Reviews For Lacuna Mentis
Reviewer: silverlining95
Date: 01/16/12 16:58
Chapter: Chapter 3

Wow. This is brilliantly clever and heartbreaking, the loss of memory adds such depth to it, and I must say I came close to tears!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. :)

Reviewer: ThatHPFan
Date: 01/09/12 3:33
Chapter: Chapter 3

Wow.. I cannot tell you how amazing that was.... I must look like an idiot, my mouth hanging wide open and my shoulders hunched, staring at my computer for the last half hour... That was absolutely incredible. Brilliant!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review :)

Reviewer: bloodshedprincess
Date: 12/06/11 6:56
Chapter: Chapter 3

Oh jolly gosh... scary, but in an EXCELLENT way. Great work!

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! :)

Reviewer: camcam11
Date: 11/21/11 11:55
Chapter: Chapter 3

Great story! I loved it :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

Reviewer: Hplover0695
Date: 11/12/11 3:39
Chapter: Chapter 1

Ohmygoodness. I'm blown away. Here I am convinced that "the Healer" is Parvati and that it's too obvious...boy, was I wrong! I did NOT see that ending coming. I know you've gotten mixed reviews on the pace of the third chapter, but I have to say, I think it was perfect. If anything along the lines of this story were to happen in real life, I don't think the Healer (trying so hard not to say his/her name in case people ignore your warning and jump right to the reviews) would just wait around like...well, like Voldemort every time he duels Harry (haha)! I think this story was beautifully written and definitely kept me guessing the whole time. Well done-you definitely deserved that QSQ award!!
~Hannah

Author's Response: Hahaha! One thing I find ridiculous about villains in general is when they spend so much time talking. You're right about Voldemort. What. An. Idiot. Although the third chapter has the longest scene in the story, it doesn't actually take much time - it's the memories which add to the word count. So, thank you for mentioning that. :) And thanks for the lovely review!

~Natalie

Reviewer: Envy_I_May_Be
Date: 11/11/11 18:38
Chapter: Chapter 3

That was incredibly powerful; the characterization was excellent, and the story was captivating. I loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I am happy to know you enjoyed it.

~Natalie

Reviewer: Hornet394
Date: 10/16/11 14:15
Chapter: Chapter 3

Oh. My. God. Padma. Killed. Theo. And the whole time I was thinking the Healer was a man. And. Poor Parvati. She really loved him, didn't she?

Author's Response: Apologies for the late reply. :/ Yes, she really loved him. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

Reviewer: HBP533
Date: 09/11/11 11:54
Chapter: Chapter 3

This was absolutely fabulous, thank you a bajillion times over for writing this. I loved it.

Reviewer: HBP533
Date: 09/11/11 11:53
Chapter: Chapter 3

This was absolutely fabulous, thank you a bajillion times over for writing this. I loved it.

Author's Response: Thanks a bazillion times for reviewing! :)

Reviewer: psijupiter
Date: 08/25/11 1:22
Chapter: Chapter 3

I love this fic. Your writing is really beautiful with some lovely phrases, and you've created an intriguing plot as well. I haven't read many fics that play so creatively with memory charms and now I am all THINKY about them.  Your backround for Theo was fascinating and well thought out as well. I also completely adore the title of the Niffler book - it's the perfect combination of childish, and yet really quite creepy that fits in well to the HP world. Thank you!



Author's Response: I am fascinated by Memory Charms and how they affect the brain. Of course, the research I did for this fic hardly scratches the surface of the subject, but even so, it is such an intriguing thing to delve into. Also - FINALLY someone mentions the book title! I did think it was a combination of creepiness and simplicity, and the book cover is one for nightmares. D: Thanks for the lovely review, Ali! I appreciate it muchly.

Reviewer: Merlynne
Date: 08/14/11 13:05
Chapter: Chapter 3

Excellent twist! Excellent ending! You've built up tension and you've carried through accordingly, something that not all fics can claim to do well.

Because I read all three (amazing) chapters in one sitting, the only potentially critical observation I might make is that the pacing changes quite dramatically towards the second half of the third chapter.

There's clearly a certain point where Theo realizes the truth of everything, his past, (SPOILER) Parvati's death, but decides to go along with Padma's version anyway. You might have been able to draw this out just a milisecond longer. I don't think it's necessary, but part of the beauty of the rest of the fic is the contemplative tone of both characters that borders on being spiritual, however the loss of such contemplativeness is totally justifiable, and I must say I enjoyed this chapter immensely. I was figuratively on the edge of my seat for the past two chapters (reason why I didn't review Ch. 2--couldn't had to keep reading!)

Well done! Your feature is much deserved. I'll be keeping an eye out for your other fics. Brava!

Author's Response: Ahh yes, the third chapter. I did give that a second thought, but overall, I thought it had to be rushed because of (a) Theo being sickened by the memory, the realisation of his loss and also that the woman he has been in love with has been trying to lure him to death, and (b) Padma's urgency. Thanks for the glorious reviews, Merlynne. When I get reviews like this, I realise the few sleepness nights I spent over the fic were worth it.

~Natalie

Reviewer: Merlynne
Date: 08/14/11 12:29
Chapter: Chapter 1

Firstly, I have to say that you write absolutely beautifully (which almost goes without saying, but it had to be said). Secondly, I have to applaud you for your split narrative (I don't know what else to call it). I'm extremely impressed by how you've interwoven the medical and magical philosophy of the mind with Nott's patiently yet rapidly evolving situation. You have struck a perfect balance here that takes its time but doesn't dawdle.

I found the first section particularly artistic, with the repetition of the fissure in his clarity, which not only paints an excellently abstract picture, but seems to prove just how aware Nott is of the state of his own mind. I can't wait to read the next chapters!

Author's Response: Hey!

First of all, thank you for taking the time to leave your comments! I'm happy to hear you like my writing, and caught the difference between the tones. I wanted to make them individual creatures and did play around with their POVs for a while before deciding to write like this. Also, thanks for mentioning the pacing worked. I was worried about that, too.

Reviewer: FawkesToTheRescue
Date: 07/30/11 14:35
Chapter: Chapter 3

WOAH! That was awesome. Bravo, Natalie! You know, it's been awhile since I actually read through a fic, and this was relatively long compared to what I normally do.

 

But you're just so awesome . . . this was FANTASTIC. Great work as usual.

MeganFawkes



Author's Response: Thanks Megan! :)

~Natalie

Reviewer: minnabird
Date: 07/30/11 9:50
Chapter: Chapter 3

Okay, so a coherent review might not be my speed right now, but OMP what a gripping story. I lovelovelove things that start out mysterious and feed you bits of the puzzle along the way and keep you guessing right up until the end. Which this did. Mind = blown, more than once while reading this. And this story - especially the later bits from the Healer's POV - were just so so chilling. Actually that's basically why I started IM'ing you while reading this - I needed some way to vent my dread. (Usually I just kind of minimize and take a few deep breaths and go back, lol). So, um, I guess the point of all that is a) thank you for putting my curiosity into overdrive and keeping me guessing because I LOVE that, b) Dude skillz I was so caught up emotionally in this, and c) Just all in all a ridiculously good story. I didn't even mention the characterizations, did I? Basically, while Theo's past is incredibly heartbreaking, it just works so well...and I love the misperceptions about him you reveal throughout the story...there's a truth within a truth within a truth. (Which really kind of sums up the whole story, if you think about it, given the different perceptions about the event central to the story). Um. This review got away from me again, but I loved it. Keep writing amazing stuff. =D

Author's Response: MINNA! Thank you forever for leaving a review here, after all that AIM-reviewing hahaha. That was funnn! It's great to know you found it gripping and were kept guessing throughout. And yeah, poor Theo. :( Maybe, I will write a happy fic for him some day.

~Natalie

Reviewer: welshdevondragon
Date: 07/24/11 1:34
Chapter: Chapter 3

Wow. Lost my internet for a bit there when I was on the edge of my seat. That was amazing. I love the way you took three characters who seem perfectly possible within canon and yet expand them. I particularly love your Theo. Using the first person for him, making us sympathise with him even more, made the reveal at the end all the more dark.

His language was much more emotional than Padma's- her's was so clinical and philosophical, except when she wipes the tear and just the effort to lay those plans and get away with it.

I'm sorry to be short/ incoherent but that was deliciously dark, intelligent and thought provoking without ever seeming pretentious or glossed over in any way. Wow. Alex

Author's Response: Sorry for the late response, but I want to thank for leaving another review! :) I'm glad you liked it overall and found it thought provoking. Thanks, too, for the comment on the differences between Theo's and The Healer's POV. I'm super happy you noted it!

~Natalie

Reviewer: welshdevondragon
Date: 07/24/11 0:36
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow, Natalie. This review won't be long because I'm going to head right on to the next chapter and there's nothing really more to say about it except that that was amazing. Hopefully I'll be a bit more coherent/ detailed when I review the next chapters. Alex

Author's Response: Hello!

I am glad my story is keeping you interested enough to head on to the next chapter ASAP! Thanks for the R&R.

~Natalie

Reviewer: Simply Being
Date: 07/24/11 0:04
Chapter: Chapter 3

Whoa. Amazing. Brilliant ending, and something I didn't expect at all! Great job, Nat.

Wishing I could come up with more words to describe this,
Danielle

PS: Seriously, watch Memento. Reminds me of this a lot, and as I said, that's a huge compliment :)

Author's Response: Thank youuu! :) Thanks for reviewing till the end, and I'll have to see Memento some day.

~Natalie

Reviewer: Simply Being
Date: 07/23/11 23:56
Chapter: Chapter 2

Did I mention that another character I'm simply not attracted to is Parvati? But damn you, you keep mixing me all up. I have to say, I really like the mature Parvati.

But enough of that, I can't wait to see how this ends. And that last line was simply incredible.

Author's Response: Hahaha! I've to say Parvati is not my usual go-to choice for a rarepair. But I've grown fond of her. Glad you liked the story so far

~Natalie

Reviewer: Simply Being
Date: 07/23/11 23:47
Chapter: Chapter 1

I told you I would read this, Natalie!

And it's off to a great start! I must admit, there are some characters that I'm simply not drawn to. And Theodore Nott is one of them. However, I must say that my mind has been changed! The character that you've written is very interesting. I love that he's easy to sympathize with, but doesn't ask for our sympathy. I also love the style of it...switching back and forth between the Healer and Theo. I don't think I've read another fic like it. The Healer is particularly interesting too. His (or hers?) insights are really cool. I can tell you've done your research on memory too, which really adds to the story. Finally, I think one of the reasons why I really like this is because I love the movie Memento. I don't know if you've seen it, but Theo reminds me a lot of the main character and that's a compliment!

-Danielle

Author's Response: DANIELLE!

Yes, I understand what you mean about not feeling excited about certain characters. When I was new to fanfiction, I didn't give a Knut for the minor ones, and now, the reverse has happened. o.O I don't read Trio stories in general. I am glad I managed to change your mind about Theo. This is one of the best praises I could get, making people interested in things they normally don't care for.

As for Memento, I have heard of it so much (all good things!) but never seen it. After reading your reviews, I went to Wiki and checked out the summary of the plot. And whoa! It's awesome you find them comparable. :)

~Natalie

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 07/23/11 20:08
Chapter: Chapter 3

I'm finally here to leave a review, Lafonna. For a while I couldn't bring myself to read chapter three because I had this feeling of how it was going to pan out and I wanted to hold onto Theo and Parvati for a little longer.

This is beautiful. Heart-breaking and beautiful. I loved how you captured both Theo and the Healer's voices and the way you alternated between them. When I read your early draft I could tell that with expansion it would be something incredibly different and fresh. The juxtaposition between the somewhat cold and sterile voice of the Healer and Theo is amazing. I love it! I’ve always been fascinated with the differences between Muggle and Magical medicine (what a surprise, eh?) so I really enjoyed the way you portrayed that.

The end of the first chapter just made me melt. It was so beautifully written and felt rather dreamy. I had a very abstract visual yellows and white light as I read that.

As I said before, I had a feeling about how this would end. Once I finished the last chapter and looked back, I loved seeing all the allusions to what was really going on in the fic. You crafted everything so well. It’s like a combination of a mystery and a character study. Sighhhhhhh. Really, this has left me a little overwhelmed, to be honest.

You are so very talented, Natalie. This was absolutely gorgeous.

Greenleaf xxx

Author's Response: Greenleaf!

Estra elya narida dur.

I didn't know the story had affected you that much. :( While writing it, I didn't feel sad because I wanted to finish it off quickly. But when I reread it, I couldn't face the last chapter. I dunno what that says about me - prolly that I'm a bit vain hahaha.

I was a bit wary of the Muggle science/magical healing theme, mainly because I know very little about either subject, and you know what Google can be like sometimes. (Still haven't forgotten the real Greek who ranted a bit on my grammar/misconceptions about Greek alcholol on my other fic hahahahaha.) So, I am happy to get a pass from someone who actually knows a lot more than I do.

Glad you liked the forest smut! And hearing you say the fic overwhelmed you overwhelms me a bit to be honest. Thanks for the R&R, and love you lots!

~Natalie

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES