Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 08/14/14 12:41
Chapter: Thinking of the Roar

I loved every second of it. I'm so happy that Dean found something to make him happy. Leave it to Ginny to think up comic strips. I'm relieved that, for Ginny, there was life after Harry. You know, I don't think I've read a story of yours that I didn't like.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 08/13/14 18:34
Chapter: Shadows Weighing Tons

I think Dean and Ginny should give it a whirl. I also think that, in reality, when a couple goes through a tragedy, like that war, death of a child, a health crisis, it's often hard to keep the relationship going. Serious things have happened that can't be undone and it contributes to the undoing of how a couple feels about each other.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 08/13/14 16:54
Chapter: Flying in the Sun

That was good! Now don't get terrified:D I had a job like that once--it was a good job but if I was sleepy I just couldn't keep my eyes open. In the end I was glad to leave it. I took a lesser paying job but love it. There's never a dull moment. And, when I'm bored I read fan fiction. I've always liked Dean. If Ginny's single I'd say what's wrong with a drink or two between friends.

Reviewer: dreamsnape
Date: 12/03/12 3:45
Chapter: Thinking of the Roar

Nice story! I liked how you portrayed the characters of Ginny and Dean. It seemed like it could have happened that way.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I tend to be pretty much canon bound but this challenged me. Glad you liked it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: William_Brennan
Date: 04/03/12 18:10
Chapter: Flying in the Sun

Minor grammatical point: it's "Quidditch players' registration forms" since "players" is plural.

It's not superb, but it's an okay story. I understand how one sometimes has days when one simply does not want to work, and almost physically can't...

Author's Response: I shall flagellate myself appropriately, but please don;t feel you have to read anymore as you're right, it is not superb at all. A superb story would not have me on this site, but would make me JK Rowling, after all.

BYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 03/04/12 1:14
Chapter: Thinking of the Roar

Little Miss Vixen! Hahaha oh this was great, Croll. You know Ginny isn't my favourite character (really I don't mind her much at all tbh) but this was so enjoyable. Hmmm I actually thought there was a bit of a Zach/Summer/Seth dynamic going on there with Harry/Ginny/Dean... just to add another reference lol.

I really loved your characterisation of both Ginny and Dean. The way the war has taken it's toll on them made a lot of sense. They are still recognisably themselves but there are scars. I also liked how you interwove Deans family into it. His mum and Gary felt real despite being very much secondary characters. That's always something you manage to do so well in all of your fics, and another reason why I adore reading them :)

This is such a gem.

Julia x

Author's Response: Thank you!

I had fun writing this at first, then Seamus took over and I had to delete a shedload. *sigh* It went far too off my OC tangent - heh heh heh. I didn't think of the Zach reference, actually. OOOH missed a trick. Thank you for liking Grace. She's in some of my other Dean stories so she's fully formed in my head which is why she popped up in this - ha! Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 03/02/12 20:01
Chapter: Thinking of the Roar

There’s just something about Harry and Ginny that fails to grab me like other canon characters. I never cared for shipping until I entered fandom and laughed at Harmony and Sevlily, but I was never invested in Harry/Ginny either. I mean, I love Harry to bits, and while I’m not too fond of Ginny I don’t dislike her, but Rowling failed with them. :/

That said, I didn’t care for Harry/Other and Ginny/Other either. Haha. So by default, I shipped Harry/Ginny.

(This info matters!!!!!)

But I trust you. I trust you more than this cellotape which assures me that it won’t let the carton rip. I trust you more than the sunrise I haven’t seen in seven years. I trust you more than the tasty-ability of the pork stew a flatmate made for tonight. :3

So I trusted you to convince me of Dean/Ginny, and my trust hasn’t been kicked in the shin.

Gah.

The most spectacular part of the whole thing is that you kept them so much in character. Usually, people give shitty reasons for Harry and Ginny breaking up, or they write it sloppily, but this fic felt like such a natural progression from the books. Oh gods, I am sorry, James, Albus and Lily: I am wishing your parents never married.

The courtship was an utter joy to read, I love love love Dean’s job, and wow! I really liked Ginny in this. Seriously a very good fic with wonderful characterisation, a captivating plot, and lovely minor characters.




Okay I will stop. I don’t want your head to inflate.

Author's Response: I KNOW WHAT YOU'RE DOING!!!!! YOU CAN'T FOOL ME, hestiajones PERSON.



Your think that by saying this is a viable ship, you'll get rid of Harry/Ginny and their kids leaving only





SCORPIUS AND HUGO!!!!!!!!!!



Thank you, lovely, for the great review. I am pleased you like the story and the pairing. I think I have the same problem as you with Harry and Ginny. Whilst I knew they would end up together, there was always this part of the books that makes me think they didn't have enough time together. When I looked at the timeline of their relationship (from the Quidditch match to Dumbledore's death) it was a few weeks - that's all. And he was in detention a lot - hah hahahahahah.

So ... thank you thank you thank you for liking the story and reviewing so fabulously.

I'm giggling at 'cellotape' because I always thought it was 'sellotape'. Although Urban Dictionary informs me they're one and the same, I had this picture of you in my head astride a cello that had been taped together.

Gone rather mad ... hehehehehhehehe . ♥~CON~ ♥

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 03/01/12 23:44
Chapter: Thinking of the Roar

Ooooooh, Carole, I loved how this ended :D It was just so... awwww. And that's coming from someone who just an hour ago despised this ship, so that's a huge achievement imo.

One thing I wasn't entirely sure about -- it was a bit rushed, how quickly they had sex and were suddenly together. I mean, it just happened a bit too quickly, and I'd have liked to know what Harry's reaction to it was and everything. I know it's from Dean's POV but still, I would have liked to know what Harry thought of it all. Maybe it's just the Harry/Ginny in me, lol. But I think the story would have worked better if you slowed things down a notch, although I completely understand that the word limit probably held you back a bit.

But I still thoroughly enjoyed this, and I think it was a wonderful story. Well done, Carole :D

Author's Response: I agree that it was a tad rushed towards the end. There's supposed to be a line somewhere marking the passage of time between their time at his house and then going to Hogsmeade - so I should probably edit something in - which I shall get on to ... very soon. I don;t think i'm going to write about Harry's reaction, though. I think the fact that he's attending the leaving party and that they can clearly talk about him shows he's okay with it. It could have made a good moment, but I fear it would have made me spiral with the word count, so that was a deliberate decision.

I'm not sure how serious I am about the ship because if I throw myself behind it, then High dies :(

Thank you so much for the reviewwwwww ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 03/01/12 23:31
Chapter: Shadows Weighing Tons

Carole, you are killing me here. WHYYYYY?

For about two years, Harry/Ginny was my OTP. And now you've killed it completely because this is just so convincing for me and it makes Harry/Ginny look so unconvincing, especially the bit about Ginny being fifteen and harbouring the crush since she was ten. You're right, or rather, she's right.

You wrote drunk!Ginny so well (well, you would, given it's... you :D) and I think you managed to create wonderful chemistry between Ginny and Dean with her loosening up because of the drink and all. I do love Grace too -- I think she sounds really sweet, and I so agree with her about footie. Just sayin'.

Anyway, final chapter now!

Author's Response: I loved writing the drunk bits - heheheheh - I can get away with repeating things like 'lovely' which is a lovely word. Grace I've used before and Gary they're my canon for Dean. Grace was about 17 when she had Dean *sigh*.

I do still ship Harry/Ginny but there has always been a part of me that is uneasy about her having this crush on him for so long and it all working out happily ever after (although I love the NG kids) but that wouldn;t necessarily mean she'd end up back with Dean. (Actually I have a femmeslash in mind for her - heheheheheheheheheh)

Thank you for the review (I have altered a bit in the last chapter, btw, thanks to your advice.) ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 03/01/12 23:17
Chapter: Flying in the Sun

Ooooooh, Carole, I enjoyed this :) Mind you, I'm not usually into Dean/Ginny, and in fact, I don't think I've ever read one before, so this was a first :D And I think, as ever with your writing, you wrote it very well. I liked the initial set-up of the story, and the Quidditchness of it all.

Ugh, I hate Gloria. What a pervy cow, man. I don't blame Dean for trying to stay away from her, lol. Though I am wondering why she'd give him such good tickets for the game -- unless it's her attempt to win him over or something? In that case, it's pretty pathetic >.< She is rather creepy, but I liked how you didn't make things completely rosy for Dean either.

I'd like to see where this goes. Next chapterrrrrrrrr!

Author's Response: II think Gloria just likes scaring him - hahahahahahahhahaha. She gave him tickets because she couldn't use them and she was pleased he'd pushed the application through. I think she'd like to get closer to Dean, but she's not going to force herself on anyone.

It's odd how many fics there are where Harry is with Hermione or someone else, and yet no one pairs Ginny up with anyone - except in vague Luna femmeslash which never quite works for me.
,br> Thank you for reviewing. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Karaley Dargen
Date: 02/29/12 23:05
Chapter: Thinking of the Roar

Hahaha aww Ginny talking about Muggle football is cool and adorable at the same time. I'm glad to see that Dean is having some sort of influence on her, because that shows that she's actually interested in him.


Oh Dean, you procrastinator...


AW man, I can see the OC reference sneaking up! :D YAY that was GLORIOUS. I could totally picture Ginny, and heard Summer's voice, haha.


YESYESYES! I desperately want Dean to pursue some sort of career that lets him be creative!

I never pegged Puddifoot's to be a very erotic place - hahaha. Makes a lot of things stand in a new light, hmmm... Oh poor Dean! haha


OH there's smut! I wasn't sure when/whether it was going to appear... and so good! Though in broad daylight... I'm glad it wasn't a Hogsmeade weekend for the students!


Nooooooo Ginny! Don't get mad at him for the drawings! It's okay even if he does see you this way! And anyway, hormonal teenage boys...

Aw I love the moving sketch thing. And that Dean has something up his sleeve to make Ginny forget that idealised image from before.


OMP is she going to suggest that he draw a comic -- I love love love this chapter. HAHAHA and for the Quibbler! This is brilliant.


Haha I love how Gloria tries that one last desperate time to remind him that he can come back to her... AS IF.




Oh Carole, this ending is so perfect and sweet. I love everything about this story. I think out of all the male characters you've written, I find Dean the most appealing. And Dean and Ginny just have SO much chemistry! And you totally made it work. I'm so, so glad that you didn't abandon this story, because it has so many things that I love, and I'm sure a ton of others will as well. This isn't drawing the AU as far as Harmony, which makes it so appealing to me. I can very much see Harry/Ginny not working out, and Deaaaaan is just perfect. I love you so much.

Author's Response: OH there's smut! I wasn't sure when/whether it was going to appear... and so good! Though in broad daylight... I'm glad it wasn't a Hogsmeade weekend for the students!

hahahaha - I have actually added a line or two to this, so it wasn't quite so out of the blue. They did also find somewhere quite secluded - *snigger* but Ginny shouldn;t be so naughty!

Thank you for liking this story. I did love writing Dean, he'a a character I like because he's a football fan and a Londoner - heh heh - so I find myself thinking we'd be able to have a good chat :).

Californiaaaa .... Californiaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. Heh hehehe - the OC really did inspire this. You know the episode I'm thinking of, although Summer's reaction was much better than Ginny's. Thing was, Ginny had split with Harry because of the 'ideal' and she didn't want Dean and her to go the same way.

Thank you thank you thank you thank you - for being my fan. :) ~Croll~

Reviewer: Karaley Dargen
Date: 02/29/12 12:48
Chapter: Flying in the Sun

Wooooot new chapter!


... how is my review still the only one? o.O


AW Dean helping his family out with his compensation money, that is just so... I don't even know what to say. It's very touching.


HAHAHA Seamus is a Butterbeer salesman... no wonder he's so cheerful all the time.


Noo I feel so sorry for Ginny :( She's just not the same this way. But hahaha i love the drunk convo.

I'm trying to imagine Ginny talking to the barmaid about the Floo network... omp, haha


EEEEEEEE drunk kissing... can that be a good idea for those two? Oh good, Dean agrees with me... At least he's thinking about it.


Oh heavens. Dean on the run, with Ted and Dirk and all that, sounds so... gripping, and horribly sad.

And Ginny dreaming about others getting hurt instead of her is very... Well, it's very Gryffindor, but also very Ginny. I think she has this in common with Harry somewhat, this urge to be heroic and save others rather than herself. At any rate, she definitely wouldn't want others suffering for her.

"Ginny winked at him and he grinned back. She looked remarkably perky, considering the night they’d had, whereas his head was pounding." --- Ah yes, Molly's good anti-hangover genes... haha



Wow. Their conversation when they're sitting in front of the TV... That's just brilliant dialogue, the way you manage to weave it form one topic to the next so naturally. It's really amazing, and so real!

Oh and Ginny's explanation about her and Harry makes so so much sense.


AW man! I love the two of them together. I mean, it'd definitely be awkward when she first brings him around home and Harry's there, too, but a w w w w w. I'm so so so glad you chose this pairing, because I love how easily I can believe it.

Author's Response: giggglyyyyyyyyyyy. I love your reviews, they always make me smile and giggle and sigh - hee hee.

Ah yes, Molly's good anti-hangover genes... haha

I had you in mind when I wrote that part.

Kara, I can't possibly do justice to this GLORIOUS review, but I am so pleased you liked this. I wanted to write something about Dean or Seamus. The Irish laddie had gone, so I decided on Dean and then thought about Ginny. You KNOW how hard I've found this story, so thank you for keeping faith.

Thanks for the compliment on the dialogue. I do like writing it, so pleased it comes over as natural.

EEEP cooking duties call - byeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee ~Carole~

Reviewer: Karaley Dargen
Date: 02/28/12 17:48
Chapter: Flying in the Sun

Ooooh I've been aching to read this!


Hahaha I love Dean at his job “ and also the magic you put into the drawing thing (with Krum). It's such a detail, but adds a ton of third dimension to the story.


Eek, Gloria sounds vicious :x

Yikes, sexual harassment at the work place! RUUUN DEAN RUUUUUUN! Hahaha I love how you're writing her though. I can picture the scene so well, with her leaning over and being very suggestive. I'm sure she's one of those "I always get what I set my mind to" women. Poor Dean, haha. They should have sent Cormac there... Since your last story, I always somehow think of Cormac a bit like Luke in OC, and then this woman sounds like Julie - hahahaha.


"“Sure we do. Ginny was in our house at Hogwarts. Dean knows-”

“Her brother better,” " --- I loooove this dialogue, haha.





“Isn’t he just the best? So handsome.” -Yes isn't he just a total DREAAAAAAAAAAAAAMBOAT! hahaha. Oh heavens, groupies!


OH the flashbacks start! *sits back* yayay was hoping for one of those! I'm glad that you picked that fight as a scene. I always was wondering what Ginny's problem was there. Though I suppose in combination with other things, it could set her off, but still “ poor Dean.



'“The what-de-what?” Seamus gabbled.' -- glad you're so articulate, Seamus! haha


"Krum might have been the main attraction, but Seamus was making sure that he was a memorable sideshow." “ YAY :D

I have to admit though, I still always want Seamus to end up with Lavender...



Gigglesnort “ for some reason Desiree Tavistock looks (and talks) like Joey's agent from Friends in my mind.


Noooooo Ginny, where is your fire! Bite back! Bite her hair off! Whatever!


'She stopped speaking and angrily thwacked her wand on her hand sending a sheaf of sparks through the air. “I’d like to get my hands on the spotty faced clerk who they bribed to hurry that application through.”' ““ Oooops, hahaha.

This is a great kind of subplot “ this thing about foreign players 'invading' British teams and the kind of unhappiness it causes amongst players.


Desiree sounds like a very rough team owner... Must be hard being one of the Harpies :x all that pressure!


Aw, I wish you'd posted another chapter before heading out... This is a lot of fun to read, and I'm glad you didn't scrap it all. I can't wait for the next one!

Author's Response: Thank youuuuuuu. When I think of the Seamus dialogue I cut *sigh*. I have it somewhere and will post on LJ, perhaps, but it took the story in a different direction so it had to go :(. I'm pleased you liked the story and found the pairing plausible. Obviously Ginny and Dean have some chemistry, they went out for about a year, after all, it was whether I could break up Harry and Ginny. I used one reason in the Katry I wrote, but wanted something else in this one.
Joey, it's Desiree! *snigger*

My response doesn;t do your review justice *sorry* Thanks again ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Other Lives and Dimensions and Finally a Love Story by MoRoCcAnAnDpRoUd Professors
The year is 1977, and the Wizarding World is in turmoil, but it doesn't really...
Research and Development by Northumbrian 3rd-5th Years
The Mirrorphone, the latest advance in Wizarding communications. Now, of course...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES