Reviews For Heat of Life
Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 08/19/14 14:10
Chapter: Three

That was a great story. Mind if I yell "snitch"? You have this way of making things sound all steamy but not dirty--you let one's imagination do the work. I love your writing and fortunately for me you have written a lot and I get to read it.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 08/15/14 14:33
Chapter: TWO

I'm feeling as dreamy as if I had one of George's potions. As I said earlier in another review, there can be life after Ginny (I think I said that about Harry before). I'm having flashbacks to my younger days, embarrassingly. I think Katie and Harry will make a cute couple.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 08/14/14 17:13
Chapter: One

Horny Harry is kind of funny. You don't expect to see him that way. What he ingested seems to be a fairly ugly drug. Love this story so far.

Reviewer: GinnyPotterFan26
Date: 05/18/13 4:38
Chapter: Three

So, I really didn't think I'd like this (you can probably guess why), but I thought it was brilliant. I love your writing though, so I gave it a shot. A great story, mixed with some wonderful moments of romance. Then it took a hard left turn into stereotypical fanfiction at the end. Which was also done very well, but felt kind of out of place with the rest of the story. I think it could have fit a little better without the detailed description. Not a complaint, just some constructive criticism.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. I really appreciate you reading as this is obviously not your type of fic - especially due to the pairing. Now, the end, yes it was quite near the knuckle, which was why I rated it Professors, for the explicit content. The thing is, I needed there to be some 'real' chemistry between Harry and Katie because in the books, (and in fanfiction in general) Harry is quite bland in that respect (apart from his chest moster - ha ha). Also I needed to show Harry in a relationship that was different from the one I perceived him (in the canon of this story) to have been in with Ginny. So, there had to be something more X rated in the writing. Basically, if I rate something Professors, it will be because of the sexual content.

Thank you again for reviewing. I assure youy, I actually like Harry and Ginny in the books and epilogue, I just can't write them.

Reviewer: hubris1
Date: 11/06/12 20:02
Chapter: Three

This was a good simple piece. Your writing style is excellent.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review. It's very much appreciated. I'm glad you liked the story.. ~Carole~

Reviewer: hufflepuffatheart
Date: 07/27/12 7:47
Chapter: Three

I love how you can take side characters not really explored and weave them a story, all for themselves :) Your stories always mark me grin and squeal with delight. This was noo exception!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm glad you liked this as it was new territory for me. ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 03/05/12 20:08
Chapter: Three

Ooooh, that was a nice end to the story :)

“If you shout ‘Score’, then it’s over.”


lolol. That was just far too funny :P

I liked that you tied together the loose ends, despite the word count limit, and I definitely was cheering Katie on when she gave Dave a good ol' knee in the goolies, hehe.

I think you've made this pairing really original, and the only thing I was wondering about, and this isn't crit or anything and I certainly don't think it should be in the story, is that I'd like to know how Harry and Ginny got back together. Because you haven't given it an EWE warning, so how did Harry and Katie break up?

Great story, Carole :)

Author's Response: UHHHHM, not sure yet. I might add an EWE - hahahahahahahahahhahhahaha - especially as Ginny's now engaged to Dean - ooops! Here's something evil to share with you, I named Dave after an ex of mine - hahahahaha- he wasn't that horrible mind you, but I liked getting my revenge. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 03/05/12 19:49
Chapter: TWO

*sniggers* Roger and Alicia's, er, antics are rather funny, hehehe.

I like how natural they are together. Harry was rather sweet, kissing her like that, and you've created lovely chemistry between them which was definitely necessary in order to make this pairing believable.

Ooooh, and I liked how you wrote Mundungus. Though I am wondering who his granddaugher is...

Anyway, on to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Haven't thought of his granddaughter yet, I just didn;t want him coming over as pervy when he talked to katie - hee hee. Glad the chemistry works. It was hard splitting him from Ginny and also giving Harry some spice because he's so dull *sigh* Thank youuuuu ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 03/05/12 19:32
Chapter: One

Hey, I've finally got on to this :) NGL, this is one pairing that I've never particularly cared for, until Jess's Up In The Air changed my mind. So I was definitely interested in seeing what story you'd give Katie and Harry here.

And, ooooh, I like that Katie is a curse-breaker type person. Suits her, especially after everything that happened with the necklace :) I also think that whoever's behind this drugging is horrible, and it's a good thing Dean's sis was saved, obviously.

You've got an interesting premise to the story, Carole, and I'd like to see where this goes :)

Author's Response: Thank you. i hope you like the rest of it. Katie has been a Curse-breaker in another story of mine so that seems to be my canon for her now, largely down to the necklace.

Mmm, Jess got me into thinking about this pairing, too - hah hah hah ~Carole~

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 02/27/12 8:08
Chapter: One

Ahhhh! The joy of reading smut! SCORE!

-cough-

Montague, eh? That one half of the Moste Eville Pairing "Malague"? Who would have thought the git could turn out to be such a plotter? Perhaps, he Vanished into some logic and brain?

Okay, I am sold. Ha ha! I think Harry/Katie is definitely now a pairing I won't shrink from in the future. This was a great story, CON, with a riveting plot and a not-so-dull-in-the-pants Harry. Thank you for that and that! I quite adore Katie, but I think I ended up liking Alicia more. (She's smexy here.)

My only nitpick is, I feel like it should have been mentioned in this chapter why Warrington was doing it at all. Just a line?

Apart from that, enjoyed reading it thoroughly! Your entries are rocking the archives ... hard.

~Natalie

Author's Response: and so much more evil than Warrington :P who wasn't involved at all so why would I mention his motive. tsk tsk. Methinks thou art obsessed with eville Slyths. (Point taken, there was a line somewhere, but I must have deleted it when I was culling. D'OH!)

Yes, I like Alicia as well. And even Roger is growing on me (like mould). SCORE!!!!!

Thank you for reading and reviewing. Was the smut acceptable? My entries aren't causing as much of a rock as yours, O SW of my heart. *giggling madly I must go and find Warrington*

Byeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee ~CON~

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 02/25/12 12:05
Chapter: TWO

“SCORE!” Roger’s shout echoed through the flat.

OMG. Dyinggggggg right now. Alicia, how can you put up with that? He must be bloody good at... scoring a goal.

Author's Response: snigger - heh heh heh. BTW, in the final chapter, there's a little something especially for you. Thank youuuuuuuuuu, Juliaaaaaaaa. ~Croll~

Reviewer: welshdevondragon
Date: 02/24/12 19:12
Chapter: Three

Well, Carole, that was very entertaining :) I loved Harry's summary of their date as "running off with another man and getting his trousers off... that’s definitely a new one on me" and the joke about Alicia doing Roger's back in. There was so much humour throughout, and I think this helped lighten the story. It definitely did not ignore the darker side of it--Dave's comment about "they were willing" is deeply disturbing, that someone might think like that.

However the focus of the story was Harry and Katie's relationship, and I think that developed so well--with Harry being so IC--being very noble about not wanting to go too far in case it was the potion affecting her, and being awkward around George. And I loved your George--he was just a really good friend to Katie, and Harry, in talking to them both and making them see sense.

There's something so romantic about parks. I liked the scenes in parks :) Also-this is going to sound kind of weird, but I liked the reflection of when Katie was in that storeroom with Willis, and the sex scene at the end with Harry--it emphasised the massive contrast between the two men very well. So I'm very glad you included it--there was a structural purpose to the smut, as well as it, of course, being excellently written :)

Anyway, lovely story Carole, which made me laugh rather a lot. Alex

Author's Response: Thank yoooooouuuu. Yeah, I wanted the scene at the end partly to spice up Harry, but also because I needed a good sexual experience in the story rather than Dave's horrible drugging and Roger and Alicia's antics - ha ha. (Roger makes me grin rather a lot.)

Glad you liked George. There is something always rather das about George post battle stories, so I wanted him to be a little happier in this one.

I like parks, too, and the Serpentine *sigh* Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: SGozzy
Date: 02/21/12 20:05
Chapter: One

Well written with a lot of detail involved. Please continue as it's too good to stop!

Author's Response: It's finished and with one more chapter, which I'll post as soon as I've tweaked. Thank you very much for the review and I'm glad you liked the story. ~Carole~

Reviewer: welshdevondragon
Date: 02/16/12 22:09
Chapter: TWO

I am literally LOL-ing at 'SCORE!' That's just--oh so tacky, but oh so funny as well. I'm surprised Alicia puts up with it, let alone Katie tbh. Anyway--to start being relatively coherent: There were many things I enjoyed in this chapter. Firstly the plot thickening--for some bizarre reason I suspect Pansy is in some way behind this, but maybe that's because she's on my mind atm. I loved the awkwardness between Harry and Katie, and him being lovely and apologising, and then when he kisses her--oh that was very sweet.

I like the way that, though they were at school together for so many years, but don't know basic information about each other--like that Katie's grandmother is a Muggle-born, and Katie not knowing about the Dursleys. It's very realistic.

I also loved the way you reveal information. There's no info-dump, but it's kind of obvious that there's something between Harry and Katie throughout, and that George and Katie had history, even if Harry didn't pick up on it :p

I also loved the lines about having a thing for Quidditch players--and also the wya you broke Ginny and Harry up. I never thought of that, but that's very realistic actually. Harry does have a more forgiving character than Ginny, and it's incredibly believable. Anyway, I am very eager for the next chapter. Alex

Author's Response: I had to really think of a credible reason for breaking them up because I kept coming back to the fact that when he was facing death, his last thought was of her. So growing apart didn't work. I also don;t think ginny is as forgiving as Harry. I don;t blame her for that; it still amazes me that harry spoke up for Lucius - ughhh - he should have gone to Azkaban! Howwever, he didn't. Then I ran my idea past Lori, who is canon shipper extraordinnaire and it passed her scrutiny. THAT!

Oh, I think Alicia just loves having sex - ha ha ha.

Thank you for R and R'ing. Means a lot. ~Carole~

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 02/16/12 20:14
Chapter: TWO

Oh god. Harry is such a dull dimwit, not getting excited by the sound of Roger and Alicia. Or is he too excited?

-giggles-

Okay, more curious than ever as to who is behind this, and you haven't given us a clue yet, really. Well, apart from the fact that this person is a good potioneer. Hmmmmm. Hope it's not Draco, though. :/

And ooooh! The chemistry is really shaping up well. Harry needs to liven up a little, and then we are set!


UPDATE.

Author's Response: Draco eh? hmmmm... that would be a tad predictable, I fear, but it is a short story - ha ha.

I'm not sure I'd get excited at hearing Roger; I think harry's just rather embarrassed, poor lamb. he;s only had Gin Gin after all.

There's one more chapter. I HOPE it's not too rushed, but tsk tsk word count again made me up the pace. *sigh*

Thankies, SW ~CON~

Reviewer: Writ Encore
Date: 02/15/12 18:49
Chapter: One

Carole.

I didn’t know which one of these to pick, so I landed on this one. I wanted to check out something. Harry and Katie. Interesting.

The memo thing? I’d forgotten about that; it’s been a long time since I’ve bothered to pick up ones of these books. I didn’t know the airplane thing “ and that one of Rowling’s ideas that I really liked, too, a simple solution “ had names stamped or addressed on the outside. The deciphering the meaning of the message is done really well here.

We need a woman. Good line. Yeah ... and? A witch with a pulse. Even better. Oh, my God! I’m reading a bit here, stopping, laughing, and starting again. And then the humour evaporates and you drop on a dime to a serious subject “ a surprising one. The weaving with Thomas is really well done; I didn’t know he had a sister. Very good set up this blending, really well thought out. Do they call them blendings? “ Hey. Mixologist. Never mind. No, really, the setting of the club atmosphere is set really well. I’ve never known a barman to act that that way, drunks, maybe, but then I only know like three barmen. It’s degusting “ you’ve made me rethink going out entirely.

This is really very good, and disconcerting. I’ve a barmaid who I’m very close to and this just sounds all too familiar. The original thought here is flooring. God, I’m shaking. What’s this? Harry downs the drink? Takes the hit, as it were. Don’t think I’m insulting you “ this is one hell of an eye opener. So original. The idea, the execution, the shivering guy in the flat?

Thank you for writing this. I can hear my sister, my barmaid, screaming her advice all through this. She doesn’t play “ and neither, it appears, do you.

Well done, Carole. I’m going to wash my hands now. I’d shake your hand, if I didn’t feel so ... yeah, Soap and water.

Jenn

Author's Response: Um, thank you ... .

Okay, yes in OOTP Harry sees the paper planes and Arthur explains that they're not messy like owls - always stayed with me that line. As far as Dean goes, there's a message on Potterwatch about his family hoping he's okay. By family I assume they can't just mean his mum, so I have taken fanfic licence and given him a step-dad and a sister (or two). It's partial canon.

Do they call them blendings?

I have no idea.

Seriously, you don;t know any lecherous barmen? I must be going to the wrong places, but they're the ones that always serve the women with the biggest chests first. Plus this is a sleazy dive. We have so many places like thing in UK - ha!.

Harry downing the drink is explained in the next chapter (which should be up soon) because really, he should have known better.

I used to be a barmaid, btw. I have served some very dodgy customers.

I’m going to wash my hands now. I’d shake your hand, if I didn’t feel so ... yeah, Soap and water. Uhhh, did my story make your palms sweaty or dirty? IT gets steamier in chapter three, just so you're warned. Sorry, not sure how to respond to that, but thanks for the review. ~Carole~

Reviewer: nimbus3000
Date: 02/12/12 11:17
Chapter: One

nice 'one' !

Author's Response: Thank youuuuu ~carole~

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 02/12/12 9:29
Chapter: One

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH. I've never bought this ship before but COLOUR ME INTRIGUED.

Okay, first things first, the story has grabbed me by the proverbial balls. It works as a mystery, too, and I am curious to know who's behind it. I am loving the building chemistry between Katie and Harry and I simply cannot wait to see them - er- solving the case.

Great one, CON. Bring on the next chapter! And, oh, my favourite part:

Katie didn’t mind, and wasn’t the least bit jealous, but it had been embarrassing when she’d taken the Floo and practically stepped on Roger’s bum as he screwed Alicia on the hearthrug.

Author's Response: I was wondering where to put this because it could be a mystery (which would have delighted Kara), or it could be PH (and possible AU *snigger*) In the end I went for Harry/OC because ... um ... Idk.

I hope you like the rest of the story, which I'm still tinkering with before I get dust thrown in my eyes. I know you're not a fan of this pairing and I'm trying my darndest to spice Harry up - heh heh heh - but it's hard without making him very OOC.

Thank youuuuuuuuu and I hope you stick with it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 02/11/12 23:44
Chapter: One

Oh Harry, you plonker (yes, I do realise it wasn't his fault :P) This is a fabulous start to the fic, Croll. You're always so good at building up a story, including small details that may not seem significant but they really do add to the fullness to the fic and make it such a satisfying read. I loved the little Harry and Ron scene. Contrary to popular belief, I do love the Harry/Ron friendship and little scenes like that, just hanging out together having a bit of fun is just so nice to see. Aw.

I can't wait to see where this goes. You've set up an interesting premise and I'm intrigued with the mystery involved. Who is behind the date rape drug? Why is Harry single? And was Katie wearing a black bra? Hmmmm. So many questions...

Anyway, great first chapter!

Julia x

Author's Response: Of course she'swearing a black bra because she's a hot, smexy witch, natch.

JULIAAAAA, thank you so much for the review. I did struggle a little with the plotting of this, so I hope it comes off when you read the rest of the story. UGH! and there were some other details that I loved and had to cut because of word count. However, I had to keep Ron in this because he makes me laugh - heh heh.

Thnaks again ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
BTSK by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Hermione daydreams about Tom Riddle...or perhaps Draco Malfoy.Written for the...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES