Reviews For Becoming Calla
Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 02/01/14 19:32
Chapter: Chapter 12 Running With Scissors

Clever mystery.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you're still reading my story after the long hiatus.

Reviewer: Covered_by_the_Cloak
Date: 02/12/13 14:12
Chapter: Chapter 8 Detention With Professor Snape

Yay! You're back!

You've hinted in some of the earlier chapters and in your responses to other reviewers that there might be some changes ahead, but I didn't expect this at all! And I love the section where the girls meet Headmaster Snape *giggles* Well done, it was worth the wait!



Author's Response: Thank you so much! This was a hard chapter to write - would you believe that I had parts of it started almost a year ago? For whatever reason, the rest underwent many revisions and dry periods. I'm happy that you felt it was worth it. That's encouragement enough for me to keep on going.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 02/10/13 15:16
Chapter: Chapter 8 Detention With Professor Snape

Fantastically brilliant in everyway!!

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you! You just made my day :)

Reviewer: darkallience
Date: 10/01/12 22:05
Chapter: Chapter 7 Confrontation

No need to thank me, i should be thanking you for this story its really good. Now onto this piece, i was entertained by this one, with the fight, and also curious about lily and Fiona knowing each other, keept it up

Author's Response: Hi, just saw this again and realized that I never responded. Hope you found Chapter 8 :)

Reviewer: Fortescue
Date: 09/14/12 22:31
Chapter: Chapter 6 Observations

I just realized I never reviewed this chapter even though I read it weeks ago. Well I'll rectify that now.
It's nice to see Calla spending some quality quidditch time and getting away from the posse for a little while. It certainly sounds as if she's well on her way to leaving the group; she has realized (at least to an extent) that her position in this group isn't doing her any favors. I started laughing at the part where Audrina and Sophie attempt to lure in the guys while Calla just starts having a normal conversation about sports, hands down the better way to make friends. Gods, it would be so easy for Calla to find better friends, she could just hang out with the guys... but then I suppose there would be very little story to tell. And if I must be honest, despite her tomboyish sportyness she sounds tremendously attached to having girl friends.
I'm curious to see where the main conflict of the story will come. You stated that you're just setting the scene, but will there be an adventure of Harry Potter proportions or a tale of teenage rivalry and growing up?
Thanks for the chapter (and sorry I didn't review earlier)

Author's Response: The main conflict will be somewhat inbetween the two. I don't think many fanfic writers could top JK Rowling's tale of how Harry Potter saves the wizarding world from Voldemort. Calla, despite being tomboyish and sporty, has always had girlfriends. Up until now, her girlfriends have always shared common interests with her. Hanging with Audrina's group has been a little bit of a stretch for Calla, and *major hint* we shall soon see what this will lead to! I'm thrilled that you laughed at something I've written! I don't consider myself a comedy writer. I find so many amusing things in real life, and I try to incorporate that point of view into my stories. It always makes me smile when someone else "gets" it. Thanks for reviewing once again! You are one of the most faithful.

Reviewer: darkallience
Date: 09/13/12 3:21
Chapter: Chapter 6 Observations

i dont know why but the whole teenage thing kind of kept me into it, I guess the reason why is im writing a book and ill be getting into that stuff later in the series if i decide to continue it, besides that its really coming together nicely, keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thanks once again! Chapter 7 is in the queue.

Reviewer: darkallience
Date: 09/13/12 3:07
Chapter: Chapter 5 Be Careful What You Wish For

I was beginning to worry if this was going to continue or not, none the less it was another good chapter

Author's Response: yeah like I said my muse went on summer holiday lol

Reviewer: Fortescue
Date: 08/21/12 12:50
Chapter: Chapter 5 Be Careful What You Wish For

Well this chapter turned in ways I didn't expect it to.
I'm surprised Calla seems to have such a low self esteem. She has a supportive family, she's talented in athletics, which usually gives kids confidence, she even has ties to the wizarding world through Harry, yet she's so easily duped into playing the dag-a-long to Sophie and Audrina. But then I suppose at that age having bossy friends is better than none at all and she didn't really take to Fiona.
All of Calla's year in the Slytherin girls gang didn't make squirm as much as Ginny's comment. It was almost word for word Aunt Marge. Hearing that from Aunt Marge was disgusting, but hearing it from a character I like makes me feel a little sick inside. It makes me realize how easy it is to have that gut reaction.
Thanks for the chapter, it was wonderful (though I do hope the next one makes me feel a little happier inside :)

Author's Response: Thank you for another thoughtful review. Yes, you would think that Calla had enough self esteem and backbone not to fall for the lure of hanging out with the popular group. Despite the fact that (on paper) Calla should have the self confidence she needs to avoid this, she has been put into a brand new situation with brand new rules. The age group that I've put her in is an especially brutal one, and can lead kids to make all kinds of bad choices. Thus, the title of Chapter 5, "Be Careful What You Wish For," is dealing with the consequences of some of the character's choices. Calla's a Muggleborn, and has been Sorted into Slytherin. This alone makes her feel she has a lot to learn and catch up with. And although Dudley's comments about making sure she hangs out with the right people were probably more of a generic form of encouragement as Calla left home, it looks as if she took them very seriously. I also have Calla being the youngest girl in her year, putting her at another disadvantage. In the tween to early teen years there can be a huge disparity in the physical and emotional maturity levels among kids who are the same age. Sophie and Audrina's birthdays are both in September, making them twelve to Calla's eleven when they begin their first year. I've not said so specifically in the story, but I see both of these girls having physically matured early as well. Yes, and then there's Ginny. Aunt Marge's comments about bad bloodlines were what sent Harry over the edge, causing Marge's subsequent blow-up in PoA. I still find this scene one of the funniest parts of the movie. I'm not trying to make Ginny another Aunt Marge. Let's just say that particular comment was a minor aberration, whether or not she felt it justifiable. Ginny's not the judgmental type, but I can see her holding a rather large grudge against Vernon and Petunia for their treatment of Harry when he was a boy. My story is a tale of a girl's coming of age (though not age 17 - that would have to be another story), and there will be numerous pitfalls for her along the road. So, hang in there, and buckle your seat belt. Things might get worse before they get better, and there definitely will be some surprises! I promise that eventually you will feel happier :) I've had a good time responding to your review, 'cuz there's nothing I like more than discussing my characters.

Reviewer: Fortescue
Date: 07/17/12 16:53
Chapter: Chapter 4 Connections

Great story. I'm looking forward to reading more.
I like how you're using mostly new characters instead of relying on the Potter/Weasley cast. It adds more interest and keeps your story fresh and exciting. Seeing the world through Calla's eyes is wonderfully reminiscent of Harry's experience entering the wizarding world from a muggle background. But aside from that similarity there paths clearly diverge and we have a nice view of the slytherin experience. You've done an excellent job making Calla both endearing and filled with faults. It's clear that her desire to rise in a social hierarchy dominated a pure blood will bring her more trouble than it's worth. I'm looking to watching her grow and develop the self confidence necessary to realize she doesn't need the acceptance of Audrina and Sophie.
Well done. I can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm humbled that you compared my portrayal of Calla's first year to JKR's depiction of Harry's experiences when he becomes a student at Hogwarts. Wow! I've loved fleshing out her character so far, and there will be a lot more goofs and surprises from her as the story continues. I've been traveling on and off during these summer months, but am starting to settle back back into things. My muse was not happy with me for a while there. I have another chapter coming up - hopefully soon!

Reviewer: crbluvsravenclaw
Date: 07/03/12 0:10
Chapter: Prologue and Chapter 1 New Beginnings

Nice chapter and hmm, can't wait!(:

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Between writing a different story and going out of town twice, I got a little sidetracked since this last chapter. All's good, though, Chapter 5 is being beta read and should be up in a little bit.

Reviewer: darkallience
Date: 06/13/12 22:51
Chapter: Chapter 4 Connections

If i must say, (i had to say that) I felt that there was a little J.K. Rowling technique there it really kept me in the story. Its always interesting to see different problems and things like that. Cant wait to see more.

Author's Response: Thanks again for reviewing. I'm humbled and honored by your remark about my writing techniques. This story has been a unique adventure for me.

Reviewer: ginevra_molly_always
Date: 06/13/12 8:55
Chapter: Chapter 4 Connections

Just a short note to say that this is very good! I like the idea of Dudley's daughter being a witch and I love the characterisation of Aunt Petunia. Interesting sorting; choice between Hufflepuff and Slytherin... I thought that gave us quite a good idea of Calla in a shortish length of time :) I like the characterisation of the other Slytherins too, with some being the old style Slytherins, and some having the characteristics that Salazar prized in his students... Keep it up, I'm interested to see how this one turns out :)

Author's Response: I've been a bit lax in my responses, but have been trying to acknowledge everyone who post a review. Thanks for much for taking the time to do so. I have to say that my favorite aspect of writing is developing my characters. I appreciate that you are getting as much enjoyment out of them as I am in their creation.

Reviewer: darkallience
Date: 05/29/12 17:06
Chapter: Chapter 3 Impressions

This part is good, the description of each student in the Slytherin house, cant wait to see the next part.

Author's Response: Thanks so much, your kind words are appreciated. I get so much enjoyment out of writing my characters. Chapter 4 has been submitted today, so look for it soon!

Reviewer: FieryGem
Date: 05/07/12 23:48
Chapter: Prologue and Chapter 1 New Beginnings

I like it! I like how the backstory is revealed little by little, yet things develop quickly enough to stay interesting. I'm wondering why you had Calla sorted into Slytherin, but I'm sure that will play in later. I like her character so far. It was also interesting to see the interaction between the grown-up Harry & Dudley. Keep it up, I look forward to the next chapters!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so encouraged by good reviews. One of the things I've always liked in the books is the slow change in Dudley's attitude towards Harry after the Dementor incident. I've allowed their relationship to grow a bit as adults based on that. My next chapter has been beta read, so after a few corrections I'll be submitting it.

Reviewer: Covered_by_the_Cloak
Date: 04/22/12 22:04
Chapter: Prologue and Chapter 1 New Beginnings

I like this a lot. How are the new chapters coming along?

Author's Response: I'm doing a lot of drabbling at this point. I'm finding it a bit tricky to write stories about students at Hogwarts. It's JK Rowlings creation, after all, and none of us can do justice to what she accomplished. I think this is also why I like to write AU original characters. Thanks for the review! I appreciate that you took the time to write one.

Reviewer: darkallience
Date: 04/19/12 16:32
Chapter: Prologue and Chapter 1 New Beginnings

Dont get me wrong though i think its still great, i was just kind of making a statement really...

Author's Response: :)

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 04/19/12 1:15
Chapter: Chapter 2 A Welcome and a Memory

very good presentation of backstory. Keep on writing.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm currently working on chapters 3 and 4 together. They are just a little more than a pile of drabbles at this point, so I appreciate the encouragement.

Reviewer: darkallience
Date: 04/17/12 1:41
Chapter: Chapter 2 A Welcome and a Memory

II waited forever for the second part lol, it was worth the wait but is slytherin your favorite house because its strange a muggle-born going there. It was still good but i dont see Calla as a slytherin, i see here like what the hat said a Hufflepuff, and interesting flashback too. Very good ill be waiting for part 3.

Author's Response: Nope, I'm a Hufflepuff. I'm trying to develop Calla's character slowly, but hopefully my readers will see the qualities that had the Sorting Hat put her in Slytherin.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 03/27/12 16:15
Chapter: Prologue and Chapter 1 New Beginnings

Good start. Subtle hints about her personality (as in she doesn't like to read large books and wants to be popular make her a somewhat different character than the traditional Muggleborn characters so often portrayed.

Author's Response: I have been having so much fun portraying Calla. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: darkallience
Date: 03/26/12 12:58
Chapter: Prologue and Chapter 1 New Beginnings

i like it! Just one question, is Calla the daughter of Dudley? Besides that its a well written story so far can wait for the other parts. Also i like how you kind of split Hermione's personality by giving a boy the book reading part and the girl the law abiding type,

Author's Response: Yes, Calla is Dudley's daughter. You'll find out more in a flashback chapter I'll be posting soon. Thanks for reviewing!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES