite characters and I, too, think he would be a great Father Christmas. I didn't notice who the author was until I read the reviews and I should have guessed it was by one of my favorite authors because it was soooo good1 Thank you for writing!

Author's Response: You are welcome, and thank YOU for the review! I'm glad you liked this. I haven't written Teddy very much at all but somehow this story just seemed like HIS story. I really appreciate all your reviews - thanks again for reading! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 12/26/10 13:42
Chapter: A Visit From Father Christmas

What a great Christmas story, Gina! It's very sweet, but still substantial, and full of Christmas spirit. It was such a nice surprise when the real Father Christmas showed up, though I kept waiting for the logical explanation. (/Hermione) I'm so glad there wasn't one.

Nice idea with the time-turner as a means for round-the-world delivery of toys!

Thanks for this... it was a fun read.

Author's Response: Hi Lori - thanks so much for reading this! Your Hermione remark is funny. A logical explanation? For something so magical? Nah, why spoil it. ;) Although, I did have to think things through, and having written about Father Christmas once before, I wanted to keep a similar idea going. Off course he was a wizard, and yes - wouldn't a time-turner work well? Thanks again for the lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed it. ~Gina :)

Reviewer: locanena
Date: 12/25/10 12:12
Chapter: A Visit From Father Christmas

Omg what was really good

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for reading and for the lovely review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 12/25/10 4:48
Chapter: A Visit From Father Christmas

Gina!!!! This is wonderful. What an absolute delight to read on Christmas Morning. Just so sweet (but not saccharine) and heart flippingly gorgeous. This is perfect the perfect Christmas story. Well Done.

*small nitpick* Victoire Weasley roller her eyes and went into the kitchen. I think you mean 'rolled'. But that was all. I just loved this such a lot. Ahhh, in Christmas bliss.

MERRY CHRISTMAS, GINA!

love ~Carole~

Author's Response: Hi Carole - a belated thank you for the review! I'm glad you liked the story, since I had my doubts. I'm doubly glad it wasn't saccharine, because that was what I was worried about. I don't know about heart-flippingly gorgeous, but it was fun to play with this idea. Thanks so much! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: h_vic
Date: 12/25/10 2:35
Chapter: A Visit From Father Christmas

This is just lovely, Gina, and the perfect read for Christmas morning. It's left me with a warm, cosy, magical Christmassy feel, a big smile on my face and a little bit of belief in Father Christmas. :o)

~Hannah

Author's Response: A belated thank you, Hannah! I Thank you so much for reading this story and for such a lovely review. I wasn't sure if this story would come off as sweet and fluffy or eye-rollingly sappy and stupid, so I'm glad it brought a smile to your face! I really appreciate the review! ~Gina :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES