Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 08/22/14 10:51
Chapter: Bamboo Wands

One wonders why you chose the title “Bamboo Wand” for this chapter since most of the chapter is about Alex forming the illegal dueling club. It seems as though the bamboo wand is created by the powerful to allow those with no power to still be part of the family. Using that model, Alex is allowing David to duel even though he doesn’t really have the right attitude for it. Will David undergo an attitude change, or do his gifts lie elsewhere?
Perhaps the title is simply to remind us that Alex is always thinking of Claudia even though she would rather forget her.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 07/30/14 10:35
Chapter: The Squib Laws

A couple of things I noticed hidden in plain sight. There were clues about the Squib Laws in the previous chapter, but Alex misinterpreted them. Unlike Alex, I did not think David and Anna were getting together as a couple. It does highlight Alex’s self centeredness, that is Alex needs to believe that her feelings are more important than what Claudia went through.
This chapter also sheds light on the hatred between Abraham Thorn and Elias Huckstein. This curse was administered long before Abraham sought out Voldermort. If I have my timeline correct, this would have been close to the height of his political career and when he married Thalia King.
Mary Dearborn tells Alex not to deal with hags. But how did she get Alex’s magic mirror. Did she buy it from a hag?

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 07/29/14 11:17
Chapter: Memory Alchemy

I was doing a reread on this book and now have come to where I left off reviewing.
Alex’s impulsiveness gets tiring. I empathize with Anna and probably Lilith. Going to Dinetah was reckless; Grimley’s return may have tipped the balance but her main reason for going was to avoid dealing with the issue of Claudia.
Likewise her now obsession with memory alchemy is similar. She is so headstrong that she believes she is the only one fighting and has difficulty seeing the roles of others. In some ways she is improving; by saving the teenagers, she is at least thinking of others. But she only seems to think of others who are less powerful than she is. She doesn’t consider the people who are equal or who might be more powerful than her. She is reluctant to accept help whether it was Johnny the Naveho, or the Pritchards or any of her friends. (I’m beginning to think the Pritchards are going to be a lot more formidable in the future. But more important she dismisses Lilith, Mr. Grue, her father etc.
Grimley has told her she should let her father know what is going on esp re the 7 years left to live. On one hand I understand her reluctance to say anything to her father for fear he will just sacrifice an enemy just so she can live. The gift of the Obal reinforces that type of thinking. Grimley’s insistence on her telling her father, makes me wonder if there isn’t another way out of this. Maybe Alex didn’t make a binding contract and it may be possible for her to get out of it without another dying in her place.
With regard to her mother’s condition, it seems foolish to think Alex is going to succeed where learned professionals (Mr. Grue) didn’t. I suppose if Alex were to think of this more deeply she would agree “she kinda implies this when she says “So I’ll be doing a lot more studying. It’s not like running away to other Lands or the Indian Territories…” She tends to forget that knowing half of something is more dangerous than knowing nothing at all. Potentially, I could see her trying to experiment on Galen thinking she knows something that others don’t.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/24/14 16:02
Chapter: Without a Wand

I think you finished this a couple of years ago so I hope you have the 5th year coming along. I hope Alex gets back into school, Charmbridge. I was kind of disappointed with Alex's relationship with Torvald--that it seemed to end. I was getting to like Torvald. Maybe Brian will be her beau for the summer. I think Alex has treated the men in her life a little unfairly but you do have to take those men in hand and tell them what to do. Can't wait for your next book. You really put a lot into these stories.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/23/14 18:46
Chapter: What You Were Born For

Wow!! You really outdid yourself in this chapter. I hope Alex's face isn't cut up too badly. She is such a strong young woman. This was one time Alex was happy to see her aunt.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/23/14 14:05
Chapter: Gift

It looks like all is lost. I should've known that it wouldn't be that easy to get rid of the baby monster without repercussions. Who will rescue her? This is a good time for her dad to show up.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/22/14 16:28
Chapter: The Injun-Blooded Warlock

That's a very interesting idea--to fool the monster baby mummy away. I wonder if Alex will get to visit the Grannies. They sound fascinating. I think there's often truth in the old stories. Those stories are there for a reason.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/17/14 17:45
Chapter: The Last Pruett

Oh no, don't tell me that little mummy thing is in Larkin Mills. I snickered when Livia couldn't do some of the things that Alex could. If you don't use it you lose it. It was great that Alex had a place to practice but something tells me she won't have that place anymore.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/17/14 15:36
Chapter: A Great Work

I think Alex has accomplished so much in the time she's been at Charmbridge. I've always thought that Julia comes off as being naïve and a little too proper for my taste. The best thing is that Alex seems to be able to hold her temper.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/15/14 13:55
Chapter: The Parliament of Stars

WOW!! That's about all I can say about this chapter. I was so excited I started to read backwards. Those stars are not easy to deal with. Great work on this chapter.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/14/14 17:18
Chapter: A Girl Named Troublesome

The dance sounded like a lot of fun. Is Alex really talking about sex? You make it sound like she is but then you might come up with something else innocent that they could do together. Too bad for Sonja and Stuart. I hope it's not that creepy little mummy baby running around in the woods.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/13/14 17:33
Chapter: Bamboo Wands

I loved this chapter. I think it's adorable that Alex has found a "boyfriend." I think I mentioned Torvald as a possibility a while back in an earlier review. I'll have to go back and look. I can't wait until they go to the dance together. I'm glad you put a little romance into this series:D

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/09/14 17:10
Chapter: The Squib Laws

So, Claudia was cursed to not have any children and then had to raise her pureblood sister? Whoever said that it sucks to be Claudia was right. David is so sweet. I'm happy he and Alex went to the dance together.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/07/14 14:59
Chapter: Memory Alchemy

I'm glad Alex got to visit with her father. Maybe she learned something. Hard to tell if he's always telling the truth though. She made an interesting observation in that she found it harder to lie to a teacher she respected. Isn't that how it goes. I hope she gets her hair back to normal.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/02/14 12:08
Chapter: The Witch's Lullaby

Alex seems old beyond her years. Wise also. She's just stubborn and doesn't seem to believe that the adults are out to protect her. Of course if she listened to the adults she wouldn't have as much fun.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/01/14 15:03
Chapter: The Bones of Their Victims

In all honesty, there are parts of your stories that I don't like. They're well written but outright frightening. I hate to think of a young girl going through some of the things Alex has to go through. I must add that I enjoyed this past part of this story. It was exciting and interesting and I feel like I learned something.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 03/27/14 12:23
Chapter: Witches' Rock

I think this is Alex's worst night ever. If she can do something to John at this point she has my utmost respect. She's so tired I don't even know how she's thinking straight.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 03/26/14 17:20
Chapter: The Stone Hogan

You keep throwing us one surprise after another. The werewolf situation does raise further questions. Why did John have that Hogan marked on his map? Who killed Yuhzhee Redhorse? Why was she killed?

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 03/26/14 13:51
Chapter: A Gathering of Witches

That was interesting and exciting. I love and hate the rattlesnake. I don't care for snakes and have a healthy respect for rattlesnakes. They are all over out here. Ironic that Henry mentioned the Lands Below. Alex might just have a map to show him.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 03/26/14 12:39
Chapter: Nemesis

I did not expect a Navaho Auror. I did think it was strange that someone was there besides John M. or one of his gang. I can't wait to find out what happens to Alex now. Does the Auror know John and what he's doing? Wouldn't it be funny if John were an undercover Auror?

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES