Reviews For Key of the Door
Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 08/29/14 16:37
Chapter: Chapter 1

This was wonderful. I actually had to stop myself from giggling since I was at work and reading in between working. The thought of Draco with green hair growing out all over, even his crotch, was hysterical as was the thought of him going to complain to Harry while he smelled like firewhiskey. Sometimes I wonder what it would be like to be able to write and work on making quilts rather than work.

Reviewer: coolh5000
Date: 08/14/12 22:33
Chapter: Chapter 1

P.S. Squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

(I'm giddy but not drunk). I did however accidentally post that last review twice so you're going to get one too many emails - sorry!

Author's Response: I don;t get emails - t'is all coool (h5000) ~Carole~

Reviewer: coolh5000
Date: 08/14/12 22:28
Chapter: Chapter 1

Croll I love you! And I feel like a hideously horrible person for never reviewing this and showing you the love and devotion you deserve. From now on, I will worship you above all others.

This story is completely perfect! Seriously, how are you such a genius? I enjoyed it from beginning to end. The plot is very well thought out - it makes sense that the characters wouldn't all fall into the jobs they wanted forever the second Hogwarts finished and I like that it didn't all fit as a fairytale ending for them all. It also works with what we know from canon, that Ron became an author but also that he helped George with the shop - it's just a different order of things to how others have interpreted it. I do hope that this is what Ron finally wants to do though. I did get a little sense that perhaps this still wasn't the case of him picking a job for himself but for someone else and even though it made sense for him to be quitting as an Auror, I hope that the joke shop ultimately makes him happy.

I love you for this line: “I haven’t taken seven rotten Floo connections all the way home only for you to hex me, Ron Weasley.” So many authors would have gone down the Ronald route here and you knew that this is a stupid cliche and stuck with his actual name!

I was sitting here giggling away during the scene with Ron, George and Malfoy, while my family looked at me strangely (I had my pointy hat on too though).

I feel like I should be serious instead of squeeing now. I love the characterisation in this, particularly the interaction between Ron and George - it was so natural, so brotherly and I found the conversation between the two flowed brilliantly. Malfoy is still as much of a git as ever (you know me so well to know that's exactly how I like to read him!) Hermione's appearance at the end was great too and I'm glad you showed a little snippet of their happy coupleness. I also think it's great that Geroge and Hermione could see how unhappy Ron was as an Auror even when he thought he was hiding it so well or before he necessarily admitted it to himself - it shows how much they know him!

You've probably received much better reviews than this as I've just been burbling. I feel like I could say a lot more about everything I loved in this (and believe me, I do love it all) but it would be a bit repetitive!

Hannah

Author's Response: Hannahhhhhhh, Thank youuuuu. Ha ha - I wouldn't have insulted you this morning if I'd seen this :P. Yes, I hope Ron is happy in the shop. I do think there's an air of him wanting to find something - anything - to get away from the Auror department, and maybe he thinks this is only temporary (but taking over the shop is a biiiig commitment, Ronnieeee). However, in my head canon, he's happy here and proves successful.

Glad you liked Hermione. I wanted her to be understanding because I'm sure Ron dreaded telling her, but it's always surprising to him how much she knows because she really is quite intuitive. And, no, I couldn;t have her call him Ronald - so wrong.

Anyway, very glad you enjoyed it. Now, get back to your heavy sun-bathing schedule. :) ~Carole~

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 11/05/11 12:46
Chapter: Chapter 1

Even though this is a fairly common basic plot (the Ron leaving the Auror department and going to work for George part), this story felt really unique. As other reviewers have said, your characterisations are really fantastic.

I loved seeing a George who has clearly suffered and been through a lot, but who has also found something he loved and really moved on with his life.

I also really enjoyed how you portrayed Ron and George's relationship - while they were at Hogwarts, Ron seemed to be a common victim of Fred and George's pranks and they riled him a fair bit, so it was great to see that they've moved beyond this. I particularly loved this line “I think it comes of being a Weasley and living with two brothers who plagued the life out of you.” from George - it was humorous, but still a recognition of the past.

I loved your Hermione, even though she only makes a small appearance. I thought it was typical Ron that he'd expect her to tell him off for leaving the Auror department, and typical Hermione to have been perceptive enough to see he was unhappy and of course to immediately offer to help him find someting else.

I thought you also did a great job with Hannah, as to be running a bar she obviously matured well beyond the 15-16year old who had panic attacks. Also, as much as I believe in a 'reformed' Malfoy, it is nice to see him just being a git sometimes... and getting what he deserves.

And last, but not least, your characterisation of Ron was just absolutely spot on the whole way through.

So all in all, this was a very enjoyable read :).

~Katrina

Author's Response: Katrinaaaaaa! Thank you very much for the review. I enjoyed writing this story because I don;t write a great deal of Ron but I love him as a character in the books. I'm pleased you liked the characterisation and thought they were all IC. I have a problem when George is always depressed post-battle. I know he would never have been quite right after Fred died, but he's too much of a Weasley Twin to be permanently depressed.

I like Draco redemption fics as well, but I get the feeling he'd never change in Ron's eyes and would always be a git in front of him. Plus, I like git Draco as well - hee hee.

Thanks again for the review. It is much appreciated. ~Carole~

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 10/19/11 17:57
Chapter: Chapter 1

Happy Birthday Hannah!! and btw the way the story was fantastic!!

Author's Response: Thank you. Hannah had a good birthday, she tells me. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 10/18/11 16:35
Chapter: Chapter 1

Carole, that was lovely! I know it was about Ron but I really, really liked seeing George here almost as much. He was so refreshing, since he is so often broken and depressed in post-Hogwarts stories. The bit with the sweet was brilliant, as was Ron dropping it into Malfoy's drink. LOL!

I also really, really liked Harry and Hermione's reactions. They know Ron so well they just knew it was time for him to leave and didn't give him any grief. Harry seemed sad, which was touching, and of course Hermione would try to help, perfect!

What a great story for Hannah! HAPPY BIRTHDAY, HANNAH!! And great job, Carole!

~Gina :)

Author's Response: Thank you. I like George in recovery mode stories, and this ties in with a plot bunny I have about him (one day I'll get to it). I love Ron and I love Hannah (Abbott and Bob) so it made sense to write this for her. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: BookWorm530
Date: 10/18/11 2:47
Chapter: Chapter 1

Adorable story! I love how Ron and George had a nice brotherly bond and how Hermione was so supportive of Ron's decision. Some truly funny moments with Draco...keep it up!

Author's Response: Thank you I think Ron and George would have got so much closer after the shock of Fred's death had faded a little, so I wanted to write that. Draco deserves a bit of nastiness inflicted on him. ~Carole~

Reviewer: CCMugg
Date: 10/17/11 15:50
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow, well done! This was beautifully written, and I really liked how it explored the relationship between Ron and George. Haven't we all had those moments when we just can't stand the thought of carrying on, even at a job we once loved? Very relatable, and a nice cameo appearance from Hermione at the end.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm pleased you liked the story and the relationship between Ron and George. I couldn;t not have Hermione in it because she's so important to him. ~Carole~

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 10/17/11 13:16
Chapter: Chapter 1

*deep sigh of contentment*

For a moment there, I thought it might be MY birthday. ;) Oh, Carole, this is just pure love. Your George, your Hannah, your Harry, your Hermione, even that git Malfoy... your brilliance has made my morning. Harry's reaction was perfect. I've imagined the circumstances a bit differently, but Harry's reaction to Ron's leaving is always the same. You have mad skillz my friend.

Happy Birthday, Hannah! You absolutely deserve a fic this brilliant as a present! :)

Author's Response: Thank youuuuuu. I had fun writing this. I write so much Malfoy that can be sympathetic, so it's great to write from Ron's POV when Malfoy is still an utter git - ha ha. I have different versions of Ron leaving, too. (One in Shrouds which I doubt you'll ever read *sigh*)

Glad you liked Hannah. I wanted someone with a bitof spirit because whilst she was a flustered teen in her OWLS, she was a member of the DA and fought at the Battle. More importantly, we know she ran a pub - and that is one big old scary profession. There's no way she could have been a shy wallflower of a girl.

Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 10/17/11 9:29
Chapter: Chapter 1

Haha, Draco. Serves him right for being a git. Anyway, I really enjoyed this, Croll! It's a great snapshot of how Ron made the transition.

Oh and happy birthday, Hannah!!!

Julia xD

Author's Response: Thank you. I hope Draco remains a cabbage-crotch *snort*. Glad you enjoyed this light-hearted piece. ~Croll~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
Have You No Idea That You're In Deep by littlebird Professors
"The problem, as Harry sees it, is he simply wasn't prepared."
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES