Reviews For Wild Card
Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 09/05/11 21:18
Chapter: Just Say Yes

That was certainly...different. But I still love your style and your ability to make characters feel real. Anytime I get to a point where I'm searching for new stories or authors to read on this site, that is one of the biggest factors in whether I like the story/author or not. And you do it incredibly well.

Author's Response:

My trade in fan fic is very much writing something different than what's out there. While it is a bit of a bizarre pairing, I find it to be my personal mission to make it work and make it believable. I hope I did that at least, hehe.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~Jess

Reviewer: locanena
Date: 08/20/11 1:11
Chapter: Just Say Yes

LOL NICE

Author's Response:

See, our boy Oliver has a sense of humour. He MIGHT be joking about the split thing, but the world may never know. :D

Thanks for reading, and I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

~Jess

Reviewer: Maple_and_PheonixFeather
Date: 05/29/11 15:59
Chapter: Just Say Yes

Someday I will leave you a fantastical review but today I'm too :O at reading this (and actually finishing a Jess fic) that I just can't even get the brainwaves to actually give a good review going. I thought that this was fantastic (I love cross-gen relationships). I loved how your really didn't describe Oliver, meaning I could picture him however I wanted, and that you gave just enough description of Roxanne. The profanity was also handled really well, as it wasn't in your face, but integrated in such a way that it was believable, and as it would be normally. This was a wonderful fic, in all.

Author's Response:

Hehe, I was surprised you got past the swearing, but being in tune with the world of athletics, I can tell you for sure that there is farrrrrrrrrr more cussing amongst athletes than pictured here, lol.

About their relationship, I wanted it to be sort of hinted at in the beginning, but still be an oh-em-gee moment when they do finally let the sparks fly. They're both intense people, and it makes for some even more intense fic. 

Thanks for reading, dear, and I'm glad you liked it. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 05/07/11 11:14
Chapter: Just Say Yes

Well, I know that this is more than a month overdue, but happy birthday, Carole!

In fact, speaking of Carole, when I duelled her for that 5 words duelling challenge thingy, I asked her what the wildest pairing she'd read, and she said it was Oliver/Roxanne, by you. I just had to go and read it. And I'm so glad I did. I mean, I loved that Dean/Hestia story you wrote and I thought that topped my favourite rarepair stories list, but Wild Card is joint first with it, because it was just so good and just completely unheard of (in a good way, of course).

Your characterisation of Oliver was just...lovely. Honestly. In the books, he's described as maniacal, definitely, and it's amazing how you managed to chnage that so he's matured, especially after having such a difficult childhood. You filled him with regret, regret that he took out as defensiveness and (occasional) harshness. I used to think that the characterisation of Oliver is never very well done in fanfiction, but your story proved me completely and utterly wrong, and I'm very happy for that.

So often, Oliver is shipped with Alicia or Katie or Ginny or someone in their generation, but never next gen. Kudos to you for taking on such a wonderfully bizarre pairing, this time with a much bigger age difference than Hestia and Dean. It's a commonly-used scenario and yet you gave it a fresh twist, I think, by using the characters you did.

And now...onto Roxanne. Since she's practically an OC in terms of her character, I think you did so, so well in fleshing her out. I really understand where she was coming from with the whole drink thing, and it saddened me to hear that she seduced Logan by plying him with drink. At the same time, though, I think it's realistic, because George would definitely have had to cope with Fred's death, and I suppose everyone has a coping mechanism. Plus, one thing that really, really annoys me about some Post-Hogwarts fics is when they make everyone out to be happy after the war, when in reality, so many lives had been taken that it was inevitable that there would be grief and darkness and depression. So I'm glad you addressed that, not only in this story, but in others, like VoJP. (On that subject, I've heard that it's had/going through a revamp. I might have to give it another read when my exams are over :D)

The storyline was great. I really liked the beginning bit, when Oliver was getting sort-of fired and then hired as a coach. I think he was a great coach at Hogwarts, so it's completely plausible that he would become the coach of his own team.

Now, as someone who really, really hates any kind of sport, I've never fully understood the rivalry in football, cricket, snooker, tennis, or -- more importantly -- Quidditch. But after reading this, I think I understood why playing a sport is so very important to certain people, and I reckon this story has taught me to stop complaining when my brothers are so obsessed when the footie's on telly ;)

I absolutely adored the chemistry between Oliver and Roxanne. You could see it from the very beginning, when Roxy first started training with Oliver. I don't know how I can describe it without sounding cliched, but it really seemed like there was some kind of spark between them from that moment. And it was really nice how Oliver slowly started to realise that he was more than a little attracted to her, first by taking her to dinner, then walking her home, then his jealousy when he found out that she'd slept with Logan...yeah, I think you nailed it.

This should be the point, really, Jess, when I say something to improve on, but for once, I honestly can't think of any faults. There were no grammar mistakes (I can't remember ever having to point out an error for you) and I can't think of any way for you to improve your characterisation, because it really was perfect here. So I shall bid you adieu now, after saying thank you very much for writing this wonderful, amazing, fabulous, beautiful and just-smutty-enough story, as I was definitely in the need of some good Jess-written fanfiction after revising for my exams.

~Soraya~

Author's Response:

Lol, where am I supposed to start?

Well, first off, how about kudos for a lovely and organised review. It's always nice to get some feedback on fics that I love, so yay for that. :)

One thing I knew when I decided over an AIM convo with Gina (we were both brainstorming ideas for Carole's bday) was that a cross-generational fic would have to be done right. I just couldn't cork plotholes with smut as most other rarepairs tend to do and call it good, since the theme is, as we've discussed this month, rather controversial. 

What I wanted to get from Oliver was the underlying need to be around the game but a maturity that comes with age and 'been there, done that'. I don't know if you caught it or not, but I very subtly referenced parts of Carole's Drowning, Not Waving in this story, with both the details about Oliver's dad and his long ago love. Since that's one of those things that everyone seems to have read, I was hoping someone would catch onto it (Carole did, lol). Doing that gave him a deeper dimension and maybe a bit of explanation for his slightly maniacal behavior when it came to Quidditch.

Furthermore, what I truly needed to get across was that Oliver was more ready to move on from the sport than he realised. He just needed Roxanne to show him that at the midpoint of his life, some things just didn't matter so much as just being happy -- something Oliver had never truly allowed himself to do.

Roxanne, well... she's a pistol. She's sharp, defiant, competitive almost to a fault, and driven to be the best. More or less, she's like her mum with an understated layer of George's cheekiness. Also, she's probably the one person on the planet who could truly commiserate with Oliver with his own dad's problems, because her dad was a bit of the same. And maybe they needed each other just a bit. 

I have always been and always be a complete sports nut. I love almost all sports, or at least just following them a bit. I can sit in front of the tv and watch ESPN almost any day, so I'm pretty versed in sports culture. When I do write about Quidditch (which I will fully confess that I don't particularly care to write, lol), I try to incorporate as many things as I can to make it both a genuine sports experience as well as entertaining enough to hold someone's attention who may be just skim reading the action bits. I'm glad that the gameplay was done so you as a non-sports fan could both follow and not get bored. It's a challenge sometimes.

Anyway, my response is getting rambly and all that, so I'm going to cut myself off. Wonderful review, and I'm glad you enjoyed my story and my characters. *hugs*

~Jess

Reviewer: dahtonen
Date: 03/26/11 22:55
Chapter: Just Say Yes

Another work proving just how talented you are, Jess!!!!! Somehow you have made the idea of a man Oliver's age being with a girl half his age a little less creepy! Still a little creepy because as you know I have daughters approaching Roxy's age. So I guess my opinion is kinda expected! Wow I feel old! Anyway, still a very well thought out and presented story. I always love how you really get into the characters mindset in your stories. And you have the gift of relaying that to the reader with such ease. ( Sorry, that probably didn't really make sense.) Never been a huge Oliver fan (this didnt help...Ha!) but I am a huge fan of YOU! Keep up the great work!

-David

Author's Response:

Hello again!

I'm a fan of any character whose story isn't set in stone. There is just so much that can happen within the bounds of canon to give characters life. I like Oliver for that because he's an athlete, and I'm an avid sports enthusiast. I just get the way he thinks. I might even see some of him in me.

At any rate, I'm glad you liked the story, despite its aspects that you don't particularly relish, and as always, thank you so much for sticking with me, even as I flit from story to story in a madcap effort to keep it all going. :D

~Jess

 

ALL HAIL CAROLEDEMORT

(That's the birthday girl, hehe.)

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 03/26/11 18:10
Chapter: Just Say Yes

All right, I read this several days ago and am finally about to leave my 500th review! YAY!

What a great story to mark the milestone. :)

Seriously - you so got the better deal out of that AIM conversation we had. I'm so envious of how you (and Natalie) bring minor characters to life so effortlessly. And then make me believe in a rather random ship so quickly and easily! Guh! Amazing!

First, you developed their relationship through the game and their psuedo-date so very well. And then to bring it crashing down when Oliver had to pull her out - so very you, lol. And SO very dramatic. I could SEE that scene in the locker room happening. I sort of thought there might be some lips crashing together at that point, but was glad there wasn't because the twist with Logan was even better.

The scene in the shower was just so dramatic as well. Damn Oliver for being such a gentleman! And yet, it made for a lovely little self-sacrifice when he quit, which lead to a delicious bit of smut. You really do that so well.

Once again you have this romance with a strong plot. I am envious. And to develop it all so quickly is truly amazing. And to make me believe in this ship - Oliver and Roxanne, with such an age difference! - is yet even better. I'm sort of curious what happens to them, yet this was so good and fun it's okay to not know whether or not they stay together and make lots of little Wood-Weasley Quidditch stars. ;)

Great story, twin! And welcome to The List!!
~Gina :)

Author's Response:

But you got to write COUGAR FIC!

Anyway, as you know, my imagination can take off with just about anything and paint it at least a LITTLE plausibly. I honestly had no idea how fast I'd fall for this pairing. They're threatening to break into my top five ships. And for a ship that I'm reasonably certain didn't exist a week ago. XD

Heart you, Twin, and I may or may not be swinging by your author page soon. *coughspewcough*

~Jess

Reviewer: Kaiserin
Date: 03/23/11 16:29
Chapter: Just Say Yes

Happy birthday to you!!!!!
I think the only way to get a better present it to actually BE Roxane! Or Oliver, I guess, if you are a bloke!
Gods!!! This was SUCH a great story in so many ways!! Loved it!! ^^,
Roxane and Oliver... not a pairing I'd have envisioned. But certainly one I mightily enjoyed in this story. The fireworks you crafted between them popped up from the screen, literally! I think I got a third degree burnt over the scene in the changing rooms. Brilliant!

Author's Response:

This was one of my strangest pairings, which actually surpassed Dean/Hestia Jones. The idea popped up in my head because I was trying to think of something shocking, and lo and behold, I thought, "Hmm, this could work. And Carole will love the smutty bits."

Thank you for reading, and I'm glad you enjoyed the story. It was sooooo much fun to write, and I hope to maybe write them again.

:D

~Jess

Reviewer: Writ Encore
Date: 03/23/11 9:42
Chapter: In Between Days

Okay, leaving the first review in a long, long, long time for this. A friend suggested it, and, since she knows me like a book, I read it. I am completely amazed by the way that you write this sports voice. I'm sports illiterate myself, outside of football, so, yeah, that's impressive.

It was a quick read. You had a point and you drove it. Haven't read any of your Kate/Oliver stuff because I'm rarely popping in without a suggestion, but this was rather. Yeah, knowing sports follks, I wonder what they're going to do after that wanes, You can't play, though I'm not going to lie, you can make a killing doing this and get scholarship, but you can't do it forever. You've made Oliver so much more than a pretty -faced boy in a movie. Nice. 'Philbert' (I don't know why, Jess) reminds me of 'Phil' off of the Disney watered down 'Heracules'. Just the name.


Oh, and as I am forever behind in lingo, 'manica' threw me off. I feel slow. I mean, I get it, it just made me feel slow - slower than usual.

Oh, and love how Carole has, like, five reviews on this thing. It made me giggle. You get validated fast, yo.

Nice job.

Jenn

Author's Response:

Sports is, ironically, my other passion besides Harry Potter. I've spent a lot of time learning about the culture of the sports world in many different aspects. For instance, I am quite learned in contract lingo and common terms/stipulations. It's no different than learning writing mechanics or how to use HTML. Practice makes perfect, I suppose.

That being said, I would think after almost 30 years of being fuelled by Quidditch, Oliver could become a bit of a jerk. I don't think he would mean to be, but he'd forgotten what it was like to be the scared noob, rattled by the pressures of the public eye. Then you take a spark plug like Roxanne, who isn't going to put up with him being an a-hole, and you get a bizarre cross-generational pairing. I'm just glad Carole didn't spork it, lol.

Thanks for the review and the compliments. I sort of wrote this story in two days (and it fought me tooth and nail), so that it flows decently is nice to know. :D

Take care,

~Jess

 

ALL HAIL CAROLEDEMORT

Reviewer: littlewolf
Date: 03/22/11 17:42
Chapter: Just Say Yes

happy birthday carole~!

Author's Response: Message sent. :)

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 03/22/11 2:26
Chapter: Just Say Yes

Wow! Wow! Wow! what amazing sex these two are going to have. (Blast, how can I write Oliver/Cedric now). Oliver is so bloody gorgeous in this. That kind of says far too much about my preference for cumudgeonly gits - ha ha.

Jess, thank you so much. I have so enjoyed this story and I am in utter awe of your ability to write 'Sexual Situations' - they're so vibrant Small typo Yes… no… how the hell should I know! I don’t know what love it, I think you mean 'is' and not 'it.'

I am giggling at the last line and I think I'm even more in love with the guy. He has a sense of humour - YAY!

thank you - again and again and again. This has been such a joy to read. Can't wait to see what George and Angelina say ... ~Carole~

Author's Response:

Hehe, methinks Daddy might not approve.

I was tossing around whether to have 'nice' romance or borderline 'Rawr! I is animal!' mating, but then I figured both would be good, plus I knew you could appreciate a bit of unique sexual encounter.

Oliver is such a tosser, isn't he? I think Roxy said it best when she said she'd idealised him when she was a teenager, but she actually loved him more when she found out he was a bit of a git. What girl doesn't fall for a handsome, rogueish older man at that age?

Oh, and he was totally serious about the split thing. I even have the mechanics of it worked out in my head. Lots of shady things going on up in there. lolz

You know, when I thought of this, I assumed that you would like it, but after about 1000 words in, I actually faltered a bit. I just wasn't sure if I was treading on your future plans, so midway, I made a bit of an adjustment. I wove in a couple details from DNW -- small, seemingly insignificant things that no one would think twice about but you. For instance, his dad was an arse and played for Appleby, and he was in love once in his life. I even toyed with keeping them apart so as to keep true to Oliver's sexuality as portrayed by you, but when she tried to stick her hands down his pants, I knew it had to go all the way. I couldn't split them up; it felt wrong. 

So here you go. My gift to you is the rarest of rarepairs that doesn't require brain bleach or bestiality, as well as a bit of light-hearted smut and a happy ending (yay for double-entendre!). Have a lovely day-after birthday. 

And, as I've said and will continue to say to all reviewers of this fic...

ALL HAIL CAROLEDEMORT!!!

~~'~,~~@ (crappy text rose... or a really disfigured pocket sausage -- your pick, lolz)

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 03/21/11 17:38
Chapter: In Between Days

Good start, Jess! Yay for late night AIM conversations! I told Carole you definitely got the better idea out of it, lol. I'll get around to the next chapter soon, I'm littering reviews across my flist this week. Good luck with Chapter 3!
And happy birthday, Carole!
~Gina :)

Author's Response:

It's taking a different track than I'd expected, but I think it's turning out the better. I'm just glad she doesn't hate it, lol.

I look forward to being done with all this stuff so I can get back to reading for fun. It's been a while, lol. I have quite a list of your stories that I need to review and read carefully as compared to 'perusing'. Heart. :D

~Jess

 

ALL HAIL CAROLEDEMORT!!!

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 03/21/11 7:12
Chapter: Boys Don't Cry

OOOh, I love this and can't wait for the next chapter. This is so exciting, Jess. I'm wondering about the chemistry between them ... twenty five years between them but ... wow ... they're hot. Actually as magical people live longer, does that make and age difference less of a problem? *ponders*.

Brilliant. Love it. Fab. Incoherencefromreviewer. ~Carole~

Author's Response:

Haha, I bet when you woke up this morning, the idea that you'd be subliminally shipping Oliver/Roxanne would never have occurred to you. I just figured that since you ARE the best, you deserved the best that rarepairing had to offer that doesn't involve Snape, a Time Turner, or bestiality, lol. :D

Heart you. The rest will *probably* be posted before you go to bed. 

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 03/21/11 6:48
Chapter: In Between Days

I might read them, but then again I might write them. AGHHH! I love your Oliver. I love your Quidditch stories, I love your writing. Darn it, I love you, Jess.

This is really good. I am going to click on chapter two right now.

OOOh, it's Boy's Don't Cry, which is the first song on my Greatest Hit's album hee hee.

Thank you! (You must be on Top tens by now.)

Author's Response: I don't know where the hell this idea came from, but I was just chatting along with Gina on AIM and *poof*, there it was.

Reviewer: Daughter of the Light
Date: 03/21/11 0:53
Chapter: In Between Days

Well, I'm interested to see where this goes! I found it rather miserable that we didn't see too much of Oliver Wood after he left school, even though he was at the Battle of Hogwarts. At least we knew he was going to play for Puddlemere. I'm glad you made him the coach, because I can't imagine an Oliver without Quidditch!(;

Anyway, happy birthday to Carole/Equinox Chick (I LOVE her stories!) :). I hope she has a delightful one.

Author's Response:

You know, I don't know if I can imagine Oliver without Quidditch either... and neither could he. It was some rare form of sadism that promped him to accept the job, but I think you nailed it: he's far less miserable with Quidditch in his life than without, no matter the capacity.

Thanks for the review!

~Jess

ALL HAIL CAROLDEMORT!!!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES