Reviews For Modus Vivendi
Reviewer: Dracoisbeast
Date: 03/19/12 2:58
Chapter: Denouement

Wow, it was a really unique writing form but I actually loved it. Well done!

Author's Response: Again, thank you. You're too kind. ^_^

Reviewer: secretpal1505
Date: 11/17/11 18:54
Chapter: Exposition

Another great story Lia! I have to admit that after my last (and I know… extremely long review) I promised myself I’d try to cut my comments short… I just like to over analyze sometimes :)
But it is almost impossible not to do so with you!!

I loved how you managed to take a very casual subject as a writer’s block and turn it into such a great detailed story, you did a wonderful job portraying the images most of us happen to come across when experience a situation like that.

I never pictured Draco as a teacher to be honest, it’s the first time I’ve come to a story like this one and I agreed at first with the arguments he had about it, but your reasoning was also valid and because of that, I had another one that can come in hand ;) he, as well as Theo, which was also another great character that brought quality humor into the story, didn’t want to follow his father’s steps and wanted to get away from that sordid life style as far as he could.

On the other hand, you took the same original idea to make her a teacher, good a good sense in the plot though this one was close to be plausible and you portrayed her very close to the canon , so confident yet shy when it comes to new situations… you made her very human.

The plot is very well structured, and I really liked it how you got everything around it well involved and you twisted it so witted for the readers, I was hooked up very well…

AND you gave us what we always look for in a romantic story… the sort of fluffy romantic scene (kiss included) though you don’t make it very clear whether it did really happen or not, it was wonderfully and brilliantly written.

Lia, once again I have to say you are such an amazing talented writer, and I look forward to continue reading your stories… But I have HAVE to ask… How is the sequel to Prelude to an Affair coming along?? Because there IS a sequel…right?? Please!!! You have to keep up with that story… I’m dying to read it!! :P

{{Hugs}}


~Connie,

Author's Response: Wow, what a fantastic review to come back to. I am completely humbled by your praise and extraordinary attention to detail. People like you are who I write for and I greatly appreciate your support. Thank you so much. ^_^ ~Lia

P.S. The sequel to Prelude will most likely be posted in the spring. I want to have it finished before I start posting so that I can post a chapter every week. :D

Reviewer: lunaforever
Date: 08/16/11 13:07
Chapter: Denouement

you have a real talent....

Author's Response: Thank you kindly. ^_^

Reviewer: mylifeisgranger12
Date: 07/19/11 19:44
Chapter: Denouement

what a cute story! im glad the finalky kissed! and the way they both had the same dream, unless that really happened? its cute how the whole time they talk about how much they hate each other, when really they wanted to kiss. brilliant!

Author's Response: Yeah, Draco and Ginny are adorable like that. :D I'm glad you liked the story. Thanks so much for reviewing. ^_^

Reviewer: halfbloodnoob
Date: 06/05/11 13:01
Chapter: Denouement

omigosh u krazy n such a tease! no fair >.< lol luvd it

Author's Response: I know. I'm horrible. But don't you love me for it? :D

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 05/03/11 2:14
Chapter: Denouement

Wonderful, Lia. Just really, really creative, funny, clever, original, well-written, witty... need I say more?

I don't think I've ever read something quite like this, and I just love the resourcefulness of taking writer's block and trouble with characters and turning it into something as fabulous as this. I commend you on giving this a go, too, because I imagine that if not done well, it would really be a mess. So good job on being brave and trying something different.

Just a few little nitpicks - Draco should have left well enough alone and went back to sleep. - It should be "gone back to sleep".

On the chesterfield sits the blond and the redhead - it should be sit, because it's plural.

Anyway. Very minor things. Loved the fic. Oh yeah, I loved the uncertainty about whether or not the dream happened. Just added something extra to this already amazing fic.

~Katrina

Author's Response: Aww, *blushes* thank you. You're too kind. And thank you for pointing out the SPaG errors. ^_^ This fic was just one of those things I wrote whilst having writer's block, so it kind of worked out. Ha. I wrote the whole thing in less than a week, and the entire time I thought, 'This is crap, but it's fun!' Hehe. So, thank you so much for such a lovely review. It really made my day. It's always nice to hear that I wrote a creative fic. :D ~Lia

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 04/21/11 9:16
Chapter: Denouement

Lia, I read this ages ago on my iPod and kept meaning to come back and review. Sorry about that! This was such a fun read. It was so incredibly original, from the story to the format. I loved Draco in this more than anything, and Theo was great as well. You really bring Ginny to life well. I guess I don't have as strong an image of her adult self in my head to really say whether she is in character or not, but I like the spunk you always give her.
I particularly liked the many twists in this last chapter, from Ginny wandering out to the lake to the source of the dragonpox to her realizing perhaps that kiss was real after all. That last one was the best, and really set up the last scene as they snogged away. Very sweet.
Great story, Lia! I really enjoyed it!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: Oh, Gina, no need to apologise, you sweetheart. ^_~ I'm really happy that you enjoyed both the format and the storyline of this little fic of mine. Writing double narratives that break the fourth wall can really be a hit or miss in most cases. Luckily, mine was, for the most part, a hit. ^_~ Draco was especially fun to write in this - as I tend to focus on him more than anyone usually - because I got to show his more human side while keeping him "Draco". He doesn't fall in love with Ginny or vice versa, which is why this wasn't in the Draco/Ginny section. Hehe. I did, however, hint at the possibility of a kiss. I'm just a little scamp, and a closet romantic at heart, I guess. Needless to say, I'm so very glad that you read and reviewed this, as your reviews always bring a goofy smile to my face. Thank you, Gina. ^_^ ~Lia

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 03/29/11 16:00
Chapter: Denouement

The ending came too soon. :D I really enjoyed this story. The ending left room for hope. I can see Ginny and Draco getting together in another one of your stories, especially if Theo has anything to say about it. I don't know if the author can put up with them through another story. It's hard when your characters can't behave themselves. Great story.

Author's Response: Yes, it was a bit of a short story, but I'm glad you enjoyed it. I really wanted to leave the ending open - so that non DG fans could interpret it however they want. In my mind, it was a comedy first, a romance second. I figured the Draco and Ginny harassing the author could have their whirlwind romance with no valid explanation for it. Lol. :D As for Author, she'll get her revenge. ;) Thank you so much for the review, love. ^_^

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 03/17/11 12:24
Chapter: Falling Action

Seriously, I think you should give Draco a period:D Maybe he'd stop complaining, although I doubt it. Now you have me wondering if Ginny brought Dragon Pox in, although she comes from such a large family it would seem that she would've caught it when she was young. I know that's what it was like in my house when I was growing up. I loved the added touch of Draco sneezing sparks. I'm sure he's thinking back to how his grandfather died from DP. Excellent and I can't wait for the next one.

Author's Response: I'd love to give Draco a period. Actually, I'd love to give certain men a period just to shut them up. Lol. Sorry I've taken so long to reply to your review. Works been hell. I'm glad you liked this chapter, and hopefully you'll like the next one too. :)

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 03/14/11 16:56
Chapter: Climax

I truly envy your ability to write so visually. I could just picture the scene at the Quidditch pitch so perfectly, it was amazing. The short interjections of the author were highly amusing. I look forward to seeing how Draco and Ginny fare in quarantine. ;)
Great job! ~Gina :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Gina. You are far too kind. I hope you like the rest of the story, as the last chapters are finally posted. ^_^

Reviewer: Daughter of the Light
Date: 03/12/11 18:28
Chapter: Exposition

Oh my goodness, I'm still laughing hysterically about the conversation between the Author and Draco at the very, very end. And Draco's abrupt desire to change the subject. This is so well-written, I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hehe. Draco does have his moments and Author is really starting to have her revenge. You're not quite sure who to root for. :D Hopefully the next chapter will be up soon. Thanks so much for reviewing. ^_^

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 03/01/11 17:01
Chapter: Climax

Another brilliant chapter, although Ginny and Draco probably wouldn't agree since you have them both stuck in a hospital room in matching hospital gowns. I loved their Patronuses, although you had me praying that you wouldn't give Draco something ridiculous:D A wolf is very respectable. I wonder if Ginny will have a chance to Bat-Bogey Hex Draco. Excellent chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you thank you. I think I have always seen Draco's Patronus as a wolf: it displays his solitary and predatory nature with the deep-seated loyalty to his family. For, as much as we view a wolf as a solitary creature, it isn't. Hopefully the next chapter will be validated soon. It's been in queue for two weeks.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 03/01/11 11:13
Chapter: Rising Action

Whatever rash people are getting actually sounds kind of pretty. I can't imagine having strange colored dots on my body. I loved the "receding hairline" threat. I'm sure that would get any Malfoy's knickers in a knot. I'll bet Draco doesn't like this chapter any better since Ginny is written almost as a heroine:D I really love your take on this, with the characters interacting with the author. Very innovative. Excellent chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you approve of me knocking down the fourth wall for this fic. It really paralleled my struggle with having to write a fic within a deadline and with writer's block. This just kind of happened, and I think it turned out for the best. :D

Reviewer: darrencriss
Date: 02/27/11 13:50
Chapter: Climax

When will you post more?

Author's Response: It will be up whenever it's validated. ^_^

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 02/23/11 8:45
Chapter: Exposition

The alert for this new story was hiding in my junk mail. I just found it this morning. At first, I didn't like how it was going. Then I realized that it was you, the author, facing a deadline and writer's block and arguing with your main characters to cooperate so you'd have something to write. I loved how Draco sounded--so professional, so snarky (kind of Snapelike but still himself), so handsome:D I think Theo Nott is right--this will be quite an adventure. Excellent job.

Author's Response: Lol, I always love how you figure out what I'm writing about and why. I seriously did have a deadline fast approaching AND writer's block. So I thought I'd break down the fourth wall for inspiration. I think it turned out not too bad. It did win the Most Creative award, as well as Best Fic Overall. ^_^ As you know, I loooooooooooove Nott. Love him dearly. I need to write a fic just about him one day (besides my anthology of drabbles). Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! (I'm on a sugar highhhhhhhhhhh). ^_~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 02/20/11 17:17
Chapter: Rising Action

This is wonderful! I hope you get more reviews! It's devilishly clever, for one, and so well written. There are so many different things going on - the bit with the Author, the story at Hogwarts, Draco's tale, Ginny's Tale, THEO - that it could be overwhelming, but it's woven together so well. As always, your Draco/Ginny dialogue is brilliant fun to read.
I like this last bit at the end that hints at the prompt setup. What an original way to attack it. Looking forward to more!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you, Gina. ^^ I had a lot of fun time writing this. Needless to say, I relate quite a lot with Author - don't we all? :P And Theo... yeah, I had to include Theo 'cause he's my new favourite character. ^_^

Reviewer: iwishicouldwrite
Date: 02/19/11 20:54
Chapter: Rising Action

this is an interesting concept, their banter is hilarious! looking forward to more :) by the way are you going to bring harry/ron/hermione into this?

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you're liking it. It's more of a Draco/Ginny story; however, it is not a romance. I had a week to write this, so it's not as evolved as I would have liked. So, not H/R/Hr. :(

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 02/18/11 23:45
Chapter: Exposition

I'd be more coherent now, but I'm tired. You've been warned.

This is absolutely clever. I don't know how you did it, but you've taken a completely ridiculous circumstance and made it utterly riveting. I want to watch this movie, read the book, and buy the DVD. It makes me lol very much.

The way you wrote it is slightly madcap and florid, but it works so well that way. It adds to the overall predicament.

Oh, and I love that it was in Draco's POV. That is a great place to be. :D

Wonderful fic. Me likey.

~Jess



Author's Response: I have been warned. Lol. I'm glad you like it. When I got the prompt, I was like "how can I make this different?" And as I was trying to get my characters to work for me, they wouldn't. So I thought I'd write about that process as well as the narrative itself. Yay for double narratives, right? Hehe. Thank you so much for the review, Jess. ^_^

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES