Reviews For A Splendid Fate
Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 02/17/12 10:46
Chapter: May 2008 - Epilogue

Gemma Davies was at it again, shrieking in ecstasy as though the devil himself was about. Lucky Gemma.

Ahhh. perfect Epilogue. It ties a few things up and yet leaves me thinking about the characters long after I click away from the story. You tied it up well and Gemma had even more sex - YAY! I do like the way you've given other POVs here, so everyone gets an ending of sorts.

Ah, you've taken two characters that I really didn;t think much about before and given them life. Thank you.

Lovely story and now going to favourites so I don't forget it. ~Carole~

Author's Response: <33333333333 for following it to the end and leaving such enthusiastic reviews! It makes me want to continue writing. :) I think I will, after a nap lol. Thanks for all the reviews, love and support!

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 02/17/12 10:37
Chapter: April 2008

If the people of Chipping-on-the-Wye could stomach ever-blooming pansies and inexplicable heat waves, then she was pretty sure they could live with a nose that had mysteriously gone crooked.

Hahahahahahahahahaha

and just as I'm laughing, you do this to me.

Perhaps, she had been trained too well to hear the noise of other people’s lovemaking from afar; the sound of ecstatic moaning coming from the next room was unmistakable. She halted.

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

The lovebirds you heard were probably Dean and his girlfriend,” Yeah, sorry, we were a bit noisy.

and hahahahahhah - the smut is incredible. OOO-ER!

Sorry, incoherence reigns here. I need to ask a sensible question regarding the opening. I really liked the inventivelness of her talking to Terry - although I understand it's not actually Terry, but part of her ... um ... mind/psyche/subconscious - what have you, so ... why Terry? I loved that part a lot and I'm not questioning the subject choice but I'd love to hear your reasoning behind it.

I said inventive just now. I think this whole story is inventive and fresh and original and I hope it wins :) ~Carole~

Author's Response: The scene with Terry is a mirror of the interview scene. Eloise has shut her past up so resolutely that I imagine she'd find it hard to open up, even to herself. That is why I had her conjuring Terry's image. I also tried to make the parallel clearer with the line "begin at the beginning", which is how Terry started the interview. :)

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 02/17/12 10:20
Chapter: The Lost Years

F*ck ...

Just f*ck.

And wow.

And sorry it's taking me until now to read the rest of this.

The back story of Dennis and Colin is incredible, padfootically, this is amazing. I love the fact (well i don't love but think it's GENIUS) that Colin was cracking up and had lost it. Wow. Tell me, was that part of the Amelie story, or was this your complete invention. It doesn't matter because it's just brilliant anyway and opens up so much about the Creeveys especially Dennis decision not to go back to school and cutting himself off from that part of his life. I really like his Dad in this. He's only a brief part but you can see it tears him that Colin has gone and Dennis is now in decline. he must have been torn with wanting Dennis to stay with him but also knowing he had to return to the WW hence giving him the watch. Oh wow.

DEEEEEEEEEAAAAAANNNN!!!! yayayayaya - I love him. Okay, I am totally picturing Alfie Enoch here, but ha ha ha I don;t care, he's gorgeous and so is Dean. and he's with Daph who is one hot ball of sexiness (please finish that story so I may die happy).

OH GODDDDD! Dennis meltdown at the end. Thatw as so sad, The Girl was mortal and silly just like the rest of us :(.

Okies, I must crack on, but I have a pick.

Mr Creevey was also peering at it. “Why, I never saw her in any of Colin’s other photos.” “That’s because she didn’t take any. C’mon, Dean, you ought to-”

That, to me, makes it sound as if Eloise was taking the pictures. I think you need to tweak it so it's clear she didn't want photos taken of her.

OH!!! i loved the Harry and Ron banter. harry's line ablout Ron remembering something from school made me LOL.

OH! (I will go soon). Must mention how well the Muggle world slips into this. I usually hate mentions of Muggle things, but this makes total sense. Dean being cool and having a phone helps - ha ha.

Um, there was something else ... Oh yes. Ha ha ha - I died, DIED I tell you, when Dean slated all the people wanting to be Aurors or teachers. hee hee hee. I love this fic, and I love the way you've written it. I thought it was going to be a love story, and I knew coming from you it would have a twist, but the depth to this is incredible.

~CON~

Author's Response: Thank you for catching the errors! :D I always picture Colin as somebody brave but also frail. His manic enthusiasm and hero-worshipping would build up too much expectations, and when those expectations come crashing down, I think he'd snap. Also, ALFIE ENOCH. No one else can be Dean for me.

The original idea I had for the fic was heavily inspired by Amelie, but most of it was gone by the time I actually started typing this out. I’d say that the way the two characters’ loneliness and inability to relate to others is influenced by the connection between Nino and Amelie; the tragic beginning, the scene with Eloise walking out of the house, and the happy ending, to a certain extent; the epilogue was certainly done keeping in mind the montage that occurs at the end of the movie; the fact that Eloise works as a chef, and Amelia works as a waitress, and Nino’s fascination with discarded passport photos and Dennis’ job as a photographer; finally, Eloise’s quirkiness being reminiscent of Amelie. Apart from those similarities, the ties between the two have been cut off.

I'm glad you enjoyed the moment of humour. I piss myself lol-ing at Ron and Harry's banter, but often find it hard to write. Also, a lot of writers just tend to push everyone into the Aurors department, which is why I try to cover a variety of careers in my Post-Hogwarts fic. Thanks for reading and reviewing, Con! It made me squee!!

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 02/08/12 1:30
Chapter: May 2008 - Epilogue

Hahaha I love Julia. So snippy xD What a wonderful end to a wonderful story. I loved how you tied up the peripheral character arcs as well, especially with the two fathers. Poor Mr Creevey. My heart aches so much for him but I love how you gave his story this essence of hope with the bright wild flowers. It felt so... Colin.

And Dennis and Eloise are so effing adorable together I can't. New favourite rare-pair. The last scene was just so touching. Awwwww. So many feelings.

Thank you so much for dedicating this fic to me. I don't even think you realise what a gem it is. You're such a star.

Greenleaf x

Author's Response: I'm so thrilled you loved this! :D That's all!

Reviewer: lucca4
Date: 01/29/12 18:20
Chapter: May 2008 - Epilogue

This was beautifully beautiful.

Gorgeously gorgeous.

I love how everything is resolved, but it isn't entirely. Dennis's father at the grave made me want to cry, the scene with Mr Midgen made me smile. And the scene with Eloise and Dennis gave me hope, because Eloise has transformed so much as a character and it was lovely to see her enter the Leaky Cauldron confidently.

Amazing story. I am so proud of you, my mistress ;).

xx Ariana

Author's Response: YAYAYAY. My mistress loves it to the end :D :D :D Thanks for reviewing and being amazing! :)

Reviewer: lucca4
Date: 01/29/12 18:11
Chapter: April 2008

Yay Eloise! I'm happy with her decision and I love how you've transformed her from tentative and shy to a self-confident young woman. Your writing here is gorgeous (especially the end - haha). And I love the style; the flashbacks just fit so seamlessly into the rest of the story. Brilliantly brilliant :)

I'm not quite ready to say goodbye to Eloise and Dennis yet, but at the same time I'm anxious to see what the epilogue has to say. I hope you write about them more, even if it's just in passing. The dynamics of their relationship are to die for.

xx Ariana

Author's Response: I am glad you liked the transformation. In my mind, I originally had this drawn out, but the word limit had me shortening and culling a lot of things. I was really worried D: What if it was rushed? What if it didn't make any sense? But the reviews from you and Julia are making me sigh in relief :D Thank you, once again!

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 01/25/12 0:59
Chapter: April 2008

And Orinoco Flow just came on the radio and I'm thinking of you and giggling.

Author's Response: Oh dear heeheehee.

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 01/25/12 0:56
Chapter: April 2008

Um. Again, I shouldn't have read this at work... you and Croll have me all flustered! How inappropriate :P Seriously though, that was hot. Gahhhh I love Dennis so much. And you didn't fool me, I knew that it was Dean indulging in pleasure of the flesh and not Dennis. Don't think you can trick me!

That scene between Eloise and her father was sadly sweet and it was good seeing more information about her past. I'm really intrigued to read more fanfic about her now, you've got me interested in the character.

Anyway, great chapter, my love. I think I shall save the last bit for bedtime so I can savour the end :) That's if I manage to churn out the rest of poor Chudley in time!

Greenleaf x

Author's Response: And you didn't fool me, I knew that it was Dean indulging in pleasure of the flesh and not Dennis. Don't think you can trick me!

You know me too well dammit. I am sad for Chudley :'( But thank you for the reviews, and I hope you enjoyed the final bit :)

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 01/22/12 0:15
Chapter: The Lost Years

Oh I just adore Dennis. This was quite bittersweet to read. You show his grief really well throughout the chapter (and throughout the rest of the fic, as well) through his reluctance to rejoin the wizarding world... and when his dad gave him a watch for his 17th birthday, my eyes welled up, I'm not going to deny it, which was rather troublesome being at work and all.

It was really interesting seeing the way Dennis transitioned into the man we've been reading about for the last three chapters. I think this was the right moment as well. It just flowed so seamlessly from the last chapter. One thing: you said "tutorials" but I think you meant "editorials"?

This is just so beautiful, Lafonna. I'm not sure if you realise how compelling this fic truly is.

I can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: Thank you for catching the error! I have edited the draft :D It's so wonderful to know you're loving this, because I kept writing it with you in mind heehee. Also - phew- I was taking a risk by shifting gears with tis chapter, but there was no other way to work Dennis' history, which is so crucial to the story for many reasons. It was originally a part of chapter 2, but something like this huge had to be separated from the POV switch I used there. So, I'm super relieved to hear it worked! :)

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 01/21/12 23:12
Chapter: March 2008

HEY WHAT. They were so clooooooose and then slap! skgnjdnbjfgnbgf what are you trying to do to my heart, you fool of a Took!

I love the way you worked in Misfits hehe and I approve of Dennis reading The Guardian although I'd hope he'd be more interested in something other than TV celebrities :P On the topic of Dennis, uhm sexy much? Never thought of him away from the scrawny little brother of Colin but now... *fans face*

I love the way you've built these characters from the bare bones of canon. They seem just so very real. And Colin living on in Dennis's work... cue my sobbing.

Author's Response: Hahaha! Actually, I researched major news of March 2008 in the UK and kept getting Jade Goody :X I'm sure he reads a lot of other stuff too ha ha ha. Dennis is sexy in his own misunderstood hipster rebel way LOL. I guess he would count as a hipster in the wizarding world lulz.

Reviewer: lucca4
Date: 01/21/12 18:50
Chapter: The Lost Years

Aw, I still do love Dennis. He's such a sweetie, even if I do wish he hadn't shown Eloise that photograph so soon. I also wanted to hug Dennis's father when he gave Dennis the watch for his seventeenth birthday.

I've favorited and am thoroughly addicted to this story. I'm glad I could get my fix in for the day before homework :).


xx Ariana

Author's Response: YAY!

About Dennis showing her the photograph so soon, I wrote it like that because of his obsession. He's never expected to meet her, and suddenly she's there, which scares and excites him. And there is this urgency in him to show her her real self; it's something that he doesn't even think about twice. I'd say Dennis was a little out of his mind on this day, and whether it was the right thing to do or not is open to debate. I agree with you and think that ideally he shouldn't have - it's a jerk move in the end lol - but that is how I intended to build his character. Although EEEP I may have been unable to portray his character that clearly.

Thank you for the reviews! They're making my day :D

Reviewer: lucca4
Date: 01/21/12 5:57
Chapter: March 2008

NATALIE!

WHAT THE HELL, WOMAN. YOU CANNOT END THE CHAPTER THERE. No no no no no. They were just getting together…

I am so curious about that photograph it's not even funny. This will be me the next few hours: opening and closing this site to see if the fic is updated because GAHH THIS IS AMAZING.

And they're finally in the same town :). It was cleverly done and the anticipation was up to here by the time Dennis took Eloise to the beach. I loved that scene on the beach by the way. Eloise was like we've never seen her, so free and happy…I hope Dennis brings that back out from her in the next chapter (or two or three :D).

I thought I couldn't like this story any more than I already did. It turns out I was wrong.

xx Ariana

Author's Response: eeeep! Now I'm scared it won't meet expectations D: The next chapter will be a blunt change of scene. Hope it will clear some things up!!

Reviewer: lucca4
Date: 01/21/12 5:53
Chapter: February 2008

I think…

It's possible…

Perhaps….

Maybe…

I'm in love with Dennis :O

This is a seriously lovely story, Natalie. The set-up is so exciting and Eloise is so intriguing and I can't wait until they meet up. God your writing is so gorgeous. I'm sorry, this review isn't coherent and doesn't adequately express - at all - how much I love this story and how painful it was to wait until the weekend to read the next chapters :).

I feel like this story has real chemistry, not just between the characters per se, but between the reader and the story…it has a real attractiveness to it that makes readers want to read it and soak up the words because it's just so beautiful.

Off to read the next chapter [and review, because you are an amazing author and you deserve to hear it over and over].


xx Ariana

Author's Response: yayaya! Although, you might not like him later on. D: I mean, I do hope you'll love him to the end. :) Thanks for the lovely words!

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 01/21/12 2:25
Chapter: February 2008

How did you know I could relate to inconsiderate flat mates making... erm... loud noises through the walls at an ungodly hour? Hehehe.

I really adore the tone you've created here, Lafonna. The switching between the two characters is just right, not too abrupt but not so long-winded that I end up forgetting about the other. Dennis altering the photographs was cool, made me think of playing around with photoshop haha. I love the way you've tied the two of them together through the photo. I can't wait to see how they'll meet...

What an odd, disjointed review :

Author's Response: YAY. Yes, it was a nod to your Photoshopping lolol. Glad you're enjoying so far!

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 01/20/12 23:39
Chapter: March 2008

Brit here .... It's Sheffield, not Sheffields ... but apart from that I have no issue with the geography :)

Oh, now then, there's me thinking that Dennis is lovely and hot and cool, and then you say he's going to do something cruel and I was on edge. I'm not sure what he's done to the photograph, but it must be to do with the nose she accidentally hexed off. (I love the detail that she keeps touching it by the way) OHH! Hold on, ha - reread, his supposed cruelty in his mind is that he's known her all along, but she's not upset by that, but the actual photograph. (Me being a bear of very little brain, but it's late.)

I loved the scene on the beach and her slipping off her cardigan as he took photos. Somehow that really drew me in and I could see the whole scene before me. Oh, and I'm starting to detest Gemma.Smug b1tch with her perfect straight hair and model looks. UGHHHH!

Bring on the next chapter, my love. ~Carole~

P.S. This isn't a pity review, it's a promised review. There's a difference.

Author's Response: AAAARH I KNEW THAT :'( Alex Turner is from Sheffield after all. Why did my fingers betray me? :/ Hahaha! How did I know you'd dislike Gemma? :D About that last part, it shall be revealed what's happening in the next chapter. :) It might not be a very shocking reveal, mind. Lol. And thanks for the review! I know it's a promised one :)

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 01/20/12 23:02
Chapter: February 2008

I love Dennis! OOOH, this is so inventive and clever - ha. His manipulation of photos reminds me of my photobucket attempts - mwahahahahahahahaha.

I'm enjoying the periphery details in this. The details of Gemma Davies' sex life made me laugh - ha ha - but poor Eloise getting her satisfaction vicariously. Sympathy ... ahhh ... yes (tell her to take a shower).
,br> Um, minor typo Till date I think you mean 'To date'.

Um, what else, what else shall I say that will get me a SPEW award. Oh, poo, I don't know, just ... this fic is lovely. It's beautifully written, has incredible characterisation, an attention to detail that I'm so envious of, and a plot that is intriguing me.

Quite brilliant, and brilliNAT. ~Carole~

Author's Response: Thank you for catching the error! :D It has been changed. :) I'm happy that you're enjoying the story so far.

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 01/20/12 22:32
Chapter: Prologue

I've just realised something. I can't actually write at all. This is so beautiful.

The thing is, you've made me really care about Eloise in such a short time. I'm raging for her for not being at Hogwarts where she should be, I feel.

Quite brilliant.

And then at the end, you throw in Dennis and his dad and poor Colin who we know has gone.

This is amazing. ~Carole~

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! :D She should be at Hogwarts. But :/

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 01/18/12 9:49
Chapter: Prologue

As though on cue, a ray of bright, warm sunlight hit her.

Without mentally planning to, she smiled.


Gah Lafonna, you really know how to make something beautiful, don't you? This was just one beautifully painted picture of a chapter. And the final section, for the love of all that's perfectly bittersweet, my heartstrings might not recover... Everything about this pairing screams of something I'm going to fall in love with. The whole tone is just so... melancholic and lovely.

Gah.

Thank you, my sweet.

Author's Response: I was being ranty and then I realised I hadn't replied to this *hangs head in same* Thank you so much! :) <3 I hope you enjoy the rest!

Reviewer: lucca4
Date: 01/16/12 1:43
Chapter: Prologue

Ooooh interesting! I'm excited to read the next chapters already (and pleasantly so since I know you've already finished it :D).

I love the style in the prologue. I can't describe it really, only that's beautiful and sad - although reading about Dennis Creevey after the war is always sad for me. This is an extremely intriguing ship and I can't wait to see how Eloise and Dennis interact with each other ;).

xx Ariana

Author's Response: THANK YOU! :D I hope the whole thing will be plausible/enjoyable in the end.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
MIT: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
Through the Mines by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Tom Riddle remarks on the power he held while at the orphanage and at school.Written...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES