Reviews For Brother Mine
Reviewer: Misshogwarts1125
Date: 10/16/13 18:27
Chapter: Chapter 1

awesome. I love that you got inside the head of someone who no one really knows about in the books.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! This is still one of my favourite fics that I've written and am proud of even after all this time. It's nice to see that people are still reading and enjoying it, so thanks for reviewing. :)

~Jess

Reviewer: Beavs
Date: 12/07/11 17:42
Chapter: Chapter 1

I forgot to add- your ending. It seems so matter of fact and unsentimental, as if there is really no other choice he was going to go through or consider. And we, with knowledge how it is going to turn out for him, feel the tragedy of it even more.

Author's Response:

Agreed. Regulus grew up in those hours before his death, moved on from his youthful naivete and beliefs. But he never gave up that thread of loyalty to his brother and the need to know that he was given the best possible chance for survival.

Thank you for the review. I really appreciate the good feedback and the lovely comments. :)

~Jess

Reviewer: Beavs
Date: 12/07/11 16:41
Chapter: Chapter 1

This reminds me of the piece I wrote for fanfiction. net- few years back. I wish I could rewrite it now, because I am reminded of how unflinchingly in love with the Black brothers I was.,I wrote it with that filter. I am still proud of the ending, the rest is too saccharine and self righteous for my comfort.
And that brings me to why I appreciate your story more...its very Regulus. Very in character, well written and conveys subtly what I tried to beat over my reader's head-Sirius and Regulas's relationship.

My blood begins to run cold as we near the centre. I can feel it in the air, the presence of the darkest of magic. I am no stranger to its aura, but the sorcery that had been set upon the object waiting for us is almost as black as the water below.----> this line made me get goosebumps. The atmosphere brought by this paragraph. Chills!

And of course the famous line :While I have finally found a cause worth dying for, he will have forever defeated me in finding a cause worth living for.

Simply beautiful. :)

Author's Response:

I'm glad you feel that way about this story. It was actually longer in the first draft, but I actually culled it down to be more simple and hopefully more powerful. I will admit that I fell in love with the imagery a bit and made a point of NOT chopping that up. I'm glad I didn't and that it had a good effect.

The last couple of lines were my favourites, and I pretty much wrote the rest of the fic around them.

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 11/05/11 12:21
Chapter: Chapter 1

As I think all the other reviewers of this story have said, definitely Adore! Regulus is wonderfully characterised and fleshed out, even though this is a very short story.

While I have finally found a cause worth dying for, he will have forever defeated me in finding a cause worth living for. I really really loved that line - it was a beautiful contrast, but I think it also shows a similarity between Regulus and Sirius which works perfectly for the end of this story.

I spy the glint of tears on the old elf’s face, and it gives me a rush of affection for this dire-looking creature who I had stupidly offered up to the Dark Lord as a beast of inconsequence. I also loved that line - you've done a great job with Kreacher's characterisation in this story as well. Kreacher usually responds to those who are kind to him, and so obviously Regulus had paid him more attention than others in the family, but his reverence for Voldemort got in the way of that.

As I said earlier, I think you did a great job of showing both the similarities and differences between the two brothers and this was a perfectly written story.

~Katrina

Author's Response:

I need to write more things, since I have missed your reviews greatly. I'm glad you liked the story, because I was initually reserved about adding it when it was so short, but sometimes shorter is better. Its original draft was nearly 1500 words, but I actually cut it down to 900 because it flowed so much better.

With the first line you quoted, it was actually one of the first things I wrote on the page, and I put everything else around it. Since this was originally meant to be 500 words, the short version was chopped to bits, but that was the one line I couldn't lose. 

Anyway, thank you for the lovely review. I'm glad you liked the story, and I'm glad you're back. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: peacefinderangel23
Date: 11/02/11 20:09
Chapter: Chapter 1

**sobbing**... its sooooo sad... we sometimes forget the lost heroes that was lost early on in the story..

Author's Response:

Regulus is just such an interesting character. I like that, in the end, he and Sirius weren't so different after all. They both were stubborn in their beliefs, and they both had the same fundamental knowledge of what should and should not be permitted to occur, though Regulus just took more time to find his own personal morality.

Of course, Jo saw that the end of this story was a sad one, but I wanted to put my personal stamp on it, to show that Sirius held more influence over his little brother than he ever knew. 

Thanks for reading and reviewing. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: annegirl_shruti
Date: 10/23/11 8:23
Chapter: Chapter 1

Regulus is so intense and melancholy and true.....  I adore him....!!!

Author's Response:

I always pictured Regulus as being not too dissimilar to Sirius, only with different passions and priorities. They merely think in different ways, but in the end, I believe that, deep down, they weren't so very different in terms of basic morality.

Thanks for reading and reviewing. :) Sorry it took so long for me to respond, but the notification emails for MNFF seem to have stopped working. 

~Jess

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 10/19/11 17:27
Chapter: Chapter 1

Adore!! Very good!!

Author's Response:

I'm glad you like it. :) Thanks for reading/reviewing!

 

~Jess

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 10/19/11 9:42
Chapter: Chapter 1

Adore, naturally. Wonderful expansion of the drabble and I'm glad you resisted the urge to pad because this is the perfect length.

Hmm, if I had the choice of who should write this character, it would be you hands down. You grasp characters very well. In your hands, Regulus becomes multi-dimensional and not the 1D Slyth that other people write.

Great story, Jess. ~Carole~

Author's Response:

I knew once I tried to add things to this that I shouldn't, and then I started removing things. I suppose that this would've been emotionally taxing if it were any longer.

And yay that dark and angsty characters make you think of me. :) That makes my day.

 

~Jess

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 10/18/11 22:54
Chapter: Chapter 1

I thought this was a great drabble so I'm glad you were able to write a bit more and submit it. Kudos for really getting inside Regulus's head! He actually turns out to be a bit more of a hero than anyone might have thought, doesn't he? I really, really liked this line:
"While I have finally found a cause worth dying for, he will have forever defeated me in finding a cause worth living for." The contrast is really brilliant.

So what did he see? :)

Great job and good luck in the rest of the competition! ~Gina :)

Author's Response:

I was going to try adding what Regulus had seen upon drinking, but it's almost more intense thinking about it rather than reading about it. It was potent for Harry not knowing what could make Dumbledore beg for death, so me trying to imagine it up and write it could almost be anti-climactic. I suppose he would've seen the pivotal moments in his life that led him to believe that the Dark Lord's cause was just and the things he had done as a Death Eater. That's horrific enough, hehe.

Anyway, I'm glad you liked it. This is one of those things that feel more *right* as a short piece, so I'm glad I culled the initial draft. Hugs, Twin!

~Jess

Reviewer: Thestral Wings
Date: 10/18/11 18:14
Chapter: Chapter 1

This is outstanding! I was stopped at a light today and, as I often do, I selected the "most recent" stories on my iPhone to pass the time. I saw this one right at the top of the page and was completely upset when my light turned green, and I had to wait to read the story attached to the summary that had just captured me. It was well worth the drive home to be able to sit back and relax with such an intriguing story. I loved every word. I was especially struck by the line: "I have come to realize, it is blacker than I could ever be." This was a clever use of "black" referring to the darkness of his soul as well as the family name he now hated.

And the final paragraph was worth reading multiple times over. I hung on every word. This is one of those stories that will go in my head as canon. The writing is beautifully descriptive and stays so completely true to the story and its characters. I think I'll go read it again. Thank you so very much for a wonderful read!

Author's Response:

I'm really glad you enjoyed the story. My original draft for this was around 1500 words, but I read through it with a fine tooth comb and a chopping axe and it ended up shorter and, I believe, better. What I really wanted was to show why Regulus made his decision to try and destroy the Dark Lord, someone who he had once revered. I'm glad I captured that well. :)

Thanks for the lovely review. It made a fine breakfast, hehe.

~Jess

Reviewer: edyeb
Date: 10/18/11 17:54
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wonderful insight to Regulus, our unsung hero of the HP series.

Ever thought of doing a take on how RAB found out about the Horcruxes??? There may be a fan fic out there addressing this, but you or Neil would be two of the few I feel would give it a wonderful take.

Edyeb

Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoyed it. It was written at about 7am after an angsty all-night writing session, so that it is readable let alone any good feels like a feat for me, hehe.

As for further RAB studies, I probably won't have the time in the near future, but there is a story that comes highly recommended from impeccable sources that you may enjoy.  It says it's not completed, but I believe the author forgot to tick it off as such, as it is done at ten chapters. It's called A Certain Slant of Light by Hatusu, which highlights some of the darkest hours for Regulus in his time as a Death Eater who was willing to defy Voldemort.

Anyway, thank you for the lovely review, and I hope to see you again!

~Jess

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 10/18/11 6:33
Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh, Jess, I adore :D

Well, this is *you* we're talking about here, so there's no surprise that this one rendered me speechless. And written in first person present tense, no less. LOL.

This is one event I have always wondered about in canon, and I think you just nailed Regulus's characterisation here. And my heart just went out to Kreacher! Seriously, I actually wanted to hug him, which is no mean feat, I can tell you.

Oh, and by the way, I voted for this drabble in the Brawl :D I can't remember if you won or not, though.

Author's Response:

Woot, first review!

This is actually the Brawl drabble I've liked the most thus far. I remember distinctly despairing of the prompt, because, in my head, Marauder Era is a pack of poncey pranksters, not the dark and twisted. Then, while I was busy feeling sorry for myself, I decided to peruse the list of Slytherins on the Lexicon for some inspiration and out this came. Yay dark and twisted stuff. Even if it does technically have none of the warnings I usually employ (Sexual Situations, Profanity, Violence, Character Death). 

Alas, I didn't win that round, but I did have the distinction of being the only drabbler with no negative votes for that week. That's something, I suppose. :)

Thanks for the review!!!

~Jess

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
Dark Enough To See The Stars by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Scorpius is looking for answers in the constellation that bears his name. He...
The Other Prophecy by IWriteToSurvive 3rd-5th Years
Hermione Granger is in a dilemma. A dilemma she never thought could happen...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES