Reviews For Moving Ginny
Reviewer: WeirdestWendy
Date: 07/24/13 22:02
Chapter: one-shot

You are so good at writing intimate moments betwen two people. Very honest and real

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed the story. :)

Reviewer: Cissy Flower
Date: 06/09/12 13:28
Chapter: one-shot

I liked the did really like the story! When we are with the trio in DH we don't really know what is going on in the wizarding world and this story fills that gap. It seems so Ginny to worry about her family and friends, though I think she would be even more worried about Harry, Ron and Hermione.
I do also think it is really Ginny to not want to get very emotional in front of Bill. That really fits in her character en you can also see that in the books when she doesn't want Harry to see her crying.
So great one shot en I look forward to reading more of your storys! (p.s. sorry if my English is bad, it isn mother tongue I am actually Dutch;)

Author's Response: I'm so sorry -- I just realized I never responded to your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story and felt like Ginny was believable for that period of time. I honestly don't think Ginny would really be comfortable being emotional in front of anyone, and she is just continuing that as she is with Bill.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review -- your English is good, considering it's not your native language. Take care! ~Lori

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 03/30/12 15:19
Chapter: one-shot

Awww, sorry, I missed this first time around, and that's a shame because it's a little gem, Lori. You captured a missing moment perfectly. I sometimes think the best stories are the ones that we know happened, but weren't written for us by JK. *sigh*

You captured Ginny's fears very well here. She wasnts her family to be safe, but is so desperate not to let her friends down because what she's doing is important, and being stuck in a house with Aunt Muriel will be ... frustrating .

Well done. ~Carole~

Author's Response: Aw, you sweet thing! I was just joking about the reviews, and here you've left me a real one! Well, it's down to you really, since this is one of those that came out of your fabulous Missing Moments class. I think ever since then, that is one of my favorite time frames to write. I used to loathe the idea of writing Ginny, but now I've come to see her a little differently. I'm glad that came across. Thanks for reading and reviewing, friend. I appreciate it! <3

Reviewer: PhoenixGryffindor
Date: 01/03/12 16:45
Chapter: one-shot

Wow. This was brilliantly written!

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: ruth0007
Date: 10/21/11 4:11
Chapter: one-shot

Another great story, WeasleyMom. You have a way and ease with words which makes your storytelling satisfying. I wish you didn't stop at this point, I wanted to go in with them and hear more. Will you write a new Ron and Hermione story soon?

Author's Response: Cool. :) It's a good thing to leave folks wanting more, right? Hehe. I am working on Romione stuff but it's chaptered and may not be up for a while. But you asking me made my day, Ruth. Take care. And thanks again for the review. I'm glad you liked it.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 08/21/11 6:07
Chapter: one-shot

Excellent!!!

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: RAVENCLAWKAT
Date: 08/19/11 20:52
Chapter: one-shot

its good and it should have been in the original. Glad you thought of it.

Author's Response: Oh, what a nice compliment! Thanks!

Reviewer: Phoenix13
Date: 08/19/11 16:10
Chapter: one-shot

Wow, Lori. You've done it again. This made me tear up. I love Ginny and Bill's relationship, especially since my brother and I are having issues right now. I wish I had an older brother like Bill to hug me so tight it hurt.

How difficult for Ginny to hear about her friends from Bill. You've characterized her well. I especially like the bit about her secluding herself up in her room. It's such a normal, teenage reaction, and it's very Ginny.

Marvelous one-shot!

~Alyssa

Author's Response: Hey, Alyssa! Thanks so much--I'm glad you liked this. I always wished I had a big brother figure in my life... perhaps I am living vicariously though Ginny (who has more than her fair share). :) I'm glad you thought the characterization worked here. Thanks again!

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 08/19/11 8:22
Chapter: one-shot

That was really good, Lori. It's a great look at a moment between Ginny and Bill, but more than that, it's a tense and accurate and well-done look at what things must have been like for the rest of the Weasleys. That's what I took from it: how tense and dangerous life really was for them, when we hardly know anything about what they went through. So well done filling in that missing moment!

As for your other reviewers begging for more, I do have to sort of agree, sorry! LOL! What I wanted at the end was this bit: "...he began to tell them all what little he knew..." I would just love to see and hear the family's reaction to what Bill tells them. How much does he tell them? Are they angry, worried? And Ginny-what in the world must be going through her mind, hearing that Harry is okay, Ron got hurt, and Hermione was even worse?? So maybe that could be another missing moment sometime? Please? Maybe after another chapter of TD? :D
Lovely story!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: Haha, Gina! Well, I'm glad everyone wants more, and since that group now includes you... I will give it some thought. The thing is, Bill doesn't have much to tell at this point (I think this event would have happened while Harry was burying Dobby, overnight), so I'm not sure how interesting it would be. Another one-shot would be fun though, and I'm always up for writing more of Bill Weasley (swoon).

Must finish the other works in progress first though. And yes, that includes Taking Direction. At least Yates won't be making any more Potter films, so I can't get any more behind than I already am.

Thanks for the review, my friend. I'm glad you liked this. :)

Reviewer: hermy008
Date: 08/19/11 0:07
Chapter: one-shot

It was great! As usual WeasleyMom swoops in for the kill and delivers a whole lot of awesome! The dialogue fit with each and every character that was used, the description was just enough so i could picture it, and the plot itself was...heartbreaking. But in a good way. You're the reason i really started fanfic, and that reason rings with every sentence that's read. (That's a lot of R's i know.) :D
Thank you for writing, who knows what would have happened if i hadn't read "Scenes of Shell Cottage" when i did? By the way, i loved the symbolism of closing the door on the night, it worked so perfectly in the context of this fic. Fantastic.

Author's Response: Wow, thanks so much for all of that. I'm glad you thought the end worked with the symbolism of the door. I really appreciate you always reading and taking the time to leave a review. It means a lot!

Reviewer: decdraft
Date: 08/18/11 15:41
Chapter: one-shot

Love it! More please! You write Ginny so well, I wanted to cry with her. Interesting Bill told her about Harry first

Author's Response: Hmm... well, she already knew about Ron because her dad had told her that right off, and I figured Bill would assume as much. Also, I think Bill is clued in with the whole Harry/Ginny thing. But yeah... I'll have to give that some more thought. Thanks so much for the lovely review--I appreciate it! ~Lori

Reviewer: decdraft
Date: 08/18/11 15:40
Chapter: one-shot

Love it! More please! You write Ginny so well, I wanted to cry with her. Interesting Bill told her about Harry first

Author's Response: Yes, that was interesting, wasn't it? ;) Hehe, sorry so long on the response... somehow I missed this one. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Ebonee
Date: 08/18/11 13:58
Chapter: one-shot

I quite liked it although I felt as if it could have continued for a while longer. Good job and please keep writing!

Author's Response: Thanks. It's funny everyone is saying the same thing about the length. I guess I just wanted to fill in this little blank in DH. I really appreciate you reading and taking the time to let me know you liked it. Thanks! ~ Lori

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 08/18/11 13:09
Chapter: one-shot

I'll begin by agreeing with Neil... this story is certainly not pointless. In fact, it's wonderful. You just get into Ginny's head so well - I loved the way you started off with her noticing all those details about the posters. It captures what she's thinking and feeling at that moment much better than if you'd said "Ginny was feeling distraught..." or something.

I loved Fred and George in this, because to the exterior they always try to make the best of things. And I loved Ginny's little bit of jealousy - And, of course, they always had each other, didn’t they?. Somehow that line was just really sad.

Bill's characterisation was spot on, and I loved the way you set up their relationship - it was as if they'd always been close, but right now Ginny just wants her space... I particularly loved the paragraph you wrote about their hug.

I also loved the ending. It just summed this piece up nicely as she entered another safe place with her family. In a way, I agree with a few other reviewers that more would have been great, but at the same time, you've reallyu captured a moment in this short one-shot and I think it's great just the way it is.

~Katrina

Author's Response: Hugs to you, Katrina. :) I actually sighed a little happy sigh when I saw you had read and reviewed this. Hehe. I'm so glad you liked it and felt the characterization worked, particularly Ginny, who I've been writing a bit more of but still find very persnickity to write well. I adore writing Bill, and always see him as almost a parental figure (thought cooler, of course) to Ginny and Ron.

I'm glad you thought the line about Fred and George always having each other was sad. I intended it to be so, in an ironic way. Sad for Ginny at this particular moment, but much sadder for George in the irony of knowing what is going to happen.

As always, I really appreciate you taking time to leave such a thoughtful review, and I'm thrilled you thought the fic worked. Take care! ~Lori

Reviewer: ronhermione15
Date: 08/18/11 7:58
Chapter: one-shot

I thought that this was very good and liked it a lot! Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it!

Reviewer: Arial Felchem
Date: 08/18/11 7:16
Chapter: one-shot

This was a good fill-in to a missing moment in the story...I just wish it was a little bit longer, it would have been cool to see the continuation of the conversation into the house with the rest of the family, and Auntie Muriel's reaction to them all moving in.

Author's Response: I really like to imagine little missing moments from the canon we already have from JKR. *shrug* I'm glad so many liked it enough to be asking for more, but this was just a little glimpse. To be honest, Ginny isn't my favorite character to write, which is why I took the class (on the beta boards) where this drabble was assigned to begin with. I just enjoy filling in the occasional blanks. Glad you liked what there was of this--thanks for taking the time to review. :) ~ Lori

Reviewer: Thestral Wings
Date: 08/18/11 6:35
Chapter: one-shot

So, I sent you an email this morning then hopped over to my fanfic most recents, and lo and behold, what did I find but another wonderful story by WeasleyMom. You've done it again. You've so beautifully captured one of those missing moments from the books. After reading, I feel like I know a secret part of the story most folks never get to hear. Thanks again.

Author's Response: Funny timing. :) I laughed at what you said about your son and comiserate with your need for school to start so you have some writing time. I feel the same way. Thanks so much for reading this and for the kind words. I think from things you've said before, that you enjoy missing moments fics as much as I do. Thanks again, and take care. ~ Lori

Reviewer: armagod679
Date: 08/18/11 4:15
Chapter: one-shot

Very well written. Ginny and Bill are especially well done. I wish there was more of this story. Living at Muriel's offers so much opportunity for comedy.

Author's Response: You are so right, and as I understand it, leaving the reader wanting more is a GOOD thing. :) Thanks so much for the kind words and for taking the time to leave a review. ~Lori

Reviewer: Northumbrian
Date: 08/18/11 3:17
Chapter: one-shot

Lori
I’ll start by saying that I don’t think that this is pointless.
You captured Ginny’s worries nicely here, and I loved the Ginny/Bill discussion. For some reason I’ve always imagined that they were particularly close and that Ginny rather hero worshipped her eldest brother. Am I crediting you with too much subtlety? I doubt it.
Because I’m me, I have to say – front yard? – what is a front yard? I have a front garden and a back garden. Some people I know do have back yards, but not front yards. I though you’d like to know.
Neil

Author's Response: Ah yes, the Britpicking expert. ;) Hehe... of course I welcome knowing those things, and I have corrected it already. Thanks. And thanks for the kinds words as well. Hmmm... hero worship. Not sure about that, but I do love the way Rowling portrayed Bill in the books: cool and edgy, responsible, brave, family guy.... I just see the other siblings really looking up to him. Especially Ron and Ginny, as they are the youngest. I'm glad you thought this worked. Thanks for taking the time to read and review, Neil. I appreciate it! ~ Lori

Reviewer: Ye_Merry_Hippogriffs
Date: 08/18/11 1:37
Chapter: one-shot

Good fic, but it felt a bit pointless.

Author's Response: Um, okay. ?? I don't get how it can be both good and pointless. I would generally assume that if a fic is pointless, then any redeeming qualities it might have are pretty insignificant.

I mentioned in the story notes that this came from a drabble (500 words) and that it was a missing moment from DH. It is only meant to fill in an existing blank in the DH canon. I wasn't trying to do anything else.

After a quick look at your reviews, I realized that this fic is the only one to receive a review like this... so obviously, you just didn't care for it. Which is fine and good. Different strokes, right? :) I suppose I think reviews in general are more helpful if the crit includes something constructive to better the author's writing, rather a comment that dismisses the entire fic. When I truly do not have anything good to say about something I've read, I don't review. But that's me... to each their own, I guess.

I hope I'm not over the line with this response--I always reply to reviewers but had no idea what to say in this case. I do wish you the best. Take care. .

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Dark Enough To See The Stars by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Scorpius is looking for answers in the constellation that bears his name. He...
The Ties That Bind by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
"Life is short, but this time it was biggerThan the strength he had to get up...
Pearls Mean Tears by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
Now and then I think of all the times you screwed me overBut had me believing...
FEATURED
Turn to Stone by iLuna17 1st-2nd Years
One summer's night in Hogwarts, two statues are given one night to be human.
Ashes of the Past by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Viktor carries the memory of Grindelwald's path of destruction, passed down...
What War Takes by WeasleyMom 6th-7th Years
War takes things and keeps on taking them, and the things it takes don't come...
The Observer Effect by Squibstress 6th-7th Years
Minerva is a watcher. Mostly, she watches Severus. She sees through a glass...
CATEGORIES