Reviews For Stars or Carousels
Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 08/29/14 15:27
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Carousels

I did not see that ending coming. That was kind of a sad story. Although his heart was broken, I think it was best that James know the truth. Enjoyed the story.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 08/27/14 17:26
Chapter: Stars

I don't think you've wandered into this area before--kissing cousins. One time I had a crush on an older cousin but I was really, really young and it went unexplored. I'm not sure how I feel about this. You do write so well, however, so I'll just go on reading:D I love the nickname Nix.

Reviewer: Ginnypotter2699
Date: 12/23/11 0:07
Chapter: Stars

James and Dominique? They are cousins!!!

Author's Response: In the Uk and for a good proportion of the world kissing, marrying, having sex with your cousin is neither immoral or illegal.In fact Elvis Presley was in a film called 'Kissing Cousins' and you cannot get more mainstream than that.

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 11/13/11 0:01
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Carousels

Cryyyyyyy! I was so rooting for James. He'd grown up and found himself but still loved her. And she loved him. And they almost had some fabulous young people sex. *sniff*

Interesting twists with Myles and with the other girl. I was more surprised by the latter, although in retrospect I probably shouldn't have been (as this is a gift for Natalie). It added an entirely different dimension to Dom's crisis in figuring out what she wanted, never mind who. 

Shower scene = smouldering yet bittersweet.  In retrospect, it really gave me the sense that Dom hated her physical needs, as they were a primary source of her personal drama and angst (though in the fic we didn't know to what extent).

I think James is a true triumph in this story. He's so...different than I've ever seen him. Making him a writer isn't something that would've ever crossed my mind. Quidditch player? Yeah. Ministry employee? Still yeah. But a writer...and it suits his personality so well. He was the sole person to look past Dom's rather blatant inference about Myles to see that there was something far deeper than that. 

Anyway, my thoughts are winding dangerously into stupid and undefined territory, so I will leave you with a 'well done' and a squeeeeeeeee. Love the pairing. :)

~Jess



Author's Response: Thank you! Oh, James as a writer. Well, he fell into it almost by accident in High because having failed to get taken on by the Arrows (he thought he'd fly straight into the first team), Ginny wasn't going to let him sit on his arse all day, so she dragged him to the Prophet. He wrote a few Quidditch reporst with her based on the school matches, and then it took off from there. I have this Mystery bunny nibbling at my brain now, which would feature him and Scorpy. hee hee

Glad you liked the shower scene. Yeah, I think you're right that Dominique has this problem with being led by her desires. She's quite selfish in some ways and manipulative, but at the heart of it she just can't forget the mysterious 'M' and wants to be with her. I feel quite sorry for James though. I wanted some beautiful people sex too - hee hee. I need to find him some hot chick so he can move on from his cousin. *plot bunny expands*

Thank you very much for reviewing, Jess. It is very much appreciated. ~Carole~

Reviewer: lucca4
Date: 11/02/11 1:07
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Carousels

THE TWIST! I should have known :).

Oh my god, Carole, this was absofrigginlutely fabulous. It has a dreamier, more lyrical feel than your other stories and it works beautifully. I loved Dominique/James and I wanted to hug James at the end, but I really couldn't be dissatisfied with the ending because Dominique is with the woman she truly loves.

I have no words for this story. It is one of the most amazing things I have ever read.

xx Ariana

Author's Response: Mwahahahahahahahhaha - yes, the twist, the twist. Thank you so much for such a fabulous review. I have loved and hated writing this story because I usually go for a neat endings and this is still pretty ragged. Reading your review made me feel all warm inside and validated, so thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuu, again. ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 11/01/11 16:12
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Carousels

Carole, I really liked this! I knew there was more to James/Dominique than I thought, and I really felt for James here when it was clear Dominique didn't want to be with him. Aww. And I'm assuming "M" is a reference to Natalie's OC Maudie? I LOVE how the flist combines their canons almost. That's just so cool. :D

I don't think I have anything intelligent to say, so I'll just stick with saying well done, and is there a third chapter or is that it? Oh, and I love that this is High compliant too, hehe.



Author's Response: She could be Maudie if Natalie wants her to be, but I'm not sure she's IC for Maudie. I did have some prior knowledge about Natalie's stories before I wrote this, but really my Dominique isn't the same as hers. Thank you very much for the review. It is much appreciated.You might see a little of this fic in High - you never know - ha ha - Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 11/01/11 15:41
Chapter: Stars

Oh hell! I meant "traumatised", not "traumatic" >.< Thank Merlin Bob the Snake does not seem to be crawling about here...

Author's Response: And of course I won't tell her about this at all .... heh heh heh. ~Carole~

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 11/01/11 15:37
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Carousels

Oh Carole, Carole, Carole! What can I say? This was just an amazing ending.

Okay, I’ll start with a confession. I think I am rather in love with your Dominique (which makes me feel bad because it’s like I am cheating on mine), but yours is a more intriguing character. She is dark, she is sarcastic and she is very, very sexy. I think Dominique should be made officially gay by Rowling because men just don’t deserve that much hotness.

Poor James :/ But I felt sadder for Dominique, the way she is caught in a half-way house. Although, I must say that this story gave me an interesting insight into your James. In High, we don’t know much of him, and this peek into his life is quite touching and bittersweet. It certainly gave him an interesting dimension. I’ll be thinking of it when I read the final chapter of your glorious (but not very convincing) Scorpius/Lily fic.

You really baffled me in this story, and I mean it as a compliment. I kept wondering why this Myles, who sounded a tad like an oversexed Cormac McLaggen, was writing such amazing poetry LOL. The plot twist in the end with “M”(heeheeheehee) yanked off my pants (metaphorically speaking, of course!) I cried tears of joy because Dominique liked girls! :D :D And also that Myles person was not the poet because that would have made me traumatic.

Your writing really shone in this fic. You write emotions really, really well. Dominique’s chapter was so heart-wrenching. The letter about carousels was beautiful and poignant, the scene in the bathroom was beyond amazing, and the dance with James was so desperately sexy. While the first chapter was bittersweet, the second overwhelmed me with its tragic sense of loss and wanton desire for wholeness.

I feel like no praise is going to be enough without dropping the f-word a fair few times, so I shall poke you later on :D But thank you so, so much for this! Seriously, I love it to bits!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review. If I tell you how much I agonised over this story (when I remembered you're not keen on 'cousins') I was close to deleting it all, but this was the canon I kind of had for James - being in love with someone he couldn;t have - and Dominique fitted the story largely down to you making her so bloody hot- ha ha. Of course THIS was the reason I couldn't read Bleed because I was terrified I'd have to delete all of this once I'd read your Dominique. M can be Maudie if you desire it so, however I wasn;t sure (from what I remembered) whether she was at all like Maudie, and this prob doesn;t fit your timeline - or Dominques career as a restauranteer - (ha ha - I had that in another story years ago)

yours is a more intriguing character.

That's because I am evil ... No, it's because you know your Dom inside out, and I know my Nix - hee hee.

Deeply touched by the review. I shall sniffle a bit more and then worship at Kara's feet for encouraging me to finish. THANKIEEEEES ~Carole~

Reviewer: Amelia_Bones
Date: 10/31/11 3:58
Chapter: Stars

Hmmm...very interesting. Not as squicky as slash for me. Poor confused James. He *really* could have any girl he wants. I'll stick around to see what happens.

Author's Response: Now I love SSP having written a lot of it. James is confused, you're right, and so is Dominique. You'll find out why in the next chapter. ~Carole~

Reviewer: lucca4
Date: 10/31/11 1:48
Chapter: Stars

For Carole:

Ooh, I like this! I've never thought about Dominique/James before, but you've pulled it off beautifully and very realistically. I feel so sad for James at the end…I'm hoping maybe things turn out better for him in chapter two (which I am really looking forward to by the way).

For Natalie: Happy birthday! You are so sweet and amazing and a wonderful friend. Plus you write so incredibly well it makes me want to smack my head against a brick wall ;). You are such a love, and I hope your day was perfect.

Author's Response: I have scars lacerating my forehead from where I have bashed it against the wall after reading Natalie's work (and yours). Thank you for the review, Ariana. This is High compliant, by the way (I think everything is with me now). I hope you enjoy the next chapter which will go up very sooon. ~Carole~

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 10/30/11 8:59
Chapter: Stars

Aww, I was so rooting for James. You tricked me with a Prof rating. Cheeky woman!

Anyway, I really liked the characterisation; they really seemed like normal teenagers, up to no good and doing stuff they shouldn't behind their parents' backs. It reminded me of being that age, even if the time since that was the case is becoming alarmingly longer and longer, hehe. 

Great fic. Sizzling pairing. Heart heart heart you, and Natalie, too!

~Jess



Author's Response: Patience is virtue .... There shall be smut ... Croll hath spoken. I'm glad you like the pairing. I had this image of the pair of them dancing in High and thought UNF - because my James is so dark and she's so blonde (but not Veela blonde if that makes sense). Sometimes I like writing about beautiful people - hee hee. Thank you so much for the review, and I hoped you liked the Disclaimer ... ~Croll~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 10/30/11 8:56
Chapter: Stars

Yay to cousin pairings :) I need to write one myself, for that matter. I thought this was excellently written and you really captured their feelings well in this. I also LOVE your Dominique.

Happy birthday to Natalie and I'm looking forward to the next chapter!



Author's Response: Thank you for the review, Soraya. This is High compliant - hee - so when the last chapter comes out you may get a few allusions to this fic in that (hee hee). Glad you like Dominique in this. I've been saving her for a while. ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES