Reviews For The Real Magic
Reviewer: LilyLunaPotter7
Date: 12/24/12 5:27
Chapter: Chapter 5: Friends and Farewells

I love this story every time I re-read it!

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm so happy you've actually gone back to read it again!!

Reviewer: IndigoPassion
Date: 10/03/12 11:16
Chapter: Chapter 1: Solitude and Solidarity

This really was an incredible story. A refreshing change. I hope to see them again, reunited :) Honestly, I thought this was AMAZING, I really couldn't put my praise into words.. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. I've been asked a couple of times if I'll do a sequel and I'm thinking about it...!

Reviewer: ravenclawshermione
Date: 08/14/12 4:23
Chapter: Chapter 1: Solitude and Solidarity

This is surprisingly well written, a refreshing change of pace with all of those pesky GrangerSues out there. There is exactly enough action and dialogue to set off the required informative setting bits, and the pacing is rather nice.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing, I really appreciate it!

Reviewer: HalfASlug
Date: 07/30/12 23:47
Chapter: Chapter 5: Friends and Farewells

I read this story ages ago and have only just got around to reviewing because I am a terrible person. Sorry.

I can honestly say that I have not cared about the friendship troubles of 10-11 year olds this much since I was 10-11. On paper, this story shouldn't have worked. There's a distinct lack of magic, multiple O/C's, male and female lead characters with a strictly platonic relationship... pretty much everything that readers avoid. Throw in time travel or a long-lost child and you would have had the full set.
Despite all of this, the story was interesting, engaging and completely original. None of the O/Cs seemed 2D or forced, Hermione was so perfectly in character it was a bit scary and you had me genuinely upset and raging against Jamie's dad over a story about a boy, a girl and books.

I'm gushing here but you're an awesome writer. This is an awesome story and deserves to be featured (well done btw!)

Now, I don't want to be one of those annoying people, but any plans for a post-DH sequel? Just a one-shot maybe?

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! And you're not a terrible person!! I'm so pleased you enjoyed it - you definitely have a point about how it shouldn't work. Hermione is the only character from the series (except her parents, but we don't really meet them, do we?), and I did worry that people wouldn't be interested because of that. It's ironic, because I don't read that many stories with O/Cs, but I thought I could justify Jamie. I'm really glad you thought Hermione was characterised well. I think because so many of us love her so much, it puts a lot of pressure on us to write her properly. I felt that this story needed to be told, and I really enjoyed writing about children rather than (young) adults. It was refreshing, and felt a lot more special than anything else I've done. I was absolutely astounded to see it pop up on the Featured Stories list! I cannot believe how well it's been received!! As to your last suggestion - I have been asked this before! I'm certainly thinking of it! I'd have to come up with a really good idea, and it would probably be a one-shot (although, this one was originally a one-shot...), but it would be really interesting to see them reunited! And I'd love to write them both again :)

Reviewer: crbluvsravenclaw
Date: 07/27/12 20:57
Chapter: Chapter 5: Friends and Farewells

I definitely do and I am so glad that I read this story because it was so good and I love Hermione. This actually made me want to read the books for the eighth time...

~crbluvsravenclaw!!!(:

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I really appreciated all your reviews, and I've been overwhelmed by the responses to my story! I'm so pleased you've enjoyed reading it :)

Reviewer: crbluvsravenclaw
Date: 07/27/12 20:33
Chapter: Chapter 4: Grieving and Growing

Sorry I haven't been reading, I have been so busy, but I will finish this story eventually! I think you did really good with this chapter. I liked the news she got, haha.(:

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 07/26/12 11:10
Chapter: Chapter 5: Friends and Farewells

This was so sweet. I loved it. And is that the reason she keeps reading Hogwarts a History?

Author's Response: Thank you for taking time to review this, and I'm glad you liked it! This is the reason I think she read Hogwarts: A History so much, and I like to think there's a meaning behind it.

Reviewer: crbluvsravenclaw
Date: 07/23/12 0:48
Chapter: Chapter 3: Books and Betrayal

Poor Hermione! Nice chapter!(:

~crbluvsravenclaw!!!(:

Reviewer: Phoenix Song114
Date: 07/22/12 20:48
Chapter: Chapter 5: Friends and Farewells

oh my gosh! this is definitely one of my fav stories! :) brilliant work

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed it and took the time to review :)

Reviewer: crbluvsravenclaw
Date: 07/22/12 20:08
Chapter: Chapter 2: Loving and Loathing

Very nice! I have a question, however... It has nothing bad to do with your chapter or story, it has to do with the series as a whole. When does Hermione get her Hogwarts letter? We all know that she turned 11 in September just after the first, so does that mean she would have gotten her letter then on her birthday or later on the next year? I assume the books would have been the same and everything. I mean according to this, it hasn't happened yet, but I never thought of that before.

~crbluvsravenclaw!!!(:

Author's Response: That's a good question - I always assumed they got it on their eleventh birthday, but Harry's first letter actually comes before his birthday. It isn't until after being bombarded with letters and Hogwarts sending Hagrid to contact him - which just happens to be on his birthday - that he gets the letter. That's why I decided that Hermione would get the letter in the summer, as it seemed that's what actually happens

Reviewer: crbluvsravenclaw
Date: 07/22/12 6:40
Chapter: Chapter 1: Solitude and Solidarity

BRILLIANT! I enjoyed every word of this chapter and I can't wait to read more! Thanks for such a wonderful read! I guess I'm like Hermione in a way!

~crbluvsravenclaw!!!(:

Author's Response: Oh, i'm so glad you enjoyed it :) Thank you for reviewing this!

Reviewer: GinnyPotter95
Date: 07/21/12 15:14
Chapter: Chapter 5: Friends and Farewells

I knew it would become a featured fic!!! Beautiful Story!!!~Nidhi

Author's Response: Aw thank you! I have to say, I was astounded and gobsmacked and so, so pleased to see this :)

Reviewer: Theloonyhermione
Date: 07/01/12 21:59
Chapter: Chapter 5: Friends and Farewells

This was an amazing chapter!! I agree that reading is one of the most powerful forms of magic. Great job!!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading! I thought people here might agree with me about reading ;)

Reviewer: Theloonyhermione
Date: 07/01/12 20:57
Chapter: Chapter 2: Loving and Loathing

This was a good chapter, especially with the sign that Hermione is magical!

Reviewer: Theloonyhermione
Date: 07/01/12 20:52
Chapter: Chapter 1: Solitude and Solidarity

This is great!!! I am a big hermione fan and at the time I'm writing a story similar to this. I like the part when Jamie gets excited that Hermione is going to help him. I also liked the ending paragraph.

Reviewer: HexFang145
Date: 06/11/12 23:15
Chapter: Chapter 1: Solitude and Solidarity

Woah this is really good! I always wondered how school was for Hermione before Hogwarts :)

Reviewer: Kaitlyn Snape
Date: 05/25/12 3:42
Chapter: Chapter 5: Friends and Farewells

It is I who should be thanking you. So, thank you. Thank you for writing such an amazing story about Hermione. Thanks.

Author's Response: I'm going to have to repeat you by saying thank you again! Thank you for taking time to write this review, and I'm so glad you enjoyed the story!

Reviewer: Skarlett
Date: 05/25/12 0:56
Chapter: Chapter 5: Friends and Farewells

Wow, I really enjoyed that! I think you did an amazing job of writing Hermione before Hogwarts, and Iike to think that she might have had at least one friend before she went to "boarding school."

Hermione and Jamie's friendship was very inspiring, and I think you created a very interesting character. There were so many different things about him that made him more unique.

This would be a great explanation to much of Hermione's actions during her first year. Such as her amazement when nobody else seems to have read Hogwarts, A History and her tears when she hears Ron talking about what an insufferable know-it-all she is.

This really was a wonderful story, and I really enjoyed it. :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it! I tried really hard to make her true to the Hermione we know, and I enjoyed putting in details like Hogwarts, A History and the otter which McGonagall conjures (which I implied was the reason for Hermione's patronus being an otter). Thank you so much for this review :)

Reviewer: Liet Dumbledore
Date: 05/25/12 0:12
Chapter: Chapter 5: Friends and Farewells

This is a really inspiring story. I love how it has a simple plot with complicated details. You are an amazing writer.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! For anyone to say that to someone who writes is such a great honour, so I am so touched! I'm really glad you enjoyed the story.

Reviewer: Nagini Riddle
Date: 05/24/12 22:16
Chapter: Chapter 5: Friends and Farewells

Yes, readin is an amazing magic! The first paragraph of this story was something I could really relate to, and I feel the same about books as Hermione. They are another world to enter and discover something more about life and ourselves. Thanks for a great prequel to Hogwarts. Perhaps you could write about Ron or Ginny or even Neville next...

Author's Response: Thank you! I thought that people on here would especially relate to a love of reading, as we obviously love it so much because of Harry Potter. And haha, maybe I'll do just that...

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
Have You No Idea That You're In Deep by littlebird Professors
"The problem, as Harry sees it, is he simply wasn't prepared."
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES