Reviewer: IBelieveInNargles_Luna4ever
Date: 06/26/12 15:37
Chapter: Prolouge: The Week of Tears

Yup, my first review :)
Listen, I don't know you, but I do know you have talent. You obviously have a knack for seeing things from angles others don't think of too, which is invaluable as a writer. I'm sure you're equally talented at whatever "other people" want you to do...but honestly, will it make you happy? I know writing probably isn't as reliable a profession as what they want you to do or anything, but here's what I reckon you should do: Pretend to go along with whatever they want, but write anyway, then send it off to a publisher. And then we shall have a magnificent garden party and they're not invited :P
Anyway. Sorry. all that from a total stranger. I'll shut up now.
Thank you for replying, pretty please post more soon ( I know you said you would, but I'm getting withdrawal symptoms XD You know when you were waiting for the next HP book and you used to guess all the time about what was going to happen next? Yeah, like that :P)

Author's Response: Wow ... I'm really very speechless right now. I'm blushing really badly right now, Thank you so much for all the wonderful compliments; I blame my weird ideas on my utterly messed-up mind. (but I'm so glad you like it. It prompted me to post the next chapter. :D) Yes, writing isn't as reliable, but seeing as we don't really know each other I kind of just have to say there's more to it, and not go on. :/ Sorry about that. I was talking to someone I know and trust (who's also one of my teachers), and she had one of the same ideas. :) It really means a lot to me when people say things like that, and it kind of gives me more motivation. So, in short, thank you so much. And we will have our awesome garden party.

I did update, though, and I have up through fourteen written. Thanks for the amazing review, and I hope the next chapter is validated soon! (It's a big one)

Ellie

Reviewer: IBelieveInNargles_Luna4ever
Date: 06/25/12 15:44
Chapter: Halloween

I got an account just to review this :P It's always made me mad the way Slytherins are portrayed in the books, and this fan fic is just...wow. A rare thing, something on here that makes you think! I would read this if it were a book, have you considered becoming a published author? Anyway, the real reason for this review is...
PLEASE WRITE SOME MORE I DON'T THINK I CAN STAND THE SUSPENSE D:
Ahem. Thanks XD

Author's Response: Wow. So I'm taking it I'm your first review?

Anyways, I'm really glad you like it. This fic is probably my favorite, and I'm so glad you like it. Being a Slytherin myself, I started thinking about it, and I decided they probably wouldn't be the best house to be in after the war. Grudges and whatnot. As for the publishing bit, I have considered it, but some other people have different plans for me. I really want to write, though. It's what I love to do.

I promise to update soon. I kind of destroyed the next chapter with edits I made on paper and I'm trying to edit it .... but thanks for the review! It means a lot to me. :)

Ellie

Reviewer: Phoenix Song114
Date: 06/20/12 20:02
Chapter: Halloween

AWESOME! I love you! Awesome story here! Fantastic! Almost wish I was a snake but I'm a Hufflepuff instead. :(

Author's Response: Haha. I'm sorry then; I kind of rip on Hufflepuffs a bit in this story. I'm glad you like the story, though, but I can say I wrote it as truly a snake. *hisses* Thanks for the review!

Ellie

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 06/20/12 3:25
Chapter: Halloween

Brilliant!! I just read all that you have written and I couldn't stop! One thing that always struck me was how the HP books were so hypocritical with "ALL those guys were bad bc they were slytherins" and "ALL good guys are from griffindor!" fantastically written!! Can't wait for more!!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it. I did find that kind of odd, and being a Slytherin myself I'm inclined to believe I'm not 100% evil. Thanks, and I'll update probably today. Thanks again for the review!

Ellie

Reviewer: Lost_Robin
Date: 06/17/12 12:38
Chapter: Halloween

Happy birthday! I hope your day is filled with HP references and hugs!

Author's Response: Thanks! Oh, there are many HP references. I tend to take Nick's route, though, with huts .....

Thanks for the review! <3
Ellie

Reviewer: GinnyPotter95
Date: 06/14/12 2:28
Chapter: Prolouge: The Week of Tears

Oh no, don't get me wrong. I don't usually read D/A, but I love a good D/A fic. I really like this fic, as its very well written. I'm almost done writing "mourning", so I'll get it to you soon. Thanks
~Nidhi

Author's Response: Oh, I get it. :) Thanks for the review, and send it over whenever you're ready!

Ellie

Reviewer: GinnyPotter95
Date: 06/14/12 0:51
Chapter: Prolouge: The Week of Tears

I have no idea why I'm reading this… but great chapter all the same. ~Nidhi

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review, Nidhi. It can be a *bit* dark, and I understand if you don't like it because of it. It can be a lot to handle. :)

Thanks again!
Ellie

Reviewer: silverlining95
Date: 06/13/12 21:57
Chapter: Halloween

I realised a couple of hours ago that I hadn't actually read this yet, and decided to as a matter of urgency!

Wow. The treatment Nick has received, particularly from the Ministry, makes me so angry. I know quite a bit about the care system and thought you portrayed it accurately procedure wise (though for sanity's sake I'd like to believe no-one is treated quite as appallingly as Nick).

This has completely drawn me in, I've never been one to believe Albus was sorted into Slytherin, but I'm now converted!

The entire complex world you've created flows perfectly, and simultaneously makes me laugh and cry.

Your fellow Slytherin,

Fenella xx

Author's Response: Fenelllaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

Thank you so much for the review! Yeah, Nick has it kind of (VERY) rough. This spawned from me twisting our house standing in the cup right now .... but I'm really glad you like it. I'm also glad I'm getting it right, because it *is* a sensitive topic and such. I'm so glad you like it .... and keep reading! :)

<3 Ellie

Reviewer: Redwing
Date: 06/13/12 20:31
Chapter: Drama

While I'm certainly interested enough to continue reading, I'm not sure about where this is going. It is very angsty so far, with the martyred main characters and "everyone hates us" premise. I'm going to keep at it though, because it's at least interesting to read something different from the usual.

Author's Response: First off, thanks for the review. I know it can be angsty, but that's generally my style. :/ It is a bit ... different, but I"m glad you think it's out of the norm. Things will look up for a bit in the story, and I promise you it will have a (somewhat) happy ending. :) (Once I write it ....) Thanks again for the review!

Ellie

Reviewer: FearlessFlyer
Date: 05/01/12 1:38
Chapter: Lottie and Thomas

Ellie, first of all, your story is very inviting. The beginning summary and prologue really drew me in. I totally love stories about redemption, and am looking forward to seeing all the things the Slytherins will do to change others’ perceptions and to accomplish their goal of winning the House Cup.

Don’t feel that you have to change your characters or your universe to suit other people. I’m a very AU kind of person myself, and I frequently like to tease myself with my very own “what if” kind of prompts when I write. The problem with writing AU, though, is that not everyone wants see things the way that you do. I don’t like or agree with the story line of every single non-canon pairing or AU story that I read, but if it is well written I enjoy it for what the author is trying to portray.

You are writing about families that have become dysfunctional because of their experiences in the war, and that alone is rather dark and difficult. You are doing a good job with it, your story does allow me to comprehend why those who have been hurt badly can harbor prejudice, even towards their own who have made choices they don’t agree with.

The only thing I might add is perhaps a little more background about Al’s relationship with his family. Somehow I can’t see Harry or Ginny not getting what Al goes through at school. He doesn’t tell them, of course, but both his parents are very insightful people …

Keep on writing “ I’m looking forward to more!

Martha

Author's Response: Thank you, Martha. :) You don't know how glad I am you responded. I understand what you're saying; the way I used to tend to avoid Slash, and with it all being compared to the reader. I know that the summary is a bit of a mindful, and honestly, I don't know who wants to read about Slytherins being good. :) I'm glad you decided to take a look.

I'm also thrilled I'm getting the point across about the changes I created. (I wonder if it could almost be considered AU ...) But I'm glad I'm not completely murdering it. :)

As for Al ... I've kind of been avoiding that on purpose. There is a certain point coming up in around five-six(ish) chapters in the story which will cover that, but I promise I'll get into it a bit more. I'll post the next chapter after I'm done here. :) Thanks a million, Martha, for the fabulous review.

Ellie

Reviewer: FearlessFlyer
Date: 04/29/12 22:36
Chapter: Lottie and Thomas

I'll have to admit I wasn't really sold on the premise of the story to begin with, but it is really starting to grow on me. You are developing the characters very nicely, and your use of dialogue is very well donel.

Author's Response: Fist off, thanks for the review! I am curious, however, as to what I could do to make the story more ... inviting. Can you help with that? :) I'm glad it's starting to grow on you, though, and I promise things will start to speed up soon. Thanks again for the review!

Ellie

Reviewer: Envy_I_May_Be
Date: 04/27/12 12:29
Chapter: Secrets and Surprises

This story is amazing, Ellie!!!! I really like your writing style; it's very unique, and that interests me. I like the way you characterized Nick; she's very head-strong, and very Slytherin, indeed. But I am rather curious as to who gave her that scar... I hope we find out soon! But I really am enjoying this; keep it up, and update soon!!!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! :)

I'm glad you like it. My writing is a little ... quirky. And Nick is one of the most stubborn people I've met (created), except maybe Al. As for the scar, chapter 12-13ish should reveal all. I already posted the next chapter, and until eleven it should be one right after the other. I'm so glad you like it. Thanks for reviewing!

Ellie

Reviewer: Viv Wang
Date: 04/25/12 5:26
Chapter: Prolouge: The Week of Tears

I will remember the Slytherins. Because Slytherins don't give in.
What a dramatic (in a good way) way to start a fic. I like it, so much.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Yeah . . .it *was* kind of dramatic, but I needed an 'eye catcher'. I guess it worked. Keep reading! :)

Ellie

Reviewer: Viv Wang
Date: 04/25/12 5:24
Chapter: Prolouge: The Week of Tears

I will remember the Sltherins :)

Author's Response: You always should. They sneak up on you like a silent assassin . . . I should know. I am one of them. (MWA-HA-HA-HA) ;)

Thanks for the review!
Ellie

Reviewer: PeppermintToads
Date: 04/17/12 0:31
Chapter: Of Impromptu Defiance and Quidditch Tryouts

That was bloody fantastic! It was realistic and without any Mary Sue-ishness! Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! Next chapter should be in soon(ish)! Glad you liked it. :)

Ellie

Reviewer: starlight dreamer
Date: 03/18/12 3:39
Chapter: Prolouge: The Week of Tears

This is very interesting. I like this idea, of Albus being in Slytherin, but I can't really picture his cousins and siblings being so horrible to him. I do understand that they would treat him a little differently, and their reaction very shocked, and maybe their relationship with Al shakier, but I don't think they'd really treat him so horribly. I think Harry would've at least tried to tell them not to prejudice against Slytherins. I think the relationship between Al and his cousins might've gotten worse, but not as bad as though they would've hexed him like any other Slytherin. They know Albus isn't a bad kid, as they've all known him for quite a long time, so they really shouldn't act so mean around him. This just seems slightly implausible, sorry.
Same thing with Piper. Hannah and Neville don't seem like the type to prejudice against Houses, they seem a lot like Harry. I know they're not really doing anything wrong, but it's not very likely that they would feel "betrayed" over little things like being in a different House. After all, it's their children--they should know that Piper isn't really evil or anything. She's really just the exact she person they'd known all along. This may come off as harsh, but it really bothers me.
On the other hand, the ending of this chapter seemed more like the ending for a one-shot. It's great and all, but I don't feel this need to continue reading even though there's more to this story. This would actually be a great one-shot in my honest opinion. I don't actually think the prejudice against Slytherins would be this huge, though. Even after Voldemort, I think Harry would've made it public that not all Slytherins are evil, and the Wizarding world would've changed its views a little bit and forgive. The hatred shown in this fic seems really over-reacted.
I quite like this fic so far, though. The point of view is really cool, and it makes me think about this in a different perspective.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for the review. :)

I get what you're saying about Al and Piper, but let me explain my reasoning. First off, I'm trying to make a dramatic statement. Also, I can tell you from experience, family doesn't always get along. My cousins and I . . . well, we're anything but close-knit. Also, their uncle was killed by Slytherins, and their entire family prejudiced against and tortured. And then their cousin, son of the Savior of the wizarding world, willingly goes to the people who did that. I think they would feel betrayed. As for Piper, Neville and Hannah were both tortured by Slytherins . . . and I picture that Hannah can hold a grudge. Plus, you never know how intense certain families are about certain things.

As for the chapter . . . I really wanted it to be cryptic. :) It was meant to sound more one-shoty, and I used it for a dramatic opener, I guess.

Thanks again for your amazing review. I'm glad you're enjoying it so far, and don't judge everyone too soon. ;)

Ellie

Reviewer: EvangelineLongfellow
Date: 01/06/12 18:32
Chapter: Prolouge: The Week of Tears

I love your view on things post-war, most people just make everyone a family again and so on but I like the shocking reality in the story about how most humans will hold grudges for generations.

Eva

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review, Eva. Being a Slytherin on the boards, it annoyed me slightly that everyone automatically made Slytherins antagonists. It got me thinking, and here I am! I know that Gryffindors are notorious for holding grudges, so I worked it into my idea of what being a Slytherin might be like. Thank you so much for the review, and I'm glad you liked it!

Ellie

Reviewer: sam_1034_lily
Date: 12/28/11 21:12
Chapter: Prolouge: The Week of Tears

Reading the summary I wasn't too sure about what I was about to read but I really really liked it. Even though its a bit hard to imagine their own families hating them. I can't wait to see what you do with this.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review. The summary is kind of cryptic, but I like it that way. Part of the story is reversing the roles; Slytherin is on the bottom. Also, imagine if you were a war hero like Neville or Hannah, who all were tortured in the final year of school, and were attempted to murder by Slytherins. Then suddenly your child is one of them. They could react two ways: one, they can't see pass their child's house, or they accept that their child is a Slytherin, and love them because they are their child. For the purposes of my story I had them make the wrong decision.

Anyways, I'm thrilled you liked it. Slytherins get such a bad rep (and somehow I am one of the slippery snakes) and I wanted to change that. I posted a new chapter a few days ago, so watch for it!

Thanks!
Ellie

Reviewer: phoenix_tearPatronus
Date: 12/27/11 12:05
Chapter: Prolouge: The Week of Tears

Haha I'm blushing, thank you for the kind words =)

However, the real fabtabulous person here is Ellie! I really enjoy reading this and I love it when I open my inbox and there's a new chapter waiting for me. I'm completely hooked already, keep up the amazing work =)

~Abi~

Author's Response: Thanks, Abi! What can I say . . . you're an amazing beta!!!! I sent you over a new chapter, and I think I'm up to Chapter five or something. Thank you so much for the review! :)

Ellie

Reviewer: Padfoot11333
Date: 12/26/11 20:37
Chapter: Prolouge: The Week of Tears

Snt she, and even though I already read more ahh details, I want to see it on the boards.

Lily xxx

Author's Response: Thank you, Lily, I really appreciate the review. I'll try to post soon, but I think there was an issue with your review, as there are two of them, split apart. Yes, Abi is an amazing beta, but I will post ASAP. Thanks again!

Ellie

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
Have You No Idea That You're In Deep by littlebird Professors
"The problem, as Harry sees it, is he simply wasn't prepared."
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES