Reviews For Glass
Reviewer: Raeinflight
Date: 07/05/13 11:02
Chapter: New Year's Eve, 2029

Oh, I have read all the prequels! I just can't wait for the rest!! Haha! I like you're writing very much! Keep up the good work! I am hoping for a happy ending;)

Author's Response: Yay, I'm glad you've read the other stories :) I think the further back you go, the better they become because I wrote this one, Glass, first, and then kind of worked my way backwards. Thank you so much for the very kind compliments, and I can't promise a happy ending, lol, not when I'm not sure about them myself. But thank you for the review!

Soraya x

Reviewer: Raeinflight
Date: 07/01/13 11:43
Chapter: New Year's Eve, 2029

Ok great, but what happens next?!!! You are going to write another story about them right?

Author's Response: All in good time ;) I need to figure out what happens myself first, ha. In the meantime, there are the prequels (Skinny Love, Broken Glass and The Highway of Regret) which you can find on my author page if you haven't already done so. A lot more of their story is explored there. :) Thank you for reviewing!

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 04/22/13 12:25
Chapter: New Year's Eve, 2029

I wasn't sure I could be sold on this pairing, but you've managed to convince me quite easily, Soraya. :) I think so much of how one views a cousin pairing is cultural. It's definitely squicky over here, but I really enjoyed your version of it with Lily and Louis.

By beginning with that very sweet (but not saccharine) scene involving the mascara, you drew me in and made me smile and got me on board with this pairing immediately. It's playful and sexy, and just a good, original way to show how much sense they make together.

The party was fun, and I enjoyed how everything unfolded. Lily was understandably frustrated at everyone's efforts to deciper her mood and/or set her up. Am I right in thinking that Hermione had it figured out? I hope so. She hid her own feelings for so long she would certainly know the signs. Another reviewer mentioned that Roxy would likely have figured it out, but honestly, I wonder if the idea would simply not be on her radar. Because the cousin pairing is so unusual (enough so that Louis is as nervous as he is about coming out to the family), I doubt she would have even considered the idea of them as a couple at that point. Anyway, nothing in the fic struck me as unbelievable at all, is what I'm trying to say.

I don't read or write very much next gen. Only if a writer I like has written it do I really check it out much at all, and I think the reason is because there are so freaking many of these next gen kids, and they are all in these scenes, and they tend to blend together for me. Sometimes I can't even keep straight which kids came from which Weasleys (not counting trio kids). So it becomes tedious and it just doesn't appeal to me. I only say that because you've really managed to avoid that problem in this. THough several of the next genners are in and out of these scenes, you managed to give each of them a unique personality or quality and keep them distinct. Really nice job with that, Soraya. I particularly liked Victoire, and the idea that she and Lily are close. Lily has a bit of her mother's spunk here, too... I loved that she told Victoire in spite of knowing Louis didn't want anyone to know. She didn't exactly "come out" to everyone, but she didn't totally keep that secret either.

Apologies for not be a better reviewer, but I wanted you to know how much I enjoyed this. I will check out the others in this series eventually, I hope. Take care, and happy writing. ~Lori

Author's Response: Loriiiiiii! I am so sorry for replying late. Preparing for exams has meant far less laptop time, and I don't think a rushed response would have done your fabulous amazing lovely review justice.

So first, can I just say, thank you SO MUCH for clicking on this story. I wasn't sure if it was because it was featured or just because, but I am really happy with the receptiom this story (amd the others in the series) has got so far, although I certainly don't deserve so much copious praise. *blush* I also am very much aware of how certain pairings are taboo/squicky in certain places. Even in England, it may be legal, but that doesn't necessarily maen everyone likes it; many, many Brits I know really are uncomfortable with the idea or at least regard it as strange to fall in love with your first cousin. Knowing how it's not exactly the most conventional pairing over the pond and yet you still read the story therefore makes me happy :)

Yayyyy, I'm really glad you liked that opening scene! :D I will admit I had my reservations about it because it's maybe a bit unconventional, too, so I was really happy to see you thought it was sexy :P I'm also really pleased you liked the party and my portrayal of Lily, especially, as you say, her frustration at everyone to decipher her mood. (I won't lie, that was kind of taken from personal experience and my own family :3) You are totally right in that Hermione had worked it out because, well, Hermione is Hermione, and she doesn't miss a trick. (Except when it comes to Ron -- LOL.)

I agree that Roxy is unlikely to have figured it out because even in Britain, it may be legal to marry your first cousin, but it's still not common or anything, so it's hardly likely for her to just suss it out like that. Yay to believability :)

I think this wasn't my first foray into Next Gen, but I definitely consider it my first "good" foray into NG, if that makes sense. There are a lot of kids, especially those who aren't even mentioned by name in the books, so I can see why you steer clear of the cat most of the time. But I do like the possibilities at all these children as well as Scorpius, Lorcan and Lysander, because there is really no right or wrong in terms of characterisation. I'm really glad you liked Lily's spunk here because yes, it definitely comes from Ginny, hehe, but also from Lily Evans Potter.

And yeah, I wanted her to have told Victoire because of that exact raeson -- she didn't want to keep it a secret and also felt she had to tell everyone for her own sake. Having a secret relationship is hardly fun, imho.

Don't be silly -- your review was fabulous! Seriously, I got this just after a disastrous dentist appointment and it made my day so much. Thank you so much, Lori, for the lovely review, and happy writing to you too :D

Soraya xxx

Reviewer: leftychick
Date: 04/17/13 5:56
Chapter: New Year's Eve, 2029

Nice read :)

Author's Response: Thanks! There are also a couple of prequels to this, if you're interested. Just click on my username and there are links in my author bio -- Broken Glass explores more of Lily's flashback in this story, while Skinny Love looks at their relationship before they got together, and The Highway of Regret is written kind of in between this story, Glass, and Broken Glass. But, you know, only if you want to ;) Thank you for the review :D

Reviewer: iLuna17
Date: 05/13/12 1:10
Chapter: New Year's Eve, 2029

Hi, Soraya.

In all honesty, when I first read this piece, I wasn’t sure I was going to like the idea of Loulily. But by the end … I couldn’t imagine it any other way. You handled the pairing in a delicate and careful manner, and it was quite entrancing.

One of the things I especially loved about the piece was your characterization of Lily. I loved how she wasn’t perfect and self confident, she had insecurities just like everyone else, which made her seem very real to me. She also had just the right mix of anger, love, and confusion. Lily obviously feels something she’s never felt before in Louis, but I’m also glad you showed her confusion, and how she was still not sure whether or not what they had was *right*. You showed her constant struggle, how she wants to proudly say she’s found ‘the one’, and her belief her relationship with Louis isn’t as squicky as people make it out to be, but also you displayed her fear at what everyone will say. And her fight with Louis … you managed to show just the right amount of anger and annoyance. I just love ‘your’ Lily; she has so many complex emotions swirling around inside, just like any normal girl. :)

As for Louis, I thought he was simply sweet. He’s the one to tell Lily she’s beautiful, which I know from reading Broken Glass she didn’t really believe before, and the one to listen and generally be her ‘Prince Charming’. I especially enjoyed the bit with the mascara, it gave his character more of a depth, adding sadness to his already complex state of mind. One thing I didn’t really like, though, was his sort of ashamedness at his relationship with Lily, and how it took someone telling him it was okay for his relationship with Lily for it to be okay to tell everyone with him. (as confusing as that sounds) I think you made up for it at the end, though, with his cute paragraph about wanting to be able to ‘show’ Lily off.

I *did* have a bit of a nitpick where Roxy and Harry were concerned, however. I think they would have known something was wrong, because generally people don’t ask to talk in private, even if it sounded casual, unless there was something they didn’t want anyone to know. Also, the Weasleys are kind of a nosy bunch, and I think Roxy would have known Lily was seeing someone, since she scorned all attempts to fix her up with someone. Other than that, though, the piece was simply stunning.

As hard as it to choose with this piece, my favorite part of the piece had to be the ending. Even though the cliffhanger makes me want to beg you to write everyone’s reactions, I think it brought a nice sense of closure to the piece. It solved the argument, and brought ease to both of their minds. Plus, they’re just so, well, perfect, it makes the idea of them being cousins seem abstract, and the idea that they’re lovers realistic. They have their fights, but in the end, they’re okay. And that’s what I love about this piece.. :)

All in all, Soraya, it was just beautiful. It wasn’t *right*, persay, but it was delicate and just stunning. There are many ways to characterize both Lily and Louis, but I really enjoyed your versions; they had a great blend and complexity to each of them. You also managed to capture what I think a good relationship would be, in a sort of weird way, yet it was realistic. They fought, but it didn’t destroy them. Please tell me if you decide to post more Loulily; I would love to read it. :)

Keep it up!
Ellie

Author's Response: Ellieeeeeeeee! Thank you so much for such a lovely review.I'm really happy with the reception this story's got, even if it's not my best.

I think there's a lot of me in Lily. Weird, I know, but for some reason, subconsciously of course, there's a lot of my personality and insecurities in Lily. For example, I have a lot of issues with my weight, which is also something that Lily has a problem with. Also -- like Lily, I'm very indecisive, as you can probably tell, lol. And yes, she is a normal girl -- or as normal as you can get :)

I love Louis. As a character, I think he's rather underdeveloped here, but I've written a lot about him in OF, and I love him so much that I want to marry him. Seriously. Hehehehehe. And the thing about the mascara was just something I found rather funny -- basically, in a story of Alex’s (I’ve forgotten which one), a male character is kind of fond of makeup, and I thought the idea of a guy doing someone’s makeup was sweet, hence why I included it. I know it’s a bit-- random, but yeah.

I see what you mean about your crit, but I think what’s important to understand is that Louis isn’t ashamed of their relationship. He isn’t. From way back, he accepted the fact that he was in love with his cousin (if you’ve read Broken Glass, you will have seen this quite clearly) and that isn’t the issue here. He’s just worried about how everyone will judge him. It’s just him being self-conscious more than anything, but I’m glad, anyway, that you liked the bit at the end :) He does want to show everyone that he loves Lily; he’s just scared, really.

Yeah, they probably would have guessed something, but it’s unlikely they would have all known exactly what was going on. Roxy, for example, would have been completely clueless, lol, especially as she was drunk. Harry probably did guess something, and if I ever do write a follow-up to this, after my exams, you’ll see what everyone’s reactions are then.

I’m really pleased and flattered that you liked this story so much. Really, it means a lot, especially since this pairing has become my OTP. And if you’re interested, I’m planning on converting this to OF, but the storyline will be, of course, rather different. If you want to know more, and even read an excerpt of this OF that I speak of, you can join the hunting_down community at Livejournal. Alex set it up for any budding OF authors on her flist, and I’m sure she’ll let you join. Even if you don’t write OF yourself, you can always comment on other people’s (Jamie’s recently put hers up, and Kara’s posted too), and my excerpt is also begging for comments at the moment, so I’d love to know what you think of it.

Well, I think that’s it. Thank you, once again, for leaving me such a lovely review, and again, I’m so glad you enjoyed this and even thought it was stunning. It means a lot.

~Soraya~


Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 04/26/12 8:28
Chapter: New Year's Eve, 2029

It's quite interesting that you wrote these 3 stories (this, Broken Glass and Highway to Regret) in reverse order... and I've read them in their chronological order. It kind of works both ways... I think the way I read it, I was never sure until the end of this that they really would stay together. Anyway.

I looooove the ending of this. I love that Louis is finally brave enough to 'come out' to the family, and to be honest, I think the family might have less issues with this relationship than Scorose haha. But I think it shows a great development in his character from the beginning.

Also the scene at the beginning between the two of them was so cute - haha you're really making me start to believe in this pairing. I also liked the development in Lily's character in terms of starting to believe she's beautiful, at least for Louis, because I think a body image issue can cause problems in a relationship - it's nice that at the end they both believe in each other and themselves.

I loved the idea that Lily told Victoire first - you've shown that Louis and Victoire are fairly close, so it adds something to have Lily and Victoire having that kind of relationship.

Also, thanks for welcoming me back - hopefully I'll actually have some new stories up soon too.

~Katrina

Author's Response: I'm at school at the moment, and I'm having to stop myself from squeeing out loud :D I'm so glad you liked this. At the time, I was going through a real slump in my writing, having just written Flicker and Fail in a complete rush and beating myself up about how crap it is, and then the Great Hall-iday Challenge cropped up. Although at the time, I didn't think I would enter, inspiration struck as I was looking at some of my 100-word drabbles I wrote for this pairing. (Basically, this pairing stemmed from a, erm, discussion we had over on the boards about cousin pairings. Someone expressed their distaste for stories where Weasley cousins were shipped together, and, well, I feel quite strongly about it, being someone with several close relatives who have married their first cousins -- in fact, I know a couple very, very well who have been married for the last twenty years. So the pairing began as a sort of rebuttal to that, as well as the fact that the dynamics of that kind of relationship really fascinate me, especially having read Carole's James/Dominique (Stars or Carousels) and Jess's Louis/Lucy (Never Let Me Go).)

That was a rather long explanation, lol. Oops. Anyway, I seem to always work better backwards -- I usually write the endings of stories first. My mind works in weird ways, hehehe. I'm glad I had that element of surprise, though :) Yay to you liking the ending. I think it was a bit too -- open, but I do hope to maybe write a follow-up (right now, I'm more concerned about converting this to OF and revising for my GCSEs -- eeeep). Rest assured, their coming out will not, um, be pretty :P

Yayyyyyyy, I think I've become slightly obsessed with this pairing, putting it lightly, so it's good to know you're convinced of the pairing, even with your qualms to begin with. I think it's easy to have this sort of pairing if you don't think of them as cousins in a relationship, but, rather, two people in love who just happen to be related. And yeah, as someone with body image issues, it was nice writing that bit, even if I am totally channelling Lily in the process, lol.

And I think Victoire is very astute, and she probably guessed at it anyway. Louis and Victoire are very close, so it made sense that Lily would be able to confide in her too.

Once again, I'm so glad you're back. I don't know what I've done to receive such loveliness :D

~Soraya~

Reviewer: Padfoot11333
Date: 01/29/12 18:57
Chapter: New Year's Eve, 2029

Hello Soraya,

I think it takes a lot to write a cousin pairing--not just because it’s squicky but because I think it would be a lot harder to realistically pair two first cousins together. It takes a lot of commitment, and a lot of bravery, I would say, to put your relationship out in the open. With this story, you captured that perfectly.

I read your Diabolical December drabbles where you became obsessed with this pairing, and no matter who wrote it, I didn’t think I would have been able to find it believable. Obviously a drabble isn’t meant to do that--it’s just a short glimpse of a scene--so when you asked me to review this of all things I was a little nervous about it. I was shocked, though, because this was believable for so many reasons--because it wasn’t just mindless fluff, and because Lily was afraid to tell Roxy and her parents about her relationship with Louis.

I do think it was a little bit iffy that Roxy would have had so little an idea of Lily and Louis’s relationship that she would actually have tried to set Lily up with someone else, unless Lily and Louis really hid their chemistry well. But since you did show them kissing a lot, and because Victoire knew about their relationship, I don’t think they were as careful as they could have been.

I quite liked how Lily and Louis weren’t a perfect couple with no fights. I do think they would definitely have had fights about telling others about their relationship and I agree that Lily would have been the one to “out” their relationship, not Louis.

I liked the way that the story was told in present tense. In my opinion, it really helped bring out the way that the story was told in an almost urgent manner. But when you switched tenses to tell the flashback of how Lily and Louis got together, it seemed a little…weird, to tell the truth. It took a second for me to get that it was a flashback, because other than the few words you used to imply it, there was really no way to tell.

I also liked the title of the story-if I’m correct, it came from when the glass shattered and Lily and Louis felt the chemistry between them for the first time. I thought that was just a really great place to derive a title from.

One nitpick I did have (and it’s not really even a nitpick, it’s just something I noticed) in the first paragraph you have Lily describing herself as twenty, and then later Louis calls her nineteen.

I also thought that you should have had Lily and Louis telling everyone about their relationship near the end of the story. While the ending did have a sense of finality, it didn’t wrap up the loose ends, and I’m sure I’m not the only one who would want to know how the family reacted when they admitted their relationship.

Anyway, this was a great fic and certainly not what I expected, and I’m sorry I took so long doing SPEW buddies!

Lily xxx

Author's Response: Hi Lily :)

Thank you for such a lovely review. Firstly, I know cousin!love isn't the easiest of subjects to write about, partly because of the potential squickiness (though I don't really find it squicky, only when I think of myself with my own cousins, lol) but also the fact that the Weasleys and Potters are quite a close knit family. I agree with you entirely that it takes a lot of guts to come out about it, and I hope you understood why Louis acted the way he did with Lily.

Hehe, in December, I was going through major writer's block, to the point when I actually forgot about the Secret SPEW deadline >.> so it was nice writing the Loulily drabbles. Was I really obsessed with them? I don't think that's the right word, just a bit keen :P I agree that it's difficult to find a believable cousin pairing, but I have read them before -- Carole's Jominique and Jess's Louis/Lucy are two excellent examples. And yay to this not being mindless fluff, lol. I got the idea, stayed up until almost two in the morning writing the thing, sent it to Alex and then just submitted it for the GH challenge in the nick of time. I was fairly pleased with it, which doesn't happen often nowadays, but I was worried that it was a bit on the fluffy side so I'm glad you said otherwise. :)

Hmm, the thing is, Louis and Lily would never dare kiss or hold hands or anything in front of the Weasley family. The only time they ever kissed, in this story, was in their flat, which they shared, alone, and in the Burrow. During the latter time, remember, everyone was outside watching the fireworks. No one could see them. Rest assured they were very discreet, and Roxy would therefore have no idea of their relationship, especially since it's not really a conventional thing to do if you know what I mean.

And by the way, Lily *told* Victoire about their relationship. Victoire didn't find out, per se. And I'm glad you liked the style -- that pretty much killed me, tbh, because it was originally in past tense but it wasn't working so I changed about a quarter of the way through and made it present tense instead. I thought the use of present tense would help with making the transition to flashback easier. Basically, the reason why it might have been slightly confusing is because I was trying (for once) not to italicise my flashbacks. Clearly, Deathlex can do it and I can't >.> I will bear that in mind next time, though. Ta :)

The title has been giving me a lot of grief, and I've kind of changed it back to just Glass because Dinny made me a lovely banner and it has the old title and I think it's better that way. But thank you. I had one review asking how the title connected with the story and I wasn't entirely sure, hehe.

I'll take care of that nitpick -- thank you so much for pointing it out! And I know what you mean about Louis and Lily coming out. My honest answer is that I don't quite know, at this point, what will happen, so I just hope that the idea will one day appear in my head and I'm near enough to a laptop that I can write it down :) I want to write a sequel, and I hope to do so, but perhaps not now, especially with exams looming.

Anyway, thank you for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure being your SPEW buddy!

~Soraya~

Reviewer: silverlining95
Date: 01/22/12 21:55
Chapter: New Year's Eve, 2029

This is a beautifully written piece, with real emotional depth, and in my mind you broached what could have been a controversial topic with real emotion and feeling, leaving me truly hoping their family can accept them... well done!

Author's Response: Hello :) I'm so glad you enjoyed this. To be honest with you, it was the first thing I had written in more than months, literally, that I actually was sort-of proud of. (That doesn't make much sense given I wrote it in about three hours, whereas most of my other works I've had to slave over for weeks or even months and they turn out crappy anyway...) It is a controversial topic, I agree, but it is also a topic close to home for me. Therefore, I'm flattered and pleased that you liked it, and that you thought I handled the issue well, because above all, I wanted to at least be able to do that -- the fact that you thought it beautiful is just the icing on the cake :) Thank you very much for your review, and look out of a sequel very soon! ~Soraya~

Reviewer: GirlWhoCriedWhenSiriusDied
Date: 01/06/12 23:38
Chapter: New Year's Eve, 2029

Let me start out by saying I loved it, the pairing was so strange (for me at any rate) but I absolutley adored it. At first I was ready to stop reading, thinking that Lily's boyfriend was actually Scorpius, and me, being me, hate that. Rose&Scorpius is my favorite pairing (apart from James&Lily of course) but when she said Louis I was very curious. Thanks for the wonderful story and please write a sequel. :D

Author's Response:

Hello! Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I'm so glad you enjoyed it -- this is definitely one of my better-received stories, hehe. The pairing could definitely be described as strange, and unconventional, and to some, squicky, but after writing the story, it's become my OTP :D So I hope it was convincing for you :)

I'm not really a fan of Scorpius/Lily myself, though I have read some excellent Scily stories nevertheless (High by Equinox Chick, Though The Heavens Fall by welshdevondragon and Let Justice Be Done by welshdevondragon). I definitely recommend them to you, because they are all very well-written and convincing despite me being more of a Scorose shipper, like you :) In fact, if you'd like to read a Scorose story by me, well, it's called Blood and Roses.

Anyway, pimping aside, thank you for the review, and I'm really happy that you loved the story because this is the first story in ages that I've actually been more than semi-satisfied with. I'm thinking of writing a sequel, yes. Possibly with some Scorose in it XD

~Soraya~

Reviewer: Mie--jadus
Date: 01/06/12 19:06
Chapter: New Year's Eve, 2029

Lovely :)
I only don't really understand the title, to be honest ;)

Author's Response:

I'm very glad you liked it :) The title is a tiny inference to when Louis and Lily first realised their feelings for each other -- when they drink from the same glass just before New Year. Also, I think the image of Louis with cut glass cheekbones is rather sexy but that's probably just me, hehe. Anyway, thank you for your lovely review. Have a lovely weekend!

~Soraya~

Reviewer: sergeantmajorette
Date: 01/06/12 14:19
Chapter: New Year's Eve, 2029

Cousins marrying is apparently a pure-blood thing -- for example, Sirius' parents were first cousins. Royalty does it all the time! It only squicks me when I think of *my* cousins,,,

Author's Response: Yes, I know, cousins marrying are very common in my culture -- I'm Bengali. Quite a few of my relatives have married their first cousins so it isn't really squicky to me :) I hope you liked it, and I totally agree. It only really squicks me out if I think of my own cousins, lol. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Ginnypotter2699
Date: 01/05/12 23:32
Chapter: New Year's Eve, 2029

Lily and Louis? I like it though.:)

Author's Response:

I do love random ships, and I especially love Loulily because I practically invented it, lol. Anyway, I'm really glad you liked it and thank you for your review. :D

~Soraya~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
At the Battlefront by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
The Final Battle at Hogwarts rages on as the victims question whether or not...
Crocus by Equinox Chick 3rd-5th Years
Four years after the Battle of Hogwarts, Andromeda Tonks exists only for her...
Other Lives and Dimensions and Finally a Love Story by MoRoCcAnAnDpRoUd 6th-7th Years
The year is 1977, and the Wizarding World is in turmoil, but it doesn't really...
FEATURED
My Troubled Tyrant by Belledeg Professors
Keedie Dante has experienced many amazing things during her time at Hogwarts...
His and Hers by Acacia Carter 3rd-5th Years
In a perfect world, Neville and Hannah's wedding would go off without a hitch...
All This Waiting For The Sky To Fall by Dawnie 1st-2nd Years
They found her body - broken, bleeding, face filled with signs of pain and fear...
Sanguini, the Vampire by teh tarik 6th-7th Years
Vampirism is the persistence and the perpetuity of the body, a madness of the...
Lost and Found by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
When Tracey Davis's financial security was a casualty of war, her family is...
CATEGORIES